Image of Laguna Mar Resort & Casino Hotel

Laguna Mar Resort & Casino Hotel

4 of 7 hotels in Margarita Island

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
4 stars
Isla Margarita, Venezula
Set in a quiet, secluded location on the fine golden sands of Playa Caribe beach, this impressive hotel enjoys wonderful sea views and offers great facilities, including its huge freeform swimming pool.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mozzy
10 years 2 months ago
Hotel clean, room musty and no tea/coffe making facilities.

Food acceptable at buffet, was like a canteen though.

Staff friendly.

Entertainment good in the eveneing but get there early for seat.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

10 years 3 months ago
The food at this hotel was lovely, the buffet had great variety every day and there were also snack bars where you can order from a menu at lunch time.
There did seam to be a shortage of waiters some days so getting a drink was a challange, the staff overall were great especially in the lobby bar.
The communel areas of the complex were kept nice and clean however the room was a little on the damp side.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Jennifer
11 years 10 months ago
This is our second visit to Laguna Mar, and we enjoyed it as much this time as a few years ago.

Very clean hotel, rooms cleaned, and towels changed daily.Although some of the rooms do require a little upgrading,especially the bathroom areas.

We had a junior suite this time which was plenty big for 2 adults 1 five year old and an 18month old baby in a cot.
Food is nice and there is plenty to choose from. Neither of our children went hungry!

The only downside to eating was in the Topaz restaurant where there are small birds which manage to get through the netting flying overhead, not in the buffet part with the food but in he seated area.This put me off for the first few days but you do get used to it.

Location is excellent as its situated out of town and therefore fairly quiet. Security guards patrol each entrance and the beach so no unwanted peddlers to pester you.

The hotel staff are the best I've ever come across in all the years I've travelled all over the world.

They are the most friendly people on earth, from the entertainment team to the gardeners everyone speaks to you.

The entertainment team were fantastic, and put a lot of hard work in to doing the evening shows as well as daytime activities from beach games to dancing lessons.

Both of our children had a wonderful time and keep asking when we're going back.

Hopefully it wont be too long till we do
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
12 years 4 months ago
We went to MI from 22 June to 6 July this year. We stayed at Laguna Mar and it was fantastic. I was a bit dubious before going as i'm not a lover of big hotels but my fears were unfounded. We booked a junior suite but to be honest i don't think we'd bother WHEN we go againbecause we didn't really spend enough time in the lounge part of the room to warrant it.

We spent time around the Waterfall pool with the swim up bar (past the olympic size laned pool!). We would get there any time between 9 and 11am and there was always plenty of sun loungers available until the last few days (italian schools broken up for hols?) and then it was a bit more crowded.

Mealtimes were no problem - Topaz, where you go for breakfast always had plenty of choice and you couldn't fail to find something. Ok, somethings weren't to our taste, such as shredded fish for breakfast, but there was cereals, fruit, breads, cold meats, waffles, bacon and eggs. Lunchtimes were normally spent at Salvatores where, again, there was a great choice, burgers, pizzas, chicken in a basket, chips, salad. Then for dinner we went back to the Topaz where they had a different theme each evening but with enough choice that no-one was going to go hungry. Each person has one meal at the italian and one meal at the mexican per week. You can only book for each the day before with the customer services in the lobby. We had one meal at the Italian which was beautiful. Its a bit more formal and there is a sign stating no shorts, but of course you get the ones who just ignore it and come in looking like they've not changed from the pool. We were going to book for our last night but didn't go to book till that morning and it was booked up and we couldn't get in so make sure you see the staff on the morning before the day you want to go. We had two meals at the mexican - Brill. Take a camera to get you piccy taken with the sombrero's on - and try the mexican coffee - an aquired taste but i thought it was good! Service was fantastic and food was beautiful. Its a more relaxed atmosphere than the italian and i'd greatly recommend it. There is also the beach grill bar which we went to once - chicken, steak, sausages, salad, fish - lovely.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Arnott
12 years 6 months ago
Hotel extremely clean, no food take out allowed from restaurants, so no flies or wasps hanging around.

Junior Suite was very spacious. Bathroom in need of an update, but also huge and clean.

Hardly any balconies on either of the towers.

Most all inclusive resorts (this one is over 40 acres) are set out of town. So this is pretty standard and it only costs
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrs Tallen
13 years 2 months ago
This hotel is not a five star hotel as they would have you believe!

As you arrive the lobby is lovely with drinks handed to you as you wait to check in but once you get to your room you will disappointed. Our room had a damp smell the whole time we where there and the room was old fashioned and in need of updating.

Food was nothing special,the Topaz resaurant had wasps all over the food in places but the staff were very pleasant.

Salvatores which is the burger joint/ pizza place was ok but staff did not understand English and preference was given to customers who could speak fluent Spanish.

The pools were cleaned every day there was a good variety of pools some noisy ones with games and music,kids pools with slides and also quiet pools for a more relaxing environment.

I cannot comment on the entertainment as i didn't watch any of it because it didn't start till 9.30 and the kids were in bed by then. The surrounding area to the hotel was quite poor and not really somewhere you could wander around, although it is a short taxi ride to the shopping centre called Sambil but if you are looking for a bargain dont bother its just the same price as back home.

All in all this is not the 5 star paradise I was hoping for and will not be going back ever!

I had just as good a time last year all inclusive in Ibiza for half the price. My advice is don't waste your money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Claire
13 years 3 months ago
After me and my family had visited the Laguna Mar almost 7 years ago we just loved the idea to go and see what had changed and if it was good as our previous trip.

My mum and dad stayed in a standard room which was very good. It occupies two double beds and bathroom facilities. Me and my two friends (each of us were 16) stayed in the junior suite which was huge! There was a bigger than king size bed (8ft by 8ft maybe?) 3 sofas that could also be used as beds and bathroom facilities. Each room came with hair dryer, satellite TV and refrigerator.

The hotels are very similar it difficult to tell them apart. The only major difference is the south tower has the Italian restaurant and the north, the nightclub. We stayed in the north tower, and i think a few of the rooms were not used in the south because or construction work.

The meals their were very high standard. We went to the Mexican twice and the Italian once and both were lovely. The topaz restaurant is also good but can get a bit repetitive. (Try the onion soup though) Salvador's is lovely but beach restaurant was by far the best, serving BBQ food. The drinks are okay, but the only place that serves drinks in glasses is in the lobby bars.

Me and my friends had a wonderful time. There was plenty to do and the entertainment staff were extremely friendly, so were the bar staff.

There were many people there mainly Spanish people so it might be a good idea to lean some commonly used phrases.

The entertainment was good, considering most shows they would have to translate it into 3 languages. The cocktail bar had the most lovely bar staff, they were very friendly.

All in all we had a amazing holiday and would absolutely love to go there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
13 years 3 months ago
There is a great selection of restaurants to eat in our favourite was the beach barbecue.

The cleanliness of the hotel itself was brill always see them cleaning differnt things every day also maid visits evey day with clean towels.

The location is 5 mins away from local shopping,restaurants etc. The staff were all very friendly and will do anything for you they dont speak much English but its great fun trying out bits of Spanish with them.

The entertainment staff worked very hard and the shows were of very high standard. We went there in Sept for our honeymoon and have just come back from there again our second visit in 8 months we had a brilliant holiday the only way to describe it is paradise we have just booked for June next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice/eclipse

Recommended
Mandy
13 years 3 months ago
We have just arrived back from a great holiday at the Laguna Mar complex. The hotel was excellent the staff friendly ,helpful and always very professional.

The rooms were clean and linnen changed daily rooms were massive.bathrooms very tired though could do with replacing. the pools were excellent the kids had a great time.

Food good standard but a little repetetive in the Topaz restaraunt.

trips :- the dolphins were a good value for money trip. the angel falls were excellent although very tiring.
the new first choice rep was excellent i have never met a rep more willing and proffessional [this is his first year] all in all a fantastic hotel and holiday I would go back tomorrow.

I would recommend this holiday on all inclusive to all, drinks flow day and night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse Direct

Recommended
Sharon
13 years 5 months ago
Four of Us traveled to Laguna Mar for a 2 week stay last month. Hotel was clean if a little shabby, and bathrooms were in serious need of repalcement.We were notified a week before travel of building works taking palce, but this didnt cause any disruption.
Beach was nice but you had to tidy your own sun beds up and the sand was littered with Cigarette butts.

Food was fine in the Topaz resturant, but the beach grill had exactly the same menu for the whole two weeks.

Olympic pool was a great idea and always empty if you want to work off the cocktails.

Evening entertainment was alright but most shows were in Spanish so could get a bit boring. Didnt seem to be much atmosphere in any of the bars and all drinks were served in plastic cups.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum