Image of Bugibba Holiday and Apartments (Formerly Bugibba Holiday Complex Hotel)

Bugibba Holiday and Apartments (Formerly Bugibba Holiday Complex Hotel)

12 of 19 hotels in Bugibba

3 out of 5 from 57 reviews
3 stars
Tourist Street, Bugibba, St Paul's Bay SPB05, Malta
The excellent Bugibba Holiday Complex benefits from a great range of facilities to keep both adults and children amused. The complex is situated in a peaceful location and offers comfortable accommodation. The holiday complex boasts a quiet but central.

57 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    21
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    10
  • Poor
    7

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tracey3U
Building Site
3 months ago
Stayed for 3 nights, 10th-13th March 2017. Upon arrival it looked lovely from the front. That is the positive. We paid when booking to upgrade to one bed apartment. When we checked in we were told that we were being downgraded to a twin room as they had no apartments due to the refurbishment. But we could upgrade to all inclusive for 35 Euro each per night.There was no "All inclusive" as it was only meal times that were catered for. We asked if we could have a fridge due to being diabetic and they wanted 10 Euro per night despite that we had originally booked a apartment with kitchen.

The pool was closed. The pool bar was open for drinks when it felt like, the snacks were no where to be seen. We were given a kettle with a continental plug on it but all the plugs were English sockets..!

As for the food, it was luke warm. I am no snob and know that when you go abroad it can be repetitive etc, but it was tepid at best. Breakfasts were ok and at least the scrambled egg was hot. On our last day we asked to put our cases in the holding room marked "luggage". However it should have been marked "paint and bags of cement" as this was the only thing that was in there.

I feel as though the staff were trying to make the best of a bad hotel and i'm sure once its finished with the refurbishment then it will be lovely, but these were meant to be finished at the end of February and when we booked through Sunmaster we were assured by the advisor that they would be.

This is not the case and given the amount of dust and noise and building material lying round it wont be ready for some time, so just check that it has finished before you book.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunmaster

Hotel tip: Rooms all noisy due to internal and external building work.

John
Should be shut down
3 years 7 months ago
Room were very basic and run down. The sheets on bed were too small, the mattress was dirty and torn, the bathroom was freezing, stuffy and mildewed, toilet seat was cracked so every time you used you got nipped so you had to cover crack with plaster to prevent this. The room was freezing and no heating, the hotel refused to turn on the heating so we went out and bought electric fire to get heat and there was no running water for a day and half and the hotel blamed the government.

The pool area is also very run down with cracked and broken tiles everywhere and the pool was filthy. The furniture in reception area is filthy and should be dumped, toilets in reception area were a bit cleaner but again broken tiles ill fitting toilet seats and the hand dryer didn't work.

Reception staff more interested in talking to each other to bother with guests waiting at the counter. Dining room serving what they describe as a lavish American style Buffet, doesn't resemble American Buffet in any way.

This place should be shut down and refurbished it's a disgrace. This is a true statement of what I experienced and not exaggerated in any way I will never return to this hotel and I use the word hotel very loosely.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jumbo Hotels

Hotel tip: Avoid book another hotel.

Liz Westgarth
Great hotel with friendly staff
6 years 6 months ago
Just back from the Bigibba Hotel. We stayed 3 weeks 27th November till 18th December. It was very pleasant and very clean.

The staff went out there way to help you, the food was very nice, something there for everyone.

Would definitely return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Maggie
9 years 10 months ago
did not stay at this hotel
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: ryanair

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
We have stayed here on several occasions but this time will be our last. I agree with the last few posters the hotel is tired. However it's been tired for a few years!
But now it's deteriorating quickly. The Pizza restaurant is now closed (used as a store room) although the same lunch time menu is available from the pool bar or in the main restaurant and still excellent. The cable TV has been ripped out so no English channels at all. I really missed the news and the kids missed Cartoon network. so there really is no entertainment whatsoever! The aircon in the rooms has never been great but it does nothing now. The rumours abound that it is going to close, and I think they are correct! The students were a pain but as they are out all day and evening the bar never had a queue. I would say it is still good value if you get it at a good price through alpha rooms or Travel republic etc but would advise to use it only in the off seasons.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Jean
9 years 10 months ago
We have stayed at Buggiba Complex on numerous occasions and because of this we asked speciffically to be booked there again. How we wish we had gone elsewhere. The hotel has really gone down hill. The food, although cooked well was very bland and some days we had to eat out (4 breakfasts and 3 evening meals out. We were very dissappointed. The maids kept the rooms very clean and the staff were very helpful although they had to put up with a lot of complaints.We were told that the hotel was to close, and had we known that we would have booked a different hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Chevron

Ian & Evelyn McLean
9 years 11 months ago
After reading reviews on another site, I was a bit worried about going. A lot of what has been said is very true. Italian students (ages 12-18 approx) took over the whole place.

You had to fight your way to the reception desk at times, there were hordes of them - no exaggeration. When they were in the pool, the took that over too and only when they were all out on an excursion, did the pool take on that family feeling - of children playing and enjoying themselves with their parents.

They did play football in the corridor in the early hours of the morning and the leaders looked about as young as the students! They of course were probably tucked up in bed. They also banged on all the doors in the corridor as they went along and pressed all the buttons on the lift, meaning that it went up and down and never seemed to stop at the floor you were on.

They were extremely noisy the whole time and some of the staff in the hotel were as annoyed as other guests. The room was adequate but definitely needed a freshen up, the back of the toilet door was warped and all the paint was peeling off.

The air conditioning wasn't that great and we didn't have a fan. We were able to sleep at night though. We found the food to be really good. There was always a good choice at dinner time although breakfast was always the same, you still had a good choice. We found the majority of the staff to be friendly and helpful.

My mother and my son were with my husband and I and on arriving, we found a light bulb to be out in both their rooms. We told reception, and they were fixed within a couple of hours.

On a down side, we asked for an early morning alarm call as we were going to Sicily, but it didn't happen. Would definitely go back to Malta, it's lovely but not the BHC.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Bellair

10 years ago
Very nice 3* hotel,good value, not 5*, if you want that go to the Hilton or Raddisson and pay their prices.

Food was good and plenty of it, could be a little more varied,good fish and pasta dishes. Rooms were typical 3* and cleaned to a reasonable standard.Hotel is about 6 mins walk to sea and harbour, plenty of bars and restraunts around but never too noisey.

Hotel staff were very pleasant and nothing too much trouble, best people around the Med by far.Been to Malta many times and this is as good a 3* as we've had, would go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
10 years ago
the bhc is a very tired hotel,but very clean, the staff where brilliant and nothing was to much trouble, there were hordes of students but we had no problem with them at all. we found the hotel to be an exellent base and within walking distance of the sea front. all in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the bhc and would definately go back. go with an open mind,if its not up to your standard its not the end of the world, this hotel is more than adequate.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independant travellers

Recommended
Watterson
10 years 1 month ago
Bugibba Holiday Complex.

Food very rarely hot, looked most of the time as it was used again and again.

There was more entertainment in the bar across the street.

Staff very pleasant. Maltese people the best you could meet.

Weather excellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Freedom

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.