67 independent reviews of the Victoria Playa Hotel
Address: Paseo de Cotobro, 5, 18690 Almunecar, Spain
Victoria Playa Hotel
Victoria Playa Hotel Location
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Santo Tomas


4/5
Victoria Playa Hotel Victoria Playa Hotel is rated 4 out of 5 from 67 Reviews
81% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (67 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 4 stars

Victoria Playa Hotel Reviews

5/5
5

COX stayed at Victoria Playa Hotel in July 2010
This hotel is ideal for anyone with children,The location is perfect right next to the beach.The food is fantastic we have never eaten so well on holiday before.All the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly especially the waiting staff and bar people.The only negative point i would make is the lack of entertaiment for adults it all seems to be targeted to children.Also you do need to be up early to claim a sunbed.

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Ann Hammond had a holiday at Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas, Spain in July 2010
My family group was two daughters and their 4 children, ages 17 down to 5. The complex was everything we expected from brochure. I agree with most of other reviews, and yes the furniture is somewhat outdated, but it was always clean, all the staff were lovely and always helpful. We couldn\'t fault the food, always a huge choice of dishes, even for picky children! The entertainment staff worked tirelessly and always with good humour. Our children thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The pools and grounds were spotless.
The proximity to the beach was fantastic and we swam in the sea a few times for a change. My only query was how easy it was for members of the public to just wander in settle down and use the facilities we had paid rather a lot of money ...
for. However not causing any problems, just seemed wrong somehow.
Obviously a family holiday complex so the odd review complaining of the location and entertainment and even the food (!) I just don\'t understand. I suspect habitual complainers. Pay no heed, you\'ll love it, accept it for what it says in the brochure, a family complex. We had a great time.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Linda visited the Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas in June 2010
travelled with son, daughter in law and 4 year old grandson. The interconnecting doors between rooms was a definite bonus - little one with me and Mam and Dad had some chill time!
Impressed with cleanliness,spotless all areas. Food - well was was bit hit and miss, nightmare for veggies as everything had hidden meat. Salads were ok, hot meals soso. Strange combinations - cold sprouts, covered in mayo and tomato sauce? children's menu minimal- cold chips sad pizza, nuggets. Had to buy baked beans, weetabix biscuits etc from overpriced local shop.
The AI was between 11am and 11pm. nice toasties available as well! needed lots of spare euros - loads of rides, bouncy things etc all at 1 - 2 euro
Entertainment geared mainly at the kids - but what the heck - the team worked incessantly - so much going on ...
for all the kids, although the 12 16 year olds looked bored rigid and wandered aimlessly in the evenings - not a lot on offer for them lovely safe areas and separate pools.
Lovely proximity to safe beach, nice walks etc. no night life in resort! would we go back - you bet!!

Read More

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Rafaty visited the Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas, Spain in August 2009
I absolulty love this hotel, I couldnt fault it the staff were friendly, the hotel clean and rooms were cleaned daily, rooms were nice, love the fact thar it wasnt a busy resort, i would go back next year and continue going.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mark, Julie, Jack and Joe visited the Victoria Playa Hotel in July 2009
Just returned for our 2nd visit to the Victoria Playa. Still as lovely as last time. The rooms were made up daily, and clean towels when requested. The food was varied, with plenty of choice. The hotel is the perfect location for a total getaway from it all holiday, which was what we wanted. The staff were friendly, and the entertainment was as good as holiday entertainment usually is!

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

clarke stayed at Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas in June 2009
great hotel returning again this year but do customers no it has gone all inclusive

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

steve had a holiday at Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas, Spain in July 2008
1 reader found this review helpful

Went to VP end of july this year and was frankly appalled at this hotel. I chose VP due to all the good comments on this site. 1st impressions of hotel was badly dated (although the rooms was clean). Location is ideal in the day due to lovely beach few hundred feet away but night time is desolate. Most people tended to stay at hotel for entertainment but this was terrible with a capital T. If you want a sunbed then be prepared to claim one before 8am and once you have the bed be prepared to have next person 10\'\' away as there is no space between due to overcrowding. There is a lot for younger kids to do with thomsons kids club in the evening but beware you will need to queue an hour before booking time as ...
they only take a max of 30 kids!! Food was terrible with limited choice, veg overcooked and meat flooded with gravy, the plates and cuterlery was old and dirty and worst of all a cockroach was seen in foodhall only to be stepped on by waiter. (later cleaned up after complaint)In my honest opinion this hotel scrapes the 3 star rating by a whisker....Never again

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Graham O'Neill had a holiday at Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas in June 2008
This hotel was spotlessly clean at all times, Rooms cleaned daily and Towels changed every day. Cleaners very friendly and helpful.

We opted to hire a Frindge for the week, for 3 euro\'s a day it mean\'t we could have cold drinks in our room.
Safe in the room was ideal for locking valuables away, just for peice of mind.

Food was plentiful and a good variety too, it was always very well laid out and always hot. Buffets style which was great because it mean\'t that you could try a bit of every thing.

Hotel location good for sun or beach worshipers not so much for those that like the shops, not many of those to choose from near by but hey your on holiday. forget the shops for a week!!

Entertainment was fun, my son loves music and dancing so he was ...
in his element, Entertainment staff were fantastic too. altogether 15 reps on site all day every day except mondays (their day off) everyones entitled to a day off aye.

We met some great families whilst on holiday and plan to keep in touch.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for Sun, Sea, Sand and lots of fun.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Sue visited the Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas in September 2007
Very clean and friendly hotel. Food was great, buffet style but more than enough to chose from. Always fresh fruit available and plenty of puddings and cakes in the evening! The room was a bit small for our family but grandparents had one child on the odd night. The location was perfect for the lovely beach which you could access down a small path, unfortunately when we went it was quite windy and lots of jellyfish were on the beach, however, they were gone the next day, beach gorgeous though. It is a very quiet resort but there is a lovely walkway along behind the hotels and small parks for the kids. Hotel staff were great and the Thomson reps were fab, hard working and very friendly, the friendliest I have ever met. The drop in centre was great ...
as my 2 girls could go at the same time instead of being in 2 different clubs. I would recommend is hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet family holiday.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Julie,Jack and Joe visited the Victoria Playa Hotel in July 2007
Well what can I say! Lived up to my expectations and beyond! Hotel was clean, maids came in everyday to make beds and change towels, cannot complain at all

Tour Operator: portland direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Anthony and Tina had a holiday at Victoria Playa Hotel in June 2007
Stayed here for 1 week, booked a late deal. First impressions very good, looked clean and tidy.

Rooms are very basic, No fridge or TV in the rooms (luckily we had good weather -- hotel would not be able to cope in bad weather I think).

Food ok really, plenty of choice, however the menu did change during each evening - when the current food runs out, especially puddings! they place something different out. Watch out for the strawberries, if you see them grab em quick as they will not last long!

Entertainment, the Thomson staff worked hard and in evening had some different acts on. The other half loved the Fake (take) That tribute band. They bought the house down.

One word of warning -- do not book you rental car form the Europcar-Betacar kiosk in reception.

We hired a vehicle ...
for 3 days (9 seater for rest of family) original quoted in writing 200 Euro incl 3 child seats. upon collection price jumped to 280 Euro excl child seats,and would not budge. Told him to poke. Person behind me wanted a beetle convertable and got a Citroen C3 non convertable for the same price??!!.

Other people were having problems with the car rep - Also he would not translate the agreement for you, just saying sign here and here!! Very helpful!

Would not visit hotel again as too quiet an area for us.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

jim & caroline stayed at Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas in June 2007
A typical 3 star hotel, it could do with updating, the decor and furnishings are 20 years out of date.

The food is hit and miss, the only exception being the Friday gala dinner which was good. Beware a lot of the crockery and cutlery are old and dirty, with evidence of previous meals there to see. The hotel needs to replace the lot and buy new dishwashers.

The staff are friendly and helpful. There are a lot of young babies and toddlers in the hotel, so be prepared to be woken up anytime from 7am, no chance of a lie in. That said there are next to no teenagers and no 20 something lager louts.

The hotel is situated on the beach and there are some great local walks across the cliffs.

A quiet relaxing resort, not for those who like a lively nightlife.

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

The Hoods stayed at Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas in June 2007
The was our first family holiday abroad and we were not disappointed. We travelled with our 3 children aged 6, 4 and 14 months and they loved it.

The hotel is kept very clean and tidy. The staff at the hotel very friendly especially the restaurant staff with the children. Our room was a bit on the small side especially with the size of our party, having said that, how much time do you spend in them?

The food was adequate, not a great selection and we found weird combinations such as spring rolls with mashed potatoes, having said that it was always cooked well and replenished on a regular basis. Childrens buffet very limited and we found ours ate from the adult buffet to avoid chips every night. It was of a good standard considering the amount of people they were ...
catering for. We found breakfast was better than the evening meals. Gala night on a Friday was very good food.

The location was good, beach just a short stroll away, ideal for little legs. The resort itself is fairly quiet, ideal if you are looking for a relaxing holiday not for you if you want a bustling night life. We found the resort itself had a very safe feeling to it which was perfect with the children.

The reps and staff at the hotel were helpful, as I said above the restaurant staff in particular very friendly always made an effort to come over and chat to us and the children. Reps were very good in particular Dolly Davy, Juicy Lucy and Cheeky Charley, we didn\'t use the kids clubs so can\'t comment on the kids reps, our children were more than happy to swim or go down the beach.

Plenty of sunloungers and a nice quieter area on the grass with trees to offer shade, where you can see the children in the pool but get away from the hustle and bustle around the pool a bit.

Entertainment was good, daytime games around the pool, afternoon quiz and evening entertainment. The children enjoyed the evening entertainment a little more than we did I think but it was ok.

All in all would go back but as we want to see other parts of the world it will be in a few years.

Read More

Tour Operator: Portland Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

lesley had a holiday at Victoria Playa Hotel in June 2007
we had a great time, location, food and room was excellent.
A great hotel for familes with young children.
We would love to go back there.

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Simone Killen visited the Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas in June 2007
travelled with husband and two children - the children had a ball - wanted to go straight back! Very helpful staff, polite and friendly - plenty going on during the day and evenings - some of the acts they got in on an evening weren\'t up to much but Fake That and Westlive, Abba and Four Tops were all excellent and made for great entertainment.

My husband found the resort a little too quiet but me and the kids loved it. Considering going back again.

Tour Operator: Thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Nathan Killen had a holiday at Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas, Spain in June 2007
The hotel was lovely but resort only had three shops so a little quiet. The entertainment staff were marvellous and a special mention should go to Cheeky Charlie, Juicy Lucy and Dolly Dave (but he left halfway through our holiday).

We went to the Cala Galdana Hotel to visit relatives and it seemed so quiet by comparison - though a very nice hotel.

The food was lovely and the entertainment at night was excellent - The Disney Show being my favourite and Fake That.



Tour Operator: Thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

paul and caz visited the Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas in May 2007
Booked a late deal and were put here, the hotel is very much a family hotel with most people with babys and young children.

The hotel rooms are spot on and very clean with fantastic views over san tomas.

The food is probably the best I have eaten abroad. Only fault is there was not a great lot out of the hotel just a couple of bars and shops.

I would recomend this hotel for families or couples who want a quiet holiday, not enough going on for us.

Had a great time but would not return.

Tour Operator: thompsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

dave stayed at Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas, Spain in August 2006
If you have stayed at a Thompson Superfamily Hotel before then you will have no surprises at this one. Last Year we stayed at out first superfamily (the Presedente in Portanx, Ibiza ) if you have stayed at that hotel the you will find this one very, very similar both in terms of the Hotel facilities and the resort.

The Hotel, like I said, every thing you have come to expect is there, buts lets start of with a few negatives first. All the Entertainment at night is inside (you would expect it outside on the pool side in August) and the acoustics in the room where it was held were very poor, all adding to the feel of a UK Butlins resort as another reviewer mentioned. The Entertainment team tried hard but they did seem to lack something (particularly ...
compared to the Presedente) and the program of entertainments was limited to virtually beam bag throwing, water polo and a quiz, no archery or pistol shooting here like at other hotels (but they did have the space for it!). The rooms were small and OK but no TV or tea making facilties (as at the Presedente again, sorry) and my wife complained that the wardrobes did not accommodate anything longer than a skirt or shirt.

On the plus side the food was slightly above the level of the normal mass produced slop you come to expect at half board hotels, there was an alternative to chips every night and a good selection of fish on most nights. The Hotel and room, like the resort was very clean, special commendation to the sunbed attendant in the yellow tots hat who meticulously, every evening checked under every bed for litter and repositioned the sunbeds ready for the next day. Also well done to the cleaners who noticed out shower was faulty and before we had chance to report it had replaced the whole unit for us. And FREE Fridge

Read More

Tour Operator: Portland
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Lee visited the Victoria Playa Hotel, Santo Tomas in August 2006
Travelled in August to Victoria Playa.

The hotel was clean at all times, and the rooms were cleaned every day at the same time also to a high standard.

The food was good with a good selection, although at times the restaurant got a little crowded but they are trying to feed a lot of us all at once!

The hotel location is excellent, right next to the beach with excellent views.the staff were very helpful and were always smiling and working flat out!

The entertainment was good and the Hotel reps worked hard to keep everyone happy and involved.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Robertson visited the Victoria Playa Hotel in July 2006
Just returned from a weeks holiday at Victoria Playa
We had a wonderful time food was excellent plenty of choice.

Hotel was very clean.

Reps were great. We had not been before but will be going back.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share