Image of Roda Beach Hotel

Roda Beach Hotel

12 of 16 hotels in Roda

3 out of 5 from 41 reviews
Choris Onoma, 49081, Greece

41 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gerard Tierney
4 years 9 months ago
Hotel and location fantastic, had an brilliant time but it's not 5* if you've had real 5*, it's a real pity as it could be 5* but a few things really let it down, like service at the bar's they purposely serve slow, my wife has just queued for 25minutes for a drink because I refuse to stand in queues when they call it 5* nothing against the Russians they are sound people but it's like the hotel thinks it's ok to keep everybody queuing when there's no need ?? It’s not poor management but they just think they can take the piss?? The service at the bars is appalling; it's such a pity because it's a great location with great beaches?? Mitsis should be ashamed of what they are turning this place into!! Personally I'll go to a proper 5* Mitsis goodbye and goodnight. You’re done.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mel
6 years 10 months ago
Stay away!
The rudest staff. The most dangerous pool for burning your skin off. A sewer pipe visible on the beach. Confined to your room because of illness. Watered down rubbish drinks and a room that battersea dogs home would be proud of. Apart from that, fill your boots.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Deb And Clive
7 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks at the Roda beach village and we have had a lovely time, on arrival we were taken to our room and it was lovely and clean with a bottle of champagne waiting for us, i had seen pictures of the rooms on the internet but thought we wouldn't be lucky enough to get one of the nice rooms but we were. The room was cleaned every day and a new supply of towels was put in every day, also the mini bar in our room was stocked with water, soft drinks and stella every day. Our maid was so good she even folded our pj's up and laid them on our pillows for us.
The main restaurant was excellent with food for all tastes, our daughter is a very fussy eater but she never went hungry, she always found something she liked ( especially the pancakes with chocolate in lol), There was also a chinese restaurant, a greek taverna and an Italian restaurant, all of which served fantastic food. My husband just missed a good old staek so we had 2 nights out in Roda so he could have one.
The hotel's location was good, but as reported in a previous report it is quite a long and bumpy trip from the airport, bur once there you relax all those bumps away.
There was entertainment staff on at all times of day and they were always inviting everyone to join in with their activities - Lindsay and Mel in the thomas cook kids club were fantastic and made our kids feel very special. The pool is salt water which is a bit of a pain but you soon get used to it, and it gives you a mega tan lol.
We would definately go back to this hotel again and would recommend it to others. A fantastic 2 weeks where we were treated like VIP's.
Thanks to all the staff there xxxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jan
7 years 8 months ago
I have to say that I really don't understand the negative reviews of this hotel on this site and others. For the money we paid it was great. We booked a superior room which had a separate area for the kids, a fridge that was restocked every day, a small LCD Tv and was kept very clean by the very hardworking maids.

The food was good, always a good selection and fairly typical of all the other all-inc hotels of this rating that we have stayed in. There are 3 other restaurants as part of the AI deal, which you have to book the day before you want to go, but we never had a problem booking and sometimes managed to get a table on the day itself. The greek was our favourite, but the others were good too. Some people have commented about the limited snacks during the day, which consist of danish pastries, crossaints, cheese and ham rolls and crisps etc. but to be honest you can eat here from the moment you awake to late evening so I really don't get the problem. I have been in some hotels in Barbados that offer the same kind of food during the day, for a lot more money.

We never had a tummy ache and it certainly wasn't the 'barforama' that some people have made out. There were a few incidents of upset tummies but it was by no means as some reviews state. Perhaps people should wash their hands before eating, especially if you have been on the beach or in the pool, its just basic hygiene!

The hotel entertainment was varied, but for our needs the Thomas Cook girls were great. For a small fee our son could join in with activities even though we did not book with them, and there was a kids disco in the evening. I have seem some very negative comments about these ladies and I am appalled at the unfairness of the comments. They work very hard and are very caring.

The hotel is quite large and some of the rooms have not been refurbished but this is reflected in the price when booking. We found the reception staff to be very helpful and cheerful and the restaurant staff were very hardworking.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Adrian
7 years 9 months ago
Food was v.good plenty of choice in the hotel main dinning room if you don't fancy that then you have a choice of three other restaurants Greek, Italian and Chinese. staff were friendly and helpful.The room we were given was spacious and well laid out. the mitsis hotel animation team were excellent.They made you feel welcome and involved in there games and activities.The tour operators reps were not v good on the night entertainment I felt the animation team put a lot more effort into there shows. The hotel is well situated just a 5/10 Minuits from Roda. Here you will find bars cafes and shops of all tastes.I will be going back to this resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
TYLER
7 years 11 months ago
Well Well, what can I say, I booked up to stay here for 10 nights (under the impression it was a 4/5 star hotel) no way, when I got to my room I thought it was a stable. I have stayed in 4/5 star hotels before, but believe me the accommodation can only be 1 star.

For the first 7 nights thee was no hot water, I was told to have a shower in hotel lobby, the second time I did this I got covered in urine (not from the drains but in fact from the corner of the shower its self), I ran out conditioner still in my hair, went to reception, explained to them what had happened and believe it or not they asked what I wanted them to do (well you can imagine, firstly I asked them to take my towels off me which were covered in urine and flung them at her).

The Thomas Cook rep was not interested at all until I asked for a complaint from, and he demanded to know who told me about the forms, he was terrible. One morning my daughter (13) was screaming in her room, I went in to find an army of ants almost carrying her clothes out of the room.

The smell of sewerage was terrible and the bar staff (unless you are young blonde and have big boobs shout at you. The food, well my god, it was the same every day, never changed. I once went in the pool, the water got on my face that was it, it stung like acid.

Anyway day seven we got moved to another room, the kind of room I expected from the beginning. But the laugh was, I was informed by a member of staff Thomas Cook are the only tour operator to still be using the horrible smelly cold water running rooms, and another surprise they are all being demolished in October to be upgraded like all the other rooms, well by god about time they got their fingers out.

I came back on June 16th, so far no-one at Thomas Cook will speak to me about all the problems. Apart from this, after paying for an all inclusive, we spent a fortune going to Roda to eat and drink (oh did I mention the drinks taste terrible but you cannot get drunk on them).

Roda itself is lovely, but never ever again would I stay at this hotel or in fact any of its chain hotels, cos if their Manners are all the same well there is no hope, rude rude rude.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Liz Cowan
7 years 11 months ago
Please ignore all the bad reviews on this hotel! Maybe last year was a bad year but we have just returned after 2 weeks family holiday for 12 of us and we all found it very good!
We did upgrade 3 out of 5 of our rooms, but we didn't need to as all 5 were excellent. We had some rooms round the 2nd pool and could walk from the balcony straight into the pool. We have been to at least 18 different resorts from 3 to 5 star and these were by far the best rooms we've had!
There was an excellent choice of food, something for everyone, including 3 a la carte restaurants. The main restaurant had freshly cooked food, kebab meat, pancakes, pasta bar, the only let down was the fruit selection, and the bacon ( only 3 times in 2 weeks )
The drinks were generous, spirits and liquers very good, wine poor.
Entertainment in English beach bar was average, but the multi lingual in main building was good. Thomas Cook reps were very enthuisiastic and pleasant!
Guests were majority French but friendly enough in our experience.
We mainly stayed by "our" pool or the beach, but the main pool is really nice with slides and kids sections and play areas.
The beach is dark sand and the water was lovely and clear when we were there and we saw lots of fish some of them really big!
We had a trip to the water park which we all enjoyed.
The walk to Roda along the beach is nice, but only a small resort so not much there. We had an evening there which was good.
On the whole this was an excellent family holiday, thoroughly enjoyed by us all!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sophie Tredgett
7 years 11 months ago
Shocking!!!!!
The staff were so rude. I have been to corfu before and the saff were all so nice god knows were they got these people from!

My childs bed was covered stains god knows what they were. Asked if they would change it got told they would but that never happend. I have photos and i am going to complain!

Our rep was rubbish. We talked to some local people all they had to say was he liked his drink!

Never again and would have to really think about booking with thomas cook again.

Food was really rubbish my child had a beef burger that was raw in the middle!

If you do go good luck!! You will need it.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mrs Hopkins
7 years 11 months ago
After reading the reviews on this hotel we was very aprehensive about going, but we had a brilliant time.
Ok when we first arrived the room that we was allocated did just look like a prison cell (these rooms are to be refurbished next), but we went to the reservations manager who was very nice and helpful, he gave us the option of 2 rooms to view and choose which we wanted, we chose one of the rooms which was lovely and just what you expect from a 4/5 star hotel, we moved straight away with no extra charge.

After that the holiday was great, the food was lovely some thing for everyone, the chocolate cake was to die for the best i've ever tasted.

The pools where lovely my 3 year old daughter was in the pool every day and had a great time, (not once was any of our family sick from going in the pool, it was also cleaned every morning).

The entertainment staff were fantastic the best I have ever come accross they where so friendly came and talked to you around the pool every day and where great with the kids in the beach bar at night time.

The location was ok too, just a 10/15 minute walk across the beach into Roda. Roda is lovely but small with some lovely shops. Just like to mention "Crusoes" bar it was very friendly and great food.

The beach/sea was lovely and very clean.

Not once did we smell any sewarge smells!

We made friends with some lovely people who had stayed at this hotel previous and this was their 3rd visit.

It was a mixture of French, Russian and English, very few German, but everyone was friendly enough.

The drinks where great always cold, the bar man in the beach bar was friendly.

Just one downside was the 2 hour trip from the airport, the roads are very narrow, so it was a long and bumpy journay.

All in all this hotel is great and I would definitely go back again, please do not be put off by any of the previous reviews.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ej
7 years 11 months ago
Just arrived back from 10 nights at the roda beach village, at first sight we thought it was the wrong hotel for us but by the evening we had a complete different view! Everyone was so welcoming! There was a selection of food in the main restaurant and also a greek, chinese and italian restaurant! The hotel looked as if it was in the middle of no where but a 10minute walk down the beach and your in roda where there is a few shops, other restaurants and bars for those who like lively nights as the entertainment in the hotel finishs at 12! Both thomas cook and the hotels animation team were really nice and welcoming, they ran activities all day and did good entertainment in the evening which was a laugh!! We recommend this hotel and are looking forward to going back very shortly!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: