Image of Riu Playa Turquesa Hotel

Riu Playa Turquesa Hotel

7 of 8 hotels in Guardalavaca

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
4 stars
Calle Guardalavaca | Playa Yuraguanal, Holguin, Cuba
A secluded beachfront hotel, set within lush tropical gardens. This luxurious complex, with exceptional fitness and beauty facilities boasts 7 spectacular pools with waterfall features and enjoys breath taking views of the surrounding sea.

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Byron
8 years 6 months ago
rooms were cleaned every day, went to buffet food not covered flies and midges all over food, rats in reception plus crabs and bats flying over your head and spiders everywhere. htel was in the woods no hotels for miles, the staff were pleasant but not really freindly the entertainment was awful same dancers every night really boring having food and they were spraying pesticide did this more than once got locked out of room about 6 times sometimes late reception 5 minutes away, would not go again ever if it was free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Rachael Barber
9 years 7 months ago
I have only just returned from my holiday in Cuba. The hotel Occidental is definitely not a four star hotel I can say that for sure, after reading good reviews and seeing beautiful pictures of the hotel I was greatly disappointed. The food was cold in every restaurant we went to, the pool and grounds to the hotel weren't clean and I believe that there are serious health problems relating to this hotel. I have only been back off my holiday one day and have found it necessary to write this review to warn people of this hotel. Most of the staff was unfriendly and it was even hard to get a drink of water but can not be said for all. There was not really any management and this was greatly needed. After four days we moved from this hotel and found that a lot of other people were doing the same thing, it ruined our holiday however we are lucky as some people that stayed there were more badly affected than my family. As we were very lucky with our rooms some rooms had rats and dirty filthy bed cover with blood stain. Some people have also had food poisoning and this has ruined their holiday. I really wouldn't recommend this hotel we ending up moving to Hotel Playa Pesquero this hotel was so much nicer. When we first arrived at the Occidental Hotel and we complained to the reps we were told that this is one of Cuba's best hotel and I can a sure you that there are much nicer one such as Hotel Playa Pesquero. Where we found better food the staff here was friendly and very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help. The pools and setting of this hotel was lovely and well kept.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Chioce

Kaz
10 years 8 months ago
Had a great time, staff so friendly, rooms very big, airdryer great in the bathroom.

Food very good lots of choice.

Beach was like a postcard, my boyfriend and I got married on the beach.

Staff were great.

Pools were very good you could always get a sunbed no getting up at crack of dawn!

Drinks were Very GOOD lots of cocktails!!! We did not want to come home. Staff were always cleaning, we had no bad tummys that a first for me when going abroad.

Entertainment was abit low key, but didn't worry us, we can't wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Kris
11 years 1 month ago
The whole complex is absolutely immaculate - someone is always cleaning.

The food was good we ate in the Grill, Italian and Asian restaurants they were all fantastic. You could always find something in the buffet - the main dishes were sometimes a bit strange but there was always steak, pork, pasta and fish being freshly cooked in front of you. The brewakfast was good, especially the omelettes but I have to say the bacon is absoultley awful!! The pizza on beach is good and they are building another pizza "hut" by the pools at the moment.

Being in the middle of nowhere the evenings could be a bit frustrating but only because you know you can't go anywhere (if you could you probably wouldn't want to!)

The staff were the most friendly people I have ever met they couldn't do enough for you - They made the holiday great.

The entertainment was ok but it is in a big sort of theatre area there are no tables just neat rows of chairs in front of a big stage which put us off going.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Sarah
11 years 1 month ago
Our rooms were very clean. We had a welcome bottle of bubbly as part of our package with The Holiday Place, which was a nice touch. Our mini bar was supposed to be re-stocked after 2 days. This did not happen despite several telephone calls and visits to reception. It finally happened on our last day!

We stayed 4 days here and then 2 days in Havana. Both were enough time. The food was always luke warm, apart from the omlette's freshly prepared in the buffet. Book the restaurants as early as possible, they get booked up quickly.

Don't try the scuba diving, health and safety seem to be non existent!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Place

Recommended
Eve
11 years 7 months ago
The hotel was lovely, it was massive with seven pools and lots of bars and resturants.

The food was nicer in the grill and italian, didnt try the cuban, but most nights there was something nice in the buffet, fresh steak, lamb, prawns, pizzas and chips all being cooked while you waited.

The staff were all very nice. The bacon at breakfast wasn't very nice but the omlettes and pancakes were good.

We didn't watch the shows only the salsa band which was good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Gaz
12 years 2 months ago
The hotel looks fantastic spread over a large area. the swimming pools are great and most of the staff are freindly and nice but it ends there.

The food was always cold unless you complained.

Restaurants are open to the elements so they can get swarmed with mosquitos.

The main problem was that everyone in the hotel was being eaten alive by fleas, yes fleas. Mmost peole had to have constant visits to the medical centre for injections to stop infections, some people were covered in bites, one canadian girl had over 1000 bites.

We all seemed to be bitten in the night while in our rooms. Asking the cleaners to fumigate your room helps but only for a few hours and then the fleas return. Insect repellants dont work, we all tried them with no benefit at all.
Maybe it was the time of year for fleas but i doubt it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

12 years 3 months ago
WE stayed at this hotel after previosly staying at the Playa Pesquero hotel a year or so before. There is only half a star difference between hotels so we presumed that the standards would be very similar. How wrong we were!

The main problem with the hotel is the mozzies/flees what ever they are and the food. If we didnt have the PP to compare it to we would have food this dire was the norm in Cuba but believe me it isnt.

The beach and hotel are both really nice. After 3 days we changed hotel (went back to P, totaly different class!). Hotel good, Food dire. Also as the hotel was only half full they decided not to have any entertainment at all. Not good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FCA

Nadia Davies
12 years 5 months ago
We found this hotel to be absolutley immaculate. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned daily & the entire resort was totally spotless.

The food was perfect, plenty of choice and the specified restraunts were fantastic.

The hotel is in a beautiful location which we can only describe as paradise, the beach is spectacular.

Staff are some of the nicest people I have met. I made friends who were so kind, thoughtful and fun to be with.

We are visiting this hotel again in September 2006, cant wait!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Criena Davies
12 years 6 months ago
Hotel very beautiful and pools were very very cool.

Being 17 i loved the disco and 24 hour bar, although the good music didn't start until 12

the food on the beach and snack bar were the best

if u get the chance definately go swimming with dolphins and on the catamaran, once in a life time experience.

best holiday, bar staff very friendly, a good place to go if you like making friends.

xx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum