Image of Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort Hotel

Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort Hotel

20 of 25 hotels in Punta Cana

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
This top-quality hotel with its tastefully designed room interiors is set on beautiful Bávaro beach and offers the ultimate in relaxation. There's a 9-hole golf course on-site as well as a great variety of restaurants.

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Angela Brown
ruined holiday
4 months ago
Hotel was generally good although we spoke to a few people who had to be moved for a few days as they had rooms with bad defects. The pool was very dirty for the last few days we were there and they had to clean our swim wear and lilo. My main complaint was the sea we didn't just have a little bit of seaweed but were unable to swim as the water was a disgusting brown colour and it smelt revolting, a fishy/rotten eggs smell. It was not fit for swimming. In my opinion Tui, the operator with whom we booked, should not have sent us there or at least given us the option to go elsewhere. Having not done that and landed us in this hell hole, they then refused to help us try and enjoy our holiday. We asked to be moved, we asked for them to give us transport to another beach, they wouldn't. Basically they did nothing!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: TUI

Hotel tip: Steak house is good

WALKERS
9 years 3 months ago
excellent foods choice from breakfast , lunch and dinner so much choice and very well presented. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.Brilliant Michael Jackson show but the rest of the night entertainment was abit tacky.Day time activites were there but was mostly for the spanish speaking. Really enjoyed the afternoon champagne and tropicial drinks.
Children really enjoyed it and the atsmosphere was good
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended
Tonia
9 years 9 months ago
i stayed at the catalonia bavaro in punta cana and i had a great time. the entertainment on most nights was really fun. the animaciom team were always trying to get everyone involved but if you weren't interested they let you just enjoy the sun. and they were in the disco every night to be sure everyone was having a great time. the food was pretty good most times, especially in the specialty restaraunts. the beach was one of the best i have seen anywhere and the staff kept it clean of the seaweed. the hotel staff was always very helpful and friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: expedia

Recommended
Sarah
13 years 1 month ago
The Catalonia Bavaro Beach was very clean, and staff most helpful.

There was a small amount of small ants in our room, only found in the coffee/tea basket, due to the sugar sachets. This was the only sightings we had.

We had a room overlooking the lake in the middle of the complex, and had some superb views of birds and other wildlife in the morning. Some of which included woodpeckers, frogs and small cranes.

The food on site is really nice, even the every day buffet restaurant. The 4 al-a-carte restaurants were really nice, and we really loved the Japanese. As this is cooked in front of you, and the chefs were really helpful.

We really enjoyed the entertainment. The extravagant entertainment was what we enjoyed most and must work only certain days of the week, as the entertainment in between was not as good standard.

The hotel staff were really nice and spoke quite good English.

All in all, we had a super holiday, and would definitely go back some day.

There is seaweed, but the hotel staff are out 2-3 times a day with their wheelbarrow sweeping it up, and do a super job in trying to maintain.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Edwards
13 years 1 month ago
We booked this hotel purely by its description in the brochure and it is nothing like. It should be rated no more than 3 star.

It is not relaxing, or tranquil or peaceful as it suggests, it is like Butlins! It is noisy day and night, the animation staff never leave you alone, and the entertainment is the worst we have ever seen on any holiday.

The food is bland and repetitive and really poor quality in the buffet,as are the drinks at the bars. The a la carte restaurants are disappointing too. Staff are extremely unhelpful unless you speak Spanish. The hotel is generally fairly clean but could be a lot better.

The rooms need cleaning more often, we only had one room clean the whole fortnight we were there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Stan
13 years 4 months ago
We stayed at Catalonia Bavaro beach hotel in June 2005 this was our 4th visit to the Dominican and most definatly the worst hotel we have stayed in. The food was good the {beach was good}

The sea was full of weed not a lot of clean sea to swim in. The rooms were not good quality not 5 star {possibly 3 star} Some days the cleaning was poor we had bugs in the room so dit a lot of other guests waiting for drinks at the pool bar was a joke unless you spoke spanish The entertainment was the worst we have seen anywhere on our vacations.

The hotel also allowed several hundred other guests in for the weekends it was a nightmare if this had been our first visit to the Dominican Republic it would have been our last.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Don Stumpf
14 years 6 months ago
Waited Approx 5 Hours for Room.

The first room we were given someone all ready occupied.

The room we had was dirty & had bugs.

The food was lousey, very bad.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Apple

Steve
14 years 6 months ago
i enjoyed an excellent 2 week break at the end of april 2004 with my girlfriend, we thought the hotel location staff and food choice was very good,the staff was always willing to help any time of day no matter what the problem, we thought the resort was excellent and are going back to the resort but different hotel to get married next year we have also recommended this hotel to friends who have not long been back and also had nothing but praise for the hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Kerry
15 years 3 months ago
i got married here last year and can't say enough good things about this hotel. After reading the other report on this hotel i thought i must leave some good feedbact. 26 of us had a brill time not one moan from any of us. Yeah the entertainment was not the best, but tell me any that is when you go on holiday. Would love to go back one day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 26

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum