64 independent reviews of Callao Salvaje, Spain
Callao Salvaje Location

1/5
Callao Salvaje is rated 1 out of 5 from 64 Reviews

Callao Salvaje Hotels

Callao Salvaje Reviews

2/5


Adrian Ballantyne visited here on August 2004
The resort is not a great place to stay at the moment, but with all the building work going on it will be a good place to stay in 4 or 5 years time.

Go to Beckham\'s bar for good entertainment, live football or a good drink. The food is also very nice.

If you walk down the hill there is quite a varierty of bars and restaurants to take you fancy, however there aint a lot of shops.

Beach? what beach? The beach is mainly rocks, and has just a tiny patch of sand. You\'re best bet is to catch the courtesy bus or the TITSA bus into playa de las americas or Los Cristianos, where they have some stunning black sand ...
beaches. The sea at Callao Salvaje is very very clear, and you can see lots of pretty coloured fish, however if you\'re jumping in, be aware it\'s very deceptive, the water look sshallow because you can see the rocks but it is actually quite deep.

Overall there isn\'t much to Callao Salvaje........yet, i would prefer to stay in the playas or Los Cristianos but i would return to Callao in 5 years time

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Whitnall visited here on July 2004
Been to Callao before , knew what to expect, beach is not worth the name, visit Beckhams and the 3 horse shoes (?) to watch football and get a nice pint, and Quiltys Hideaway for a good meal, other than that nothing happening. Definitely an adults resort, nothing for kids, but we were on an all inclusive so no real need to go into the resort.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


katie and steve visited here on July 2004
there was not a beach in the resort but im not a beach person anyway so that didnt bother us. They did have a free bus to las amarcas so you could always go to the beach there if you wanted to.the resort was clean and picturess with great veiws of mountains and the sea. will defentley go back to the resort.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


ange visited here on July 2004
Only went on a couple of trips went to Loco Parque a great day out. Water park - take extra money for sunbeds rings and lockers. Very busy as well.

Went on a boat watching dolphins and whales well worth the 15 Euros we paid - Saw lots.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


Ronnie visited here on June 2004
Very quiet resort. Only a few bars and restaurants. No beech really. We knew this when we booked so didn\'t bother us and we were looking to go somewhere quiet in the sun and we prefer the pool to the beech anyway.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


Amanda visited here on June 2004
A very pleasant \'local\' resort. OK so there is no beach this did not bother me - in fact I think the resort works fine without one. There are shops for everything one might need. A bank with very friendly and helpful staff (Banco March). A very efficient photo developing service with prints next day! A pharmacy and local doctor if needed.
There were other bars / hotels nearby - Beckhams (not impressed with the food I am afraid) and other places if a very late night is required. All the above is on one street - the same one as Ocean Club\'!

I am hoping to return in September.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


mark & ronny visited here on June 2004
this resort is in the process of being built up, there are a handful of shops and restaurants which overall do not seem bad. there is a lack of a beach.
in a quiet resort, there are still too many touts with scrath cards etc. thereis a bit of a crime wave going on there at the moment
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

1/5


Andy & Mandy visited here on June 2004
First Day there, we had a young woman jump out of a car, and thrust 2 scratch cards into our hands and even helped scratch them for us, then tells us we\'ve won 300 Euros or a digital camera, very nice I thought, (dumb I know).
Almost 2 and a half hours later we left their office with a bottle of cheap plonk which I threw away. Some holiday scam, they want you to part with a few thousand quid and pay a monthly payment for holidays .. bla bla bla.... BE WARNED !!
Resort isn\'t clean at all, far too many leaflets and flyers blowing all down the streets, put behind windscreen wipers and left all over the place.. ...
some of then for restaurants and some for Brothels and XXX movie shows.

Titanic Pizzas are excellent, we had a take-away and sat in our room. The flies are an annoyance wherever you go to eat in the resort.

Not really any entertainment except a couple of bars in the resort.

No beach.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


ashley visited here on June 2004
to be honest because there was so much to do at the ocean club we did not go out as we had no need to. but others did tell me that the beach was nice and not far away. also there is a little shop called summerfield (haha!...somerfield, get it?...nevermind...) which if you tell them you are from ocean club they will give you a 5% discount and they are english!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
3 stars

2/5


Dawn visited here on June 2004
All that we really found going on at this resort was work, the beach was absolutely minging. Everywhere you went there was diggers dumper trucks the lot. Couldnt get a decent photo of scencery wouldnt stay in this resort again as there was just nothing there except a bus stop and a supermarket.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


Samantha Davies visited here on June 2004
The resort is quite quiet but there is transport to take you away to more shops and clubs. It is an ideal resort for families as there is everything you need on your doorstep to cater for them. The beach is rocky but have heard on the grapevine that they are bringing in sand which will make this an excellent location. there is a free bus service which takes you to the beach, it takes about 10/15 mins.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


Phil & Shirley Robbins visited here on May 2004
We had a great holiday and hope that when the building work is finished the beach area is turned into a nice sandy cove. A beach is the only thing missing from this resort. Anyone wishing to swim in the sea has to go to Las Americas.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

1/5


Rebecca visited here on May 2004
The resort itself was awful as you looked over from the hotel all you could see was a building site from all angles. We ventured out to get something to eat and felt threatened by the locals as there were some unsavoury characters about.
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


Barbara and Julia visited here on May 2004
Calloa Savaje does NOT have a beach at all, even the description of pebble beach is not what it is. It is a small cove area of rocks and stones/pebbles. You would need something padded to lie on if you wanted to venture down that area - nice to visit and look at the view but don\'t think it\'s like a lovely sandy beach - it isn\'t! Small town, about dozen shops to browse around but good local and English friendly pubs down the side streets, some difficult to find so search. Just a change to walk downhill to the seafront have the odd one or 2 drinks then wander back to your hotel. Cheap Chinese and local cuisine restaurants ...
too, but if All Inclusive I cannot see the point in eating out unless special occasion. Resort NOT lively and noisy YET - who knows maybe in 5 years time when the new hotels are built it may change drastically so take advantage of the peace tranquility while you can. Local shops all English speaking and they even have good cheap supermarkets if you feel the need to pop to the shops. I would visit this resort again definitely with or without my family including children as it is safe. If you want to go further along the coast to Los Cristianos (good market) or Playa de Las Americas (Blackpool in the SUN) then buses run all the time from the resort. Visit and see for yourselves if you don\'t want a rowdy holiday resort then this is the one for you.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars

3/5


Stuart visited here on January 2004
This resort is NOT an extension of las americas. There is a few bars and restaurants but it is very low key. If from Britain you will be outnumbered by Danish tourists but they are very friendly and all speak good english if you want to chat.
Beckhams is your usual holiday karaoke, pub quiz type bar. Paddy mcgintys is full of interesting ex-pats and makes you very welcome.
forget the beach if you want to build sandcastles but if you want to take in the sound of the waves crashing on rocks and gaze along cliffs then this is the place for you.

I met my girlfriend out there when I hired a villa for a week and came back so resort ...
has a special place for me but I would recommend it to anyone wanting to chill for a break and get away from the 18-30 crowd.
Be warned though.... there is a lot of building work going on so how long it stays relaxing is anyones guess.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
2 stars

2/5


geraldine & graham visited here on December 2003
If Callao Salvaje is ever finished it might not be so bad. If you are looking for a beach resort - forget it. However, there are enough bars & restaurants to give plenty of variety.I think building work will on going for a few years yet. Like everywhere BEWARE OF TOUTS (Not time-share, new scam HOLIDAY CLUBS. STAY AWAY FROM INTERNATIONAL VACATIONS/GETAWAY HOLS. THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF! Visit The Red Lion Pub and also the Irish Bar next door. Both do good food and are very welcoming. If you want a reasonably quiet (if you disregard the jcb\'s etc) resort this is ok. Perhaps we would visit again for an odd week.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


Kirsty / Lee /Family visited here on September 2003
The resort offers plenty of bars and resturants and all owners are very freindly your not annowed by timeshare touts and there is hardly any theft. There is no beach but the two pools in tropical park are always clean and there are plenty of freindly famlies by the end of the holiday you all feel like one big happy family so happy in fact we are going again this year this will be our 7 time at tropical park.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Bryan and Rachel visited here on August 2003
The resort was a nice place, but was not alot there. There was no beach. The resort was not dirty, but the tiled paths were abit dangerous when wet. We went in the same shops every night just for something to do.
The bar Beckhams was nice we went there a few times for a meal and a drink. And there was a nice Chinese restaurant there too.
That holiday was our first holiday together, and we did have a good time!
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Mark & Lynn visited here on January 2002
When we woke on our first day, we had breakfast and then set off to explore the resort - what a dissapointment!! The hotel was one of only 3 in the area, there was the smallest amount of shops and even less bars and restaurants we felt completey isolated. The streets were clean and tidy but there is no beach just a few rocks and a million and one building sites.

We thought if we had not been half board we would have been very hard pushed to find places to eat. The resort may well be about to become popular but at the moment it is a virtual building site.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Garden Slug visited here on January 1970
As it was my Birthday we went out for a meal to Beckhams Bar and had a smallest rump steak I ever seen in my life
with tinned & frozen carrots with microwaved potatoes.
Do you self a favour and skip that place for a evening meal, total rip off more meat on mcdonalds sandwich
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars
Quick hotel find:
3/5
Pearly Grey Ocean Club Apartments  stars Pearly Grey Ocean Club Apartments
Address: Calle de la Lava, 4, 38678 Adeje, Spain

Latest Review: May 2009

Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Callao Salvaje

4/5
Sueno Azul Apartments  stars Sueno Azul Apartments
The Sueno Azul Apartments are a 4 star resort located in Callao Salvaje in Tenerife. These apartments are suitable for families and couples however one member of each party must be at least 21 years old.

Latest Review: Aug 2004

Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Callao Salvaje

4/5
Tropical Park Apartments  stars Tropical Park Apartments
Address: Av del Jable, 41, 38678 Adeje, Spain

Latest Review: May 2009

Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Callao Salvaje
Share