108 independent reviews of Santo Tomas, Spain
Santo Tomas Location

4/5
Santo Tomas is rated 4 out of 5 from 108 Reviews

Santo Tomas Hotels

Santo Tomas Reviews

3/5


Anthony and Tina visited here on June 2007
Resort itself is very clean and tidy but QUIET. Everso.
By the hotel there is a minisupermarket, chemist,car rental (not betacar), bar, and a couple of gift shops. A 5 minute walk and you have crazy golf and more shops, same as above!
To buy tobacco (more than 1 pack at a time) tou need to go to the next town (cannot remember the name) which is 4km away. Spanish law now only allows sale of tobacco from tobbacconists. This was too quiet for us-- we like a quiet resort/holiday but this was too quiet for us.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


jim & caroline visited here on June 2007
A small purpose built, but quite pretty resort. It has 2 great beaches and you can walk to 2 more in 10/15 minutes. Nightlife is low key and would not suit those who like discos and nightclubs. Buses go to Mahon and Cituadella from the resort.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


mandy visited here on June 2007
Santo thomas is a very very very quiet resort, i would have said it was more for people with no children or the older couples not a family resort at all. It would be a lovely place to live out of the hustle and bustle and it seems lots of menorcans go there to escape too, on a weekend the beach is filled with menorcan people.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Lee visited here on June 2007
It was wonderful staying somewhere so close to the beach, the weather was very hot and we don\'t think we could have managed any further away! The resort is lovely and quiet, no loud clubs and the restaurants all seemed to close after 11ish with no loud revellers coming out causing problems. Definately somewhere to go with young children wanting a quiet holiday. 2 Main supermarkets that stock most of what you want but on the expensive side, we got some basics on the first day and they came to over £50! We absolutely loved it though and we have already booked again for next year.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Amy C visited here on May 2007
The resort is really nice and clean although it is quiet. If you are looking for english breakfasts and noisy bars this resort is probably notfor you! We found it to be a lovely friendly place. Everywhere very welcoming to kids and always courteous.
Not a huge amount of choice for eating but most of the restaurants overlook the sea which makes for a lovely dinner. Particularly lovely views at Es Pins which is at the top end of the resort.
Beach lovely, clean sand and a sparkling clear blue sea. Always plenty of sunbeds although they are fairly expensive at 6 euros without an umbrella. We usually just took towels instead.
Supermarkets were expensive but doesn\'t seem to matter so ...
much on holiday.
On one particularly windy day there was a lot of jellyfish blown in, although they were only tiddlers might be one to watch out for if it is windy.
We didn\'t bother with hiring a car as were really fortunate with the weather and spent most of our time on the beach.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and having picked up our photos this morning feel very sad to be back in rainy England!!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Martin + Fiona visited here on May 2007
Santo tomas is a great little gem of a resort, was originally going to stay in the northern resort of areneal d\'castell, in the big thompson gold hotel, when we visited in the rental car (Auto Pons rental - use these, they are menorcas local rental firm and are much cheaper and friendlier!!) On arrival to see \'what we could have had\' (so to speak!!) we were Sooooo glad we were in Santo tomas!!!
Santo Tomas is a reort which looks more like a village by the see (if you ignore the 4 big hotels that is!!) its small enough to walk around, and at first glance looks as if you will be short of things to look at or ...
shops etc. but look closer and you will discover the supermarkets are big enough and the shops have just the right things you are looking for!!
Beach is very clean (lovely icing sugar sand) and a beautiful turquoise sea (on both beaches) stunning!!! you never get tired of looking at the sea here!!!
If you like walking, you will be spoiled for choice as there are some really good trails to follow, visit a shop and look for the little blue book amusingly titled \'diary of a blister\'!!(printed in england and written by an english couple) it has about 8 great walks around the resort / surrounding area, infact walk no. 1 is a simple stroll from east to west on the main road, and describes everything in resort as you pass it, very useful for your first nights stroll and you don\'t know anything!!!
Would recommend the seaside cafe / restaurant \'Es Bruc\' at the end of the resort (near the roundabout where the resort begins) service really freindly, fast service, great food / drinks, and great prices!!! don\'t wory about finding it as YOU WILL find it eventually (is very popular, and is on a main walking route at the end of the promenade to the west of resort)
Santo Tomas is a fantastic place for rest and relaxation, and because the nightlife is almost non existant, the gangs of lager louts etc just quite simply do not exist!! We ourselves are only in our thirties but know if we wanted that sort of thing we would have gone to majorca etc. Here the focus is firmly on chilling out and taking it easy!!! If you want to horse ride, and were absolute beginners like ourselves, and have a car hired, then I would recommend without any hesitation the Tolo Mora Portella farm / riding centre, (its at the top of the climbing lane on your right hand side on the main Me-1 road heading west - past the boat factory and BP garage - just past the 24Km marker - around 1/2 hour drive from Santo tomas) Tel. 626 59 37 37. Cost 20 euros each for over 1 hours gentle riding through the hills - simply unforgetable!!! If this is what you want to do, don\'t go anywhere else - this place is better than you could imagine it!!!
I would visit Santo Tomas again definaitly, I must confess I had a tear in my eye when I passed the sign with \'Santo Tomas\' with a red line though it on departure!!! my only regret?? I only booked for 1 week and not 2!!!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


keith deb kemp visited here on May 2007
The resort is not of s great size just two rows of shops
one small bar and a resturant at one end of the beach,
there is a disco which has only opens at the seasons begining.
The beach is very clean withn few sun beds but overall the resort is worth one or more visits.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


anne, len and john visited here on May 2007
What a beautiful clean resort and beach. It\'s virtually a one road place which comes to a dead end. We went for lots of walks and were amazed by the wild life and beautiful wild flowers/insects etc. May is definitely a good month for that sort of holiday.The 3 beaches are pale sand and ideal for young families or sunworshippers. You have to wade out a long way to get any depth but they warn of undercurrents and my brother in law found he had to get out at the next beach rather than swim back to us after snorkelling round some rocks. You can walk round to Son Bou but not with pushchairs on the rocky cliff path, then ...
you face a long beach slog to get to cafes at the other end of the beach. We much preferred the other direction and the walks along the limestone gorges to the caves were spectacular.
Santo Tomas has no clubs for teenagers- they might get bored. There are only 3 buses each day to mahon or cuitadella or stops on route. Car hire would be a good option if you want flexibilty to explore the island.
All the hotels welcome non-residents to use their restaurants. There are 3 lovely ones overlooking the sea. they are not cheap, Es Pins being the most reasonable but all welcome children. The menus are much the same -continental.
We would come again. It\'s a lovely place.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Cartlidge visited here on May 2007
Resort is flat and litter free.Not much eating out choice but as we had a car for 5 days this was not too much of a problem. From the menus most of the restaurants seemed to be owned by the same hotel chain. This is a shame as it did not give the variety that most people look out for on holiday but the meals we had in resort were ok if not exciting with tinned veg. Best for service was the Malibu. As for eating out of resort, try out Fornells as we had a great meal for 2 with wine/water bread and 3 course for about 30 euros via the menu of the day at only 7.21 euros ...
which gave a very big choice including the tasty Sole in a nice sauce. We also had two good meals in Ciutadella down on the harbour side with a very nice Swordfish steak.
Hired a Renault Clio for only 112 euros with full insurance, via the office at the rear of the bakery. We found with the use of the car some very nice beaches and the one we liked the best was called Cala Pregonda up by Cap De Cavalleria near Fornells, well worth the walk. Also try Cala Turqueta on the south west coast.

There are some good walks around Santo Tomas, we in fact walked all the way to Cala Galdana and returned by bus via Ferreries. Hard work but worth it to have a beautiful beach all to yourself. The walk to Son Bou is very easy and only takes about a hour each way - try walking through the sand dunes on a path that has just been set up and you could see as we did Bee Eaters and Marsh Harriers plus butterflies etc. A good walk from the resort is up to the Caves de Coloms near Es Migiorn Gran. You could fit a country church inside the cave, it\'s that large, well worth looking at and the walk back through the trees was made better by the sound of the birds singing and all the many butterflies flitting about. Start of this walk is along the Binigaus beach which is the best local beach and is used by many local people at the weekends and that tells you its good.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Kylie Anderson visited here on May 2007
If I had to put a negative then I\'d say there weren\'t enough restaurants, we hired a car for three out of our 11 days and wish we\'d of had it for 5, its a very small resort and if your not happy by the pool and beach all day then a car is a must. It was clean, friendly and I\'d go back in a shot. The parks really were great, and very safe, ideal for children of all ages. Shops were expensive but a bus ride away there is a supermarket which is alot cheaper we stocked up on drinks snacks and ice creams for about £18 and ate in twice too.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


jo visited here on October 2006
Resort is very child friendly beech is one of the cleanist I\'ve visited, supermarkets in resort were on expensive side so for those who don\'t drive its a shame!

Resort itself very nice will deffinatly return, but someone should do somthing about the smell by the Irish bar!!!!!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Susan Carson visited here on October 2006
The resort is extremely quiet and as I have said a car is essential. Shopping is expensive so travel to the main cities and shop in the hypermarkets. The money that you save will go towards the car hire. Cala Galdana is worth a visit as a lot of the other beaches are covered in seaweed and if you are sad enough to have a metal detector there is plenty of things to find. We bought all of our presents with the money we found. We all loved the island and would go back to Menorca like a shot.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Mrs O'Mahony visited here on September 2006
Santo Thomas was a very clean and peaceful resort. Not many bars or restuarants but Espines and the Hong Kong definately were our favourites both serving very good food and of a high quality and reasonable price. The beach was very clean, the sun beds was a bit dear at 20 euros for 2 beds a day!!! we had a problem with jelly fish while we were there but it didnt put us off. Would certainly visit the resort again.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


dave visited here on August 2006
Santo Tomas is a VERY quiet place, there is literally only 1 bar apart from about 3 or 4 taverna style bar/restaurants along the beach, so donít go here if you are looking for a wild night out. What restaurants there are, are attached to the 5 large hotel complexes at the resort apart from a Chinese and a very small pizza one. The resort, however is spotlessly clean and the mile long block paved promenade along the beach is ideal for people with pushchairs or disable people in wheelchairs. The Beach was ideal for kids to make sandcastles, and sloped gently in crystal clear waters ideal for snorkelling amongst the rocks. But did get very crowded particularly on Sundays ...
when the local Menorcans visited.
There a couple of nice walks to try, you can go left towards Son Bou, but like every one says watch out for the old fat german nudists (There are a few on the main Santo Tomas beach too). Turning right can take you exploring for the famous cave in the area, the walk takes about 2 hours, wear some good shoes! there is supposed to be a prehistoric settlement here as well, but we never found it.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Lee visited here on August 2006
The resort was average , it\'s a shame that there isn\'t more in the resort though as it\'s fairly quiet and there isn\'t too much to do outside the hotel, also as it\'s quite a journey to the water parks or market, the taxi would have been too expensive, and i didn\'t fancy taking four kids on a local bus
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Brenda Kirby visited here on July 2006
Santo Tomas is a beautiful little resort and the hotel we stayed in had a beach on either side so you had a choice.

The walk along the front is particularly lovely after dinner and there is no litter or dog dirt!!

This is a small resort which I would say caters more for families and people seeking peace and quiet. If you are a party animal then Santo Tomas is not the place for you, but if you are like us and crave a relaxing holiday after working hard all year then I would strongly recommend you go here.

The beaches were beautiful and swimming in the sea was lovely.

I would definitely visit this resort again. I needed a relaxing ...
holiday and this most definitely was the place to go for that.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


M & S visited here on July 2006
Santo Tomas is very small and all activities are centred on the different hotels and apartment areas. The whole place is spotless.
The beach is soft white sand, with a clear sea remaining shallow for a long way out. Buoys mark out the bathing area and a flag system operates to ensure safety. There is one excellent cafe/restaurant (Es Pins) at the eastern end of the beach, and other good places further along.
You will need some transport for a couple of days at least to get out and see the rest of this beautiful relaxing island. Santo Tomas is very well placed for trips out.
It is near perfect for anyone who wants a quiet time. We would definitely return.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Whitmore visited here on July 2006
What can i say but such a very picturesque resort ,you have to go to the beach in the evening to see the sunset fantastic,counldn\'t fault the cleanliness of the resort very clean and tidy,Las dunas across the road from the apartments seemed to be the main entertainment,we was lucky to have a Robbie Williams look-a-like one night to the delight of my wife,beach was fantastic but the sand was very hot so keep your sandals on you could wade out in the sea very safe,we would definatley consider going to Menorca again but with a bit more going on
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


annie simpson visited here on July 2006
Chose this resort purely on beach & quietness. Well we\'ve already booked for 2007. To be honest I am a \'beach babe\' and this beach did not disappoint.

Beautiful stretch of white sand, sparkling blue water, great for kids as wasn\'t very wavey, and plenty of space on the beach, this is not a Benidorm style beach where you are all upon each other and getting sand flicked at you by another\'s family, I found my own spot and had loads of space around me.

I think the beach is a huge plus point at this resort. Don\'t go visiting this resort if you have teenagers, there will be nothing for them to do whatsoever. This ...
is a very quiet village resort, no usual English style pubs/cafes, just what we wanted!

This is a resort that has a \'dead end\' so the traffic was minimal, and was so \'worry free\' to that extent.

Our apartment complex provided entertainment about a minute walk to a complex across the road and imagine most complexes have entertainment of some description (we stayed at Lleiberg & Mestral apartments). We loved it here, our kids are 10 and 7.

To eat out was pretty much on the expensive side, though probably no more expensive than eating out in UK.

Extortionate prices in the 2 supermarkets in the resort (which I had read up on and had found out were both owned by the same person, so prices were exactly the same at each).

We hired a car for our stay, so went to large supermarket at Ciutedella which was a fraction of the prices, and stocked up for the week.

If you want a chilled out holiday, but with ample entertainment for young children at night, this is the one for you. Wouldn\'t hesitate to recommend. But like I said if you\'re looking for noisy bars & a heavy nightlife steer well clear and head for Cala\'n\'Forcat, particularly if you have teenagers to please!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Ella visited here on May 2006
As stated Santo Tomas is a very quiet resort consisting of half a dozen shops, crazy golf and maybe three bars.
Very pretty indeed but other than a 10min stroll down the main street it was back to the hotel for the nightly entertainment: kids disco/games 8.15pm till the \"show\" at 9.15pm.

No-one has mentioned the prices in the hotel/resort! 320 euros for a pint of flat lager? and 600 euro for a plate of chips at the beach cafe? Also, a tip for smokers; in the resort itself they are not allowed to sell packs (200)cigarettes you have to go to the next resort to buy them (do not buy from airport as they are much more!!)

The beach was ...
quite good beautiful clear shallow water but very cluttered sand (like dried seaweed i think) For anyone travelling with elderly or disabled people access is via a slight rocky slope or a short walk to a nearby boardwalk (it is not just bang flat in front of the hotel like the pic in brochure makes it appear).




Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
3 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Hamilton Court Apartments  stars Hamilton Court Apartments
On Santo Tomas Beach, these apartments are spacious and well-equipped. Suits families with younger children and those looking for a relaxing holiday close to the beach.

Latest Review: Oct 2013

Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Santo Tomas

4/5
Hi Lord Nelson Apartments  stars Hi Lord Nelson Apartments
Address: Playa de Santo Tomás, 07749 Es Migjorn Gran (Mercadal) MENORCA, Spain

Latest Review: Oct 2007

Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Santo Tomas

4/5
Menorca Hotel Sol  stars Menorca Hotel Sol
The Sol Menorca was previously known as the Sol Elite Condores. Recently refurvished it has a pool, a relaxing bar and entertainment provided by the Sol team.

Latest Review: May 2011

Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Santo Tomas

4/5
Mestral Llebeig Hotel  stars Mestral Llebeig Hotel
This attractive complex built in two sections has all the amenities for an excellent self-catering holiday close at hand. The apartments, which are comfortable and well-equipped, are ideal for families intending to eat at least some of their meals in.

Latest Review: Oct 2009

Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Santo Tomas

4/5
Santo Tomas Hotel  stars Santo Tomas Hotel
The low-rise whitewashed Santo tomas provides an ideal base for a peaceful and relaxing beach holiday, with fabulous views across the beach. The interior is furnished in cream, red marble and wood, with potted plants adding greenery to the decor.

Latest Review: Jul 2007

Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Santo Tomas

4/5
Victoria Playa Hotel  stars Victoria Playa Hotel
Overlooking the sea and the Minorcan countryside, the Victoria Playa marks the eastern end of the quiet resort of Santo Tomas. The 25m walk to the beach will pose no problem for little legs, while restaurants, bars and supermarkets are only 40m away.

Latest Review: Jul 2010

Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Santo Tomas

4/5
Vistamar Studios  stars Vistamar Studios
The Vistamar Studios are situated right on the beachfront and offer sea view apartments and a pool with a view. A restaurant with a bar and TV area are great for relaxing after a long day on the beach.

Latest Review: May 2002

Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Santo Tomas
Share