Image of Thalassa Village Skanes

Thalassa Village Skanes

8 of 15 hotels in Skanes

3 out of 5 from 44 reviews
3 stars
Right by the sandy beach, this spacious complex has simple accommodation and attractive gardens. With a range of sports and entertainment and a selection of bars, this is a great holiday base.

44 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    10
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sarah
7 years 11 months ago
well I have one word that made our holiday "Animation team". Maher, Aida, Mousse, Sammi, Cocco, Alex, Ive, Amir, they are fantastic my girls fell in love with them. without them the holiday wouldnt have been the same! we were greeted by Maher and he got up really early to see us off on the sunday 2 weeks later the first face we saw and the last, he was sooo great with our little baby girl we were really choked to leave all of them behind. Fantastic fantastic.xxxxxx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
8 years ago
Cleanliness is apalling, there are wild cats in he Restaurant area, and the fly infestation is dreadfully frustrating. When you are about to take a mouthful of food, you had to double check there was no flies on your food !!! The food itself was pretty bad, I had a private word with the head chef, and he shrugged his shoulders and he said,"We do the best with what we are given". An honest man.
Location of the Hotel was somewhat remote, but that was OK since we han no intention of socialising outside of the hotel anyway. Hotel staff were all very attentive, and very friendly, and a small tip worked wonders for your service. As I have said the staff were friendly, in some ways they can become over friendly, sitting down next to you and interrupting your conversation. A small point I know but it did become irritating. Entertainment I believe was of a resonable statndard, we did not attend ourselves, as we prefer to in a more central position....(near the bar). When the weather was fine the shows were held at the amphitheatre, and if the weather was inclement, the shows were inside.
Regarding the cleanliness of the hotel, it is absolutely dreadful. The Complex is set out like a Village, and it is a very nice layout, and when we were shown to out chalet we could not help but notice the dreadful efluvia in the atmosphere. I had read about this problem before we travelled, and I put it down to people being picky about the hotel. We are seasoned travellers, and expected no such smells, but I absolutely have to tell you, the smells are unbelievably bad !!!! We were originally in Room Sicillie 39, and we called reception to complain, and they sent a chambermaid with 3 toilet rolls and an air freshener. I politely advised the cleaner I shall go to reception, where I found that if you complain loudly enough, they will change your room. The new room was Malta 39, it was a little better. The general cleanliness of the hotel left a lot to be desired, the whole complex needs a complete makeover, and I believe that this is due to begin in November. Peeling paint in all of the major buildings, broken furniture, broken and uneven floor tiles, broken sun loungers and a myriad of further problems.
The Restaurant area was again nicely set out, and the Maitre 'D was always a pleasure to meet, but let us move onto the food quality. The food was plentiful, and you would never go hungry if you like Mediterrean
Salads because that was the only thing that was consitently good. I lived on boiled eggs and bread rolls in the morning, bread rolls and Salad for lunch, and dinner was pot luck not potroast !!!! There was a snackbar near the beach, where you could get burgers and chips etc .... but the the wait for service was overly long, and the butgers usually cold when you received them.
Bar service ....... We usually sat in an open area, and was waited upon by one or two regular waiters, whom we did tip, not a lot, but enough. Our group were drinking the local "Pernod" it was called, Pastis. On one evening the waiter that they had none left, no explanation, just that they had none left. My wife, a volatile person at times marched of to reception to complain, they called the Bar Manager, and my Wife proceeded to castigate him about the lack of choice at the bar. He assured her that a bottle of our chosen drink would be with us immediatley. He went on to explain that they remove this drink from the bar menu when some holiday makers from an Eastern European Country get a little loud. I never found them to be intrusive or boorish, but it appears that they can become a little 'boisterous'...
Generally the hotel staff are a friendly bunch, and as I pointed out before, sometimes they can be a little over familiar, but withholding conversation and non-communication seems to rectify the situation.
I would never visit this hotel again, and in all honesty I would probably never visit Tunisia again.
So, I'm looking for good points to reccomend the Hotel. (I'm struggling) .... We had nice weather.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Leanne
8 years ago
as soon as we arived at the hotel we were met by one Maher (on of the entertainment team)then we were given a drink. we then were showed to are apparments which were lovley once we had got seteld Maher showed us around letting us know were evrey thing was. the hotel cleanliness was great we saw the cleaners sweeping the dead leavs off the soil, their was always someone around that was cleaning.
the hotel was fantastic with sevrel restraunts for you to choose from, in the main restraunt you had a veritey of foods to choose from(the only thing i wouldnt recomend eating is the apples as i had a magget in mine).
the entetainment team was fantastic each night their was a show, we saw the queen which was so funny it was fantastic we then watched the lord of the dance (michal flatley) that was brilliant each member of the enterainment give it their all.
Maher looked after the english but also spoke sevrel different languges which was good as he was always talking to a group of people weither they were german polish or english.
if you are one for sight seeing then i would defently get a taxie into town as you can go to the musiam and see were the presedent lives.(their is alwas a taxie outside the hotel or ask reception to book you one) but befor you get into one ask how much and if they 20 denar then tell them that you got one yeasterday for 10.
i would defently come back to the hotel and carnt waight to see the referbishment. i would serntly love to live out their as its so nice despite the flies, if you eat in the main restraunt then eat inside as eating outside you attract the flies more with the smell of your food. its the best place ever their is even a black and white night clube (disco) their but you have to pay for your drinks as the bar closes at 12 on the dot but for 4 denar you carnt argue because its the real stuff not what the hotel bar gives you its good.
if you do leave the hotel turn your band insied out because some men reconise you band and drag you to a shop even if you tell them no! they wont let you leave the shop till you by something. BUT DO SEE YOUR REP WHEN YOU ARRIVE AS THEIR IS IMPORTANT INFORMATION THAT YOU WILL NEED TO KNOW.
but it was a fantastic holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Richard
8 years 1 month ago
All inclusive what a joke! A new manager since
nov/dec/08 has made big cut backs i wasted
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Dee
8 years 7 months ago
this is the 2nd time we have stayed in this hotel and would definetly go back again in fact we are trying to book again for sept
we were there for 2 weeks and the rooms were cleaned daily with fresh sheets twice weekly
the staff were very helpful although we did have a bit of a problem with one of the bar staff when he refused to give us a bottle of water to make up babies milk but it was quickly resolved by the manager of the hotel
while we were there my little boy had an accident with his fingers getting stuck in the door at the resteraunt but the chef came running with iced water for him very quickly
entertainment was very good at night time with animation team doing various dance shows and belly dancing lessons also keeping us occupied during the day with archery mini golf beach volley ball etc
big thanks to the animation team - cocco, aida, anna and ive for making our holiday special

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Dee
8 years 7 months ago
this is the 2nd time we have stayed in this hotel and would definetly go back again in fact we are trying to book again for sept
we were there for 2 weeks and the rooms were cleaned daily with fresh sheets twice weekly
the staff were very helpful although we did have a bit of a problem with one of the bar staff when he refused to give us a bottle of water to make up babies milk but it was quickly resolved by the manager of the hotel
while we were there my little boy had an accident with his fingers getting stuck in the door at the resteraunt but the chef came running with iced water for him very quickly
entertainment was very good at night time with animation team doing various dance shows and belly dancing lessons also keeping us occupied during the day with archery mini golf beach volley ball etc
big thanks to the animation team - cocco, aida, anna and ive for making our holiday special

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
8 years 9 months ago
This hotel is clean and the food was good as we always found something for eating at meal times and there was also snacks availble during the day and you can get pizza at night for supper.

Drinks were not that strong which is understandable as it was local stuff.

The location of this hotel is in the middle of nowhere , you can walk along the beach to other hotels but thats about it. If you want a chillout holiday lying in the sun and are not fussed about getting out and about this place is perfect , you can use taxis to get out and about but if you prefer being able to go for a walk I would say pick another resort.

I would go back to this hotel for a total chill out holiday as the staff and the entertainment team try their best to really look after you.

The gala dinners at christmas and new year were great and a lot of hard work for the staff with small touches like a muslin bag with chocs in it put into every room on christmas eve when we were all at christmas eve gala dinner and was a very nice touch from the hotel.

Only one thing I would say given you only get about 4 hours of sun a day most days in winter a week is long enough to go to tunisia if you want to just chill
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Jim
8 years 10 months ago
what can i say i read all the storys about this hotel and was not looking fallword to it but plz dot go on evrry thing you read we all loved it it was great
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
George
8 years 10 months ago
Fantastic hotel. Great food and plenty of choice. Great pools with plenty of sun loungers. Use indoor pool if you go in winter though. All staff were friendly and helpful. Anis and Sammy were wonderful. Would definately recommend this hotel to everyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Hull
8 years 11 months ago
well what can i say...the hotel is set as a village of little bungalows.There spacious with a double bed and a single bed some having a settee that can be turned into a second single bed.The bathroom has the basic facilities and the rooms are big and clean.
The hotel has two large pools one quiter then the other and a inside pool and baby pool.The hotel grounds are continuely being maintained and are clean but old.
The pool/ground toilets admitely aren't for the faint hearted and are bit smelly,all they need are a bottle of bleach but to be honest they do.The staff are friendly, they do rely heavily on tips but aren't pushy and a couple of dinars thrown here and there is enough to make sure you ar looked after continuely for your stay.The entertainment is good with a kiddies disco and evening entertainment.Spoke in at least 4 different languages it caters for every one.there are kids clubs which i didn't use purely because they were all german kids and my daughter wouldn't stay.
This hotel is more geared up for the germans, french and italians,proberly because they tip more!! but they involve the english just as much.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.