Goa Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in Goa.
I have been buying furniture for the past 3 years and having it shipped home I have never had any problems. It usually arrives in Southampton, then for the price of 45 pounds, it is whisked through customs and arrives at our front door.

So far we have bought a four poster bed, a fire place, bureau, tables, large wooden ornaments, lamps, chests, and the besat of all I think, is the 4 foot elephant. We are moving in 10 days, to a smaller house, so I think it will curtail my buying.

I always use Valley arts, at the postoffice end of Beach road, Candolim, we have never had any problems.
Tomitma,

Is your furniture fully assembled or do you have to do it yourself?

Sheila
It is fully assembled, occassionally we may have to put the legs on something, but the peices are all numbered, I think the worst one we had delivered was the lamp, there are 18 different bulb holders, each with the flower, like open and closing effect, but it was really simple to do.
:( Bought a blanket box, screen, coffee table and 2 small tables last year but then occured another £300 to get it through customs and delivered - I was told the price was it all in - so beware and would be delivered to Birmingham (dry port) - actually delivered down south somewhere - Felixstowe I think.
  • Edited by candy64 2007-05-10 23:18:04
candy64, have heard this from a lot of people who brought things in Goa to be shipped back to England with all costs included only to be faced with a very large bill when it does arrive :!: tomitma might be worth a pm to find out more.
Bought furniture from Acron in Candolim. Their shipping company said that they could deliver to the port of Leith in Edinburgh. Unfortunately the container arrived in Tilbury. The container also lay in Mumbai for a week and incurred a holding charge. Holding charge approx £50 delivery from Tilbury to Edinburgh £150 import duty and fees around £120