Image of Madeira Centro Hotel

Madeira Centro Hotel

11 of 131 hotels in Benidorm

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
4 stars
Calle del Esperanto, 1, 03503 Benidorm, Spain

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
C S Cook
8 years 7 months ago
We prefer to stay near the old town in best end hotels that preferably don't have any hollypack Brits. This one was mainly filled with Spanish and a thin scatterring of Germans, Dutch, Belgians & Brits. I may find it hard to stay anywhere else after this trip in the future.

Everthing was just right for us. The buffet food was as good as this kind of food can be.

Even with notices re dress code the usual Brit managed to sneak into dinner in his football shirt and another in stripy shorts. No-one can do uncouth like the Brits can.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
A good four star hotel
8 years 9 months ago
Stayed at the Madeira Centro for Xmas 2007 booked through Travel Republic. Arrived at the hotel at 10pm via Shuttle Direct who were good.

We were allocated room 1512, a corner room with a large balcony with views of both the Old and New Town. The balcony had two nice chairs, a table and a clothes airer. The room was an average size for Europe with twin beds which were very comfortable as were the pillows. The room and bathroom were spotless. There was a TV with several satellite channels and a well stocked mini bar which still had room for our own drinks. The prices for the mini bar were reasonable at €1.40 for soft drinks, €1.50 for a small can of beers and €2.50 for 50cl of spirits.

There was ample wardrobe and drawer storage behind the mirrored doors which also housed the safety deposit box. The air conditioning was digitally controlled.

The bathroom was a reasonable size and had a window which is unusual and let in some natural light. There was a bath with shower above and a glass screen rather than a curtain, sink, toilet and bidet. Water pressure and lighting were good. There was also a phone and a hairdryer in the bathroom.

We were full board. When you entered for breakfast you were given a coupon for a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice. There was ordinary orange juice and several other juices you could help yourself to. Breakfast was the usual fare – eggs, bacon, sausages, cold meats, cheese, pate, croissants, cakes, yogurts, etc, etc. Cava was also available.

There was a good selection of hot and cold dishes at both lunch and dinner. Wine was from €8 a bottle in the restaurant. There was often steak and lamb on the menu. There were no hot desserts, only cold. There was a Gala dinner on Thursday night when they served prawns, smoked salmon and paella. We found the food to be quite good, but not outstanding. I have given the foods a four star rating as it was better than three star, but three and a half stars would be more accurate.

We had Xmas lunch at the hotel which was a 7 course affair and was just OK, not wonderful. There were canapés to start, followed by parma ham, cheese and smoked salmon, then Christmas Stew soup which was a strange concoction which included chopped hard boiled eggs, lemon sorbet which you drank with a straw, then turkey with chestnut stuffing and trimmings. The chestnuts were all through the turkey so not good for those with nut allergies. Dessert was chocolate log. No coffee to finish, but you could have as much white or red wine and champagne as you wanted.

We visited the Santa Cruz cafeteria on the 20th floor, which was more like a smart lounge than a cafeteria. Drinks were quite expensive at €5.50 for a mixed drink, but they were extremely large even by Benidorm standards and felt double the strength of drinks we had elsewhere.

There is a small outdoor pool with a children’s section and plenty of sun loungers. There is also a gym , indoor pool and a beauty salon with sunbeds, sauna and they offered various treatments. The Monte Sol restaurant is on the 21st floor with excellent views of Benidorm, but it was closed while we were there.

All the staff we encountered were very nice and friendly. The occupancy of the hotel was about 80% Spanish and 20% other nationalities.

Hubby dropped money in the room and thought he had picked it all up, but the maid left a €2 coin on the dresser next day which she must have found under the bed so cleaning was thorough.

Smoking is allowed in the rooms and there is a smoking section on the ground floor in the conservatory.

The hotel also has free internet access in the rooms.

Cannot comment on the entertainment as we went out every night, but it seemed to be aimed at the Spanish which was fair enough as they were the majority of guests.

This is a four star hotel and it shows. Definitely a step up from the three star hotels we’ve been to.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs Hodgson
9 years 4 months ago
Nice hotel which we would visit again. We were told we were lucky to get in at this hotel as it is so popular.
Popular with the Spanish yes, hardly any English people there.

Can't complain about the hotel though its in a good location, easy walking distance from both the old and new towns.

The waiter service in the hotel was bad, if you were Spanish, French, German, or Belgium then the waiters came and sort your orders. We went to the bar every time, and carried our own drinks, including hot ones, they never offered to bring them to us.

Food is ok, and the gala dinner was wonderful, just found that there were lots of fish dishes been served.

We had a family room on the first floor, which was excellent, but the lifts are horrendous, always queues, the stairs were hidden behind a door, and they didn't like you using them.

Wonderful views from the top floor bar, but i felt sick whilst i was up there it was so high 22 floor.

The entertainment in this hotel is none existent. There was a duo singing sometimes, but only sang in Spanish. The dance floor was always full of couples dancing to the music. Not good for a younger set

We would visit this hotel again, for what we call a cheap holiday it was well worth the money, we only paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Adams
9 years 4 months ago
The Madeira Centro Hotel provides an excellent holiday all round, its position, food, staff, facilities & price are excellent. This is the 2nd time we have stayed in this hotel and are about to book for a winter vacation.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 7 months ago
Good selection of food for all meal times. Had a family room for 4 even though there were only 3 of us mini bar as well which wasn't badly priced if you used it.

The room was clean and bright as well as the bathroom with good quality towels not threadbare. Had a good view from the large balcony. Some entertainment on in the evenings. Small indoor pool. There is fitness and wellbeing centre.

Good position for the Old Town and New. The staff were polite and helpful. Quite a few English and Belgium in the Hotel. Would go again the quality seems alot better than some of the Hotels in Benidorm.

I had a great price with Benidorm Direct so I'll probably use them again. They seem to know what their talking about.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rob And Di
9 years 8 months ago
First time we stayed in this hotel at the end of January but it won't be the last.

Very conveniently situated. Come out of the hotel and go right for the Poniente side and left for the Levante side.

As always we checked on Holiday Truths to see what we could expect and the reviews were mostly excellent so I won't repeat them. There was some concerns from some, however, about the quality and variety of the food. In the event, we needn't have worried because there was something for everyone whatever your tastes and preferences. There were four of us with different tastes and expectations but we all came away very satisfied.

Our only complaint was the weather which was cold and wet. We'll make sure our next visit will be a little later in the year!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Carol Gayton
9 years 10 months ago
We have stayed in Benidorm many times but this hotel is by far the best we have stayed in.

The food you could not fault. A very good choise at all meal times,the hotel was keeped spotless.

Only a few minuites walk to old town and the beach.

The staff were very helpful would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
10 years 6 months ago
Lovely hotel staff great breakfast superb massive choice.Only complaint really at dinner salads superb sweets great choice but maybe hot food could of been a bit more four star but this would not stop us staying at the hotel again would stop there again without a doubt.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
Stayed for one week 10th December to 17th December could not fault this Hotel for cleanliness or friendleness.

The only disappontment was the food it was not four star standard. The hotel is in a good location in the old town.

We would not hesitate to stay at this Hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 11 months ago
This hotel is in a great location for people who prefer to get a real flavour of Spain, the hotel is a great base to visit the many tapas bars, and great shops. The bus stop to Altea and Albir is one minute from the hotel.
The hotel has great facilities and very friendly staff. The food was good and varied however, at times was more suited to the Spanish clientle. This would not prevent us returning in 2006.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices