Image of Protur Palmeras Playa Apartments

Protur Palmeras Playa Apartments

7 of 15 hotels in Sa Coma

4 out of 5 from 29 reviews
3 stars
C./ Aritja. s/n 07560 Sa Coma, Spain

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
fwh
Excellent
4 years 8 months ago
Flights were on time and the only downside as far as travel is concerned was the time getting our luggage. Trouble free transfer by coach to be greeted by a very friendly receptionist quickly and painlessly booked us in. Quick freshen up and down to dinner.

The only word I can use for the food is excellent. The Chefs cooked it there in front of us and our first problem was choosing what we would eat. Steak, Chicken, Pork, Lamb, Fish (of several varieties) Stir Fries and even Quail. The salad bar could not be faulted and mouth-watering sweets.

We have both gained Six Pounds so diet time beckons. The quality and variety of the food together with the service was far superior to many places I have stayed when an expense account smoothed the way.

Rooms were large and comfortable with towels changed every day. TV in every room with BBC 1 &2 plus ITV and ITV2 so you can keep up with events at home besides your favourite soaps.

The brochure said live acts 3 nights per week but we had something every night and most were first class. The animation team were enthusiastic and worked hard without being intrusive. Service in the bar was speedy and friendly. I can think of a few places here in the UK that would be improved if they employed them.

The manager mingles with the guests and actively seeks their comments in how they can improve the hotel and holiday experience. Not only does he listen but acts on them.


If you have not yet gathered we had a wonderful holiday and hope to visit again in the not too distant future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Peter
Good value for money
6 years 5 months ago
Not bad at all. Rooms clean and tidy. next to the beach,shops and plenty of places to eat out. Evening entertainment was terrible, not a problem if you go out each night.

Pool area was ok but in the shade for the best part of the day and the lifeguard was busy emptying the bins whilst a young lad had to be pulled from the water by guests.

Avoid floors 1 and 2 in block A. The tree's are so overgrown the branches are on the balcony and you cant see a thing. There are better hotels in Sa Coma but they come at a price. All things considered, good value for money.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 5 months ago
Good place, good location right on the corner of Sa Coma beach, and just a few minutes stroll along a nice promenade into small neighbouring resort of S'Illot.

Mostly German clientele, which didn't bother me. In fact out of 64 nights in Majorca over last 3/4 years, 36 spent in hotels with mostly German or Spanish and German guests - 2 nights disturbed sleep, and 28 in hotels with mostly British guests - 28 nights disturbed sleep or next to no sleep at all.

Entertainment totally German, and even if you spoke German you wouldn't understand it, but they loved it (ever seen German TV?) Amazing thing was that when the entertainment was over, the pool area emptied as all the German families left to put their kids and themselves to bed. Shortly after midnight, the whole place was silent with hardly a light still on in any of the apartments. Bit of a change from the Palma Nova rush before the A/I ends to get in enough drink to take them through to 3.30AM.....

Food was good enough and no better or worse than most Spanish hotels I've stayed in, although there perhaps wasn't such a wide choice as in other establishments. The German tendency was evident here too, with pork being a regular feature of most meals. I happen to like pork, but at lunch AND dinner? Strangely for people so fond of piggy products, you can have boiled, fried AND scrambled eggs at breakfast time, there was only bacon 3 times.

Never a problem getting sunbeds, no sign of any obsessives skulking about at 4 in the morning with their piles of towels (you think I'm kidding? - the Germans get the blame for starting this stupid practice of reserving sunbeds with towels, but we Brits appear to have turned it into an art form.) Pool not overly large for such a big establishment, but I've seen smaller pools in larger Spanish hotels, so it was fine.

The all inclusive drinks seemed to be limited to the major stuff, local rum, gin, brandy etc, so if you like a banana or strawberry schnapps and lemonade or cherry brandy etc, you might be a trifle disappointed, but overall the drinks bit was good. Help yourself to the coffee machines all day without having to queue at the bar, and in the restaurant it's self service beer, wine, soft drinks and water which is better than most a/i places I've stayed.

All in all, a very enjoyable holiday and a nice place with friendly staff. Only real downside was the lack of aircon in the apartments. Been so long since we've stayed in a room without aircon that we had forgotten how necessary it is in Majorca in summer. So, would we go back again? Most certainly, but in high season ONLY if they fit air conditioning in the rooms. It's the 21st Century, Eurohotels - even the tiniest cars have aircon now, so how about it?

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Les
8 years 3 months ago
myself and the hubbie stayed in september and enjoyed our 2 week stay. room ovelooking the sea and pool was fantastic. although the hotel mostly caters for the german tourist entertainment is not advised. the staff are very nice and security on the desk at night to let guest's in after a late night. a great place for families also. rooms cleaned every day but sunday constant supply of fresh towels. will be going back as a a family group this june and as a couple later in the year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Amanda / David Mason
9 years 3 months ago
This hotel was a better 3*hotel at Sa Coma, we visit this resort at least once a year. It cost us
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
Stayed at these apartments for two weeks in July and was really pleased with them. With two boys aged 12 and 15, I had thought it would be crowded but the apartment was spacious and the boys slept comfortably on the sofa beds.
The maid service was 5 days a week with the towels changed each day and sheets changed twice in our two week stay. The whole place is very clean. The kitchen area was small but adequate with fridge, 2 rings, toaster and microwave.We take a travel kettle for making coffee but the microwave would be useful for this too. There is no hairdryer.
The air conditioning worked very well and was very welcome!
I booked directly with Protur and requested a top floor apartment with pool view which we got. We were in block C which is farthest from the reception and bar area and so was very quiet.Probably he qietest of this type of apartment that I have ever stayed in! The corridors are carpeted which successfully deadens the noise of people passing outside, also no doorbells so no noisy kids pressing them in the middle of the night!! Having stayed in some nightmare places with kids running up and down the corridors all night it was great to stay here where it was so peaceful. This might have been down to the number of non Brits staying here,most of the guests are German/Scandinavian.
We did not eat here, it is an all-inclusive hotel and most guests seemed to stay here for all meals.
The scramble for sun beds around the pool is frantic, about half of the pool area is in the shade at anyone time so although there are plenty of sunbeds, they will not always be in the sunshine. The pool was lovely,with a fenced off kids area and 2 shallow ends of the main pool and a really deep part too.
We went to the beach every day which is 2 minutes walk away, the main reason I booked these apartments,only returning to use the pool at about 6pm each day when it was quiet.
The beach at Sa Coma is beautiful but very busy at that time of year. Apartments are at far end of Sa Coma,almost in S'Illot, where there is a lovely beach. There is also a rocky beach between the two with rock pools which was very quiet and we spent a lot of time there too.
Very good apartments if you like the beach but I wouldnt want to be hanging around the pool all day.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Tracey
9 years 7 months ago
This was our first holiday abroad with our two chldren. We had the room next door to my sister and her husband. The hotel was very clean and the maid service was excellent - even washed up once when we forgot. The air conditioning kept the rooms nice and cool. The bedroom faced onto the walkway with only a small window which suited our children who went to bed earlier. There is a sofa bed and pull out bed in the lounge area (my hubbie slept on the pull out bed but he is quite short). The only English TV channel was BBC1 but we enjoyed seeing the weather reports of England saying it was raining because we had fantastic sunshine all week. All rooms had a balcony and faced inwards to the pool.

It was early in the season and we had the pool to ourselves for a while - unfortunately the indoor pool was already closed.

The hotel is very close to the beach of Sa Coma and there is also a bike shop where we hired bicylces and rode along the promenade. My sister and brother in law took my older boy over the headland to Cala Millor, visiting the small castle along the way.

We very much enjoyed our stay at these apartments and I would have gone again but they were more expensive than the other apartments in Sa Coma for 2007 (see my other report on Safari apartments May 2007).

There was a club for the children which we knew little about. We took our kids to the disco one night but they were the only two there!

Unfortunately my sister had some money taken from her safe deposit box. It was annoying because I saw the culprit leaving her room and thought he was maintenance. It didn't spoil our holiday but it pays to be aware of such things.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 7 months ago
Rooms were good size very clean we eat out all the time so can not comment on food. Plenty of sun beds more Germans than English but my 3 year old made a friend neither understood the other but they had a great time together.

Near beach plenty of amenities near by for adults and kids. Electric cars, mini golf, trampolines and arcade games. Would recommend to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr Hardie
10 years 5 months ago
This was the most disappointing hotel which we have stayed in.

The complex is arranged in 3 high rise blocks. The blocks are too close together and sitting on the balcony gives the feeling of being in a ghetto, miserably sitting
locking at a high rise block in front, with 'neighbours' within feet of you at either side.

The pool is largely in the shade and given this it is surprising that they have allowed many trees to grow and create further shade. My teenage children normally love the pool, but here it was cold and dull.

The evening entertainment was mainly German. We did move to a different room with a terrace and a view of the sea. This did salvage the holiday.

We would not stay here again - sorry.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
11 years 4 months ago
Just returned from the Palmeras Playa and must say that they have got to be the cleanest apartments we have ever stayed in.

Hotel staff were really friendly. Having read other reviews about the lack of sunbeds around the pool we were a bit concerned but the apartments have addressed this issue and there were loads. cant comment on the food and entertainment as we ate out every night.

Maid service 5 times a week, toaster and microwave, and tv with bbc1 being the english channel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: