Image of Victoria Playa Hotel

Victoria Playa Hotel

2 of 7 hotels in Santo Tomas

4 out of 5 from 67 reviews
3 stars
Paseo de Cotobro, 5, 18690 Almunecar, Spain
Overlooking the sea and the Minorcan countryside, the Victoria Playa marks the eastern end of the quiet resort of Santo Tomas. The 25m walk to the beach will pose no problem for little legs, while restaurants, bars and supermarkets are only 40m away.

67 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    33
  • Very Good
    22
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
COX
6 years 5 months ago
This hotel is ideal for anyone with children,The location is perfect right next to the beach.The food is fantastic we have never eaten so well on holiday before.All the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly especially the waiting staff and bar people.The only negative point i would make is the lack of entertaiment for adults it all seems to be targeted to children.Also you do need to be up early to claim a sunbed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ann Hammond
6 years 5 months ago
My family group was two daughters and their 4 children, ages 17 down to 5. The complex was everything we expected from brochure. I agree with most of other reviews, and yes the furniture is somewhat outdated, but it was always clean, all the staff were lovely and always helpful. We couldn't fault the food, always a huge choice of dishes, even for picky children! The entertainment staff worked tirelessly and always with good humour. Our children thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The pools and grounds were spotless.
The proximity to the beach was fantastic and we swam in the sea a few times for a change. My only query was how easy it was for members of the public to just wander in settle down and use the facilities we had paid rather a lot of money for. However not causing any problems, just seemed wrong somehow.
Obviously a family holiday complex so the odd review complaining of the location and entertainment and even the food (!) I just don't understand. I suspect habitual complainers. Pay no heed, you'll love it, accept it for what it says in the brochure, a family complex. We had a great time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Linda
6 years 6 months ago
travelled with son, daughter in law and 4 year old grandson. The interconnecting doors between rooms was a definite bonus - little one with me and Mam and Dad had some chill time!
Impressed with cleanliness,spotless all areas. Food - well was was bit hit and miss, nightmare for veggies as everything had hidden meat. Salads were ok, hot meals soso. Strange combinations - cold sprouts, covered in mayo and tomato sauce? children's menu minimal- cold chips sad pizza, nuggets. Had to buy baked beans, weetabix biscuits etc from overpriced local shop.
The AI was between 11am and 11pm. nice toasties available as well! needed lots of spare euros - loads of rides, bouncy things etc all at 1 - 2 euro
Entertainment geared mainly at the kids - but what the heck - the team worked incessantly - so much going on for all the kids, although the 12 16 year olds looked bored rigid and wandered aimlessly in the evenings - not a lot on offer for them lovely safe areas and separate pools.
Lovely proximity to safe beach, nice walks etc. no night life in resort! would we go back - you bet!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rafaty
7 years 4 months ago
I absolulty love this hotel, I couldnt fault it the staff were friendly, the hotel clean and rooms were cleaned daily, rooms were nice, love the fact thar it wasnt a busy resort, i would go back next year and continue going.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mark, Julie, Jack And Joe
7 years 5 months ago
Just returned for our 2nd visit to the Victoria Playa. Still as lovely as last time. The rooms were made up daily, and clean towels when requested. The food was varied, with plenty of choice. The hotel is the perfect location for a total getaway from it all holiday, which was what we wanted. The staff were friendly, and the entertainment was as good as holiday entertainment usually is!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 6 months ago
great hotel returning again this year but do customers no it has gone all inclusive
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Steve
8 years 5 months ago
Went to VP end of july this year and was frankly appalled at this hotel. I chose VP due to all the good comments on this site. 1st impressions of hotel was badly dated (although the rooms was clean). Location is ideal in the day due to lovely beach few hundred feet away but night time is desolate. Most people tended to stay at hotel for entertainment but this was terrible with a capital T. If you want a sunbed then be prepared to claim one before 8am and once you have the bed be prepared to have next person 10'' away as there is no space between due to overcrowding. There is a lot for younger kids to do with thomsons kids club in the evening but beware you will need to queue an hour before booking time as they only take a max of 30 kids!! Food was terrible with limited choice, veg overcooked and meat flooded with gravy, the plates and cuterlery was old and dirty and worst of all a cockroach was seen in foodhall only to be stepped on by waiter. (later cleaned up after complaint)In my honest opinion this hotel scrapes the 3 star rating by a whisker....Never again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Graham O'Neill
8 years 6 months ago
This hotel was spotlessly clean at all times, Rooms cleaned daily and Towels changed every day. Cleaners very friendly and helpful.

We opted to hire a Frindge for the week, for 3 euro's a day it mean't we could have cold drinks in our room.
Safe in the room was ideal for locking valuables away, just for peice of mind.

Food was plentiful and a good variety too, it was always very well laid out and always hot. Buffets style which was great because it mean't that you could try a bit of every thing.

Hotel location good for sun or beach worshipers not so much for those that like the shops, not many of those to choose from near by but hey your on holiday. forget the shops for a week!!

Entertainment was fun, my son loves music and dancing so he was in his element, Entertainment staff were fantastic too. altogether 15 reps on site all day every day except mondays (their day off) everyones entitled to a day off aye.

We met some great families whilst on holiday and plan to keep in touch.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for Sun, Sea, Sand and lots of fun.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sue
9 years 3 months ago
Very clean and friendly hotel. Food was great, buffet style but more than enough to chose from. Always fresh fruit available and plenty of puddings and cakes in the evening! The room was a bit small for our family but grandparents had one child on the odd night. The location was perfect for the lovely beach which you could access down a small path, unfortunately when we went it was quite windy and lots of jellyfish were on the beach, however, they were gone the next day, beach gorgeous though. It is a very quiet resort but there is a lovely walkway along behind the hotels and small parks for the kids. Hotel staff were great and the Thomson reps were fab, hard working and very friendly, the friendliest I have ever met. The drop in centre was great as my 2 girls could go at the same time instead of being in 2 different clubs. I would recommend is hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet family holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie,Jack And Joe
9 years 5 months ago
Well what can I say! Lived up to my expectations and beyond! Hotel was clean, maids came in everyday to make beds and change towels, cannot complain at all
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: