Image of Barons Palms Resort

Barons Palms Resort

39 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

4 out of 5 from 25 reviews
5 stars
P.O. Box 115 Ras Nosrani Bay, Ras Nosrani Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Watton
8 years ago
the hotel is the best ive ever stayed in its that good as soon as we got home we have booked up for next year.we have never come back off one holiday and booked the next one straight away it shows just our good it is.hotel food is delicious and plenty of choice i must have put on a stone at leased.the beach is about a couple of minutes walk and is worth seeing as are the fish and you dont need to go in the sea to see them you can see them from the jetty i have never seen such beautiful coloured fish in my life before they truely are.hotel staff are the friendlest and most helpful and they seem so happy to help you in anyway they can.entertainment is not so good but we dont go on holiday just for that.we do not normally go back to the same hotel but this one is truely exceptional it is like a second home and you do not want to leave it.the other guests that were there at the same time as us we all got on like we were one big family we have never felt like that and we have stayed in quite a few hotels in our time.i would say if you wanted a friendly and quite hotel good food and plenty of laughter then this is the hotel for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Evans
8 years 2 months ago
I read several reviews on this hotel, all had different and confusing ideas, well this is the blunt of it. The hotel is very clean we found no fault in this. They clean almost 24/7 so if you want to sleep in or are ill you will be woken up by the very noisy room cleaners shouting the odds up and down the corridors from 8am. By the end of our holiday it was impossible to escape the cleaning staff, they are everywhere you look and it spoils the atmosphere of the hotel as a whole. The restaurant waiters are great and are up for a bit of cheeky banter and will bend over backwards to ensure you have a nice meal. Water bottles are given at lunch and dinner but if you want more for the fridge in your room or to take to the beach, then just ask for more and the waiters are happy to give you a couple.

You will need to be up at 6.45am to queue, yes queue, to get a sunbed around the pool and be prepared to run to your selected bed ( my opinion is dont bother the beach is much better to sit at) If you are an all female group though be prepared not to be asked for a drink by the waiters on the beach. We watched as they asked everyone with a male in their group, but as it was myself and my daughter they walked round us, we got our own drinks from the bar. This hotel is NOT directly on the beach however it does have its own beach which as it is privately owned we thought there would be no hassle on it but there is and it does not matter if you have the dont disturb sign they will ignore it. This is where being female will get you attention, there is a constant stream off interruptions from the hotel staff trying to sell the costly optional extras like massages and from the local watersports companies and sometimes here a simple 'no' is just not good enough to get them to leave you alone . You do need to run the gaunlet every time you go to the beach which is about 150 metres of hassle from sellers, however to be fair a no does do the trick most of the time.

Entertainment during the day is non existant and evening is one show starting at 10pm they try their best but cheesy is an understatement. We both had bad stomachs mine still ongoing my daughters cleared up with the antibiotics and anti cramp tablets (if you get it which most do go directly to the pharmacy, the pharmacist is very freindly and can't do enough for you, as it will clear within a couple of days. Immodium is no good for egypt tum.) We got it the second day there and had not even touched any of the money so can only believe it was the food or the heat followed by the cold pool but would not expect to be given antibiotic for that.

Na'ama bay can be reached by a hotel run mini bus which you need to pre-book. If you do not like hassle or crowds then leave well alone. But this is where you will find McDonald's, Pizza Hut, Starbucks and the Hard Rock Cafe and the Pascha nightclub. There is lots of bazaar stalls but take the hassle in good humour and some can be quite funny, don't pay more than a third of the asking price.

On the good side the pool is a nice size you can walk into the sea and see the fish for a long way. The jetty is interesting espeically if the sea is a bit rough and there is a member of staff at the end for safety and they are very friendly and will watch out for you if you are not that confident in the water. The fish are amazing. definately invest in a snorkel mask and reef shoes are a must.

The heat is very intense at this time of year i would not recommend either the hotel or the weather for children, and there is nothing to do for teenagers.

If you tip you can get almost anything you want but i dont believe in this.
If you want to just relax in a clean hotel then this hotel could be for you but it was not what it was made out to be.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Sue Holmes
8 years 6 months ago
Stayed at Baron Palms mid march and had a wonderful time. The hotel is spotless and the staff are forever cleaning. The food is varied and the fresh made omelettes at breakfast are excellent. Finding a table in the restaurant was never a problem. The hotel is set back from the sea-front and you have to walk through the baron boulevard to get to it. The shopkeepers in the boulevard try and entice you into their shops but they are very friendly and dont make you feel uncomfortable. The staff at the hotel are very friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The manager introduced himself on our arrival and he was often seen around the place and asking if everything was ok.The animation team tried their best but i think that it was hard going for them to get people off their sunbeds. At night there was a show in the outside auditorium which was put on mostly by the team. I have already booked to go back to the Baron Palms in september and would certainly advise anybody looking for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful location to do the same.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
David Winn
9 years 3 months ago
Sparklingly clean hotel with a good variety of food options. The best being the Paradise pool bar on an evening, which had to be reserved the day before, but easily done. Fabulous beach with amazing snorkeling, the marine life is breathtaking. Most staff very obliging, genuinely friendly. If going back to Sharm in the future I would definitely go back here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Reet
9 years 4 months ago
The hotel had 3 restaurants. All were good but we preferred the Paradise (by the pool) as you were waiter served with a varied menu. It was sometimes nice to go to the Buffet Restaurant to get cool.

Hotel was right on the beach but not suitable for swimming(to shallow)unless you used the jetty for snorkelling. Great fish.

The hotel was immaculately clean and there were always workers around decorating and keeping the hotel in tip top order.

All the staff were polite and attentive but it probably helps to give them a tip as we did but they were worth it.

The biggest let down was the entertainment which was very poor. They tried hard but oh dear!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
Just back yesterday, weather perfect, hotel nearly, and here's why...

The Good
Cleanliness (obsessive in some cases), rooms (family rooms have 2 bathrooms), swimming pools (but can't work out why they are separated by a 1 mtr channel), The food (although repetative, quality is very good), staff (most are there to help and will do anything they can, there are some surly one though!)

The Bad
Sunbeds!! Be prepared for an early morning, the pool gates open at 07:30, most sunbeds are taken by 07:45 (why they don't allocate beds to the rooms is beyond me! Reception, not the quickest, especially at busy check in / out periods

The Ugly
the constant pestering to take the hidden extras like the freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast, the special theme nights, the watermelon on the beach = all conveniently charged to your room. Baron Palms are still coming to terms with the all inclusive thing and until they do, they won't reach their true potential.

Hope it helps (pm me for more info if needed)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Holly
9 years 4 months ago
The Baron Palms resort, not to be confused with the Baron Hotel next door is one of the best hotels i have stayed in.
Room was lovely, unfortunately we didnt have a pool or sea view but faced the front of hotel with gardens and trees so it was private and nothing to complain about.
Hotel food was nice, In the main resturaunt themed days with different variety of food everyday, i am a very fussy eater and always found things to eat (apart from the seafood day when we visited another resturaunt) Breakfast was lovely, fried breakfast avaiable as well as cereal and freshly made pancakes and waffles (sometimes even by the hotel manager himself who was lovely and would often take up other jobs around the hotel like cleaning and cooking)
Manager will always go extra mile for you, i went to cleo Park (water park)and hurt my foot, manager had floweres, fruit and cake sent to our room because i was hobbling around the hotel!
It is definately worth booking early to go to the (paradise?)pool bar on the evening, menu was set but great choice and lovely to sit by the pool staff very friendly and always remmember you.
Tipping and haggling makes up a large part of the holiday, i was worried about being stingy with tips but staff are willing to talk and give good service even without a tip. Haggling is very important, we got ripped off many times before getting the hang of it, always walk away if you dont get the price u want.
Ignore the shopkeepers shouting 'were cheaper than tesco!' and if you dont want to go in, then dont!
Entertainmentok if you have children but not the best, funny to watch dance competitions anda good laugh if lots of you get involved.
Piano player in bar upstairs isvery good as well as some live music.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Roger & June
9 years 6 months ago
the baron plams was far one of the best hotels we have stayed in,it is spotlessly clean throughout.the staff are so friendly and helpful. the rooms were cleaned every day by a very polite male cleaner .the restaurant had a very high standard,the food was excellent ,plenty of choice to pick from,and the waiters worked very hard cleaning plates and getting drinks ,they are friendly and polite.the pool staff would put towels on your sunbeds for you,also clean your sunglasses which was nice.the entertainment team had show in the evenings (not bad)a big yes we would visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Beebee
9 years 7 months ago
This was our second visit to Baron Palms and will not be our last. As usual the hotel was spotlessly clean and rooms were cleaned thoroughly daily, with clean sheets and towels.

The choice of food was excellent and vegetarians would not have a problem here. Food in the pool bar and the beach bar was good and we enjoyed our meal at the Egyptian restaurant.

The hotel is out on a limb but we would not wish to be any nearer to Naama Bay and you can get there easily by taxi if you wish.

All the hotel staff from front of house to cleaners always did their best for us. The friendliness of the staff is a major item of your enjoyment of this holiday.

We had no problems with the all inclusive only branded drinks were extra and you could have as much or as little as you wanted.

Swimming in the heated pool was enjoyable and there were plenty of fish on the reef when you swam in the sea which was warm enough to swim without wet suit.

Must mention the Bedouin supper camel ride and star watching trip an experience not to be missed.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
Jane Paul English
10 years 1 month ago
the baron palms was an excellent hotel... it was spotless you couldnt fault any of the staff,,, they cleaned it from morning to night.. the food was super very varied and very nice,,, the wine red white was lovelry and plentful.. we did have egypt belly for 2 days which apparantly is common due to the change of climate but the local pharamcy was excellent.. the only majourprob was the shops to the beach the traders were a pain.. the entertainment was awful... but it really didnt bother us as we were happy to sit on thebalcony and watch the world go by if we wanted entertainment wed ofgone to spain... the pools were beautiful a cascade of waterfalls and the sea is like the bath so warm and beautiful for either snorkling diving or just relaxing in... we loved the place,, we plan to go to taba heights this year to experience another part of the island

you carnt fault the weather there super and drink plenty of bottled water
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomascook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.