Image of Royal Bay Elenite Hotel

Royal Bay Elenite Hotel

2 of 3 hotels in Elenite

3 out of 5 from 59 reviews
4 stars
ELENITE HOLIDAY VILLAGE S/N, Elenite, 8259 Bulgaria
Occuptingh a beautiful location directly on Elenite's white beach and backed by a lush, green hillside, this hotel is spacious and well kept. It also offers an extensive range of facilities and activities that will suit all types of holidaymaker.

59 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    16
  • Poor
    6

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Very poor food, but great complex for families
7 years 6 months ago
This was our 3rd year at this hotel (5th year in total at Elenite) and we would not return. The main basis of our complaint was the restaurant. The table cloths were filthy, you had to hunt for cutlery and crockery, food was dreadful and mostly undercooked and very much what was the adult choice at lunchtime became the kids choice at evening time (leftovers). We all ended up eating out for the 2nd week of our holiday as we all had upset stomachs and as soon as we stopped eating in the restaurant we were all fine.

The complex itself is great for families. The animation team work so hard ensuring everyone has a great time, they do aerobics and water games by the pool twice a day and entertainment in the hall at nights - yes it's miming but they are good shows.

The complex is kept very clean by the staff and if you take the time to say good morning or hello they will reply - usually with a smile.

The one thing we will miss about the Royal Bay is Stefan the barman, we have got to know him over the last 5 years and he is really a great guy, I know most people call him moody but take time to talk to him.

We did have 4 fantastic years at Elenite but sadly this year let us down so goodbye Elenite - thanks for the good times.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
O'Hare Family
8 years 5 months ago
Travelled with family in a group of 10. Having read the reviews we were a bit worried about what to expect. However, the hotel was spotless,cleaners were everywhere, all day long and the gardens were well maintained. The food was not the best but edible if repetative, Georgi cooks individual omelettes made to your taste each morning, very tasty. There were moths around which we thought we would never get used to but did. The staff are extremely friendly & very helpful, especially Galina, Sullyman & Nicole, who made us very welcome during our stay. The downside was the lack of entertainment & snacks in the hotel at night. You can go to Pacos Shack, outside the main gate for food each night until 1am.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 3 months ago
Please dont go here food bad hotel bad had to be moved that was not much better the food is really allful big grand hotels but can not cateer for brits about 10 couples were moved as far as i no
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: olympic holidays

Mrs Blackburn
9 years 3 months ago
Arrived mid morning at this hotel found the location and views very good.Good check in and room clean and comfortable with regular change of towels and bedding no problems there had a tv bit hit n miss but enjoyed not watchin tv and didnt miss strictly one bit!!!!
Gardens n beach all well maintained,our pool was dirty and unusable for the first 4 days but we did recieve a letter from the hotel with an apology and a free late room checkout ok not bad and there were several other pools you could use within the complex.Now the awkard bits food,restaurant,entertainment A/I package.
Food below average,not much choice,restaurant staff needed motivation!!not much entertainment for over 50'
would have liked a quiz or a theme night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Neil Bye
9 years 4 months ago
We arrived at 6am their time, so were v tired
Got into room 208 (please make a mental note of this room number)
No black out curtains and what curtains there were didn't cover window
Damaged skirting boards
Broken glass in toilet
No cot for 18 month daughter
Patio door wouldn't lock
Stank of stale food
Overlooked bins and back of kitchens
Door missing from wardrobe
TV didn't work
Noise from kitchen staff

By far the worse room I have ever stayed in

Complained the following morning to hotel reception, might as well been talking Martian the good it did me, so complained to rep at Welcome Meeting.

The options were stay put or pay extra for a sea view room that was fit for humans, so that was what we had to do as it just wasn't safe for small children and wasn't fit for purpose as a so called 4 star room.

It turned out that quite a few others were pushed into room 208 (and 202 by the lift shaft) during the course of our hols and every single one rejected it and all had to pay for an upgrade. It's a con, they know you will reject it and therefore have a nice little earner going, dare you risk it and be given one of these terrible rooms?

Now then lets try and be positive.

The beach is nice but you need to start looking after the volley ball pitch as nearer the Royal Bay it's rocky.

Nice pool although not the warmest.

You have to queue for drinks and they have a habit of shutting early. the main barman was surly at best. Top tip get a big tankard (pint+) and keep hold of it, it seems to annoy him immensely.

Food, very samey, things like chicken and lamb looked more like road kill. I tended to stick to the kids processed food. If you want a beer with your food expect a long wait. Lots of the tables were dirty so it was quite a feat to find a clean one that was set. The high chair was falling to bits.

