Image of Sofianna Apartments

Sofianna Apartments

9 of 64 hotels in Paphos

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
Agamemnon 9, 8102, Cyprus

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
An all round good stay
6 years 7 months ago
Sofianna Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus

We stayed here 01/10/11-15/10/11.
Comfortable accommodation, carpeted floor (excluding bathroom and kitchen area which are tiled), secure locking balcony doors/windows, comfortable beds (hard) and very well equipped kitchen with three ring (solid hotplate type) cooker/oven/grill, fridge with ice box, microwave oven, filter coffee machine, kettle, toaster, more than sufficient for a self catering holiday. 3-pin plugs as in UK so no need for adaptors. The TV has an excellent film channel (mostly new films as would be seen on Sky movies, while other nationalities are also catered for occasionally), along with BBC1 London, Sky news, MTV Greece & the Cartoon channel, if you find yourself stuck indoors for any reason. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and a hair drier in the bedroom. Some apartments have adjoining doors for larger group/family bookings.

Plenty of sunbeds around the pool, supplied with a thin mattress pad for comfort, pool bar (where the breakfast is also served), with fountains and water jets in various parts of the multi shaped, interconnected pools.

There is a laundry situated between the pool and reception, with washing machine and dryer, coin operated, 3x1 coins for a wash & 2x1 for drying, although we found that you would really need to run the dryer twice to get things almost dry. An ideal facility to freshen your holiday clothes.

Buffet style breakfast, plenty on offer, fried egg, scrambled egg, omelette, boiled egg, un-smoked back bacon, mushrooms (tinned), beans, sausage (mini hot-dogs) and crepes on the heated side (although being outdoors, it doesn't stay hot for long once you have it on your plate). On the cold side there are fruits, cheeses, cold meats, choice of cereals. Orange juice, water, milk, tea, coffee are also available. Then you have the conveyor type toasting machine, with butter, jam and marmalade portions. A good selection of foods to suit almost everyone.

If you have not booked bed & breakfast there are several establishments in the area offering breakfast at a very reasonable price.

The apartment blocks are a warren of passageways and stairs in which we quickly learned short cuts to our apartment from the street, depending on where we were coming in from, and despite the many entrances to the blocks from the surrounding area, security was never an issue.

The hotel bar was never opened during our stay but connected to the apartments on bar street is the local George and Dragon pub, run by Eva and Marios, two of the hardest working people we have ever met.

We arrived late at night and were concerned about having to wait until next morning before we could buy water for a cup of tea. Our fears turned out to be groundless as there are numerous kiosk shops in the area, open 24 hours a day, one of which is only yards from the front of the George and Dragon, so a very short walk to get your arrival basics.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
IDA
8 years 10 months ago
The Apartment Hotel looked lovely as we pulled up outside. Inside it is really clean. Most probably bits could do with a little bit of freshening up but don't let this put you off.

Hotel staff were all really helpful. Plenty of sunloungers around pool and the pool bar served really nice, reasonably priced meals.

Our apartment was lovely. Everthing you needed was supplied. Food grater / coffee maker / stainless steel tea/coffee pots, sugar and milk bowls - really impressive.

Plenty of hanging space for clothes. Veranda / Balcony only narrow but still enough room for a couple to sit out.

The T V channels were fine also - Sky Sports News / BBC1 and lots of channels that had english speaking films on - subtitled on the bottom. We were on holiday during Wimbledon which was great for catching up on matches while getting ready to go out.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Would definitely stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Clare And Steven
10 years 1 month ago
stayed in the sofianna apartments in paphos cyprus, the hotel was clean apart from when water got onto the carpet it started to smell a lot as we walked into the room. Everything you need in hotel including a microwave, oven and coffee maker. the food beside the pool was lovely although there can be some cats hanging around. the location was excellent everything you needed was just a little walk away, lots of pubs and clubs, zorros was a lovely friendly pub to go to and the pub staff are really nice. the hotel staff are okay. there is no entertainmet on site so you will have to make your own entertainment, the pool was freezing in march but we got used to iy after a while, the pool is lovely fresh water and there is also a small indoor heated swimming pool, with a sauna, there is also a gym that you can use but only adults. i would visit this hotel again it was lovely and we miss it already.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice/cosmos

Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
just got back from cyprus, sofianna apts, we enjoyed our stay found lots of places to eat but it was very quiet at night, very few people about and not much entertainment. one place on the corner ZORRO'S it got
protty active at night, and the moonlight bar just across the road did really good food and cheap,
the weather was good in the high 20's each day but at night we put the heating on for a couple of hours.
overall a good fortnight and would go again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
David & Anne
10 years 8 months ago
Sofianna Apartments were what we expected. Rather basic and a little scruffy (after reading the other reviews) but all in all were ok for a base. Location if fantastic for Bars and Harbour. Thomson's rep was nothing short of useless. Bragged about his previous high paid job, hadn't a clue where anyhting was and told us he would preer us not to book tours as it casued him a lot of paper work. Food in the pool bar was awful and appeared slightly uncooked. Maid visited most days, cleaning every other day although it was cleaned very well. Sheets were not changed during our 10 days but towels were most days.

Had an 8 hour delay due to the plane being used for other passengers. No appology and a whole 5 pounds to spend in the airport (WOW !). When the plance finally arrived there were no services ready to prepare it for our flight. Complete disaster. Finally reached Cyprus the following morning.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
David & Anne
10 years 8 months ago
Continued... The 4 hour Ocean Flyer cruise is also well worth it Costs 28 CYP with a buffet (which was rubbish) but a free bar and Captain Elvis provides the singer when you've all had a few too many. Stops off in Coral Bay for snorkeling.

The glass bottom boat is also worth the effort. 8 CYP gets you to the Vera-K wreck where you can see it on the bottom. We also dived the wreck and actually saw more from the boat !!!

Visit the Mosaics in the harbour. Cost is 2 CYP but make sure you go when it's cool as they lie over a massive area with no shade.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Graham & Martin Gall
11 years 1 month ago
We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for a week in March. The apartment itself was good except that it was impossible to get the aircon in the two bedrooms to give out warm air (the temp overnight dropping to around 10 deg) for more than about 20 mins
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Arranged by ourselves

Recommended
Joan Wiggett
11 years 4 months ago
Have stayed in these apts 2 years running,found them clean and comfortable.Staff very friendly,in an excellent position,nice and quite,Been looking to stay there again this year,but price as jumped up
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Andrea And Darren
11 years 7 months ago
we stayed at the sofianna for 2 weeks, we got married at st georges chapel. the apartments were very spacious and clean, with maid service almost every day. very central to all the local amenities,and the night life, bar street was at the end of our apartments, so didnt have far to stumble home. we thoroughly enjoyed our time there, so much so we stayed again in march 2007. the weather was fantastic 30 degrees plus in september but rather cool in march. would recommend these apartments to anyone.
very little entertainment in the reception, the pool was fantastic and clean. we are returning back to cyprus on the 8th sept 2007, but unfortunatley not at the sofianna to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: co op travel

Recommended
Sharon
11 years 8 months ago
WOW! What a great place to stay and so close to all the nightlife. We arrived at the hotel around 9.30pm to a very pleasant receptionist who showed us to where are room was. On entering our room it was very clean and tidy and we even had a pool view, which was a bonus. We went straight out to the bars in Bar Street and couldn't believe the amount of bars and restaurants (great!!). The apartments are situated at the quiter end of Bar Street, which was better and it wasn't that far to walk up to the noiser end. Are favourite pub was Harry O's.

The maid came in every day and throughly cleaned the apartment and we also had a change of towels regularly.

I would most certainly go back but definitely not in August as the weather was just too hot! Just to give you an idea there was a temperature guage in Bar Street which read 31 degrees at 1 o'clock in the morning!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson/Portland Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum