General Holiday Enquiries, Hints and Tips

General Holiday Enquiries? Got General Hints & Tips? Post Them Here.
There are 183 inhabited islands and I have been working my way through them for many years. Still a few to go yet. Have a look at the Greek islands page on this site.
As always, it depends upon what you want to do.
1. Peaceful, eating, drinking, walking, sitting by the harbour and watching:
Paxos, Symi, Alonnisos, Lesvos.
2. Beaches: Skiathos, Crete, . There are very few large beaches in Greece which is a mountain range created by Africa hitting Europe a year or two back when I was young.
3. Night life: Corfu, Crete, Samos.
4. Archaeology: Thassos, Crete, mainland.
Don't forget the mainland: Parga, Kavala, Delphi, Corinth etc.
The choice is enormous. I've never had a bad time yet.
I have been to Corfu, Zante and Kos. Although we had a good holiday I wouldnt go back to Corfu but possibly would go back to Zante or Kos.

I went to Marmaris July just gone and had a wonderful first trip to Turkey. I loved it so much, I am going back tomorrow for 2 weeks.

Im a Turkey convert.

Mary x
Hi like you I've been going to Turkey for years, always had a ball! (except gumbet!LOL!) so this year we went to Cyprus for a change, have learned our lesson now, so going back to Altinkum next year! My brother is currently on the island of rhodes, Pefkos to be precise, he says it is fantastic! Good luck!

Alistair
Went to Crete last year, its quite large so you can get all kinds of holidays there. i.e. busy and touristy, or quiet and authentic. All sorts from large AI's to small B & B type hotels with eating out in local tavernas etc.

If you are interested in history there is knossos and there is also samaria gorge. Beaches are similar to Turkey, some coarse sand some that mixture of sand and shingle.