Image of Club Miramar Hotel

Club Miramar Hotel

3 of 3 hotels in Obzor

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Luca Helios Beach, Chernomorska St 44, 8250 Obzor, Bulgaria

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Linda
9 years 6 months ago
When we arrived at this hotel we thought it wasnt too bad. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful. The room appeared clean and tidy, but a bit musty smelling. A few days into the holiday we soon changed our mind. I couldn,t believe the state of the mattress my 4 yr old son was sleeping on. It was mouldy. There was a big bush right outside our patio doors, we were supposed to have a sea view. Our rep made us feel we were complaining for the sake of it. The food is no good for children. Same thing every night, goulash, kebab. The entertainment was geared more towards non english people. Even the kids disco played all songs in a foreign language. We felt very intimidated and isolated. We didnt even book this hotel, our original was taken out of brochure and were told it was this or nothing.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice, Thomson

Lee
9 years 6 months ago
loved it great food presentation of the desserts was brilliant loved the old town obzor.ok enterainment not that great staff very friendly met a lot of nice people from other countries.i must add i read all the negative comments regarding hotel and did ask the question at reception and was told it was previous managment which imo has been proved.ps anbody who goes please feed the stray kittens to the left of the pirate boat on the beach lol well my daughter is only 12 after all.go here its very nice
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
I have just returned from the Miramar, first of all it is now not a Riu hotel and is run by clubhotel, I could not fault the facilities, room hotel or location of this hotel, it is remote, but I knew that before going, the staff are very friendly and helpful,the entertainment team work very hard and took time to come and speak to me every night my only complaint was the food,the meat was diabolical, only pork or chicken all week,lots of skin gristle and fat, cooked on a griddle and unceremoniously thrown in to serving trays via a plate, no beef or lamb ever,no carved meat, you would not starve here but there is definite room for improvement and certainly some English choices would be nice, its a shame the food lets the hotel down everything else it very good , my room was dressed every day with flowers and towel is the shapes of swans etc which I thought was a very nice touch, the all inclusive was fine at the hotel with you very much helping yourself to most things, the midday snacks were served all fresco or in the dining room it is worth a visit .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Neil Cox
11 years 5 months ago
I could not believe we ended up here when after reading the Thomson brochure it only got a 50 satisfaction review.
Firstly there are 1500 rooms but there were only 50 British people there the remainder were German and everything about the hotel is geared towards looking after them. All the food which was disgusting had a German feel and even the kids club and entertainment was in German so why send British people their?

As for Obzor it is 4 hotels in the middle of nowhere beside a tiny village which has all of 4 pubs none of which were British.

The UK rep spent everyday dealing with the same complaints about why people had given up their hard earned money to be sent to Stalag Luft 10 and I never heard a single person say they were actually having a good time their especially people like me who had young children with them.

I am not a fussy person and do not exaggerate so take my advice do not go there.

Forgot to mention the water went off 3 days out of 7 so you could not even have a shower.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Neil
11 years 5 months ago
First things first, if you have read a bad review about the Miramar elsewhere on the web disregard it; if the hotel isn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Brummie
12 years 5 months ago
The hotel was very pleasant but not a brochure stated. There was no swim up bar and no bridges across the pools so quite a long way round, everything went out the window when we had the storms and the floods, no help from Thomson no help from the hotel it was a shambles never never again. Health and safety is a major issue at this hotel, a plastic chair across the lift shaft is not my idea of safety.

All the pools were left empty and when they did try to fill them we had no water at the hotel, the day we left the water was off again we had to travel home coming straight from the beach no water from anywhere to wash.

God help the poor people with children.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Oxley
12 years 5 months ago
We had a few reservations about going to a newly opened hotel but it was all up and running. There are a few finishing touches that the hotel needs to do which they were doing during our stay it is only small things -nothing structural, shower curtains that sort of thing.

Facilities at the hotel are good, lovely pools, bar service excellent, the entertainment was O.K,

The staff speak several languages, the children are well catered for with a pool table, TV screens, computers with internet access if the weather is not so good during our stay there was only 1 storm which lasted about an hour or so.

We got bored with the food over 2 weeks but you can eat in the town which is about a 10 minute walk away or only 10 Lev using the cabs.

The only trip we went on was the off road adventure which is fun day out for all the family you get to go quad biking, horse riding, lunch and a visit to a beach in the afternoon a thoroughly enjoyable day.

Our children 14 and 12 made friends on the first day and have had a great time.

We preferred the beach to the pools as it was quieter, would recommend on your last day if you fly later at night paying the extra to have your room until 7pm. Bourgas airport is quite small and very basic. All in all an enjoyable holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Martyn Vevers
12 years 5 months ago
We were pleasantly surprised how good this hotel was after recent reports after it got flooded etc.

The rooms where very good, probably the largest we have had, and very! Very! Clean. We had a sea view, and the beach was directly below the balcony if you like the sea.

The very large swimming pools where cleaned every day and where exceptionally clean. The bars (2) where also good by the pool, also 1 served excellent snacks from 10am - 5pm.

The food by the end of the two weeks to be fair got a bit repetitive, but was always good, and plenty of choice even for the fussy eaters, breakfast especially was good. The staff could not do enough for you, and were very friendly compared to Turkey I thought.

The entertainment team where also very good, air rifle shooting, shuffleboard, french boules, volleyball/ Football (beach), pool games where all available throughout the day. But entertainment on an evening was not to clever, Karaoke was available 1 night a week and also a live band where ok.

Eating out was very cheap for a change, a meal for 4 having pizzas and a drink was only 26 levs (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Lauren And Tom
12 years 6 months ago
The hotel had only opened the week before we arrived. Unfortunately this meant that the block we were staying in still had rooms being finished resulting in noise every morning. The fire exits and stairs were also unfinished causing problems during fire alarms, and potentially could have been quite dangerous in a real emergency.

The hotel was right on the beach which was lovely however not much outside of the hotel to do. Obzor town is quite tiny with only a few small bars.

The food was good, with quite a lot of choice however mainly the same dishes were served each day.

The description of the hotel was quite inaccurate in the brouchure. It had said there were facilities which were unavailable to use, this may have been due to them not being finished.

Hotel staff were helpful however english was limited and they mainly spoke German. Animation team were very good but again mainly spoke in German.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Lindsey
12 years 6 months ago
When I arrived at this hotel I thought it was going to be a dump, the path way leading up to the hotel was not finished therefore it did not look nice from the outside, when we checked in there was not a lot of staff around to help, the hotel staff did not speak much english either. Hotel Room was lovely and big, with air conditioning not that I needed it as the weather was appalling, hotel got flooded whilst I was there and had to be moved to another hotel in golden sands.

This hotel was brand new, when I went up to my room it felt as though I was the only person there it was very quiet, not a lot of people in sight.

The entertainment was very good for children.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum