Image of Hi Lord Nelson Apartments

Hi Lord Nelson Apartments

5 of 7 hotels in Santo Tomas

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
3 stars
Playa de Santo Tomás, 07749 Es Migjorn Gran (Mercadal) MENORCA, Spain

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Stewart Family
9 years 8 months ago
This was our third visit to Menorca in October and we had a great time, despite the poor weather. Certainly didn't dampen the holidy spirits!

The apartments are in a good location and are in excellent order. The rooms were large and well equiped. They were cleaned every day and the maids did a fantastic job. We had a pool and sea view and I have to say that the view over the beach and out to sea were spectacular!

The complex has a good sunbathing area and a large size swimming pool. There is also a toddlers paddle pool next to the main pool. We had a lifeguard on duty while open, despite it being rarely used due to the poor weather. (unusual for October)

The indoor bar area is a little on the small side, although there were plenty of tables outside and around the pool area if you were brave enough to sit out in the cold night air. I believe they're expanding this during the winter, ready for the summer season next year.

You can opt to eat at the restaurant on site for 14 euros per adult and 7 euros per child. We decided to try it out one night and the food was excellent. Easily better than the other restuarants around the small resort. The bar there was also the cheapest in the resort too.(Lager 3.10, wine 1.70 gin/tonic 2.80)

There is also is a pizzeria on the site which seemed reasonably priced, although we never ate there.

We found the other restaurants around the resort to be pricey compared to other resorts in the island. We found best value at the Lord Nelson restaurant and at Las Dunas. We also tried the chinese across the road, but thought it was pretty average and fairly expensive.

There are two supermarkets in the small resort. Both of which were well stocked but, again... on the expensive side! Cheaper supermarkets can be found in Mercedal or Ferriers if you have a hire car.

The entertainment was very poor. Guess this was because it was the last week in the season. The animation team were non existent! They came on a morning to put on music around the pool, only once did a daytime activity for the kids (which was needed more due to the cold weather and not being in the pool) and then returned on the night to introduce an act brought in or to try and drum up enthusiasm for karoke! Don't think this would happen during the high season though.

The resort itself is very small but feels fairly exclusive. It's immaculate and the beach area is breathtaking. Like Menorca, nightlife is very low key but some of the resturants do provide entertainment whilst you can eat your meal.

You can easily get a bus into Mahon and Ciutedella. Both of which are worth a visit. We also enjoyed a trip to see the dancing horses and Cala Galdana.

Overall, an enjoyable holiday (shame about the weather on this occasion) and we would go back again but not for our main holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Harris
9 years 10 months ago
One bedroom self catering apartments in a prime location. Apartments are very basic with two single beds, a sofa bed and a pull out camp bed. They are equipped with everything you would need for a self catering holiday. The kitchen has an electric hob and microwave and kettle. There is a TV in the lounge area which we did not watch. As we like to eat out every night we only used the kitchen for making sandwiches and hot drinks. We stayed in room 343 which had lovely views over the garden and sea. The balcony only had 2 outside chairs and a table, so if the four of us wanted to sit outside we had to take the chairs out from the dining area. There is a pine dining table with 4 chairs. The bedroom has plenty of wardrobe storage and there is a safe in the wardrobe as well, which has to be paid for if you want to use it. Our only criticism is the 3rd and 4th beds in the lounge area. Our teenage son is bigger than both of us, so I ended up sleeping on the sofa bed and my daughter on the camp bed as he would not have fitted on either. As the apartments are quite spacious, I can't understand why they don't have something different to what they have got. I always think it is a bit much to pay for a holiday where you end up sleeping on camp beds!!!

However, saying that, it is our 5th time here as the accommodation is reasonably priced, very clean, staff friendly, lovely pool, lovely gardens which are shaded with trees if you get too hot by the pool and so convenient for the beach and shops and doctor if you need one. The entertainment is repetitive. When we first started holidaying in these apartments, the entertainment was quite good, but it seems to be the same week after week so we don't go anymore, but if you are only staying for a week and like that sort of thing, then there is something for you. The activities during the day were quite discreet, whereas in other years they were very open, but once again there is something there if you want it.

The pool is large and even when it is full of children, it doesn't feel too overcrowded. It is cleaned and tested every day and there is a lifeguard there the whole time it is open. This year we noticed a lot of Spanish people staying there.

On the whole, we have stayed here 5 times and have never had cause to complain, however, I think our family have now outgrown the makeshift beds which is a shame. If like us, you just want somewhere as a base, then these apartments are ideal.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Just had a wonderful week at the Lord Nelson apartments.

Rooms were very spacious and clean. We had a room overlooking the pool which was lovely. Entertainment was good and not too loud or over the top. Never had to get up early and scrap over sun beds and there were plenty around with umbrellas and shade. Pool was cleaned daily and I was impressed with the life guard.

We ate in the restaurant on site and food was always hot and well presented a good varitey too. My Children 12 and 15 had a good time as the beach was conveniently near by.

Great time was had by all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrs O'Mahony
10 years 9 months ago
We stayed in the Santa Thomas Resort of Menorca in the Lord Nelson Apartments. The hotel staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. We stayed self catering.

The accommodation was of a very high standard, modern and very clean. The maid service was very good too. Hotel food was of a good standard. There was a pizzarie and a dining roon which was a buffet style.

Entertainment was on every night from 10 pm to 11 pm with several live shows, bands quizes and karaoke. Any entainment was ceased at 11.30pm which ment no noise to disturb you after that time.

My family and I would definitely return again hopefully soon!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
M & S
10 years 11 months ago
Perfect location next to beach. Pool and garden area on site all in excellent order. Supermarket and restaurants within very short walking distance.

The apartment itself was kitted out to a good standard and with a very full inventory.

Maid service frequent and thorough. Reception staff all had perfect English and were very willing to assist.

We did eat in the restaurant a couple of times, and each time the buffet was varied and plentiful.

The entertainments were pitched at just about the right level - a good mixture of shows and games run by the multi-lingual hosts.

We would have no hesitation in booking again, nor in recommending this to anyone who wants a quiet beach-based holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Jane
11 years 9 months ago
Stayed in the Lord Nelson Apartments. Clean, all necessary requirements for self catering, great position overlooking the sea and only a short distance to the beach.

Hotel staff were friendly and efficient - they were overbooked when we arrived (not their fault) but had already arranged alternative accommodation for the couple of days it was necessary. They transported all our luggage to the new apartment quickly and brought it back again when we moved back

Entertainment was good clean fun and not too intrusive noise-wise if you wanted an early night.

Air conditioning is promised for 2006 and this will help as at night it was a question of suffocating from the heat or falling prey to the mosquito's!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Dodgson/Buckley
11 years 9 months ago
Very pleased with appartment on arrival, overlooked pool and beach. Room was clean and well equipped for self-catering, however we booked half board on arrival.

Food was great for the kids but was a bit limited for adults.

Staff was friendly and helpful unless you wanted a drink from the bar after 11.40 !

Entertainment was very limited as it rained day & night for 4 days, although they did try their best the kids were crawling the walls.

I would visit again, but earlier in the year, if I got a very good deal.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Going Places

Recommended
Alison
11 years 9 months ago
Arrived in Lord Nelson Apts and thought they were lovely very clean well equipt with everything you need for a self catering holiday.

Staff helpfull and friendly.These apartments are in an excellent location. Ate twice in the hotel and the food okay, but not brillliant well worth the 12 euros though.

It rained heavily most of the week and the entertainment was terrible, considering these apartments are in a very quiet resort,although the team did try their best.

The pool was clean and there were lots of sunbeds wich were free, we did get 1 nice day,if you wanted a drink,prices were expensive,but the coffee was lovely.

Would visit these apartments again if they were in a different resort.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Alison Logan
11 years 10 months ago
This is the second time we have visited the Lord Nelson Apartments.

Apartment is always spotless when you arrive. Since our first visit in 2003, the kitchens and bathrooms have been refurbished - so much improved.

The location cannot be bettered. Across a pedestrian way from the beach. All the staff are very friendly - particulary the receptionists and the bar staff.

The entertainment in the evening is good - mini disco for the little ones at 8.30, bingo at 9.30 and then main event at 10pm. This varies - some shows and some 'in-house' stuff like menvwomen competitions etc. All good fun.

We have booked already for next year. For families it is ideal - clean, plenty for children to do, right next to the beach.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstart, First Choice

Recommended
Dan Burrows
11 years 11 months ago
The hotel was great. Another great hotel in Menorca, even though we had a flood in our room (59) so we got moved to the room next door which we had no problems with.

All the staff where friendly especially Dan and Sandra the entertainers, they were great with everyone of all ages.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.