If you want to watch sports, best bet is Paco's bar out of the complex, where you have to pay but it's 2 Lev for a pint so cheap.

Animation Hall, bit naff, but okay if you like watching folk miming.

Formation towel bomb raids at 7am and not just by the usual suspects. Quite a few wasps about, esp where folk have knocked over sweet drinks of course. Nice touch was the bins had lids otherwise it would have been unbearable.

Chucked out of room at noon even though we weren't leaving until following morning at 2am.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Carol & Nigel
9 years 6 months ago
We arrived late at night, and were dropped off at the complex by coach. A golf buggy took us to Royal Bay at the far end. We were shown our rooms on the 4th floor, and had adjacent sea view rooms as requested. We were supplied with a strange packed supper consisting of a yellow cheese snadwich or a ham sandwich, an apple and a bottle of water each. We had not eaten much, so were glad of something. The air conditioning worked fine in our rooms, and were glad as it was quite hot. Breakfast was the same every day, but there was plenty of variety, so could mix and match. The toaster didn't seem to toast, and the coffee machine frequently ran out. Lunchtimes the same, but there was hot and cold food. Dinner,usually chicken or pork on skewers. Often the chicken was not cooked very well, and sometimes the food could have been hotter. They do not seem to have heard of hot plates to eat from. Keep a watch on any unfinished food, and do not wander off and leave it unattended, it will not be there when you come back!The staff are rather enthusiastic to clear away! The place was kept very clean by teams of ladies dressed in very attractive uniforms, but our rooms could have done with the floors being swept a bit better. We had little problem with communication with the staff, reception and the dining room staff understood English pretty well, if all else failed hand-signals worked.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Nelson
Booked to go back already
9 years 7 months ago
We stayed in the Royal Bay hotel for 2 weeks late June early July. Our party consisted of 2 adults, 16+15+10 year olds. The food was not a la carte but it was fine, we all ate well even my picky 15 year old. Plenty of salads, fruit, cheese, cooked meats and lovely breads so you would never be stuck.

Cleanliness, very good, cleaners work day and night to maintain the standard. The holiday makers provide plenty of work for them to do! Staff, I had no problem with staff a few lev goes a long way to excellent service, staff pleasant and we treated them with respect and were treated back with respect.

This is were it was a bit difficult, the animation centre was too busy for me, we used the Irish bar under the Royal Park, a lot of Dutch but they are very social.

Will I be back? Booked and all
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sarah Mclean
10 years 5 months ago
we travelled to this hotel in july 2008 the hotel is lovely itself my the staff were so rude the management is appoling.
the food was the same morning afternoon and evening not cooked cold smothered with flyies disgusting.....the water was being filled up by a hose pipe of a night behind the swimming pool...5powercuts in 7days...
no clean bedding or towls room stank n dirty.
porno being filmed on the beach. entertainment dioblocal quiz quiz quiz...all the time.
everything we had to pay for even the kids club we paid for a 3*all inclusive in my oppionion we recieved 1*selfcatering....
my self partner n son was soo ill due to the food n drink my son has been in hopsital since returning home with food poisioning and has lost a stone in weight...my partner 2stone....we are suing firstchoice with loads of other families in talks with our solicitior....do not go to this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Donna
10 years 5 months ago
the hotel was right on the beach, the view was amazing. the rooms were spotless, there was plenty of variety within the food we all ate well for the entire fortnite. there was no entertainment in the hotel but plenty going on around the resort. we would go back again but to the royal park it looked amazing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkin travel

Recommended
Mrs Bowler
11 years 3 months ago
Hotel cleanliness - a bit too clean to be honest! Cleaners worked day and night and the place was absolutely spotless. But on the downside they were so clean they actually moved my one year old child many times during her dinner to clean the bits she had spilt on the floor which I thought was downright rude.

The food wasn't up too much, same things everyday, quite often undercooked. The salad bar was nice and you could get ice creams and buiscuits for the kids during the day if you were prepared to walk for 10 minutes and climb up about 100 stairs with a buggy to the coffee bar.

The alcaholic drinks were ok but there was hardly any choice. don't expect any cocktails! not much for children to drink except water and milk.

The location was very pretty, right on a lovely beach, with three lovely swimming pools. Not the place to go if you want entertaining though. nothing in elenite apart from a couple of hotels.

Sunny beach is a nice place but it is tricky to get to because there are only buses every hour and they are always full.

The driver doesn't speak English and can't tell you where to get back on so we all ended up having to pay for a taxi back. Nessebar is worth a visit and the hotel run a taxi boat which cost us 90 levas for 4 adults and a baby (about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum