Image of Pearly Grey Ocean Club Apartments

Pearly Grey Ocean Club Apartments

3 of 3 hotels in Callao Salvaje

3 out of 5 from 83 reviews
3 stars
Calle de la Lava, 4, 38678 Adeje, Spain

83 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    25
  • Good
    19
  • Average
    18
  • Poor
    9

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Davies
7 years ago
May 22nd to May29th
Arrived about 8.45pm, informed that the Restaurant would be closing at 9.00, we foolishly thought that we could get a snack once we had unpacked...Wrong...no snacks???.The bar stopped serving free drinks after 11pm although you could still buy after that (2 for 1)..
The room was clean, TV rubbish unless your American (CNN etc) or Spanish, maid service was good, no complaints at all. The food was as you would expect, 3 star, not fantastic but edible some days you had little tags to let you know what you were eating, others just had to guess ( there is a menu by the water cooler that gives you some idea though).
You have to feel really sorry for the Restaurant /Bar staff in fact these are one in the same, they run around like headless chickens trying hard to clean tables, serve drinks, dry cups, plates etc in the kitchen. The greed of the owners (if they are aware of the staffing shortage) and lack of judgement of the management is unreal; nothing short of dismissal of the powers that be would be my answer. (Sorry getting carried away)
The bar/ function room opens at 9pm, again understaffed, out of the 7nights we stayed the last 3 nights had only 1 member of staff serving, 15/25 mins waiting time in a red hot room, remember we were there in the quiet period.
Pool was cold but refreshing, the heat beside the pool sometime unbearable..
Bingo seems the order of the day, Sticky & Stacey do a Fantastic job in keeping everyone entertained, the snake show is gross, parrot show is ok, be aware that these people are out there to make money and try to get you to have your picture taken at every opportunity (10 Euros each time
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
MR NOBLE
7 years 5 months ago
This place is now called the "MERLIN RESORT".Rooms were of a decent size,but lacking in wardrobe space.Constant smell coming from the toilet .Food was reasonable with a decent choice.Plenty of sun loungers with cushions but they were filthy and attracted flies all day long.Sticky the entertainer was different class and worked all day long.Maids never went into overdrive and we hardly saw them.New years eve was a great night down to Sticky and the singer who performed.Good facilities for kids.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Natalie
8 years 5 months ago
Athough I would not come back to this hotel as the area was too quiet for me I was happy with most things the hotel offered.

The daytime entertainment was good if you was willing to take it up, there was always something going on (water volleyball, killer pool, football etc.)
The night entertainment is good but very repetative especially if you are there for two weeks.

The food was not the best but it was edible, and you always found something there you liked. Breakfast was the best meal of the day with a choice of a full english, cereal or bread and butter. The snack bar could have offered more but I never used it.

The bar staff were very polite even though they worked long hours. The reception staff were great and when I had a problem with my room they were happy to help and got it sorted quickly.

The rooms are quite big with a seperate bedroom, I was very happy with mine. There was only one problem when they made a bed up for my son on the settee which would have been fine but he's only 2 but I went to reception and they brought me a cot within 20 minutes.

The pools are lovely but cold, we spent most days up at the top pool with the jacuzzi as it was a lot quieter and not as deep for my son.

The hotel was clean although they buffed the floors every day which made them extreemly slippy and a lot of people slipped. The maids always cleaned the rooms to a good standard and clean towels and beeding were put in every week day.

The location is not very good with only a handful of shops and bars nearby. If you are one who wants to just stay by the pool it would be great. The hotel does offer a free bus to Las Americas everyday, which is good ad the bus stop to Los Cristianos and other places is two minutes away from the hotel.

I would definatly recommend the hotel if you are wanting a quiet relaxed holiday lazing by the pool but not if you are there for the shopping and cubbing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sacha
10 years 7 months ago
After reading various reviews I was a little apprehensive about this holiday.

When we arrived here we very pleasantly surprised!

The room was of a basic standard but as we new it was a 2* hotel we didn't expect 5* luxury.

Upon arrival we found that the balcony door did not lock and as we had a 2 year old this needed to be fixed, which it was within 20 minutes of arriving.

The facilities were of a very good standard. The pool and surrounding areas were cleaned throughly every morning before breakfast.

The food was of a good standard and there was plenty of choice all week, we did not go hungry!!

The staff were very helpful and polite and very good with all the children.

The entertainment apparently was good, even though we personally did not see it as the music was a little too loud for a 2 year old.

It is a shame that this will no longer be a First Choice hotel from November because I would definitely return.
So for all of those people who slated it....you were obviously sold the wrong type of holiday by your travel agent, you get what you pay for and for the money this was very very good value!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
James & Kira
10 years 7 months ago
I would definatly not visit this hotel again and would not recommend it to anybody! It is situated in the worst possible location where there is nothing to do for miles.

The only thing to do to entertain yourself is either sit round the pool all day (which I couldn't personally do), go on the excursions offered by first choice which meant spending more money with them and for the price of the hotel and the holiday you would think that there would have already been enough to entertain yourself within the hotel itself, or thirdly look around the very small and pathetic town of callejo salvaje.

So overall not a great deal to do. Was personally very disappointed with the room itself to, thought having to pay for the tv was all appaling like people have already stated why pay for the tv when you have already payed so much money to go all inclusive.

Last but not least the food was not very nice it was more or less the same everyday and alot of the time it was chips. Yes maybe good for the children but just because we are English does not mean we crave chips....lol....

The breakfast in the morning was the same every single day...sometimes we didn't even got up for breakfast we were that sick of it, and the dinner and tea was fairly rubbish too.

On the last day of our holiday James was very ill from what we believe to be hotel food.

The entertainment was classic butlins style like previous people have stated.

Another thing we believe to be appauling is the fact that our plane or our pickup time was not till midnight, and we were kicked out of our rooms at midday. We found this to be really bad as I stated before James was very ill that day from the food which of course made it impossible for him to laze around the pool due to the intense heat so we had to sit in reception all day, and were not allowed a room to stay in.

So overall about our hotel we were very very disappointed with the quality of the room service and generally everything about the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kelly
10 years 7 months ago
This hotel is a disgusting, filthy hole, if you have booked cancel and save your money.

The pool is freezing and filthy, the food is always cold, the chef is sweating all over food. Food is same every evening, always cold, but you get too heat food up in a dirty stained microwave & nobody smiles, it is more like a prison.

My kids were bored ridged as they could not go in the pool, when they did we had to call emergency DR as they were screaming, along with several other kids in pain with a mystery rash.

On to the 'entertainment' to sum it up in one word 'crap' adults are asked if they need the toilet 'go now'!!!! Before bingo starts, bar waitress may poss crack if they smile and really get you in the holiday mood by tutting every time you get a lovely watered down drink, I drank several vodkas every evening and did not even feel in the slightest bit affected headed.

Caberet acts were entertaining to say the least, my children, aged between 3 and 11 saw a charming chinese man shove 6 inch nails up his nose with a hammer! Lovely!!

The best part of this holiday was the flight home.

Save your money and cancel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Heidi
10 years 7 months ago
We stayed at this hotel in October 2005 and was a bit weary as we had read the reviews on it, but was pleasently surprised.

The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly, the pool was a bit on the chilly side but when the temperture reached 104 degrees it was quite welcoming.

The entertainment was great and kept the kids and adults amused. The location was a quite one with plenty of little gift shops and restaurants nearby and local bus to Playa da las Americas was right outside the hotel.

Cant fault this holiday at all well worth every penny, its just a shame that it has been took over as I would have liked to return again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Donna
10 years 7 months ago
Dont know what these people expected for a budget holiday. Hotel was great, sheets and towels were changed regulary, hotel food was good and hot, with plenty of variety kids loved the childrens buffett.

Hotel staff were fantastic joining in with the games and we even managed to get the waiters trousers off them! The staff were always working hard and smiling, these people did really long hours and i am surprised that they managed to keep a positive attitude. Night time entertainment was good.

Nice quite location no roudy 18-30's, which you dont need when you are on a family holiday, plenty of bars and restaurants around the resort.

The pool was cold but lovely when the weather is so hot, shame about certain families smoking and throwing cigarette ends in the baby pool and leaving their mess sround for people to slip on. The hotel staff can only do so much to clean peoples mess up but we did see the lifeguard jumping in and cleaning the rubbish from the bottom of the pool.

Cant wait to return to Callao Salvaje, just a shame it wont be in that hotel as it is now been took over by Germans.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Aimee
10 years 8 months ago
First Impressions
My family and I had never been to Tenerife before, so we arrived at the resort not knowing what was around it. On arrival at the hotel, the staff at reception were very helpful and the rooms were clean and tidy.

Food/Resteraunt/Bar
As we were All Inclusive, all our food was included in the price. It was good, although there was not a lot of choice. The resteraunt was very clean, and the waiters made sure the tables were clean and cleared away dishes when they were finished with. Snacks, ice creams and drinks were available through until 23.45, except for ice cream which was not available after 20.00pm. Bar staff were also very friendly.

Location
The resort was very quiet and small, with not a lot to do. There was a tiny beach, but it had a lot of rocks and was not very nice. There were also a couple of English bars and some supermarkets along the village. A bus runs from the corner of the hotel to all the different resorts on the island. Also, there is an Excursions shop, if you want to book any trips. My family and I attended three trips - Aqualand, Jungle Park and Nashira Uno - all of which were very good.

Entertainment
Day and night entertainment were both good. Day entertainment was the same everyday and consists off Waterpolo, Bingo and a Quiz. During the night, it would start off with a childrens disco, and then there would be bingo, quizes, shows etc. The reps were all fantastic, especially Liam and Hayley.

Pool
The pool is very nice, but very impractical, as it is very deep even in the shallow end. However, it was always warm, and there were plenty of sunloungers and parasols around the pool

A very good hotel overall, but a very quite resort.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jason Humphries
holiday from hell
10 years 8 months ago
My friend and I stayed at this so called hotel it cost us £320 each ( I think this was £200 to much) it was the holiday from hell.

Firstly the rooms,they were dirty. Ill fitting lights plug sockets, the tv you have costs 1 euro per 30min ,the bath has never seen a clean (brown stains) The only thing good about the room was the shower which worked.

Now the food , I have never had such a pile of slop in my life , it was the same menu all week, which was always cold even the gravy. It was pasta or chips every day, the snacks consisted of raw hotdogs and burgers it was a disgrace.

The entertainment haha Butlins style bingo twice a day kids disco everyday water polo everyday. The only good thing about entertainment was Hayley she has the most amazing voice she should be a singer.

The smell from watering the plants with recycled water stunk terriblly.

Overall I would recommend that if you have booked this hotel - cancel before its too late.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: