Image of Santana Hotel

Santana Hotel

6 of 19 hotels in Bugibba

4 out of 5 from 31 reviews
4 stars
Bugibba, Malta

31 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Nice hotel but poor food.
5 years 11 months ago
Arrived late evening and was politely and efficiently checked in. My room was a superior room on the front of the hotel. The bed was BIG and very comfortable. 2 pushed together with giant size bedding that was changed twice in the week I was there. Towels changed daily. Room was quite large (superior) with a good size balcony which got the sun all day. There were wardrobes and a third which contained a small fridge freezer which I had to turn off every night because of the rumble and banging noises an oven, 2 hobs, a sink and cutlery/crockery.

Bar prices are pretty good. Pleasant staff as were the restaurant staff. There was a reasonable choice of food but the choices were not good. Friday evening, chicken on the bone, very tough and extremely dry. I could not eat it. It was there again on Sunday but not much was eaten. On Monday it had been chopped and covered in a brown/red sauce which made it look a bit like rabbit until you saw the chicken skin left on. AWFUL. Greasy roast potatoes and chips.

Antipasti section, about 10 choices but it looked a mess. no thank you. I gave up in disgust and from Tuesday onward I ate out and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Would I stay there again?? Maybe but not half board, or breakfast.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
moo
7 years 10 months ago
we stayed in the santana for a week in feb and had a great time. we have stayed many times in the palm court as we go in summer and want a cheap cheap cheap hol and that's what we get. staying at the santana makes you appreciate a decent clean nice hotel that genuinely deserves the rating it has.

the rooms were great, beds made every day, towels changed etc. beds comfy. our room had a carpet, i never had a carpet in malta before!

food good, me and my other half are terribly picky eaters but enjoyed the food very much. on our first night we had beef from the carvery it was delicious and just melted in your mouth, delicious. there is also a pizzaria but due to the time of year wasn't open every night we were there. there is a 24 hour cafe that serves alchohol and snacks and gorgeous buns.

location great, 2 minutes from bus station, near plenty of bars, 10 slow walk minutes to sea front. car park in front of it (parking in qawra can be a nightmare)

staff great, especially the restaurant staff.

entertainment was usual hotel entertainment, singers etc we didn't watch any of it but i scored it a 3 because all the older guests loved it.

i would definately go back, it was great.

my only complaints were......tv. i don't go away to watch tv but the hotel had a lot of older residents who were on long stay holidays. each room had a tv but the only english channels were bbc prime and euro news, i can imagine if you were to spend more time in your room this would be a bit boring. you can have extra channels, but you have to pay quite a bit more to get these, i think it was about nine euro's a day.

the other was no kettle in your room for cuppa, obviously with the presence of a 24 hour cafe they want you in there buying it from them.

we would definately go back there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dawn
8 years 4 months ago
2nd stay at this hotel,1st time with kids.
Great location for catching buses as bus station couple of minutes walk away,
Can also walk easily to either st pauls bay side or Quawa side.
Hotel room was basis but fine, beds made every day, towels changed daily as well if you wished, if like us you liked the odd lie-in had sign to place on door handle so no unexpected visits from housecleaning! even rang to see if we wanted room cleaned at a later time.
requested 2 rooms next door to each other which were both ready on our arrival, with great aircon!
Only stayed on bed/breakfast basis but hotel had great deals on evening meals which we did for couple of nights, 4 course dinner and for the 4 of us was cheaper than eating out.
If you fancy some pampering and a great massage visit the hotels beauty parlour which is down stairs well worth a visit,also has great treatment for sunburn! which i can recomend!! hee hee.
Cafe style bar had entertainment 4/5 days aweek with really great barman who was excellent with kids.
Only real problem was the water truck which visited about 3 times a day, 1 call being at 3am every morning!! and delivered right under our bedroom window great way to tell the time!!!!! (our room was on the right hand side of the hotel).
Also couple of places had loud entertainment ok if you like carrioki which i hate!!

Have had 2 great stays at this hotel and would recommend it to friends and family.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
The area is very good, plenty of bars and right next to bus station.
We would never stay at this hotel again as we had 3 diffeent rooms, all of which the aircon. didn't work ( it was a constant 33 degrees in the room. The staff lied to us about coolers being broken, told us several times it had been mended then we found out that they has the aircon on a timer and it was very limited. We never found out the times it was on but could never actually feel the benifit of A/C. This made a very hot and sticky stay in the hotel.
The food was the worst for a 4* Malta hotel, very basic and not a lot of choice. Several dishes were dangerously warm!
We lodged several complaints with the hotel and Chevron but were either lied to or ignored!
Will not be uing Chevron again. Although we have usued them sevral times in the past, the test of a good Company is how they act when things go wong!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Paul
8 years 5 months ago
4 of us have just returned home (unfortunately) this is the 4th time in 12mnt for my wife & i and the 2nd for our friends, the hotel is excellent, great location (only 5mins to buggiba, 2mins to the buses which you can catch to almost anywhere on the island, only downfall was they were on strike for 4 days but we had already arranged to hire a car for 3 days from jozef over the road ) the hotel staff are brilliant and always willing to help, (if you have a problem just ask & they wiil endeavour to fix or find a solution) alfred in the 24 hr bar was great fun (Looks serious but good humour) & Phillip we sat chatting to him (after work) & local police till 5am one night (great company you cant go to many other countries & get that kind of hospitality), rooms very clean, food is very good good selection @ breakfast & evening meal. the hotel rooftop pool has great views. probably only let down is the canoa bar, entertainment is usually in here, but usually empty, we went to see lawrence gray twice & there we only around 6 - 10 people in, entertainment would be better located in the front bar where people are continuously passing the hotel.overall though the hotel, staff & holiday were magnificent
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 6 months ago
This was probably our fifteenth or so stay at the Santana over the years that we have been going to Malta, Hotel was the same as ever we had no problems booked a superior room which has fridge/cooker etc,i would recommend this hotel to one and all breakfast was great much improved over recent years we were there for three weeks and will be back again next year god willing
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Peter
9 years ago
I can't believe some of the reviews people have posted, I know everyone is entitled to their opinion but when you get people ( 4 couples ) come into the Santana from another hotel down the road which will remain nameless, then I don't see where they get their reasoning from.Don't go expecting too much of the area, we won't be returning to Malta but make up your own mind.The people can't be faulted for their friendliness and patience but their roads and driving styles both need some attention.Malta is a country steeped in a proud history but don't go there expecting the kind of holiday you might have in Spain or the Canaries, or to the same standard, and you won't be disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Paul
9 years 5 months ago
Just got back from 2 weeks spent at the Santana, the hotel is realy good,the location is excellent opposite the square & only 100mtrs from the buses which take you to almost anywhere on the island.

The friendly staff are always willing to help & will have chat with you, the rooms are kept clean to a high standard. The dinning room has been refurbished since our last visit in Oct 06 and it looks great, well decorated & the food service area is well designed, breakfast had plenty of choice. Usually 5 or 6 cereals + porridge, choice from boiled, poached or scrambbled eggs bacon sausages toms beans etc. Evening meal yet again great you can always choose something even if you are a fussy eater.

Can't wait to go back in September.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Smith
9 years 5 months ago
we have just returned from our holiday at the santana . we were moved from our first hotel because of it being overbooked . the first room we had at this hotel was disgustiong , the smell of damp hit you as soon as you opened the door and is smelt of someones excretment .also , the room was only for 2 people , not 3 . having complaind , we had to stick it for 1 night , and the next day we were moved to a massie room with two balconies . the room was of a very nice standad , and the airconditioning was excellent the bathroom was very basic but nice and the whole apartment was very clean . the maids do an excellent service , which should be credited . the hotel itself is very clean and pretty and of a very high standard . the restaurant is very nice , serving all sorts of foods including bacon sausage , fried bred rolls and cereals and porridge etc ... the only thing we had to complain about was the entertainment , in july , the was only entertainment for 3 nights in a week and other nights , the bar would be enpty and shut up 3 hours before it normallly closes . Also , the roof top pool is very nice and large , perfect to do a few lengths in . but the indoor pool is freezing , also the indoor pool and sauna and jacuzzi and gym were of very high quality . all in all a lovely hotel with good service and smiles .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Hindle
9 years 9 months ago
The Hotel was clean, pleasant staff, well situated, but we were very disappointed with the food. Not enough salads, not enought choice of potatoes, not enough choice of fruit.

Everything else was good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: