Image of LTI Costa Caribe Beach Hotel

LTI Costa Caribe Beach Hotel

3 of 7 hotels in Margarita Island

4 out of 5 from 20 reviews
4 stars
Via Altagracia | Playa Caribe, Margarita Island 6309 , Venezuela

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
11 years 10 months ago
The hotel was clean but showing its age. Our room was small but the bathroom was dated and had chipped tiles and the towels were threadbare. Beds were very small and uncomfortable and it looked like the sheets had been cut in half.

The staff would benefit from spending a couple of weeks in India to learn how to be friendly and courteous. Most of them ignored you and it became a bit of a challenge to make them sat hello to us. Towel boys and chambermaid were friendly

Hotel grounds were well maintained and pool cleaned regularly.

Didn't watch the entertainment as it wasn't our thing so played cards or chatted most nights.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Iain Moore
12 years 3 months ago
Lovely hotel and staff, pity once the Germans arrived as they took over, and staff and hotel management bent over backwards for them, and forgot about English customers.

Hotel management give them priority over everyone else.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: eclipse

Recommended
Nick And Maureen
12 years 4 months ago
This must rate as one of the best and most relaxing lay-back holidays we have had.

The staff were great, if you had a problem they would do everything possible to sort it out for you. All of the staff tried very hard to ensure that you had a good time.

The food was great - some people did get upset stomachs but a lot of that could be due to over indulgence and the heat - it was in the 40's every day. We were ok and did not seem to have any problems.

The sea was a bit rough some days and it could be a bit windy on the beach but that did not bother us as the pool was lovely and warm and you could get a sunbed, but not always in the shade.

We decided to get married there and both of us could not have wished for a better wedding. They made it very special for us.

Overall it was great - everyone's opion is different -but we would say - try for yourself - we did and all we can say is we all had a great time and would go back again.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Dave & Chris
12 years 5 months ago
We too read many reveiws but kept a open mind at first we thought they were unfounded however a couple of days in things started to go wrong.

On the coach from airport your told its a shopper paradise,tax free load of rubbish Sambil shopping centre is more expensive than home.we had heard the pool was dirty unture its spotless.

The staff are freindly and helpful rooms are basic and clean. After a few days and chatting to other guests we all realised that everyone was suffering sickness and diarrhoea we put this down to a couple of reasons the resturants is not air conditioned, birds landing on your tables, waiter using a dry cloth that they produce from ther pocket to wipe down tables and fresh water being supplied from dispenser you never see what they refill with?

Apart from all this we enjoyed our holiday if you have booked and are reading this please do the same we will return to Margarita maybe in a couple of year when they have realised whats expected from a 4 star hotel I hope they do as its a lovely country.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

12 years 7 months ago
LTI Costa Caribe Hotel

The LTI Costa Caribe is situated about 10 mins from the town of Juan Griego and is set in it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
12 years 7 months ago
After reading some reviews about this hotel I was quite concerned, however I had nothing to worry about.

The hotel was very clean , we had 2 rooms which were a fair size with everything you could need- a comfy bed , clean sheets, plenty of wardrobe space , a fridge and hot running water.

The food in the buffet restaurant was always of good quality, hot and plenty of it . Although as with any all inclusive holiday after 2 weeks it does get a bit repetitve.

The mexican was ok nothing special and we could not try the Italian as men have to wear long trousers and my partner didn't take any.

The hotel staff were very friendly and a small tip is always appreciated. On each of the bars there was a pot for the tips , but we discovered that the hotel takes a cut out of the pot before sharing it out amongst the staff. So we tipped the staff individually.

Our kids had a great time meeting lots of friends and stayed out quite late at night at the disco. It is very safe in the complex so we had no worries.

They said the entertainment shows were very good. We didn't actually see any as we were shattered by the evening and went to bed early.

The heat is so exhausting beware! It is very humid and drains the energy out of you, everyone we met said they had never been so tired.

During the day the entertainment staff worked hard but weren't in your face and didn't bother you.
One tip do not take sterling with you, you can not change it any more only dollars.

The reps at the hotel are excellent and really helpful.
We did the north star boat trip to Coche island which was brilliant.

The only downfall of the hotel and the reason that I would not return is that it is so very isolated. You cannot go out for a walk anywhere, there are no real roads so you have to get a taxi . These are cheap and a real experience.
Once you get there you will see what I mean.

Overall we had a good time and met some great people. Give it a go, it's not 4* I think First Choice are pushing their luck with that one, a lick of paint wouldn't go a miss. The best words to describe it is as a bit shabby but it didn't make any real difference. It was really was ok.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
12 years 7 months ago
I spent many hours before our trip searching for information on this hotel but was prepared to form my own opinions.

We travelled FCA Star Class Premier which on the outbound trip was brilliant despite sitting on the runway for over an hour whilst some adjustments to the plane were made. On arrival we were met by the Reps and allocated a coach with the luggage sent separately.

After a bumpy ride we eventually got to the hotel and went in search of our rooms. We were travelling with our daughter and her 2 girls and she went one way and we went the other. We were allocated 3 rooms (which is what we had paid for) and the reason for this was that First Choice had told us that the rooms were only for 2 and my daughter would have to have her own room.

The rooms contained 1 double and 1 single bed and was quite adequate for the 3 of them, so she did not use her own room at all. We were on the ground floor with quite a large terrace but I found them to be very dark and the lighting could have been better.

The rooms were kept quite clean with a change of towels every day but our maid did not seem to do much else than make the bed and wipe round the sink in the bathroom. We attended the welcome meeting and I must admit that the Reps were extremely good and knew their stuff.

The meals were quite good with different choices, we tried the Italian which was OK and the Mexican was good. We spent ages waiting for drinks but we never sat at the same table. We only went to 1 show on our 2nd night but it wasn't for us and we seemed to be so tired from the heat that we had little energy to do much.

The pool was massive and very shallow but I thought on some days it was quite dirty with tbings floating on the surface. Some of the staff were extremely nice particularly Edith in the Pool Bar and the girls who served in the Mexican.

I walked the full extent of the beach but found it quite grubby in places. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and we made a couple of trips by taxi to the local town and did a bit of shopping. On the plus side we went on the Land Cruiser tour and Swimming with Dolphins two excellent trips which I would highly recommend.

We visited Sambil Mall in Porlamar but I found the prices particularly with perfume similar to the UK. To sum up we enjoyed our holiday and it was nice to see a different part of the world but I don't think we would rush to return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

CH
12 years 7 months ago
Well....what can I say! What a fantastic holiday.

I, like others, had concerns after reading some reviews on this (and other) websites. I had nothing to be concerned about.

We travelled with First Choice and after an initial delay at Manchester everything ran smoothly. We arrived at the hotel to some lovely cool drinks and the lamination team singing and dancing (you'll know the moves and the words by the time you leave). Straight away I was smiling.

The bell boys took our cases to our room and first impressions were good. I'll admit the rooms could do with a bit of upgrading or a lick of paint (Margarita workmanship), but the room was of ample size, lots of storage and powerful air conditioning. I've read complaints of this being noisy, but the nights we kept it on I managed to sleep fine. There is a ceiling fan that keeps the rooms cool if you switch it off.

The pool area is fantastic. You get towels from a hut by the pool, so I wouldn't bother taking any with you. We were not the earliest of risers...well as early as others...so we usually headed to the beach where we always managed to get a bed under some palm trees. The beds by the pool with shade were hard to come by. I'm usually a sun worshipper, but you really need some shade over there. The sun is unbelievable and I quickly ditched my low factor creams and opted for a 25/15.

The restaurants in the hotel are also of a very high standard. I'm shocked that some people think there isn't enough variety..every evening there was pastas, salads, different meat dishes and as someone else mentioned every other night was themed. In the buffet restaurant I think we only had to share a table one night out of the 14. It was much more bearable heat wise sitting outside on the terrace however I would agree with what I've read that the service was slightly slower...but I was in no rush so didn't care much. My partner loved the Mexican but neither of us were hugely impressed with the Italian...although this could have been choice of dish that night as others we met loved it.

Evening entertainment is limited for adults although the disco was over 18's on the weekend and was quite a good laugh..the DJ may even let you play some of your own CD's. I wouldn't bother trying it on a regular night as when I was there the hotel did have alot of young teenagers that go to the disco nightly. We watched a few of the shows which were of a high standard..the staff work so hard and I don't know where they get their energy from. We also ventured into Porlamar one night to sample the local nightlife. We went to Senor Frogs on a Saturday night so not surprisingly it was full of locals, the music was mainly typical Spanish...not really our thing but it was interesting to see. Please note however, we went in with another couple who spoke Spanish and I think this was a big advantage. Taxi drivers and clubs outside your resort may add on a few extra pounds to try and get more money..so just have your wits about you. On the whole the evenings were quite relaxed sitting at the pool bar with other couples.

As for trips we did the one day Angel Falls trip....excellent to walk under El Sapo falls however didn't see much of Angel Falls from the plane..it was too cloudy and our plane was quite large so didn't get as low down as some of the 12 seaters. It is quite pricey for what you get.

We also swam with Dolphins....again fantastic and great value for money at only US$50. If you take a taxi from the hotel (one of the reps will sort that for you..Milton is really helpful), the driver will wait for an hour and take you back to the hotel afterwards.

Finally we did a Cafo Yacht trip. Although this was good as we did get a couple of hours snorkeling in...it's a very very long day and you're on the yacht for about 7 hours. So if you love yachting then this is for you, if not, I'd give it a miss.

I think I've covered everything....but if you're going have a fantastic time (which I'm sure you will) and watch the strength of those cocktails!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Becky Aitkenhead
12 years 8 months ago
I found the room (Junior suite) pretty uninviting, although it was clean.

The food was ok, but nothing special really. My husband had a bad stomach bug within our 1st week which lasted for 3 days.

The Hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere and the surrounding area is very grim looking. The staff were ok, however when the venezualen families arrived with all the children, and I am talking lots of screaming children, (it must have been a bank holiday week-end or something) we did not get a look in.

Sometimes we would have to wait for up to half an hour to get a drink, knowing full well that you had been stood there the longest, and no matter what you'd say, the staff would completely ignore you.

There was hardly any entertainment. We would definately not return to this hotel. Although, on a happier note, my brother's wedding day in the 2nd week sort of made up for it all, it was a fantastic day!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Hazel
12 years 9 months ago
Cleaned every day. Clean towels everyday but sometimes you only get a facecloth and not a hand-towel.

Although location on the beach the sea was quite rocky and most of the time the sea was a bit too rough. It was very windy on the beach but because of the intense heat it was a blessing.

Quite a lot of the guests suffered with severe stomach pains myself being one of them. Forget immodium because it has no effect here. If you ask the reps they will tell you which pharmacy to go to but if you have it longer than 3 days they insist you see a Doctor(this happened to me). I was given an injection in my rear together with 3 lots of tablets to take for 3 days.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum