Image of Kerkyra Golf Hotel

Kerkyra Golf Hotel

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
4 stars
Previously part of the Louis hotel group, this well established, comfortable hotel enjoys an excellent beachside location. With its friendly, social atmosphere and wide range of facilities and activities, there is plenty on offer for everyone.

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tony & Angela
10 years 5 months ago
We had a lovely holiday at this hotel. It was very very clean, the staff were all helpful and the food was excellent. Our room was on the 3rd floor over looking the sea, gardens and pool. It was very quiet and the maid service was excellent, we always leave a tip at the end of the lst week and then another at the end and after we had left our lst tip we found we had flowers placed in our room each day, we even had one that was like a bouquet. The food is excellent, the variety was very good. Veggies are even catered for. We often fetched our own wine and soft drinks and the waitress staff are always busy and efficient. The snacks through out the day are very varied and we never had to wait long for a drink night or day. You help yourself to the soft drinks and it was a race to see who could get the drink first ourselves or the wasps, but the staff were trying lots of different ways of keeping the wasps away. The animation team were very very good and there is plenty to do if you want or if like us who just wanted to watch (there is no pressure from them) There was a curtasy room to use, but it was not very good, the floors and carpet were soaking wet, but at least we were able to get a shower and dressed ready for our trip home.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tompson

Recommended
Jeff, Bernie & Sarah-Jane
10 years 8 months ago
We'd been slightly put off prior to visiting this hotel due to reports of 'swarms' of mosquitoes and wasps but we saw no mosquitoes and only a handful of docile wasps (maybe 5 in the whole week) which never bothered us at all so don't be put off by other reports on this site.

Very clean hotel - maid service spot on and rooms cleaned and towels changed every day. For all inclusive, the food was excellent.

Very varied with 4 or 5 main choices for evening meal and snacks really did mean snacks with pizza, burgers, chips, sandwiches and other things on the go throughout the day (other hotels often think 'snacks' means simply ice cream and crisps.

Location - as a 'setting' the private beach side view is wonderful but if you like to get out and about locally, there's not much to see just a handful of local shops but only one bar nearby. That said, Corfu Town is only a 10 minute cab ride costing 10 euros each way which is a fantastic place and the hotel is ideally situated if you're booking flight and hotel independently as it's only 15 euros to and from the airport.

The hotel staff are all extremely friendly right across the board and go out of their way to give you the best possible service.

Entertainment is great in the daytime. The animation team (which I expected meant they drew cartoons) consist of 4 or 5 guys (plus a girl in the evening) who go around the whole complex rallying troops for waterpolo, volleyball, football, aqua gym and many more activities throughout the day so both adults and kids can, if they wish, participate in anything throughout the day - great if you have kids who are old enough to be left to get on with things.

However, if evening entertainment is your thing, the entertainment was pretty poor. Cheesy singers and the animation team providing sketch shows etc and a mini disco for kids. That said, I wouldn't want to criticise the animation team too much as they work damn hard and do a great job. But if you like your karaoke bars etc, you'll probably get bored with the entertainment and want to go into Corfu Town.

All in all, however, we've only got great things to say about the hotel which has a fairly even mix of English, German and French guests predominantly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Teresa Jacobs
10 years 8 months ago
We travelled as a party of 10 (16 to 51 years) and had a fantastic time at this lovely hotel. The hotel is tastefully decorated and furnished and kept beautifully clean at all times. The public areas are light and airy with plenty of seating areas.
The food was the best we've had at an all inclusive hotel - the quality and choice was vast for all three main meals plus a huge variety of snacks served throughout most of the day. I cannot believe than anyone, even the most picky of eaters, would not find something they liked every meal time.
The bars are staffed by very efficient and friendly people and we never had any trouble queuing or obtaining more than one drink per person at a time.
The bedrooms are spacious with plenty of hanging and drawer space and contain tea and coffee making facilities, a small fridge with complimentary bottled water every day and TV showing several English speaking channels (okay, so mostly American news channels) plus BBC World News but who goes on holiday to watch TV??
The grounds are very pretty with plenty of grassed areas if you do not want to be directly by pool. I would have liked a slightly larger pool but at the time we went in June it was not too crowded but I imagine it might be more of a problem during peak summer when more children would be on holiday. The beach isn't very wide but perfectly ample and yes there is some weed growing just on the shore line but once you've waded in a few feet it disappears and the sea is lovely and sandy below foot.
Day time activities consisted of the usual water polo, archery, darts, volley ball, football and water aerobics but the animation were just a joy and so friendly (without being pushy) it was hard not to want to join in. The evening entertainment was not particularly thrilling but never boring and as we were such a large party it didn't particularly matter to us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Erskine
11 years 5 months ago
Stayed in this hotel for two weeks mid September 2006. We were on the all inclusive package.

The weather was the worst I have experienced in all my years of travelling. It rained for 10 out of 14 days with monsoon type rain like I have never seen before anywhere.

The hotel was very clean in every respect, bedrooms, reception and public areas. The main bar was spacious and in the main the staff were very nice apart from one or two.

The hotel grounds were large and I thought that more could have been done in the way of either landscaping or the additional of another pool. The pool bar and restaurant were kept clean and tidy and as soon as you had finished there was always someone to clear away your dirty plates. The only drawback in getting your self service soft drinks was that you had to swipe away a few wasps before you could access the fonts.

The food was plentiful and my only adverse comment would be that it could have been warmer especially if you sat outside for any of your meals. I always think that people who go all inclusive and say that the food was repetitive seem to be the type that have a little of everything on their plate instead of having one meal as you would choose in a normal restaurant. Because even in a restaurant the menus are the same.

We had a packed lunch once but it was not worth the hassle of taking it with you on buses etc as all it consisited of was a few packs of sandwiches which were always available within the hotel (which were not very good) and a few other bit and pieces of fruit etc.

The location of the hotel was okay and it was on the main bus route but because it is near enough the last stop before Corfu Town they were neary always full and ran past.

The antimation team consisted of 3 boys and 2 girls. They were very pleasant and tried their very best to get people to join in their activities. I have to say that lots of people enjoyed the activities and that the English people who were there seemed less interested than most. Maybe the English reserve nature! Anyway it was there if you wanted to join in.

I have been to several Iberostar Hotels in the past and would say that this one has some catching up to do but overall I had a good holiday apart from the bad weather.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
Stayed at this hotel for two weeks in late August 2007.
all inclusive option although half board is available.

The bedrooms are kept very clean and tidy by the hotel chambermaids they deserve a lot of praise for the work they do. The bathroom was always cleaned thoroughly and bleach used.

The public areas such as reception, corridors and the main bar were also very clean and indeed during our stay the carpets were steam cleaned.

However the main bar area is plagued by flies not mossies but your common house fly and this is probably due to the bar staff being very reluctant to clear away glasses/food etc. It is almost as if it is below them to do such a menial task. they deserve no praise!

The pool bar/restaurant is a disgrace. food over the floor everywhere, spilt drinks and melting ice cream everywhere. Also the eating area is right by the pool and puddles of pool water are all over the ground and under the tables where you are trying to eat. Awful!

The hotel grounds are kept clean and tidy and also the pool itself was very clean.

Overall cleanliness definitely needs improving.


We were all inclusive and food was available almost 24 hrs.
although plentiful both at set meal times and for snacks the quality of food is not great. Very repetitive and often cold. it was a relief to go to the nearby bowling alley and purchase food.

The worst thing however was the crockery and glassware.
dirty plates, chipped plates/glasses and cracked bowls.
the cutlery was also, on occasion dirty.

I can however recommend the packed lunches.

The hotels location is not good. although on the main bus route into Corfu town, the buses are very packed and hot.

Nearest supermarket is a 15 min walk along the edge of the main road. As mentioned before the bowling alley 10 Min's walk is very good.

You will get bored very quickly at this hotel and the tour reps play on this and make a killing selling trips. Hire a car and save money!

The admin staff reception etc very friendly, helpful and intelligent.

Bar staff - indifferent

Chambermaids - definitely the best of a bad bunch

The entertainment was rubbish. show are held in a so called amphitheatre. A small bowl shaped effort that holds about 300. you sit on bare concrete and it doesn't do your back a lot of good!

Do not sit on the left hand side, its right by the toilets and boy does it smell!

The animation team are all arrogant look at me types. Who will try and chat up any girls above the age of 14 so mums and dads beware.

I and my family were very disappointed by our time at this hotel. for the money paid - nigh on
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

11 years 7 months ago
We have just had two weeks at this hotel and found nothing to complain about, cleanliness of the hotel was superb.

Our only gripe was on two days a child pooed in the pool, the first day they fished it out with a net, then let everyone back in, the next day they ignored it. I wouldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Matt
11 years 8 months ago
Having been to Malta a couple of years ago to a advertised 4 star all inclusive hotel which turned out to be a disaster it is fair to say that I was a little nervous about our booking.

HOW WRONG COULD I BE this hotel is fantastic.The cleanliness is second to none with the cleaning staff on duty all day.The food was great lots of it with great healthy options as well as some not so healthy deserts!!

I am a vegitarian and most certainly did not go hungry.
The location is not ideal if you like to walk our rep told us it was a 40 minute walk into old Corfu ... I am a young fit adult I decided on the cab which was 10 euros each way.Saying that we were contented at the hotel.

This was a great hotel,friendly staff,great surroundings fantastic weather.If I had to find fault it would be that there are large open land spaces but I think the gardens are still young.The pool could do with being bigger another one built in the huge garden area.

I have stayed at some very nice 5 star hotels but this 4 star equals them in most areas but with a relaxed atmosphere.
Will I go again OH YES.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Rachael
11 years 8 months ago
INSIDE: The whole of the inside is lovely. It is always kept spotless and shining. Everything is modern and really welcoming. There is 1 inside bar which has very comfy huge brown sofa's everywhere, late night snacks are also served here. The restaurant where you have breakfast and dinner is very posh. You have a buffet which runs across the whole of one side and tables at the other and a few tables outside. (although I wouldn't recommended sitting there in the summer as it is very hot!). The restaurant is set out wonderfully and everyday you have different decorations made out of fruit, which are very impressive!
The hotel has 3 shops, in one shop you can hire a car (which I would recommend as there are so many places to see in Corfu), in another you can buy silver and gold jewellery which is all very pretty and in the other you can buy essentials, lilo's, chocolate!, phone cards (which cost 5, 10 and 15 euros- and with a 10 euro phone card you can phone Britain for 6 hours) the shop also sold gifts, toiletries, alcohol and cigarettes. The main shop is open from about 10am to 10pm.
The hotel smells lovely, it smells like it has just been cleaned all day long. I have never been in a hotel where everything is so clean!.

OUTSIDE: the outside is again lovely. there is huge garden space which is always kept perfect. From the far end of the beach you can see Corfu harbour and a lot of cruise ships are there. there are benches by the waterfront and a gazebo so you can sit and watch the sun go down. The pool area is large although considering the size of the hotel I would add another pool. But the pool was never over packed. There is a pool bar which is open until midnight. By the pool bar is where you have lunch, which is good because you don't have to change you can just put your sarong on. Snacks are also served here.
The beach is quite narrow, you cannot have too many sunloungers on or you'll end up in the sea. I recomenend putting your towels down before breakfast on the beach or by the pool as they go very quickly. But if your a late riser then there are plenty of sunloungers on the grass. The beach goes on for a very long way and if you want some privacy you can keep walking down the beach and there will be no tourists. There are plenty of water sports on the beach such as banana boats and pedalo's (the pedalo's are free so its a good idea to get one everyday, pedal out into the middle of the sea and sunbathe for half an hour. you get the best tan).

ENTERTAINMENT: the entertainment goes on all day. you things like morning gym which involves stretching, archery, table tennis, football and the best Aqua Gym which is extremely popular and very fun, I've even taken it up at home. The nightly entertainment is held in the ampitherteare next to the pool bar. It's a good idea to spray yourself in mosquito repellent as there is quite a lot due to the spotlights. There are 5 entertainers, 3 girls and 1 boy and they are form Hungary, they all speak very good English, German and French. However, they are only going to work there until November. The Sketch show which the entertainers do is funny but very sexual, especially because there are a lot of children watching. Two singers come in and the entertainers ask everybody to dance, they play classics and international music so that there is something for everyone. There was also 3 English girls who are professional dancers, they are all very talented and it is fun to watch. Greek dancing is very enjoyable, I got picked to dance on stage which was very embarrassing but a lot of fun. The dancers are spectacular. the best entertainment show I would have to say is the magic show. A family of 4 a man, wife, girl and a boy. the girl is a very talented gymnast and does some amazing tricks. the magic is very talented and very realistic.
The entertainment staff are very friendly and they work so hard.

LOCATION: the hotel is 5 minutes away form Corfu town, I would recommend a taxi which costs 10 euros each way or a bus which runs at the end of the hotel drive at 2 euros each. In Corfu town there is no beach as it is a port but there are places you can swim to cool off. Corfu town has something for everyone. and old part which sells souvenirs, clothing, bags, sunglasses, ouzo (local drink) and lots more at very good prices. and the new part which has very good shops some designers such as roxy and LeCoste, these shops are more expensive, but nice to look around. And for those who love England and fast food there's a MacDonald
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tohmas Cook

Recommended
Paul Walton
11 years 9 months ago
This hotel is very clean.

Food excellent, staff very friendly, location not too good if you like a walk.

If all you want is a relaxing holiday with good food this is the place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotel

Recommended
12 years 7 months ago
I've travelled extensively, but this was one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in.

First time on all-inclusive. Food excellent, stunning view from bedroom over the bright blue sea, lots to do (especially important for me as on my own with three children - they were never bored), beautiful gardens, great pool, brilliant staff (especially Ramse with his walking on glass and fire eating!!), but the best aspect was the way that all nationalities mixed and were so friendly.

Made friends with Belgians, Dutch, Germans, as well as lots of Brits who were so helpful and nice. Hotel out on its own, but who cares when there's so much to do there? Brilliant holiday, completed sold on all-inclusive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum