Image of Royal Decameron Club Hotel

Royal Decameron Club Hotel

1 of 3 hotels in Runaway Bay

4 out of 5 from 21 reviews
3 stars
P.O. Box 20 Main Road St.Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
This popular hotel is located on a sandy beach within an expanse of lush tropical gardens in a peaceful location on the waters edge and offers a great choice of facilities.

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alan
8 years 4 months ago
we travelled to the Royaal Decameron Club Caribbean for three weeks of relaxation and recuperation. The RDCC was clean, of that there was no doubt. The buffet meals were certainly varied with items such as curried goat and cow foot stew....interesting to say the least. However the food was plentiful although the only hot item on the menu seemed to be the soup. Main courses tended to be a tad lukewarm. Service of the staff re clearing tables etc was erratic and far from acceptable. Many comlaints were lodged by multiple guests in our time there.However they excelled in our third week by clearing tables before meals were completed!
The location of the hotel in our opinion was far from ideal but each to his own on that. The staff service was very variable.....some were excellent, friendly amd efficient whilst others quite honestly could not have cared less. In our opinion the evening entertainment was abysmal but again it's each to their own. We were woken more than once!!!!!!! in the early hours of the morning by loud music....and just for information I have less than 50% of normal hearing about which the hotel could do nothing as it was off property.....be prepared!
Would we go again.....definitly not....not even if we were paid to go.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Sue & Steven
8 years 7 months ago
Hotel very good, I would definately book to stay in this hotel again. Everything kept immaculate from the hotel and rooms, gardens, pool, beach and public areas. Two swimming pools, one quite and the other next to the beach where everything happens during the day. All the staff are very friendly and do their utmost to ensure that you enjoy your stay. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Lynn Harvey
8 years 8 months ago
Just returned from this holiday and can only say that the first 10 days were amazing. The hotel, food, all levels of staff, weather. entertainment and facilities were faultless. everybody you speak to are loving it that much they dont want to leave the hotel or jamaica but then the hotel give you the chance of a supposed lifetime and offer to transfer und upgrade free of charge to their 4*sister hotel in montego bay,well we took this offer as it looked a good offer well how wrong could we be. 24 guests transferred on the saturday( 4 days left of hols)and 20 of us agree it is the hotel from hell in comparrison to the runaway bay 1 so if you have the chance to visit runaway bay DO NOT ACCEPT FREE UPGRADE.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Anne
8 years 8 months ago
We arrived on the 6 October, to a welcome drink and smiles from the staff, we were shown to our rooms and given details of where to go for our meals and times. The hotel was spotless, they cleaned the walls down in the dining room daily and the barman was forever cleaning the bar, never any litter on floor and the sand raked regularly on a daily basis, everyone had time for you, to ask you if you are enjoying your stay. Happy staff make very happy guests. The food was nice although they didn't cook joints of meet thoroughly, I like my meat cooked all the way through. The entertainment was very good and again they mingled with the guests. The only problem we had as our friends did and that was they kept putting notices through our door to upgrade to Montego Bay-PLEASE DONT GO, IT RUINED 24 PEOPLES HOLIDAY, but we will be returning to Runaway Bay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Adan
9 years ago
We have just returned from a week in RDCC in Runaway Bay, and I can honestly say that it was one of the best holidays I've ever had. The hotel itself was a great choice. Despite it only being a 3 star hotel, there were no major problems with it at all. I am very glad that we chose this hotel over one of the others offered.

The cleanliness of the place was second to none. The rooms were always cleaned to the highest standard every day, the bars were always clean, the restaurants were clean, and there were always staff around the hotel clearing away any rubbish which may be there or making the gardens looking more presentable than they already were.

The food and drink was fantastic, the only fault being that in the main restaurant, the food selection was a little limited if you are used to the selections offered in a 4 or 5 star hotel. However, there are two additional restaurants which offer a decent selection of food as well, however you need to book for these in the morning, and with so many people wanting to eat there, it was often the case that you would need to book a place there early in the morning. The bars were very well stocked, and I was surprised that in addition to the huge amounts of rum that was offered, they even serve Smirnoff, Jack Daniels and Jim Bean as a part of the all inclusive package instead of a lower quality local substitute. The main bar was not a favourite of ours, mainly due to the staff not being as accomodating as the rest of the hotel staff, however it did not prove to be a big problem as we just went to the jetty bar each night instead, which was one of the best parts of the hotel. It is a square bar with swings around it which proved to be a personal favourite element of the hotel. The staff at the jetty bar were always friendlier, and often topped up your drink without you needing to ask; something which helped to win me over! George was a particularly great barman, so he deserves extra credit!

The location of the place was perfect for us. It is far enough from the busy places to be able to have some peace and quiet, but close enough to Ocho Rios to be able to go to any one of the main attractions there, such as the Dunns River Falls, the Cool Runnings boat trip, Dolphin Cove or just shopping in the craft market. There were also a few local bars just outside of the complex, but we didnt venture too far to those.

The staff made the whole holiday that little bit more special. As I mentioned, George was a superb bar tender, there were plenty of other bar tenders which also deserve credit. Godfrey, the Thomson rep was amazing; he was always in a good mood, and was on top of everything, even finding us to let us know we were delayed so that we didnt have to wait at the airport for too long, and we could stay in the hotel. Even the beach attendants, gardeners, lifeguards and the general helpers at the hotel were all superb. All of them found time to stop and talk to you, making you feel so welcome.

The entertainment was not always amazing, but there were a few nights which were superb. The staffs effort could not be faulted at all, and they were always putting 100% in to making sure you have a good time. A favourite bit of entertainment for me was the local band which played at the main bar most evenings. They were absolutely amazing.

All in all, I'm absolutely gutted that i'm home now, and i'm already planning when I can go back to the same place - sooner rather than later!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mike Erskine
10 years 1 month ago
mike and pam from chester england stayed here for 2 weeks from 8th until 22nd may 08. Quite honestly it's one of the best holidays we've ever had.the staff could not do enough for us from fixing a hairdryer in record time to replacing something as simple as batteries in a remote .the jetty bar with george is the best place in jamaica ,george is a star.staff were cleaning all communual areas regulary and always spoke to us with a no problem or irie mon.first all inclusive to offer water ski-ing and glass bottom boat for free , both brilliant.also free ciggies at bars for people who smoke. plenty of choice in buffet ,you would have to be fussy not to find something to eat. pam is a chef and stated quality and standard was excellent. also ala -carte restuarants were excellent especially nyamings, the jamaican restuarant, my wife the chef says it's up there with the best.overall great holiday!!!!!.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
We travelled on the 28th March 07 for 2 weeks with our children aged 10 and 15 via Virgin. We had previously arranged our wedding direct with the Hotel with Diane Fairchild (Ann has now left).

We couldnt book an Ocean front loft room with Virgin and they had various rules and regs about the kids having to be under 12. We had emailed the Hotel over the past few moths who agreed to reserve an ocean front for us. When we arrived we were put in a Mountain Suite as was booked with Virgin. I have to say they are not good. The one we had (407) overlooked the road and was very tatty. We met with Diane to discuss the wedding the next morning and by 1 pm she had placed us in an oceanfront (number 11), This was great with a separate lounge and loft sleeping area for the children with 2 single beds. We had a separate double room and a fridge. It was 2 steps to the ocean and about 20 to the jetty/swing bar.

The weather was a little windy and cloudy but very warm and we met with the photographer Paul and the Minister before our wedding on Monday 2nd. The gazebo was decorated beautifully. We had a few spectators who we now consider to be friends. Hello Gary & Maria, Caroline & Bryan, Lee & Becky, Becky & Chris and those who I may have forgotten. The ceremony was relaxed and short and we followed the champagne and cake with a few drinks at the jetty bar with the infamous George and then dinner at the Jasmine Delta. I would recommend the Jasmine, it has a varied menu from Chinese to Asian and we had no trouble reserving this when required.

The buffet was fine. Also had dinner a couple of times in the Jamaican - the menu doesnt change but the food was good.

The Jasmine doubles up as a snack bar during the day serving good burgers pizzas and chicken wings - would usually find our kids there of an afternoon!

A big hello to Mel/Malcolm and Sharon/Mark. Mark and Sharon renewed their vows when we were there and we had many a great time together at the swing bar and fish spotting alongside it!

I know everyone gives George a mention and yes he is great but Stewie who is a very tall 21 year old barman was fantastic. He usually covers the jetty bar on a Monday and perhaps Tuesday evening. You must try a Bob Marley and a Diablo (made with chilli sauce!!). he is very entertaining and fun as is Smiley.

We visited Salem Basic School with a cash contribution arranged via Carla of Babashak. Wow what a lady she is ! Her B & B which she runs with her husband Dave is very cool and is next door to RDCC - it is safe to take a stroll over there and to the beach at Fishermans Cove where we met fishermen and a resident Pelican. The reception we had from the school was amazing and the children were so bright and happy given that they dont have a lot.

We hired 2 taxi drivers from outside the hotel gates Trevor and Noel. A big hello to Trevor who was great company. We paid $100 for the day to take us where we wanted to go - Rocklands Bird Sanctuary and $50 for a trip to Dunns River. Noel charged $60 to take us to 9 mile. Enjoyed all 3 trips.

Went to Ocho Rios on the free Virgin bus that was offered - very good - expect to be hassled a little in the markets but we found it to be good fun higgling!

The hotel entertainment was sometimes good sometimes just ok. A big up to Albert aged 72. He makes and sells hats and fruit bowls around the hotel by day and sings with his group on occasion of an evening, He will tell you he is awful. He was absolutely great and had us all on stage singing and dancing to Bob Marley.

The owners were at the resort whilst we were there Richard and his sons Andrew and Tim. Spent a bit of time with Andrew at the bar, very friendly and good company although a major show off when water skiing,. All water sports and boat trips were free. We gave a few dollars to the speed boat guy who took us out along the coast with Andrew water skiing behing - great fun.

We were all very sad to leave and met and made some lovely friends along the way. A final thank you to Diane Fairchild who made out wedding run like clockwork and her new assistant Davian. Hope to be back some time soon.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended
Susan Watson
11 years 6 months ago
This not a hotel is the common sense of the word as it mostly consisted of garden or beach cottages. There was apartments but we think these were mainly for Club members or Americans.

We went there to get married and opted for one of the beach cottages which was exactly what we expected. It literally was a round thatched cottage 9 paces from the Caribbean sea.

Very roomy and a fantastic huge comfy bed. The food was very good plenty to choose from and lots of variety, cannot fault it. Our cottage was cleaned, bed made and clean towels every day.

The lady who cleaned ours was very friendly and interesting to speak to. The entertainment we did not like except for New Year's eve when a group of three sang all the old soul and reggie stuff. It was the best New Year's Eve I have ever had. We thought the rest of the entertainment was pretty much like Butlins!!!

Thank God for the Jetty Bar further down the beach. Where most of the adults spent our evenings. I would return but to a different part of the island.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Joe O Lock
12 years ago
The hotel is kept spotless the staff really do keep it clean, the staff( Maria and sedikka are brill)the only let down was the entertainment,very badly done but they tried their best,the trips to Dunnes falls and the dolphins are excellent, as is the trip to Ochas Rios, the only downside are the yanks, but still a great place to have a "VACATION " enjoy
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

JOHN+SAM BURTON
12 years 1 month ago
We have stayed in some lovely hotels around the carribean but this one is one of the best ones. They all make you feel so welcome.

The hotel is very clean they were always cleaning.

The food was excellent, I am picky with my food but I found no problems with the variety. The 2 a la carte restaurants were great too although a bit slow but was worth the wait.

The location was excellent too was near all the places you want to visit like Dunns river which is a must do and swimming with the dolphins, expensive but worth it. There
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOCIE

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum