Image of Royal Park Hotel

Royal Park Hotel

1 of 3 hotels in Elenite

3 out of 5 from 250 reviews
4 stars
k.k. Elenite, 8259, Bulgaria
To be completed for Summer 2004, and set in the family-friendly resort of Elenite, this promises to be an excellent choice for a relaxing family beach holiday. Guests have full access to all the facilities of the neighbouring Elenite Holiday Village.

250 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    49
  • Very Good
    83
  • Good
    57
  • Average
    40
  • Poor
    21

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Joan.jones
unhappy holiday experience
5 months ago
2 hour check in as room not cleaned.no clean towels and you were expected to shower in hand towels.Food good if you queued for 1 hour. No help with the language barrier Elena Petrova not able to use a little word like sorry.(guest relations officer)/Lifts hardly ever working.

Area lovely/Plenty to do very disappointing. would not recommend to any of my friends.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on the beach

Hotel tip: No need for restaurants if you are willing to queue

Sam
10 years 4 months ago
Like many others I considered cancelling this holiday too. I am so thankful that I didn't, we had a wonderful time.

I think people need to put things into perspective here, here's just a few points

WASPS - Is that the hotels fault? Yes there are wasps, if you leave fizzy drinks unattended of course you're going to attract them. The hotel had the area fumigated whilst we were there and our party of 6 were never stung once.
STAFF - A smile goes a long way, give them a smile and they will smile back quite happily. The maids were visibally shocked when we held doors open for them etc.

FOOD - This is Bulgaria, not Blackpool. Typical menu was Breakfast - bacon, sausage, eggs, pancake, bread, rolls, cold meat, eggs, cornflakes, cake and pastries, fruit. LUNCH & DINNER - chips, onion rings, fish dish, chicken dish, Veal dish pasta, rice, spaghetti, pizza, sausage, nuggets, salad, cold meats, lovely fresh bread, cheeses, cakes to die for and fruit in abundance. The ONLY thing that ruined the mealtimes were the damn greedy people that pushed into queues, ran into the restaurant when the doors were opened, piled the plates sky high, leaving half of it on the table, and filling bags with fruit!! People were grabbing whole bunches of bananas - I've never seen anything like it, and I hate to say it but most of them were Brittish.

KIDS CLUB - fantastic staff, my 8yr olds had an amazing time. they had a birthday while we were there and Happy Hannah made sure they had a great time.

REPS - Worked thereselves into the ground, a fab bunch of boys and girls. Well done guys.

POOLS - Why are you moaning that the water is cold? If you want warm water, have a bath!! The weather is hot hot hot, the water was perfectly refreshing!

BEACH - Like everywhere else with free sunbeds, you gotta get up early to beat the towells!!! But the beach was spotless and the water was quite shallow. Lifeguards too all down the beach.

ROOMS - To be honest, a little dated but oh so clean and spacious! Yes, some repairs were needed, but report them and they will be sorted. I accidently broke the shower, went to reception to report it and 2 maintenance men were at my room within minutes.

MOANERS - sorry, but watch out for the moaners, because they are everywhere, heres a few examples. The welsh woman overheard complaining to a rep that 2 flies were in her room, the coke that was too fizzy and the grapes that were too small!!! For heavens sake!!

My advice is too kick off your shoes, grab a drink, ignore the moaners and relax. the Royal Park is a lovely hotel and if you go in a positive frame of mind I'm sure you'll have a fab time. Go in a negative frame of mind, then you need to go sit in the corner with the other moaners!

I hope this honest report has been useful, and if you're going then have a fab fab time x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
just arrived back from royal park and heard all the fuss from tv and papers,some points i'd like to make-
1 the hotel was to close to the beach
2 the beach had to much sand on it
3 the sea was to cold
4 the hotel had to much going on for the kids
5 to many people enjoying themselves
6 beer was to cold
7 there are glass pint glasses not small plastic cups in the bar for your beer
8 staff were to helpful,on my birthday they even made me a cake which was to nice.
9 rooms were cleaned to often

as you can see me and my family enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning next year,some people have gone to this hotel and looked for problems to complain about,just relax and enjoy your stay,we did!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
Arrived back a couple of days ago am missing the weather and that is all!!

There are too many faults to list but here are a few: staff rude, power cuts, too many people, EXPENSIVE, middle of nowhere, pools dirty, awful cold food.

Can't believe you save up all year for this.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Parkinson
10 years 5 months ago
Just thought i would let everyone know, as i am one of the fussiest people i know, that we thought the hotel was ok. The cleanliness is quite impressive, we arrived at three in the morning to be greeted by 2 maids sweeping and mopping the reception area and terrace outside, we later saw that they proceeded to do this throuougt the day and our room maid was great we got clean sheets and towels each day.

The food is ok but not great, as someone who has been all inclusive before this was not the worst place i have eaten.

The location for us was poor as we are quite a active family and there is nothing around the hotel within a reasonable walking distance.

There were lots of complaints about hotel staff attitude, they did appear to be very ignorant but most of the general staff other thatn reception spoke very little english if any.

Entertainment for kids is great, the kids club operate most days 3 times a day for a few hours, however the adult entertainment is poor. Beware at the private beach bar where a lot of the evening entertainment is held, it is payable and quite expensive about 3 quid for small beer and 6 for a cocktail you will pay about 1 for a large beer and 2.50 for cocktail in sunny beach. The hotel is set in a very secure enviroment with a gated main entrance and security 24 hours a day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
Just got back and have to say on the whole the holiday was ok.

The hotel its self was ok the reception area is outstanding, the rest of the hotel however is starting to show its age, general wear and tear but no real problems pretty clean (however the public toilets are a mess and no locks!!!!!).

FOOD,.. its true unfortunatly food in the main restaurant is in the majority in-edible, uncooked,cold,pink chicken, food named"chicken innards" or "a kind of paste product"???!!!)flies over uncovered food and mould on the cakes so do check. Breakfast is the only meal that you can eat without fear of poisioning but after 5 days of eggs,bacon,sausage it becomes a bit boring and to cook a peice of toast takes 15-20 mins!!

LUNCH- best avoided.

DINNER- have to be honest you will struggle to find a meal worth eating every day of your stay, we lasted 4 days before venturing out, ANYONE who says the food is good (or what you should expect from all inclusive) is talking utter rubbish or they really must eat complete crap at home!! sorry but for your money you expect better, if you eat there for your entire stay at least one of you will get ill and in the surgery there, you will queue with others as the docs put you on a drip, and if they offer you a trip to the local"facility" try to resist. It looks like a bomb has hit it!!! In the day there are hotdogs (ok), kebaps(avoid),Paninis(to locate them go to the ice cream parlour (about 500 yards away upstairs) at 11.30, they are only there for an hour each day so order as many as you can carry as they are ok)pizza(ok)there is the bar-b-cue which is ok to eat just check.

There are 3 other returants that you can go to (Sunshine,only open at 10pm, food looks great unfortunatly chicken pink kitchen closed half way through dinner??. Sozopol, Bulgarian menu, choose only the Soups, Chicken and 3 bean and for the main only the "kavama pot, really nice but every thing else on the menu is horrible and any one who sat there said the same thing!! Talyana never had the pleasure of eating there so pot luck really)

Unfortunatly to access these you will have to firstly queue at 9 o clock each morning & if you are further than the 15th person in the queue you will not get in!!! That is a promise, secondly try and stand as close to the desk where they take the bookings as people will just push in at the last minute. P.s there are no snacks of any description (except in the shop outside) any whwere after the resturant closes not even a packet of crisps anywhere!!!!.

OK here is your lifeline, there is Pakos bar outside the complex about 200 yrds to the left of the main gate, open from 4pm the atmosphere is really good local beer is 2 levs big bottles of Becks 2.50 lev so cheap, food is hit and miss hotdog really good burger horrid but its open till 4am and gets lively. Worth a visit but be prepared when yo first see it as it relly is just a wooden shack that looks ready for demolition!!!! BUT THIS MAY BE THE MOST IMPORTANT BIT, the reps do not eat in the resturant despite them saying they do. If you head to Pakos outside there, just on the left is a small turning as you enter it go right through thre barrier and then left down the slope and follow round to the left past the pools and lo and behold not one but 3 resturants!!!!! One in each corner and in the swimming pool a giant wooden boat with a resturant on!!! The two corner ones are good food and cheap prices so rather than waste money going to sunny beach these will see you through but keep your reciepts, you will even see the reps there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
Hi everyone,

Just back from Royal Park last Saturday. We was like all you, very worried about all the reports on this forum and contacted FC to see if we could get a move but got the same response. There is 2 problems with this hotel:

1. The food. It seemed to be cooked ok while we was there and saw on a couple of times staff coming out checking the temp of the food but it was all the same stuff everyday and what was there was not very edible but I suppose you have to remember that your are in Bulgaria so expect different food. Although 1 night there was chicken innards made up into a stew

2. Entertainment. There are 2 main venues for entertainment of an evening, the ampitheartre which alot of the time you have to pay an entrance fee and the animation hall were again, sometimes you have to pay to enter so as a result there are alot of people sat around doing knothing but playing cards of an evening.

We was surprised to here the hotel had been on the tele while we was there because honestly there is no more sickness going on at the hotel than there is at any other hotel in Europe. We had a dodgy tummy for a couple of days but nothing out the norm.

By the end of the 1st week though we had, had enough of the food so was eating out most of the time, Sunny beach is only 10 mins away and only 3 lev each to get there plus pako's is just outside the complex which serves great english food at a good price.

All in all, we had a really good holiday and didn't let the poor food upset us, the hotel is immaculate and all the staff are very nice. The beach and sea are fantastic and if you get the chance go on the VIP cruise and the jeep safari, they are the 2 best trips they do and had a brilliant time on both.

Hope this makes a few of you feel alittle better before you go.

P.S Don't forget to take some playing cards, you will need them!


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Mitton
10 years 5 months ago
I was really worried about going to this hotel with all the bad reviews but I can honestly say it was fine more than fine it was good. Rooms big and very clean no complaints there. Food was the usual for all inclusive after a while you always get fed up of rice chips and pork. Food through the day was very good piza, hot dogs, kebabs, paninis and all the ice cream you can eat. Drinks very good measures and strong. Staff in the hotel most are very pleasant, our cleaner gave us a present on our last day. The water park kept our kids busy and the beach was lovely. You must go to a little place out side the hotel gates it is a shack called El Paco's the food is lovely and the cocktail are good there is a great atmosphere it is very cheap but good it is a must we went 3 times and had takeaways from there for the kids sometimes. The location is a bus or taxi ride to sunny beach but beware the buses are always full, so taxis are easier. Nessibar is a great place to visit very pretty. In Sunny Beach you can go Go Karting that was great fun. I wouldn't hesitate to go to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Lorraine
10 years 5 months ago
On arrival we had some bother with the booking. They appeared to have lost our booking arrangement, but finally found it. The rooms were spotless and we had a particularly nice cleaner. The entertainment was mainly for children aged 10 and under, my 12 year old had to amuse himself but there is a big water slide park round the corner. The food was not as good as other places I have visited and my husband went down with a bad tummy not sure if it was the food. Nights were rather boring as not much entertainment. The beach was lovely and always kept clean and tidy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Downer
10 years 6 months ago
Food good, hot always something to eat.

hotel is always being cleaned at all times of the day and night.

location is about 15 mins from sunny beach, but situated right on the beach.

Staff friendly if treated properly

First choice entertainment ok, also resident hotel animation team doing different stuff
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum