Image of Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge

Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 of 14 hotels in Walt Disney World

5 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL, United States

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Claire Toplis
Aninmal Lodge great for families
5 years 6 months ago
A beautiful and relaxing place with the facilities you need, we thoroughly enjoyed this resort. Club Level check in was fast and they took really good care of us. Enjoyed the personal attention. We also loved having the animals outside of our room and access to the Kilimanjaro club.

The only thing that didn’t go perfectly was the housekeeping. They tended to only come to clean the room during our 6 year olds nap time in the afternoon. Would have preferred them to service the room earlier in the day.

Enjoyed Dinner at Boma and over at Kidani Village, Sanaa.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 3 months ago
Very delightful, good quality, well built hotel. African theme throughout, well kept animals and enclosures. Food extortionately priced, so we bought in supermarket and only ate last night in the hotel, which was lovely food and plenty of it. Staff helpful, rooms very clean but a little on the small side having two large king beds in. We did not pay extra for a savana view but wished we had, as we looked over the restaurant roof surrounded by trees. Very remote and no evening entertainment for children only an arcade. Swimming pool pleasant and open very late. Would recommend for a quality, relaxing hotel to stay after a busy day at the parks, but personally not for active children.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Tavelcity

Recommended
Great hotel, but very expensive
8 years 4 months ago
Very delightful, good quality, well-built hotel. African theme throughout, well-kept animals and enclosures.

Food extortionately priced, so we bought in supermarket and only ate last night in the hotel, which was lovely food and plenty of it.

Staff helpful, rooms very clean but a little on the small side having two large king beds in. We did not pay extra for a savana view but wished we had, as we looked over the restaurant roof surrounded by trees. Very remote and no evening entertainment for children only an arcade. Swimming pool pleasant and open very late.

Would recommend for a quality, relaxing hotel to stay after a busy day at the parks, but personally not for active children.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
9 years 3 months ago
Animal Kingdom Lodge

Staying at Animal Kingdom Lodge is like having two different holidays at the same time, at the hotel you could be in Africa not in the middle of Disney. The hotel is thatched and everything is themed around Africa including the food. Zawadi Marketplace - the gift shop has a great selection of African artefacts including drums, Ostrich eggs, carved elephants, beads and there a few Disney gifts.

Animal Kingdom Lodge is a fantastic hotel and there are plenty of viewing areas around the hotel to see the animals. We have recently returned from Animal Kingdom Lodge and this was out third time there.

The Animal Kingdom Lodge is magical. We love Animal Kingdom Lodge in 2004 we stayed 16 nights and had a fantastic view of the Uzima Savannah even though we only paid the standard rate. In 2006 we returned for 21 nights and were initially given a room overlooking the car park, soon swapped to the Sunset Savannah, view was not fantastic, but again I only paid the standard room rate. 2009 we stayed for 15 nights and had a fantastic Savannah room (this time we paid for the upgrade).

Each room has a reasonable size fridge (empty), a large TV and DVD player, coffee/tea making facilities, a mini wall safe and the usual hairdryer.

I would recommend that you hire a car for the full period, especially staying at this hotel. Besides it being isolated, it is also expensive to eat at. This time we only ate at Mara in the hotel (self service), the rest of the time we ate off site. Boma was expensive in 2006
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin Holidays

Recommended
Mike
11 years 2 months ago
we think this hotel and area is so good we have purchased a 50 year bond with disney vacation club. we would definately recommend it. the rooms are great, best with savanah views , the suits are awesome!!!! it is advisable to book for meals in the restaurants as they tend to get very busy. the pool area is good and it is very pleasant sitting in the rocking chairs round the fire, outside, in the evening with a cool drink.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: virgin

Recommended
The Miller Family
13 years ago
Everything about this hotel is WOW!

Disney do hotels extremely well, but this one has some extra special touches to impress guests.

The setting is as close as you can get to being on Safari without going to Africa. The rooms have the best view - the animals on the savannah.

The Mara and Boma restaurants are excellent and staff were so helpful and friendly.

The pool area is so beautiful with a pool bar, water slide and spas and only a stones throw from the savannahs.

Rooms were clean and comfortable with all the detail that Disney does so well.

A definite return on the cards to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
The Harding Family
13 years 4 months ago
This was our fifth trip to WDW, but first stay at this hotel. We had booked a savannah view room and they upgraded us free to a deluxe room, which was lovely with a huge balcony.
We were left lots of towel animals and on my husband's birthday, a towel birthday cake with pencils for candles! He also was left a card and gift from Mickey Mouse, which made his day! (I had told reception on checking in about his 50th birthday).
The Boma breakfast and dinner buffets were really good and recommended. Best to book ahead though. The food court was fine - be sure to buy your refillable mug.
There was a fridge and a coffee-maker in the room, which was useful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel City Direct

Recommended
ClaireL
13 years 9 months ago
Stayed here in 2004 in a pool view room. Had a fabulous view over the pool area esp at sunrise. The room was large, very clean and we got towle animals for about 5 out of 10 days :-)

The animal watching areas were ideally located.

Boma's for breakfast was excellent so good we went back in 2005 whilst staying at the Yacht Club.

Planning a return visit 'home' in 2007 :D
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY self booked

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum