Image of Hilltop Garden Apartments

Hilltop Garden Apartments

55 of 64 hotels in Paphos

3 out of 5 from 19 reviews
TOMBS OF THE KINGS ROAD, Erofilis, Πάφος 8016, Cyprus

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Vicky Chaudry
8 years 10 months ago
The hilltop gardens is a good alround base for those wishing to explore Cyprus, if you want to be in the heart of things then these apartments are not ideal, i have seen on some reviews that you are a 10 minute walk from the main strip, the truth be told it took us 30 minutes on both occasions and in the sweltering heat this is not ideal, you can take a taxi from the hotel but be prepared to pay around 8 euros. The staff where very friendly and went out of their way to be of assistance, however the food and drinks prices where over the top compared to outside, hence the reason the bar was never slightly busy and i never seen one person order food even at lunchtime around the pool. On several occasions when we stood at the bus stop to go down to the harbour, taxis (with licences and badges) would pull over and offer to take us to our destination for less than had we have phoned them from the apartment, the taxi drivers are allowed to do this in Cyprus. Eating out all over cyprus is very expensive, expect to pay
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
Sarah Downes
10 years 9 months ago
We booked a late booking to Hilltop Gardens via Olympic for a week in July 2007. I have to admit I was getting a bit worried after reading some of the reviews on here prior to departure.

However, when we arrived (about 30 mins transfer time from airport) I was pleasantly surprised. The apartments were absolutely fine, the pool area was great (other than the pink blossom that continually fell from the trees - but pretty all the same). The bar area was fine and had a pool table and arcade games for the kids. The barman, Sam, was lovely and really good with the kids. The staff really couldn't do enough for you.

The aircon was
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
11 years ago
We booked this apartment very cheaply with Olympic Holidays.

I can confirm that the accommodation is exactly as described on other posts!

It is basic but clean! The staff are okay - however they have a severe shortage of irons. I went to reception and ask could we loan an iron, they have one iron to share between all the rooms. I was told that it would be available "tomorrow". I am still waiting for it yet. lol.

The apartments are situated out of the way. Although many bars and tevernas are a short distance away. If you want a treat go to Zorbas restuarant (situated on the right and side of the Tombs of the Kings Road on your way into town) best night is a Friday as you must experience the camp waiter who performs Cypriot dancing in his own way.

All the staff are friendly, especially the two dancers who stay behind at the end of their routine and have a friendly chat.

We initially booked the accommodation for seven nights, but left after three nights, nothing to do with the accoomodation, we moved to Ayia Napa as we prefer that side of the island.

To sum it up, its cheap and cheerful, but a long walk to the nightlife.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Wendy
12 years 6 months ago
My friend and I arrived at the apartments and found them to be clean and tidy. We were looking forward to a nice stay.

I will say at this point I am relocating to cyprus so I was there looking at properties etc. I love cyprus and the local people, but into the second day of our holiday after spending the day looking at properties we arrived back at the apartments at about 9.30pm and decided to have a couple of drinks at the bar.

We had three drinks each and we felt very very drunk so we decided to go to bed. We got up the next morning and we have never felt so ill in all of our lives we couldn't leave our rooms for 2 days.

All I am saying if you have a drink at the bar please please have a drink from a bottle that you must insist on them opening the bottle infornt of you and don't let it out of your sight.

We think our drinks were tampered with but we cannot prove it. from 2 very unhappy ladies who will never stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Gregory Trahar
12 years 7 months ago
We stayed for two weeks from 29th August 2005.
Our room was cleaned 5 times a week, but it was very superficial as there are only two over worked hotel cleaners (80 rooms according to the Daily Mail website). The apartment was dated and the toilet smelt a little and after touching anything in the bathroom you felt you really needed to wash your hands. We were in an older block, the newer ones have fresher d
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic Holidays

Recommended
N.Simpson
12 years 11 months ago
We stayed at the Hilltop Garden apartments at the start of May 2005 for a week and had a fantastic time there.

The staff were really friendly and accommodating and the apartments were clean, tidy and well maintained.

A cleaner came every couple of days and changed the sheets and towels.

There were 18 of us in our party and all enjoyed it, no one had any major problems or complaints about the accommodation or staff.

The only negative points were the food wasn't tremendous there but was reasonably cheap and cheerful, and the pool was not cleaned of insects, although 1 of our party took it upon himself to give it a going over every day. The staff did say they were looking to employ a pool cleaner.

Would go back there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Pennick
13 years 5 months ago
We returned home today from our second visit to the Hilltop Gardens. Although we were only there for a week, we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

The Hilltop Gardens complex consists of a number of individual appartment units of 2 or 3 floors. All of the buildings are well maintained and the grounds are neat with many fruit trees, palms and roses. The site is well established.

Some of the surrounding area is undergoing development but we found that this didn't affect our enjoyment. The Hilltop is away from the main tourist areas of Paphos so is ideal if you like a quiet holiday. Local transport is very handy via bus or taxi but we hired a car because we wanted to explore the island in our own time.

The staff are very friendly and curteous and our rooms were cleaned every other day.
I look forward to returning next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympia

Recommended
Karen
13 years 5 months ago
We were a bit worried when we first read reports about the apartments, but when we got there I was pleasantly suprised. To be honest, I have stayed in a lot worse. We had a 2 bedroom apartment in B block on the third floor with a sea view, which we weren't expecting, so it was a bit of a bonus. Watching the thunderstorms over the sea was great.

The apartment was clean, except for under the beds and the sofas, but don't look under there and then you won't be bothered!

We had our linen changed during our week there and the cleaners came every other day. We had decent enough bedsheets but it was cold during the night so we used the blankets provided.

We only wanted somewhere to put our heads down at night and it fitted the bill fairly well. I can't comment on the entertainment, the pool or the standard of food as we didn't sample any of these. We weren't really disturbed by the building site opposite our block either - the thunder was more of a disruption to our sleep.

The staff on reception were really quite friendly, so I'm not sure what other people experienced when they went there but we had not complaints about them. They made a real fuss of our little boy, and to me that's what matters. We did use the shop though to get some milk for our youngster and not only was it expensive, they diddled my husband by taking his 20 cent coins and treating then as 10 cent coins. It was only when my husband left the shop, did he realise they had (probably knowingly) overcharged him for the milk.

We had no problems with bugs or anything like that. We had a few ants come in but they were only tiny.

We were lucky in that we had a car thrown in with the holiday but it was a bit ropey. However, we could hardly complain as it only cost us the CDW and petrol and it did get us round and about without any bother. We found the car invaluable for the location of the apartments as it would have been a bit of a pain walking or getting the bus everywhere with a toddler and a buggy. It was nice and quiet at nights though and that's important to me. As for someone saying there wasn't any street lighting, there was plenty around when we were there.

All in all, the apartments were fine and remember, you get what you pay for.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Emily McDermott
13 years 8 months ago
Hi these apartments are really nice because the people that are in it the staff are brilliant especially Mario Andrea Adra and Mario and Bella are really funny.

I would say to anyone go here because its great. haha!!!!

Love you all see you soon Hilltop! and our rep was fantastic (Olivia) Well Done Chick
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Recommended
The Wragg Family
13 years 8 months ago
The rooms were ideal for a self catering holiday. We were in new block and it was very clean. Towels and linen changed quite often. Went to tell reception staff that our shower head was broke and within 5 minutes the maintenance man was repairing it!
Could really do with air conditioning but hired 2 fans so that helped a bit.
Hotel staff were very helpful and nice. Olivia - the rep. was very nice. We even had an anniversary card off her!
Only ate there a few lunch times but it was ok. There wasn't really any entertainment, but people seemed to go out and just go to the bar for a nightcap (or 2!)
It is quite a way from the harbour but there are bars and restaurants to go to without going right into the harbour. The bus is only 50p. On our 2nd night we got a 12 seater taxi which was very reasonable and the taxi driver - Chris, gave us his mobile number so whenever we needed a taxi we just called him.
The hotel is ideal for people who don't mind not being in the centre of everything and don't mind a short walk to bars and restaurants. It is a great base for exploring Cyprus!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum