Greece - Corfu Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in Corfu.
Hi there,I have been going to Corfu for the last 8 years now,and yes you do get wasps there,was stung quite badly 5 years ago and had a really bad reaction to it.To keep the mozzies away,the last 2 years i have taken garlic perles,and it has worked!No mozzie bites,but also,no wasp stings either!Maybe worth a try!The wasps are worse at the beginning and end of season.Maybe something to do with their breeding season?I am no expert,just wondering!! Hope you enjoy your holiday and come back sting free!!
Byee
Sue :pele :pele
We have used marmite too. Not to spread on yourselves but apparently eating it least once a day can keep the mozzies away. They dont like the yeast I think. We took a small jar last year and just had it on crackers and it worked. Thinking about it you can smear it on yourself and it will keep everyone away!
You can also buy 'Wasp Away' from Superdrug etc.
Thanks for the replies and the tips.

Are there LOADS of wasps? IE more than normal? or just an annoying amount??

still not sure whether to risk it..... :?
Take oil of citronella and little dab on your pillow around your ankles and elbows avoid wearing perfume and scented products and I think you will be ok good luck
pojo
Hi there,No there are not massive amounts of wasps there!!You will find them around the bars,where they obviously will head for the sugar in lemonade etc! You will get a few on the beaches,where people leave their left over food etc!!Also around the rubbish bins! Other than that,you will be ok!!Think the only reason i got stung badly was because i panicked!and the more i tried to get them away from me,the more they decided they would stay!!But they were angry by then!! and decided to teach me a lesson!
If i was you, I'd try everything all the posters have suggested! and if wasps could read,they wouldn't come near you!! lol xxTake care x :pele