Turkey Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in Turkey.
Yes definitely better value than Europe at the moment. The exchange rate is about the same as last summer, so although prices have gone up over the years, you will get a lot more for your money. Eating and drinking is still very reasonable.
We went to Spain earlier this year and with the poor exchange rate it was very expensive. We have also travelled to Egypt and Turkey in the last ferw weeks. Both were much cheaper, Egypt being the cheapest. I have been visiting Turkey for over 16 years and the cost of living has risen quite a lot in recent years but it will seem much better value than euro countries. A little tip - you get a better exchange rate changing your money in Turkey.
You will certainly get more for your money in Turkey than in anywhere with the Euro at the moment. As JMK ays change your money over there and you will get a better rate than in the UK
It depends on where you go in Turkey. I have been to Olu Deniz and I wouldn't say it was that cheap really. I normally go AI but we do go for a drink out most evenings and have the odd meal out and shop now and again.

Its exceptionally beautiful there and I think if you want to eat in nice restaurants in a decent setting, tableclothes, good service you tend to have to pay for it. If you are prepared to eat up the back streets you can get better deals. I think it's misleading to say it's very cheap, as its a huge country and it's better for folk to know what they are getting in to. If you book an apartment and then need to cater for yourself for breakfast and lunch plus eat and drink out every evening I think it is unlikely a family of four could manage on under 100 pound a day. The med coast also appears quite dear as well Side, Belek etc Cheaper resorts appear to be Gumbet and Ichmeler according to what is reported on here.

Good luck whatever you decide.

Doe :wave