Image of Dreams Punta Cana Resort Hotel

Dreams Punta Cana Resort Hotel

9 of 25 hotels in Punta Cana

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
4 stars
Playas Uvero Alto - Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 1 month ago
My partner and I visited Dreams Punta Cana from 7th to 20th January 2010. I will try to be fair and honest throughout this review. Sorry if it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cool

Recommended
Steph
10 years 6 months ago
Please be advised if traveling to this resort, deluxe rooms are small. Not suitable for more than 2,upgrade to honeymoon suite in resort for 50 dollars a night, they try to charge 100 but haggle hard and like a few I saw they do do it?

Food, not really that good to be honest, more canteen style, than the five stars your expecting, after a few days we got bad tummies, infact quite a few did, not serious, just put you off experimenting. Most meats i.e. steaks pork
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours/t.cook

Deborah Ralphs
10 years 9 months ago
We went to the the sunscape the beach for our wedding. Everything was perfect, from the settings to the staff. the beach location, the rooms and the restaurants. There wasn't one thing I could honestly complain about and would definately return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
11 years ago
Well, what can I say about this hotel, absolutely fantastic. It was out first time to the Caribbean and the hotel fulfilled all our expectations. Rated as a 4 star plus, I think it is deserving of a definite 5*. The grounds, the pool, the scenery, the beach, the sea, the bars... all fantastic. You even get room service in with the price! You don't want for anything and the restaurants!.. our favourite was the Japanese. What a great night. However, there is an age limit on this restaurant, which is 12/13. There is a teenage club too, in its own part of the hotel, with table tennis, air max, bikes, bar (obviously only serving soft drinks)and disco until 12 midnight. Its fully manned when it is open by hotel staff. This hotel has self-service ice cream machines around the complex where you just help yourself. Every day, the staff fill a wooden boat up on the beach with ice and stick bottles of bear and soft drinks in. You just help yourself. There is a lunch BBQ every day on the beach. I could not fault this hotel one bit and am booking to go again this year. We never go to the same place twice but because this hotel just blew us away, we will go back. We have since stayed in the North of the island but is not a patch on the East. This hotel is now a Dreams Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: VIP

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
We have just arrived home from an Excellent holiday, we went to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary.

The hotel was fantastic, and believe me, I'm not easily pleased. My one and only complaint was the flight. Thompson Executive's should try sitting in their aircraft seats for 10 hours, they were terrible. We paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
John And Christine
11 years 6 months ago
We spent three weeks at Sunscape last year and have just returned from a further two week visit which was equally as enjoyable.

Once again we had a fantastic time in what is a beautiful hotel with probably the best and biggest pool in the whole Carribean.

Our room was superb with a pool view and a huge kigsize bed. In addition the air conditioning was excellent and we had use of satelitte TV, fully stocked minibar and bathroom.

Everywhere in the hotel is spotless and the staff are forever cleaning.

The hotel is situated on a beatiful sandy beach with no other hotels within 2 miles of it.

It has 7 excellent rstaurants which serve an interesting array of foods including Chinese, Japanese, Mexican and fish dishes. There are also numerous well equiped and stocked bars that can suply your every need and desire.

It was interesting to note that we met many Britons and Americans who were returning for the second year having only gone to Sunscape last year due to hurricane damage in Mexico last year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Hotels

Recommended
11 years 7 months ago
Hi,

Returned from Sunscape the Beach 6 days ago and wish I was still there. It is absolute luxury, the rooms are well decorated and kept immaculate. You have a mini fridge which is restocked every day and consists of beer, coke, fanta, sprite and water and this is part of the all inclusive package. You also have a tuck down service where they sort your bed and leave clean towels and chocolates, they also do towel art in various shapes with lovely flowers.

There are 6 restaurants to choose from daily and they do not have a reservation system. The chinese restuarant was beautiful and the service excellent as was the seaside grill which served food such as fillet steak, surf and turf steak with king prawns, ribs etc. We also tried to get into the Japanese restuarant but you really need to get there early and if they are busy they will either give you a pager or tell you to come back at a certain time. The japanese restuarant was almost like a show in that it has the chef demonstrating and cooking the starters and main courses and you sit in tables of 8, they serve steak, chicken and seafood, we also ate at the mexican, but unfortunately although the service was excellent and the atmosphere nice, the food was not as good as the other restuarants. They also have a seafood restuarant and an adults only called Dreams. Breakfast was a buffet and everything you could think of was on the menu. Fruit smoothies, freshly squeezed juices, they also have omellete stations where you choose the fillings and the chef makes it up in front of you.

The staff are so pleasant and helpful in this resort and nothing is too much trouble. The entertainment team are fantastic and there is plenty going on during the day if you choose to join in the games and activities.

They have organised activities for children as well as a kids club and they also have an entertainment programme for teenagers which includes a teenagers disco. They have a water trampoline and an iceberg climing wall in the sea which was great fun for the children, they also have a pirates ship for younger children, a trampoline etc.

Evening entertainment included shows like "Michael Jackson" and they also had a fantastic singer in when we were there, but I have forgotten his name. There are several bars with a different ambience in each.

They have a piano bar near the reception which is quite sophisticated in the evening but much more relaxed during the day. The staff at the bar on the beach were great fun and they stayed open until late in the evening. There are also bars within the restuarants if you are unable to get a table right away.

They serve every type of cocktail and drink you could think of and the cocktails often came frozen and were absolutely delicious, and the mixers are named brands such as cola and sprite etc.

Lunch is buffet style but is available in 3 restuarants or you can have lunch at the beach barbeque, They have another snack bar and drink station serving burgers, hotdogs, fries and icecream.

The pool is like a lazy river and travels the full length of the accommodation, it also has floats in it as well as a swim up bar. We had a party on the beach to celebrate independance day and also a firework display although due to heavy rain it had to be put off until the 5th July.

They also have a spa where you can get various treatments. The hotel is about 1 hour from the airport and it is quite a bumpy road, there is a small town called Uvero Alto about 500 meters from the resort complex, it has about 5-6 shops in it and the people are lovely, but the hotel does not mention the little shopping centre and the prices in the hotel were a bit steep for some things i.e. a small bottle of sunscreen cost $18.

Sunscape the beach is pure luxury and the staff are fantastic. I will definately go back or I will try one of there other caribbean resorts in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Rob And Karen
11 years 7 months ago
This holiday was excellent.
Clean and well maintained hotel.
Food and choice was superb.
Weather was sunny and hot, couple of rainstorms on two nights. Only 2 cloudy days, but still hot.

Tips from us:
-Take US Dollars (they prefer them to Dominican peso)
-Take plastic pint glass if you like your pint of beer, the friendly waiters do not seem to mind at all.
-Deodorant, tampons, suncream extortionate prices i.e. six quid for a can of deodorant, so take your own.
-They take 20 dollars each person when entering the country and again when leaving the country, so keep it handy.
-The speedboat and quadbiking trips were fabulous.

Evening Entertainment - we made our own, at the restaurants and bars. Sports bar has pool tables and game tables. The nightly shows seemed a bit corny.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Global Late Deals

Recommended
11 years 10 months ago
We stayed at this hotel for one week, it was gorgeous and we really enjoyed ourselves.

The hotel was spotlessly clean in all areas. Our rooms were cleaned every day, we always had plenty of clean towels and the mini bar was also re-stocked daily. The food at this hotel was excellent!

The a'la carte restaurants were that good, that you could sometimes forget that you were staying at an all inclusive resort. We liked the food at Himitsu (Chinese / Japanese) the best, closely followed by Dreams (adults only) and the mood at this one was lovely, really intimate. The service in most of the restaurants was good, although we weren't overly impressed with the service at 'El patio' (Mexican).

The buffet was always really well stocked, with lots of choice. The location of the hotel was good, with the transfer taking just over an hour. Overall, the hotel staff were good. the entertainment programme was really great, something for everyone. The 'Michael Jackson' show was fabulous, the best we've seen. We would definately stay at this hotel again, we have no complaints.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mr M Wheeler
11 years 10 months ago
A large group of family and friends stayed at this hotel for my daughters wedding on Easter Monday, firstly it was immacuately clean,staff worked non stop, the staff themselves were very friendly and helpful.

There are 7 restaurants that would cater for all tastes. The swimming pool is fantastic and the beach is excellent and what we liked was you got waiter service at both swimming pool and beach plus they had a BBQ on the beach every day.

To us this place was paradise on Earth and would recommend it to anyone.Just one word of warning, make sure you take toiletries, sunblock etc as the prices in the chemist are extortionate.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum