Holiday Advice

Holiday Advice From HolidayTruths Admins
I'm estimating that this would be at least a 9hr flight? I've never taken a pair of toddlers on a flight of that sort of length but I've plenty of experience of travelling longhaul with other passengers who did have children of that age with them and most of them - both kids and parents - seemed to be having hellish journeys!

I think that if you consider what children of that age are usually doing for 9 hrs at a stretch in an average day then it isn't usually sitting in their seat and playing quietly for the entire time with the occasional nap and food break. You can perhaps get away with it overnight but even then I remember one toddler on an overnight return flight from Cuba who wailed through most of the journey that he wanted it to stop! Exactly what he wanted his Mum and Dad to make stop I wasn't sure but it was clearly something that was not within their power to organise because he kept crying that he wanted whatever it was to stop. I fell asleep from exhaustion long before he did and when I woke up he was still crying and asking them to make it stop.

I think that it's also important to consider the effect of jetlag on toddlers too. On my regular trips to Cuba I cope by changing my watch to Santiago time as soon as we board and then make myself stay up and awake until at least 10pm after we arrive mid-afternoon local time. Changing my watch immediately doesn't really fool my body clock and I do know by the time I tumble into my bed that I've usually been awake for going on for 24 hrs by that time but it does mean that when I wake up the following morning I'm more attuned to local Cuban time.