Image of THB Don Paco Castilla Apartments

THB Don Paco Castilla Apartments

8 of 9 hotels in Playa de los Pocillos

3 out of 5 from 36 reviews
2 stars
Calle de Urano, 35510 Puerto del Carmen, Spain

36 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Palmer
Room and hotel clean
6 years 10 months ago
Room and hotel kept very clean.

Room has all you need for self catering; beds changed 3 times in 1 week.

The hotel is just a short walk from all shops, cafe and the beach which has a lovely prom.

Staff were always pleasant.

We found the supermarket facing roundabout the best value; go past the spar shop then round to the left.

Will be returning back to this hotel this year,
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ian&linda
Cleanest Hotel
7 years 1 month ago
The THB Don Paco was one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed at.

The staff were always attentive and any complaints, not that we had any, were dealt with straight away.

The food was always hot and plentiful.

There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool which was cleaned like our rooms everyday. Everyone that we spoke too said they would certainly use this hotel again.

Being on AI most people had a drink then went out into the resort to end their night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Anita
Great place to enjoy the sun
7 years 1 month ago
Stayed at the Don Paco Castilla for 1 week, we enjoyed the food, it was the first time that we have been on an all-inclusive, and the only thing wrong with the food was that there was not enough choice.

The pool area was always kept clean and tidy maid service was good.

The location of the hotel was good close to the beach and shops all in all it was a good holiday if you want to relax in the sun.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Heasman
8 years ago
2/3 star hotel on Ai, hotel very clean public areas always being cleaned or tidied.Food not the best we've had at AI but far from the worst, there was always plenty but less choice then we have been used to it was always hot and the few staff that attended the dining room were very friendly.Location was excellant less than five mins walk through the back gate to the local shops and straight onto the beach, near to airport but not a problem with aircraft noise.Staff were always very friendly and helpfull.Entertainment was non excistant there was a room at the reception end for a disco and shows but when we went in there during the reps meeting it was so hot.The animation team didn't bother coming around to see if anybody was interested most people just chilled out by the bar in the evenings, we were lucky our room was on the ground floor two doors away from the bar. we would visit this hotel again because we went to completely chill and relax from the fast pace of work and thats what we did.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
On arrival, hotel looked inviting and was clean and spacious. On check in we were not very happy at having to hand over 142 euro for 2 weeks worth of air con, TV and safe, but with temperatures in the 50's we could not manage without air con!!!

Our room was basic but spacious with a balcony overlooking the carpark and a sea view over the roof of Mcdonalds! It was clean on arrival, however, we had to pull the bed out and underneath had not been cleaned in some time. Maid service was very poor. Maids came in 5 times a week, but only made beds and emptied bins. Our room was not mopped or swept in the whole two weeks. Sheets were only changed once, despite my daughter spilling a glass of coke on her sheet. Maids just continued to make a dirty bed! One day we were left with no towels and it took 2 hours and 5 phone calls before these were provided. The next day we were left with no toilet roll - this was a little better - only 2 calls and 20 minutes!!

All inclusive drinks good - real coke, fanta, etc but crappy plastic glasses with wobbly bottoms!! Food was dreadful - worst we have ever had. We had to eat out 5 nights as my kids and husband were starving!! It was luke warm with poor choice and very repetative - only two different soup in 2 weeks and lasagne served 5 times at least!!

Entertainment - diabolical! Entertainment room is a basement with no air con - unbearable. Kids disco until 10.30 and then shows such as a Parrot Show or a Reptile Show. Not worth a visit.

Pool areas kept very clean, pools cleaned every day, always a sunbed as four pools to choose from, but beds very uncomfortable. Plus an annoying woman comes round about 3 times a week posing as a Suncare Advisor but really flogging ridiculously expensive suntan lotion.

The weather was great, so the holiday was not spoiled, and probably not as bad as it sounds on this review, but I would not consider staying in this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: otbeach.com

Shez
8 years 2 months ago
itss a brill place too be. just came back from, there. want too go bac, its brill.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Geoff And Marg Thomas
8 years 9 months ago
Although initially we thought that the hotel looked a little 'tired', the rooms were immaculate, and were kept very well by the maid service. We had opted for half board and found the choice extensive, the food tasty, and hot. Soup was made up from 'dried' by its taste, but it was OK. The rest of the food was not top quality, but freshly made and very enjoyable. Those wanting a genuine English meal were disappointed because they gave us the nearest local substitutes. For example the bacon for breakfast was streaky not best back, and the sausages were frankfurters not English sausage. However there were lots of other things available, catering for German and Spanish tastes, as well.
The apartments were a short walking distance from the beach , the local supermarkets, taxi stand and the bus stop.
We did not try the entertainment provided by the hotel, so we were not in a position to comment.

The biggest problem we had was the floor tiling in the bathroom, and the design of the shower enclosure which allowed water to escape into the rest of the bathroom, contributing to my husband falling and breaking his wrist while I was showering and he used the toilet. I think that the hotel needs to address the safety issues of tiling unsuited for what is in reality a wet room, before a more dangerous accident occurs.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Last Minute .com

Recommended
Mrs. Slater
9 years 1 month ago
This is the first time we have visited Lanzarote and we liked the location of these apartments. It was in a lovely area and away from the noise and busy area but within easy distance either by bus or taxi which were very reasonable. 1euro15 cents on the bus and about 5 euros in a taxi. If you felt like a walk it would take about 30 to 40 mins to walk. The hotel was clean and the pool area was spotless. We only saw two cockroaches while we were there. I thought having to pay for air conditioning was a bit much it's the first time we have had to pay but you needed it. The sofa bed in the lounge area of the 1 bed aprts was very uncomfortable. All in all it was good and we would go back to it again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mrs L
9 years 2 months ago
Hotel was clean but tired and needed upgrading,we seemed to have to pay for everything eg golf,tennis,tv,phone,aircon,parasols,irons you just get basic room only everything else you have to pay extra for!
Pools were clean although there was some sunbed hogging going on which is banned!
4 pools with different depths,
Resteraunt,pool bar and disco below reception.
Food was boring and got really fed up with it never eaten so much salad in my life!
Beach was close by round the back passage way and past shops about 10 minutes away.
Bar staff were great but resteraunt staff seemed to be overworked, maids worked really hard.
If you want a lazy pool or beach hoilday its great but if you want trips and exploring dont bother and be careful some things are reall expensive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel direct

9 years 2 months ago
Dont go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Not at all a nice all inclusive.
food was slop which even the restaurant staff said that they didnt want to eat it,
entertainment was in a dungeon which was a waste of time.....
apartments were ok basic but ok until the cockroaches moved in.
swimming pool beds etc werent ever washed.
no hot water for 6 nights.

i have never experienced anything so bad on holiday, we have been all inclusive or 10 years all over the place and this was the worst, it wasnt only one thing to complain about it went on and on infact in the end it was getting embarrassing to complain,its sad really when you spend ya hard earned cash on something like this but we have learnt a lesson i think, i read reviews some good some bad and thought oh well cant please everyone as you do but oh my god i think if you see more than 5 bad reviews dont go. its not worth it.
book somewhere else! i must have seen 500 or more cockroaches in the place,even in the restaurant they were there and they just got swept out or stood on by the staff,makes me feel sick thinking about it.yuk
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: imperial travel

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.