31 independent reviews of the Santana Hotel
Address: Bugibba, Malta
Santana Hotel
Santana Hotel Location
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Bugibba


3/5
Santana Hotel Santana Hotel is rated 3.16 out of 5 from 31 Reviews
61% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (31 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Santana Hotel Reviews

3/5
3
"Nice hotel but poor food."
Oxocat visited the Santana Hotel, Bugibba in January 2011
Arrived late evening and was politely and efficiently checked in. My room was a superior room on the front of the hotel. The bed was BIG and very comfortable. 2 pushed together with giant size bedding that was changed twice in the week I was there. Towels changed daily. Room was quite large (superior) with a good size balcony which got the sun all day. There were wardrobes and a third which contained a small fridge freezer which I had to turn off every night because of the rumble and banging noises an oven, 2 hobs, a sink and cutlery/crockery.

Bar prices are pretty good. Pleasant staff as were the restaurant staff. There was a reasonable choice of food but the choices were not good. Friday evening, chicken on the bone, very tough and extremely dry. I could not ...
eat it. It was there again on Sunday but not much was eaten. On Monday it had been chopped and covered in a brown/red sauce which made it look a bit like rabbit until you saw the chicken skin left on. AWFUL. Greasy roast potatoes and chips.

Antipasti section, about 10 choices but it looked a mess. no thank you. I gave up in disgust and from Tuesday onward I ate out and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Would I stay there again?? Maybe but not half board, or breakfast.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

moo visited the Santana Hotel, Bugibba, Malta in February 2009
we stayed in the santana for a week in feb and had a great time. we have stayed many times in the palm court as we go in summer and want a cheap cheap cheap hol and that\'s what we get. staying at the santana makes you appreciate a decent clean nice hotel that genuinely deserves the rating it has.

the rooms were great, beds made every day, towels changed etc. beds comfy. our room had a carpet, i never had a carpet in malta before!

food good, me and my other half are terribly picky eaters but enjoyed the food very much. on our first night we had beef from the carvery it was delicious and just melted in your mouth, delicious. there is also a pizzaria but due to the time of year wasn\'t open every night we were ...
there. there is a 24 hour cafe that serves alchohol and snacks and gorgeous buns.

location great, 2 minutes from bus station, near plenty of bars, 10 slow walk minutes to sea front. car park in front of it (parking in qawra can be a nightmare)

staff great, especially the restaurant staff.

entertainment was usual hotel entertainment, singers etc we didn\'t watch any of it but i scored it a 3 because all the older guests loved it.

i would definately go back, it was great.

my only complaints were......tv. i don\'t go away to watch tv but the hotel had a lot of older residents who were on long stay holidays. each room had a tv but the only english channels were bbc prime and euro news, i can imagine if you were to spend more time in your room this would be a bit boring. you can have extra channels, but you have to pay quite a bit more to get these, i think it was about nine euro\'s a day.

the other was no kettle in your room for cuppa, obviously with the presence of a 24 hour cafe they want you in there buying it from them.

we would definately go back there.

Read More

Tour Operator: cevron

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Dawn visited the Santana Hotel, Bugibba, Malta in August 2008
2nd stay at this hotel,1st time with kids.
Great location for catching buses as bus station couple of minutes walk away,
Can also walk easily to either st pauls bay side or Quawa side.
Hotel room was basis but fine, beds made every day, towels changed daily as well if you wished, if like us you liked the odd lie-in had sign to place on door handle so no unexpected visits from housecleaning! even rang to see if we wanted room cleaned at a later time.
requested 2 rooms next door to each other which were both ready on our arrival, with great aircon!
Only stayed on bed/breakfast basis but hotel had great deals on evening meals which we did for couple of nights, 4 course dinner and for the 4 of us was cheaper than eating out.
If you fancy some pampering and a great ...
massage visit the hotels beauty parlour which is down stairs well worth a visit,also has great treatment for sunburn! which i can recomend!! hee hee.
Cafe style bar had entertainment 4/5 days aweek with really great barman who was excellent with kids.
Only real problem was the water truck which visited about 3 times a day, 1 call being at 3am every morning!! and delivered right under our bedroom window great way to tell the time!!!!! (our room was on the right hand side of the hotel).
Also couple of places had loud entertainment ok if you like carrioki which i hate!!

Have had 2 great stays at this hotel and would recommend it to friends and family.




Read More

Tour Operator: malta direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Lesley visited the Santana Hotel in July 2008
The area is very good, plenty of bars and right next to bus station.
We would never stay at this hotel again as we had 3 diffeent rooms, all of which the aircon. didn\'t work ( it was a constant 33 degrees in the room. The staff lied to us about coolers being broken, told us several times it had been mended then we found out that they has the aircon on a timer and it was very limited. We never found out the times it was on but could never actually feel the benifit of A/C. This made a very hot and sticky stay in the hotel.
The food was the worst for a 4* Malta hotel, very basic and not a lot of choice. Several dishes were dangerously warm!
We lodged several complaints with the hotel and Chevron but were either ...
lied to or ignored!
Will not be uing Chevron again. Although we have usued them sevral times in the past, the test of a good Company is how they act when things go wong!

Read More

Tour Operator: Chevron
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

paul stayed at Santana Hotel in July 2008
4 of us have just returned home (unfortunately) this is the 4th time in 12mnt for my wife & i and the 2nd for our friends, the hotel is excellent, great location (only 5mins to buggiba, 2mins to the buses which you can catch to almost anywhere on the island, only downfall was they were on strike for 4 days but we had already arranged to hire a car for 3 days from jozef over the road ) the hotel staff are brilliant and always willing to help, (if you have a problem just ask & they wiil endeavour to fix or find a solution) alfred in the 24 hr bar was great fun (Looks serious but good humour) & Phillip we sat chatting to him (after work) & local police till 5am one night (great company you cant go ...
to many other countries & get that kind of hospitality), rooms very clean, food is very good good selection @ breakfast & evening meal. the hotel rooftop pool has great views. probably only let down is the canoa bar, entertainment is usually in here, but usually empty, we went to see lawrence gray twice & there we only around 6 - 10 people in, entertainment would be better located in the front bar where people are continuously passing the hotel.overall though the hotel, staff & holiday were magnificent

Read More

Tour Operator: chevron

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ronnie had a holiday at Santana Hotel, Bugibba, Malta in June 2008
This was probably our fifteenth or so stay at the Santana over the years that we have been going to Malta, Hotel was the same as ever we had no problems booked a superior room which has fridge/cooker etc,i would recommend this hotel to one and all breakfast was great much improved over recent years we were there for three weeks and will be back again next year god willing

Tour Operator: malta direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Peter stayed at Santana Hotel, Bugibba in December 2007
I can\'t believe some of the reviews people have posted, I know everyone is entitled to their opinion but when you get people ( 4 couples ) come into the Santana from another hotel down the road which will remain nameless, then I don\'t see where they get their reasoning from.Don\'t go expecting too much of the area, we won\'t be returning to Malta but make up your own mind.The people can\'t be faulted for their friendliness and patience but their roads and driving styles both need some attention.Malta is a country steeped in a proud history but don\'t go there expecting the kind of holiday you might have in Spain or the Canaries, or to the same standard, and you won\'t be disappointed.

Tour Operator: Apollo Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

paul had a holiday at Santana Hotel, Bugibba in July 2007
Just got back from 2 weeks spent at the Santana, the hotel is realy good,the location is excellent opposite the square & only 100mtrs from the buses which take you to almost anywhere on the island.

The friendly staff are always willing to help & will have chat with you, the rooms are kept clean to a high standard. The dinning room has been refurbished since our last visit in Oct 06 and it looks great, well decorated & the food service area is well designed, breakfast had plenty of choice. Usually 5 or 6 cereals + porridge, choice from boiled, poached or scrambbled eggs bacon sausages toms beans etc. Evening meal yet again great you can always choose something even if you are a fussy eater.

Can't wait to go back in September.

Tour Operator: Chevron

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

smith stayed at Santana Hotel, Bugibba in July 2007
we have just returned from our holiday at the santana . we were moved from our first hotel because of it being overbooked . the first room we had at this hotel was disgustiong , the smell of damp hit you as soon as you opened the door and is smelt of someones excretment .also , the room was only for 2 people , not 3 . having complaind , we had to stick it for 1 night , and the next day we were moved to a massie room with two balconies . the room was of a very nice standad , and the airconditioning was excellent the bathroom was very basic but nice and the whole apartment was very clean . the maids do an excellent service , which should be credited . the hotel itself is ...
very clean and pretty and of a very high standard . the restaurant is very nice , serving all sorts of foods including bacon sausage , fried bred rolls and cereals and porridge etc ... the only thing we had to complain about was the entertainment , in july , the was only entertainment for 3 nights in a week and other nights , the bar would be enpty and shut up 3 hours before it normallly closes . Also , the roof top pool is very nice and large , perfect to do a few lengths in . but the indoor pool is freezing , also the indoor pool and sauna and jacuzzi and gym were of very high quality . all in all a lovely hotel with good service and smiles .

Read More

Tour Operator: freedom direct
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

hindle stayed at Santana Hotel in March 2007
The Hotel was clean, pleasant staff, well situated, but we were very disappointed with the food. Not enough salads, not enought choice of potatoes, not enough choice of fruit.

Everything else was good.

Tour Operator: chevron

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Lee had a holiday at Santana Hotel in November 2006
My partner and I have just returned from a winter week away at the Santana Hotel, Qawra, Malta. Overall, not bad. We stayed half board and the food was fine although not very varied-same stuff for breakfast every day and mainly English style food for evening meal, even on Malta night there was a carvery but it was nice.

The hotel was clean but our room was a little shabby with encrusted grime on the taps and a couple of broken bits here and there.

Staff were friendly and would give help if required.

My only gripe is the noise. Our room was on the fourth floor faced the back of the hotel where the kitchens, boilers and aircon units were located. The aircon units outside made an awful noise every night, so much that on our first night we thought it was ...
workmen with pneumatic drills until we discovered what it was the next day. The worst noise came from the entertainment which was foolishly located in the cocktail bar on the sixth floor instead of in a basement where moist hotels would have it. As we were on the fourth floor the entertainment (singers and caberet) travelled right through to our room and for four nights out of seven we had to wear ear plugs but the noise and vibration from the singer still got through!

Overall the hotel is recommendable but if you want a quiet break, call the hotel or travel agent and make sure you are not located at the back of the hotel or near the cocktail bar or you will have to sleep with ear plugs.

Read More

Tour Operator: Malta Bargains
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Gordon & Mavis stayed at Santana Hotel in October 2006
We have not been to Malta before and were a little unsure about what people said about hotel ratings so we took a chance and booked the Santana we were not disappointed, very helpful staff.

Rooms cleaned every day, Towels changed every day Food was very nice something for everyone entertainment was a bit it and miss but plenty of bars just outside the hotel The Hotel itself was in a superb position for the bus station where you could get a bus anywhere on the island we will certainly be going back to the Santana.

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Chris had a holiday at Santana Hotel, Bugibba in March 2006
Originally intending to stay in Malta on a one week self catering holiday, we found that the difference in price did not warrant that, so we booked half-board, quite expecting, nevertheless, that we would find ourselves eating out.

The arrangements for us were perfect. Breakfasts were typical of buffet style hotel food, with choice and quality more than adequate. The benefit to us was that we did not have to rely on an evening meal, as on most days we would have taken the opportunity to sample the wonderful and varied delights of the Maltese and Gozitan culinary scenes. However, the evening meals were of good quality with a reasonable choice, and, being buffet style, suited our appetites of the occasion. The food here was obviously not haute cuisine but of a high standard, and good for its style. There ...
was always a fish dish, and usually a roast to give an alternative to the more interesting choices. The variety was excellent throughout. Perhaps a strict vegetarian might have reason to complain, but I would quite imagine the staff to be accommodating in any way possible should that be the case.

Nothing seemed to be too much trouble to the helpful and friendly staff. One of the reasons for choosing the Santana was its Hospitality Accreditation - one which we found it to have deserved.

Housekeeping was excellent, with towels changed every day.
Entertainment was a little limited, but probably little different from other hotels and bars in the area, especially at this time of year, where the island was just waking up to the new season.

Whilst the position of the hotel is perhaps not the best in the resort from the seafront point of view, and the rear rooms receive no direct sunlight in the winter months, it\'s proximity to the bus station gave us the ability to explore the islands as we wished.

When reading other reports, the reference to how close the hotel was to this facility made me question whether it would be subject to a lot of traffic noise. I need not have been concerned. The bus routes do not pass by the hotel.

We would certainly visit this hotel again if returning to Qwara ( pronounced \'our-ah\' - if that helps anyone such as me before I went )

Read More

Tour Operator: maltadirect.com

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Jan stayed at Santana Hotel, Bugibba, Malta in February 2006
We shared a room and the third bed had been put in an awkward place, virtually blocking the bathroom door but our request to move out the mini bar to give us more room was swiftly seen to by the friendly hotel staff.

The hotels public areas and bedrooms were very clean, the towels were changed every day.

The food was good, not exceptional but plenty of variety, you would have to be really hard to please not to find something you liked.

The entertainment was the usual Karaoke, pub singers and bingo but just fitted the ticket for a good sing along and knees up!

The All Inclusive rules were easy to follow, and the local wines / beers etc were fine. One thing though they won

Tour Operator: Chevron

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

k.Clark stayed at Santana Hotel, Bugibba in January 2006
Hotel generally very clean, towels and sheets changed regularly. Room did smell very strong of stale tobacco. Hairdryer, mini bar, safe and TV all provided, be careful with TV remote control, very easy to select pay to view channels.

The restaurant was clean, food hot with several choices of main course. The Malta night was very good, breakfast had plenty of choice. The Italian restaurant definitely worth a visit. The 24hr cafe bar serves a very limited range of snacks and after finding mouldy lettuce in the salad was put off eating there again.

Staff are all friendly and very polite and helpful.

The outdoor pool area looked like it needed a lick of paint but in fairness it was Jan and pool was closed. The indoor pool area is lovely, a little small and the water not hot enough ...
but the room was warm.

Did go to entertainment but could never get early enough to get a seat.

In all would stay here again. For a ex smoker found the tobacco smells in the rooms and corridors off putting. Also smokers note you can only smoke in your room, Malta is completely non smoking in all public areas.

Read More

Tour Operator: chevron

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

carol and emmanuel had a holiday at Santana Hotel, Bugibba, Malta in November 2005
We arrived at Santana hotel 4hrs late at 9pm we had missed our evening meal as dinner was not served after 8pm. However staff went out of their way to provide us with a feast fit for a king.

My 16 yr old son is 6ft 3 and had been provided with a folded z bed but staff were very quick to rectify this without any delay or grumbles.

Rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily sheets were changed twice in a week.

The quality of meals was top class and could not be faulted.

We experienced a very enjoyable week nothing was too much trouble. The staff were courteous and went out of their way to help.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone - well done !

Tour Operator: maltabargains .com

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Lewis Halstead visited the Santana Hotel in September 2005
Just returned from a week at the hotel Santana.The location was great,close to the bus station,bars and only a short walk to the sea front. Not much view from our room looking over the air con units but the room was clean and maid service was very good.Food was good and plenty of it.I paid

Tour Operator: Malta Bargains

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Kevin Storey visited the Santana Hotel, Bugibba in September 2005
Just returned from a lovely week at the Santana Hotel. We had our daughter with us so upgraded to a superior room, this was well worth the 2ml a night as it was huge with a kitchen area and 2 sofas.

No problems with the hotel staff they were very helpful

The hotel was very clean and there was plenty of choice with food and it was always hot.

I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Tour Operator: Med Hotels

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

ann had a holiday at Santana Hotel, Bugibba, Malta in August 2005
Hotel Santana very clean, staff helpful and pleasant can not fault this hotel and I have stayed in two in malta.

Food very good and choices were too everyones taste although you can not please everyone.

Rooms very clean and always smelt clean even the lifts.

The place cannot be faulted and no children running amock as in other hotels.

Tour Operator: chevron

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Richard visited the Santana Hotel, Bugibba in July 2005
The foyer and reception area were very welcoming with lifts close by. Many of the rooms do not have a sea-view, as did our 2 rooms between our group, however the rooms were of a decent size. The general cleanliness was excellent, the rooms, corridors, pool in fact all areas of the hotel were spotless. The large dining area served a buffet style meal, which was never the same choice over our week stay. The food was superb, without question. We found the Santana staff to be friendly and very helpful and generally they seemed proud and happy to be working there, so this only added to pleasent nature of the hotel.

We did not the entertainment as such but used the childrens games rooms which we found to be average. There was a pool table, a couple of aged video ...
machines and a shuffle air game, which needed an overhaul. The rooftop pool was filled with salt water, which we found unsual but the bar staff etc were prompt, friendly. There was also an indoor pool & jacuzzi with gym facilities and sauna, which we found very nice, thou the pool water was cold.

Our stay was made that bit better because of this hotel experience and I would defintely recommend the Santana.

Read More

Tour Operator: Maltabargains

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars
Share