Image of Elenite Holiday Village

Elenite Holiday Village

3 of 3 hotels in Elenite

3 out of 5 from 62 reviews
Elenite Holiday Village S/N Elenite, Elenite, Bulgaria

62 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    21
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    7

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dawn
8 years 5 months ago
We went for 2 weeks leaving on the 12/07/10. I was wary as some of the reviews were bad but then they seemed to be better for 2009. All i can say is something has gone wrong in July 20010. On arrival the resort looked lovely and clean and very safe. The problems started when you went for something to eat. The food was uncooked and luke warm. My daughter got pork kebabs which were barely cooked. Then our party of 5 all came down with stomach pains and vomited. A scottish couple in the room next door had also been ill for 2 days. The restaurant was crawling with flies. After this i refused to eat in the restaurant and had to buy wrapped food from the resort shop at extortinate rates. A bag of chrisps was £2 and baby food £3, triple the prices in England. The al a carte restaurants were no better. You have to que from 9am for approx 40 mins if you want to book one. We went for a meal in the Sozopol and the chicken was barely cooked. The taliana bbq restaurant was no better again serving raw meat. Forget going here if you have a baby in a pram as their are over 30 stairs to get to the restaurant and if you get a villa which is not on the seafront you have to carry the pram up flights of stone steps. This is hard going and i had to go out with my partner as i couldnt get up them myself. The kebab hut next to the Royal Park served kebabs with barely cooked chicken and coleslaw left on a bench in 30 deg heat crawling with flies. The electric went off for the best part of 48 hours, they told us this had never happened before and the whole of the black sea was off. It happens all the time and they have got no backup. The the restaurant could cook the food but were unable to keep it hot so it stood cold and people were expected to eat it. They couldnt serve drinks due to the electric pumps not working and ran out of the few bottles of pepsi they had. They did not go out and buy bottled drinks etc and just left you with nothing. My 24 month old daughter was starving so i asked them to heat up a bottle as they had gas in the restaurant, they laughed in my face and told me to heat it up on a candle. After i demanded a manager it took them 20 min to heat it up and it was boiling so she couldnt drink it any way. The rooms floors were mopped daily and we got clean towels everyday. My 3 kids were all sick on numerous nights and the cleaner mopped our room then used the same mop and water for the next 2 apartments. The staff are rude and unhelpful and the resort is mainly used by Russian and German guests who they favour over the english serving them first. The bedding was changed daily but was damp. I would avoid this resort and you are stranded if anything goes wrong or you dont like the food. The next resort is 4km away at Sunny Beach. The entertainment was basic when their was eletric and the stairs in the animation hall collapsed. The park had 4inch nails sticking out of it and the water park also had stairs coming away from the slides. The pools were full of flies moths and wasp even though their was a lifeguard there all day and a net that was neer used. I wouldnt recommend this resort to anyone and you would be better paying a bit more money and going elsewhere as i feel like i have been totally ripped off. The problems with the food has been going on for over 2 years and you can research this resort on the net. I have since been told it has been featured on holidays from hell and gmtv. Also read the reviews for the royal bay and the royal park as the facilities are included in the all inclusive. There are quite a few things to pay for as the only night time entertainment included is the show in the animation hall. This is repetative and gets boring after a while. You have to pay for drinks at the beach hut, the irish bar, the nightclub after 12 and loungers and drinks at the aqua park. The drinks are very expensive. If you have already booked to go and have kids take plenty of food incase you have the same problems i had. If the food is uncooked or the kids dont like it the prices in the resort shop are ridiculous. The kids clubs are mostly Russian and German and my 6 year went to t shirt making at the cost of £7 for a plain white t shirt and they let her out the animation hall by herself to come and find me at the other end of the resort. If you have already booked i hope you dont endure what i did and go prepared. Make sure you take enough nappies in case the kids get upset stomachs as it costs over £10 for a little packet of pampers. Take the lightest pram you have. If you are thinking about booking as it is cheap for an all inclusive dont. I would advise any anyone to pay a bit extra and go to a different country. There is one restaurant called pakkos outside the gate then nothing within walking distance. Some people hae gone and thought it was great but as i say something went wrong this year. Everyone i spoke to hated it and said they would never go back. I wouldnt go back even if i won a free 2 weeks all inclusie with spending money. Its horrendous being stuck on a resort with food poisoning and being unable to go anywhere else for a meal and being scared to feed your kids.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

9 years 5 months ago
we stayed in the villas at elenite village.
ours was lovely and clean. well equiped(even had a hairdryer) good air con too. maid came in every day (excp sunday) to clean and sheets changed, as were towels.fridge has water and choc in when we arrived which was nice.the reception area for the villas was lovely. lots of places to relax & have a leisurely drink. everywhere extremeley clean. we used the kids club which our daughter loved. the entertainment team were very active and enthusiastic. there is not loads of evening entertainment for adults - this is definately a family friendly place to stay. quiet and relaxing; the food was fine if you want 5star dont go- its just normal everyday food; we had no problems with it at all. its never going to be the same as at home! but we ate well every day.(kids aswell)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Andy Parry
10 years 4 months ago
we had two week break staying in the villas elenite,family of four.good value for money.food good,beach good,water park good,pools good.we would go back but leave for few years.dont expect many smiles or any face gestures as dont know how, even when giving a tip.over all very good holiday,but if your fussy stay at home. parry family (bristol)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkanholidays

Recommended
Walker
10 years 6 months ago
We arrived at Elenite Village and were impressed by the surroundings until we were given our room, up three flights of stairs with our luggage and a buggy.

we couldnt let our one year old out onto the balcony as there was a massive drop from the stairs with no safety rails. Our room was very basic and needed updating and the beds had a horrible smell. We did complain but were told that it was okay about the stairs as we were not on the very top floor and as for the smell, the cleaner sprayed the beds with air freshner, which didnt work.

Our main complaint was the restaurant the food was awful it was crawling with flies. I have never ever complained about any hotel restaurant weve ever been to as you do have to try different countries menus, but this really was unbearable. If you did want anything else to eat you had to take the cattle truck sorry! local bus to sunny beach or pay 25 levs each way for a victoria group taxi.

We did find out that last year they provided a free bus to sunny beach but took it off so they could make even more money out of you by providing a very expensive taxi. We spoke to other people at the resort and were told that this year standards really had dropped since last year. Another thing the bars kept running out of beer.

Now for the good bits the beach was lovely no shortage of beds which were free!!! the pools were okay apart from the kids pool which had flies and wasps floating in it every day, it was cleaned when the life guard could be bothered to get up from his sunbathing.

The entertainment was fab. The animation team worked their socks off and produced some great shows. The Aqua park was very good. Would we go back ? Not a chance.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

11 years 3 months ago
September 2007 Elenite Village

Arriving at Bourgas airport and onward transfer was both quick and efficient, the transfer from Bourgas to Elenite takes approx 30-40 minutes. Elenite is situated 15 minutes north of Sunny Beach.

Elenite is a purpose built enclosed resort directly on the Black Sea with its own nice large stretch of gently sloping sandy beach. The resort has both family villas and several hotels (some are new this year and more are being built at present) and the complex is laid out in a park style with landscaped gardens.

Accommodation:

The villas are terraced (many have a lot of steps) and most of them have a sea view although there are several that look out on to other villas or the gardens.
The villas themselves are a good size for both couples and families. There are different styles of villas with some having twin/ double beds and some of the others also having bunk beds for children.
All the villas have a decent bathroom with a bath and a shower above. A hairdryer is not provided but you can hire one for a small fee from reception.
The furnishings in the rooms are all very good with plenty of hanging and drawer space.
You get clean towels everyday with bedding changed 3 times a week and towels for the beach are available from the hotel.
All rooms have a TV with a limited choice of English speaking channels, a fridge (stocked with a couple of bottles of water and some chocolate on arrival) and free individually remote controlled air conditioning.
There are no kettles in the rooms so if you require one you will have to take your own.
All the villas have a balcony with a table and chairs and there is also a clothes airer for drying cloths on the balcony.
There are also some villas that are a bit more luxurious and have a higher standard of fittings & furnishing.

Food & Drink:

The food, this was the main area of complaint for most people!
The Nessebar the main restaurant for the villas is located in the middle of the villas in the main complex and this is where breakfast, main lunch and dinner is served and the restaurant is all self service with a choice of courses.
When you enter the restaurant you may have to search before finding a seat, (a tip, if sunny DON
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
we stayed all inclusive and found the food to be ok, there was plenty of choice, 2 soups every day, salads, chicken, pork, beef, vegetarian dishes, cakes, ice cream, seperate childrens buffet. there are several snack bars throughout the complex serving pizzas, hot dogs and chicken kebabs. the hotel is very clean, the cleaners work very hard in all the areas of the complex, our towels were changed every day and room cleaned daily. the location is great right on the beach and the advantage of the village is that there are no cars for the chidren to worry about, yes you get the buggies but they are generally going pretty slow and the odd van that collects rubbish or delivers supplies to the pool bars. the majority of hotel staff are great (just reception staff whom i found quite stuffy and not very helpful) the entertainment team work extremley hard all day, the shows at night are brilliant and the kids club staff are great. we have already booked for next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Fluffybum
12 years 3 months ago
Upon arrival to our villa/room (No:-416), we noticed that there was an enormous crack and hole in our sink. After numerous complaints the sink was finally renewed 2 days before we went home. Reception staff very grumpy.

Bars that served alcohol / soft drinks often ran out of gas so never could get a drink. Disco/ nightclub area in bad state of repair with lots of broken mirrors and ripped seating. Toilets in animation hall were absolutely putred.

Entertainment for the children was not free as we were charged 20 lev (approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Lisa And Luke
12 years 3 months ago
we arrived very early in the morning and were greated by bell boys, which i must say was very nice. the members of staff throughout the hotel were very helpfull. the cleaners worked exstremley hard too. the food was very nice we had no complaints aboutit. Although there were a lot of people complaining about it. I think personally that a lot of people thought that they would have a full english breakfast every morning. you must go there with an open mind and trie new things.the location of the hotel is great .the complex is very relaxing you have everything you need right there. the entertainment for the kids was great . although i thought the entertainment for the adults could of been a little better.There is a night club and an irish pub. The hotel was very clean and the cleaners worked really hard. THEY ALWASTS HAD TIME FOR YOU.all in all i think that this was one of the best holidays which we have. We enjoyed it so much that we have booked to go again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Roz
12 years 4 months ago
The resort was spotless with a multitude of cleaners. The rooms were quite small but adequate with a fridge, shower and air conditioning(although there was no warm water in our appartment).

The restaurants were obviously very busy as it was peak season but it usually wasn't a problem getting tables. Access to sunny beach could be made by boat, taxi or bus. We used the bus at a cost of 1.30 levs each - one way.

There is a pier in the resort and boats trips leave to Nessebar (a lovely town at a cost of 20 levs return) and sunny beach. The only down points were the entertainment was a bit scarce in the evening only 1 hour (9 to 10 usually) otherwise very good.

This resort is excellent for young families although not much for older kids. I would visit again in some few years time because by then I think it will be more cottoned on.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Roger, Karen, Kirsty
12 years 4 months ago
This was our second visit to the Holiday Village and once again were not disappointed.

The cleaners work tirelessly all day in the rooms and complex.

The food was very good particularly the a la carte restaurants for which you have to book in advance. Don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkans

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum