Image of Tropicana Grand Azure Resort

Tropicana Grand Azure Resort

52 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

4 out of 5 from 131 reviews
5 stars

131 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    18
  • Very Good
    64
  • Good
    32
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Go somewhere else
4 years 6 months ago
This used to be a very good 4 star. Now it would struggle to make 2 star plus. Too many locals and their herds of children who don't know how to behave. The rooms are scruffy, plaster is falling off the outside of the buildings and the food quality in all the restaurants apart from the new British only restaurant has gone downhill.

Outside the hotel is like a slum, fly tipping of rubble and household waste happens everywhere. The police have all but disappeared since the revolution. Don't go out at night without a torch and a big stick to bash the rats with.
Ignore the star ratings no matter what you put it comes up as a 3, to 5 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Wendy Marlborough
Needs a lick of paint
5 years 6 months ago
This is a big resort that just needs a face lift. The pools were lovely, with water slides for the children to enjoy. The staff were really friendly too.
The ’la Carte restaurants were first class and you could eat in them as many times as you want.
Main buffet restaurant needs attention and the decor is dated although the food was fine.
The lobby was stunning and a lovely place to relax in the evening with a coffee.
The rooms were big and spacious and were cleaned really well.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jeanette Hale
Didn't dissapoint
5 years 10 months ago
This was our third trip back to this hotel in 7 years, we were very impressed with it, and once again it didn’t disappoint us.

The hotel was spotless, the food was excellent, and the staff were friendly, very nice and polite. The entertainment still isn’t brilliant, but they have now put tables and chairs outside the reception on the terrace and does have music playing, so that part has improved.

The food was excellent, usually you have to eat in the A la Cartes all week, as the buffet is not so good, but not in this case, the Marrakesh Buffet was excellent you couldn’t fault any of the food, there was something for everyone, hot piping food, good choice and very clean and polite staff.
We hope to come back next year for another relaxing week or two.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Peter
Clean and spacious accommodation
6 years 5 months ago
Stayed 4 years ago in Sharm at a different hotel. The Tropicana Grand Azure Hotel is much better than our previous hotel The Royal Rojana, in fact there is no comparison between the 2 hotels - Grand Azure is way, way above it.

Rooms are clean and spacious. Food is very good for Egypt, lots of choice & well presented and we didnt come across anyone in our hotel with any stomach upset problems which again is very good for Egypt.

Lots of pools and sunbathing areas.

Hotel situated right on the beach in Nabq Bay again with lots of beds and parasols for sunbathing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 6 months ago
We arrived late afternoon, to be greeted by a Welcome drink at reception, and a smooth check in service. First impressions were great and we found nothing during the week, to make us change our mind. All the staff were fabulous and couldn't do enough for you.

The hotel grounds were immaculately kept, not a blade of grass out of place or a piece of litter to be seen. The rooms were a decent size, and the only fault we found was the bath, which was in need of replacing. However we prefer a shower, so it didn't affect us.

The rooms were cleaned daily before lunch, and clean towels supplied at the same time. We had a delightful terrace which had the sun until the evening, from which we caught the occasional waft of the numerous flowers in the vicinity.

All the pools apart from one were a little cold, but it could be the time of year. Any towels or bags that were left on the loungers before 9, were removed. The pool boys were very helpful, and always managed to find a spare umbrella. Loungers were plentiful and comfy.

Although the beach isn't fantastic, the clear sea is fabulous. You could walk for ages and still only be up to your knees, and there were fish in abundance. Owing to the recent shark scares, the red flag was flying for the whole week, which was a shame. There was a little train to take you to the beach, if you didn't want to walk in the heat. This ran every half hour. There was a bar and snack bar which served hot dogs, burgers e.t.c
The main restaurant served food of excellent quality and to a high standard. Any special diets were catered for.

There was a children’s area, including low tables, and there was also a corner for those on a diet. They tried to cater for special requests. We only ate in one speciality restaurant - the Italian. The food was good, but we found the service rushed.

The bar staff worked hard, and we found those in the lobby bar and the billiard room went the extra yard if they could. The beer was good, but the local spirits weren't up to much, although we knew before arrival that there were no international brands.

Children were well catered for - they had their own pool with slides, and a mini playground, with another on the beach. The kids club was well attended, and even the pool tables and table tennis was free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Nonee
NOt a patch on Turkish 5* hotel standard
7 years ago
After reading the reviews for this hotel I thought I was staying in a different place.

The hotel food is very good especially the a la carte restaurants and the fish and chips served at the beach. The staff are mostly very friendly however we found the beach staff to be very grumpy as they were so busy.

Occasionally a waiter would take drinks to your sun lounger and once you tipped him you didn't see him for dust.

The coral reef is spectacular and the Red Sea is lovely and warm, definitely the highlight of the holiday.
The hotel has a grand entrance and lovely grounds, in fact the gardens are beautiful, shame the sprinklers stink so much, it really does make you stomach churn.
The loungers are falling apart and the mattresses on them are absolutely filthy, disgusting for 5*.

The rooms are rather tired looking and the bathrooms are in need of upgrading. If you are in block 7 you are disturbed every night with the disco from another hotel, this goes on until 3am. On Wednesdays it's very loud until 5am due to the beach party. You room gets cleaned daily however they don't give you towels until nearly 7pm, unbelievable but true. We tipped the cleaner £20 (yes British pounds) and still it made no difference, however it wasn't the lovely cleaners fault.

All in all this is not a patch on Turkish 5*. Mostly everyone we spoke to plus our own party had Sheikh trots. Would we return to this hotel...definitely not.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Entertainment lets the hotel down
7 years 1 month ago
Second visit to this hotel. Still very impressed. great food, very clean resort, clean rooms although a little out-dated. Pools are beautiful and plenty of sun beds this time. Beach bar with snacks and fresh cooked pizza was lovely. The entertainment or lack of it let the hotel down a bit.

Great for kids as there’s a kids club which serves food and ice cream.
Mini water park with slides was good fun.

Drinks were ok, very strong measures though. Nice cocktails. Often ran out of ice and drinks could be a little warm in the 40degree heat.

The main lobby is very impressive with the dome ceiling and stained glass.
Good security and strict on the dress code, no swimwear in main lobby and long trousers for the a la carte restaurants.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lorna
7 years 3 months ago
Just returned yesterday from this hotel. Fitst impression was wow what an impressive reception area, all very grand. Hotel staff were very friendly, assisting with luggage the instant you step foot off the coach, booking in process very easy and everyone speaks quite good english. we were shown our rooms which were quite nice. throughout the hotel inside and out the cleaners are on the go constantly, very very clean throughout. the food was very nice and im a very fussy eater, the buffetstyle help yourself was changed slighty each evening with a different theme, i.e Italian theme one night, english the next, but i managed with a good choice at all times. go down to the beach and they have a pasta and pizza bar too. the staff were brill, all very friendly, especially the pool guys, the bar staff at the pool were brill too, bringing us drinks so we didnt even have to get off our sunbeds. Just dont forget to tip these guys as they were in extreme heat and still look after you constantly.
the evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss, quite entertaining listening to Tom Jones with an egyptian twang, the shows were ok for a week but i think if we'd gone for two weeks id have been fed up with the singer. but you can always go out and quite a few seemed to do this at night.
All in all i would go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
7 years 4 months ago
We were here from 19th may 2010 until 29th may 2010.
Didn't arrive until about 11.30pm as our flight had been delayed. On first sight we thought the hotel looked very impressive. was advised to go to restaurant to get something to eat after being shown to our rooms. There wasn't really anything left to eat so we had a roll and butter.
Next morning up bright and early after being kept up most of the night from the music from a disco which was a couple of hotels away but as it was windy the noise was being carried. We did have the option to get moved and the staff on reception and the Thomsons rep Rich were very helpful on this matter.
Didn't have many problems getting sunbeds although we did tip the towel guys 2 or 3 times during our stay.
Food in the buffet restaurant was good if a bit repetitive but they are catering for a lot of guests so i suppose this is to be expected.
Didn't get to try any of the a la carte restaurants as our friend didn't have long trousers with him.
This rule was enforced one week into our holiday and it did cause a bit of a stir but we were told to take at least 1 pair of long trousers by our wives so have no-one to blame but ourselves.
Entertainment was virtually non exsistent for british guests and more often than not we just played cards.
The hotel is massive and i felt due to this it was quite impersonal and that is the reason i wouldn't go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Ht
7 years 6 months ago
to ask a question or to join in discussion about this hotel click here
http://www.holidaytruths.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=129725

Travel operator: none

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.