Image of Paradise Island Hotel

Paradise Island Hotel

32 of 44 hotels in Playa Blanca

3 out of 5 from 26 reviews
3 stars
Paradise Island, Urbanizacion MontaƱa Roja, S/N, 35580 Yaiza (Lanzarote), Spain
This popular self-contained hotel is designed especially for families, with spacious apartments and a great range of facilities on offer, including a good range of sport activities and two seperate childrens' pools.

26 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Not Specified
6 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the paradise island for one week from 14th July 2011, as a large family group of 7 adults & 5 children aged 17, 15, 10, 4 & 1 years old.

the maid service was supposed to be 5 times a week, but we only had maid service 3 times & my grandparents 2 times. The rooms were very dirty & not cleaned well at all! My little one year old niece is crawling & her little hands, feet & knees were literally black from crawling on the room floors! The hotel grounds are immaculate & very pretty, with black gravelled gardens & beautiful hibiscus & bougainvillea everywhere.

When we arrived my grandparents didn't have a shower curtain & 2 of the rooms didn't have bed linen for the sofa bed or any towels, but when reported were quickly sorted by the maid.

We stayed all inclusive. breakfast (8.00am till 10.00am) there was a choice of fried eggs, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, scrambled eggs with ham in, bacon, ham, cheese, cereals, yogurt, pastries, jam, marmalade, bread & rolls, fresh fruit including gorgeous watermelon! Tea, coffee, apple, pineapple or orange juice & water. So a very good choice indeed. But, the bacon was never cooked properly it had that shiny pearl look & the food was usually Luke warm. Yes there were chips available once or twice but you don't have to eat them lol.

Lunch you have a choice, either you can eat at the bar (12.00pm till 1.00pm) or in the dining room (1.00pm till 3.00pm). At the bar you had a choice of burgers with baps, chips, baked potatoes, a huge choice of salad & once or twice there were pizzas & paella.

the dining room you had a wide range of foods including pork chops (which weren't cooked), veal livers & onions, paella, chicken in sauce, chips, duchess potatoes, canarian potatoes (delicious!), pasta, pasta sauce, carrots, runner beans, courgettes, aubergines, huge salad bar, coleslaw, olives, & a children's food bar with potato balls (which my kids loved) meatballs, chicken dippers, chicken drumsticks, pasta with sauces. So again a very good choice! Drinks available: coke, coke light, fizzy orange, lemonade, lemon & lime, water, beer, red wine, raised wine, white wine. Desserts were gorgeous! 4 flavours of ice cream, vanilla, coffee, orange, strawberry. Delicious cakes with pineapple, nuts or sprinkles on! Gateaux, jelly, blancmange, chocolate mousse, little cakes, choux pastries, fresh fruit.

In the afternoon at around 4.30pm there are snacks available, slices of cake & ham, cheese & bread which you can put under the toaster to make toasted sandwiches.

Evening meals are in the dining room (7.00pm till 10.00pm) pretty much the same as at lunch time but varied each day.

The location of the hotel is not good, you are miles from the playa Blanca resort & beach. there is a complimentary bus but it was always full when we saw it & caught local taxis instead which cost 2 euros & 75 cents one way (which is quite reasonable) to playa Blanca centro or 4 euros & 35 cents to the Rubicon marina. The taxi rank is just down the hill from the hotel.

There is a volcano opposite the hotel which you can climb! My husband, uncle, 10 year old son, mother & sister climbed it on a dull morning & it took them just over an hour including a rest on the top! They said it was well worth the climb for the view & fantastic crater on the top where people have spelled out their names in rocks!

Reception & bar staff are very pleasant & friendly but not the maids. Usually you get an Hola! As you walk past but not here, not even a smile!

There is only ever one bar staff serving but queues go down very quickly. There is a good choice of drinks (which are local not branded). I tried just about every drink there was lol! The amaretto is gorgeous & just as good as the original! there is: brandy, whisky, white rum (Bacardi), vodka, pineapple or peach schnapps, cafe liqueur (just like tia Maria), triple sec (like Cointreau), anise (lovely aniseed liqueur), blue curacao, Ron miel (which is the local liqueur & totally gorgeous! made from the fruit of the palm trees!) you can have some cocktails i.e. pina colada but we didn't like them, & beer on tap to help yourself to. There are soft drinks: lemonade, lemon & lime, coke, coke light, fizzy orange, water, tea, coffee, cappuccino, orange or lemon slush puppies & fruit juices.

However, at least 4 times a day the soft drinks ran out! Meaning that the children could not have a drink as there was only alcohol available! This is totally unacceptable & downright dangerous in the heat & sunshine! It usually took a good hour before the machines were filled up again.

We also found it very annoying that the bar stopped serving hot drinks at 7.00pm! We usually enjoy a cup of coffee after our evening meal but this wasn't possible! Never known this at any other hotel, very bizarre!

entertainment: we only chose this hotel as the brochure stated what good daytime entertainment there was for adults, mainly archery, rifle shooting, darts etc. they actually only had archery twice a week & shooting once! They mainly concentrate on dancing, yoga & water aerobics every day which most men do not want to do!

The men in our party were totally bored because of this. When they had finished a game of darts they asked the member of staff is they could play again only for him to look at his watch & say no then walk off! There was a huge crowd of players all wanting to continue playing & they said no! Unbelievable! All games only lasted for 15 to 20 minutes & then that was it. Not good enough at all!

evening entertainment: parrot show, reptile show, birds of prey "show""(only had 4 birds that they just let fly across the room & then spent the rest of the time taking photos that you had to pay for! kids mini disco every night for half an hour.my niece loved this until one night before a grease show a technician was playing music videos
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs Macleod
8 years 1 month ago
We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of september 2009 a party of 4 adults and 4 children. I would never go again it was a holiday from hell.Flies all over the food including cockroaches. Bins overflowing by the pool not emptied till 11pm at night. All the rubbish was blowing into the pool. This would be a good hotel if it was cleaner and better food. Please stay away from this hotel.All the drinks was watered down and you only had a small choice of drinks for the all inclusive english got the rubbish drinks and all the spanish people got the proper drinks including the original vodka and malibu.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Lisa Wallace
8 years 1 month ago
After reading reviews of this hotel, I was very worried about the place we were going to. The reviews I read must have been from very fussy people! Even though this isnt the best hotel I have been to, it had everything we could need. The rooms were cleaned 5 days a week to a high standard, the surrounding areas were lovely and clean too. I think the place looked a bit shabby, could do with a lick of paint here and there. I recon it was a fabulous hotel when it first opened but it depends on how fussy you are really. Dont read too much into the reviews on the food, there was nothing wrong with the food. There is a chinese buffett most nights along with the main restaurant area. There is something for everybody really, lots of selection and variety. As for the flies around the food, it was explained by the rep that there had been an unexpected swarm of flies on lanzarote when we were there, so she asked could customers keep the doors closed when entering the restaurant. It was impossible to stop some flies getting in but it was hardly a bother. The bar staff did seem to favour the spanish guests but that hardly mattered. There is a free bus to the beach, which is absolutely stunning. But it is just 3 euro for a taxi there and back, cheap considering the distance. I would say about a 15 min walk to the beach/shopping centre. Lots of shops here and bars. Playa Blanca was no disappointment, we had a great time in fact I would go back again and to this hotel too. It was great value for money. The only downside was the entertainment in the night, but the team did as best as job they could with the facilities they were given. The kid's had a great time and so did we to be honest. So dont let these awful reviews put you off, we had a fantastic holidays and afterall you get for what you pay for, so if you want top notch then book somethere else (The Princess Yaiza Hotel down by the beach is stunning but probably cost an arm and a leg). I hope this review makes you feel more happy if you have already booked to go!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Anderson/lyons/mclaughlan
8 years 3 months ago
the cleanliness in the apartments were of gd standards. the food very repetitive but ok the 1st week until a cockroach came out of the food, after that my daughter and myself stuck to noodles and rice same as my cousin who was with us. It is miles away from town centre entertainment staff worked really hard morning and night and were good with the children. Every time you would sit down to eat there would be flies all round you this was not just in the hotel but all over the resort. Juice machine never worked throughout the day was always flat although men in party loved the help yourself to the beer they said beer was gr8. Out and about we found it rather expensive so take out a bank loan before you go. I personally will not be returning to lanazarote playa blanca and definately not the paradise island hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Nelson
8 years 6 months ago
The food is completely inedible. The entertainment is dull to say the least. Obligatory mini disco, parrots,snakes,birds of prey and flamenco dancers. The hotel is located in a residential area with nothing of note for miles. The rooms are spacious but need a good clean. The drinks provided are not good, apart from the water. The snacks consisted of a tray of dry stingray sandwiches. This hotel does not warrant even a 2 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: flyglobespan

Pat
8 years 11 months ago
The apartments, gardens and pool are very nice, maid service 5 times a week. Its the food and location which Paradise Island down. It is 2.4 kilometres from the centre, which is one heck of a walk on a hot sunny day, there is absolutely nothing in the area of the hotel, - zilch - except for a tiny supermarket where you can buy your water, milk and out of date food. The free bus into the centre is ok if you can fight your way through the spanish pensioners and get on the thing, other than that its about 3 euros each way in a taxi.
Now the food, cheap and nasty, breakfast - exactly the same every day, scrambled and fried eggs, bacon bits and tomatoes, cheese, ham etc, never a sausage, pancake or omelette to be seen. The soup changes colour every day, but tastes exactly the same. Lunch is usually left overs from the previous evening made into a stew, if you like rabbit and salad and the occasional fried kid (yes, goat) you're laughing. The puddings, very disappointing lots of mousses, jelly and ice cream and fruit, cake is only served of an evening and its the same cake every night! The bread is delicious but thats the only thing that is, the fish is overcooked and full of bones all in all the restaurant is not a pleasant experience and its not as if you can just pop out and get a pizza or something because you are in the middle of nowhere.
The hotel is very understaffed and you have to queue quite a lot of the time and clear your own tables at meal times.
Will we be going back, definately not! apparently the hotel is no longer a H10, it is now Hotel Lopez and the food and staffing budget has drastically been cut, and its a shame, we could have put up with the location to some extent, but the food has us groaning every time we went into the restaurant, its the first A/I holiday we've had and lost weight.
This was not a cheapie holiday for us, please dont waste your money too.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Global Late Deals

Davies
9 years 1 month ago
Just returned from a week at this hotel and i wouldn's say it was fit for a dog to stay in.
The rooms were un clean with cock roaches in nearly every corner and ants all over the place.
The food was served cold where it should have been warm and due to this there were a number of people who were ill from this.
The pool area was very spacious but the pool itself was dirty and there were things floating in it.
We travelled with 2 13 yr old children and there was absolutely nothing for theese to do so i would highly advise somebody who is travelling to this hotel in the future with teenagers to seriously look at another accomodation as my teenagers were vey very bored.
So all in all i would never return to this hotel even if they offered me a free holiday.
Sorry to be so negtive but there is nohing positive to say about this property.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Jean And Malcolm
9 years 5 months ago
First of all this is not a 4 Star hotel,but it is a very reasonable 3 Star.

Paradise Island has a lot going for it:-
Relaxed village style layout.

Well kept gardens, with a quiet area at the bottom of the complex that not many people seem to visit.

Clean and spacious rooms with a seperate bedroom which has it's own balcony, in addition to the main balcony from the living area.

Very pleasant pool area with a lot of seating around the pool bar, and also lots of outdoor seating near the lobby bar.

In common with most hotels it also has some not so good points:-
Evening entertainment is poor,but at least it takes place in a room under the poolbar, so it doesn't disturb many people in their rooms.

The location isn't ideal,and the courtesy bus doesn't run late enough(3.15 is the last one back)which means a 20/30 minute walk or a taxi.

The food is a bit repetative, especially in the choice of meat/fish, and the choice of fruit is poor. However,the salads are excellent and we never failed to put together an enjoyable meal.

Our 2 weeks were different, in that during the 1st week we never had to queue for drinks or at the buffet. During the 2nd week it all changed, whether this was because the hotel filled up or that a large number of Spanish "senors" were replaced by lots of Brits, I can't say, but we avoided the worst crush by going in early for every meal.

To sum up, we enjoyed our stay and would consider going again some time, at the right price!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
we stayed in this hotel in may 2008 first impressions was it looked ok the rooms are little apartments but they smell of moth balls. The pool area was ok plenty of loungers but if u want a matress its deposit time and they are old and very uncomfortable ,
we experienced very rude staff getting drinks was a night mare one per person. there was always a foul smell around the restaurant before meal times, the food was cold and we ate out every night as i could stand the smell and they actually made us que for over 40 minuets the first day for a table for lunch,
The entertainment was practically non exsistant and middle of the week we had broken pool lights floating in the pool and it was not removed whilst we was there, the walk into the town center was about 45 minuets and the beach around 15 theres one hidden behind a hotel we used that
this hotel should be condemed the staff are rude and theres cockroaches everywhere its disgusting would never ever try it again , put in complaints when we retured but missed the 30 days complaint time limit we were told will never know how as we made the complaint the day after we got home , please stay away from this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Sue Foster
9 years 8 months ago
Arrived on 11 Feb (2 adults 2 children 11 and 7). First impressions were not good, teenager outside scateboarding and a one-bedroom apartment which smelt of stale smoke! Complained to reception and told could do nothing until next day so I asked for air freshner. A cleaner came with extra bedding and air freshner and literally gagged at the smell in the bedroom! Went back next day and were told could do nothing until following day. We told the receptionist about the cleaners reaction and, hey presto, a new 2-bedroom apartment at no extra cost! From then on the holiday was first class. Do not believe the bad reviews about the food being poor. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner every day in the restaurant and there were only 2 occasions that we were disappointed. The entertainment bar was the only bar where we had to queue. There was only one barman on duty and it did get busy. Day time activities were very good for adults and children. The usual kids mini disco in the evening followed by bingo and then the nights entertainment (most of this was good) but the bingo was the worst thing about the holiday with each number being called out in 5 or 6 languages! The entertainment staff were dutch and german and worked very, very hard the whole time. They took the time to chat to everyone and to learn as many names as possible. The pool bar was well run and the soft drinks, beer and hot drinks were self-service so that cut down on the queues. The pool areas were kept clean and tidy, there were plenty of sun loungers and we didn't see one broken one! One pool was heated (just) and the others were too cold for me to try but plenty did use them. The rooms were cleaned 5 times a week and we had clean towels each time. Please do not be put off by some of the bad reviews, we nearly were but decided to go with an open mind and were very pleasantly surprised.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunrise

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.