Image of Dassia Chandris Hotel

Dassia Chandris Hotel

2 of 6 hotels in Dassia

4 out of 5 from 28 reviews
4 stars
Dassia Bay Dassia Bay, Corfu 49100, Greece
A high standard of accommodation with excellent facilities and a fabulous location. The hotel forms part of a complex with its neighbouring sister hotel, the Corfu Chandris, and guests may use the facilities of both. For those wishing to visit the shops.

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
7 years 7 months ago
Second visit here and to be honest it has gone down hill a bit since last year. Little things like glass around swimming lagoon not being cleaned but they are noticeable. Corfu is really struggling and businesses are closing down all over the island, so I guess they have to make cutbacks somewhere.

Food was very good, hotel not quite as clean as last year, staff not quite as cheerful as they were in the past. Plenty of sunbeds available on the lawns at no charge. You only have to pay if you go on the beach part.

I got the feeling that they are so desperate to get visitors that they are allowing their standards to drop at the Corfu Chandris. An example is the "no shorts" rule in the restaurant in the evening. That used to be adhered to but not this year! We stood behind a woman in (short) shorts and she was proudly telling her kids "I'll challenge the rules, just watch me!". She got in, no problem as did countless others. But it does spoil it for those of us who like to take a shower, put on something clean and fresh and enjoy a nice meal.

Another example is not banning diners from using mobile phones. Fair enough in a cheap cafe but not in the restaurant of a 4* hotel. We go on holiday to relax and not hear phones and people discussing work so were horrified that the man on the next table was yelling down the phone while we ate our meal. He made 2 calls and answered 2 calls (all at full volume) before we'd finished the first course. I mentioned it to the restaurant managers and they just shrugged and said "it's not forbidden". I suggested that putting your feet on the table was probably not forbidden either but it would be very bad manners and they pretended not to understand. Oh well, you've lost our custom now Chandris!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ian
8 years 7 months ago
The hotels public areas are very well maintained but the private rooms are a little dated and could do with a bit of care and attention.
The food is not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel with the vegetables and some of the meat dishes over cooked. Menu very repetitive no imagination.
The older, hotel pool is the quieter but would not be suitable for elderly of physically challenged individuals for getting in to and out of as the ladders are unstable and very awkward to use. One elderly gentleman slipped and his leg was trapped between the ladder and the pool wall.
Larger lagoon pool easier to get in and out off if you use the seating steps. (Not what you should do)
Lots of ground and gardens but there is a lack of sun beds and parasols on the lawns.
Loads of sun beds on the beach but you have to pay. You are told that they belong to an independent company and not the hotel. But the staff that take the money all wear the Hotel Polo shirts.
The cost of drinks in the Hotel are Astronomical, Two small fanta lemons over 6 Euros.

In some of the rooms (ours included) there is a very strong smell from the drains. We complained and were told by the reception staff that they know about the problem. However the week we spent there the smell was a constant companion.

This overall is defiantly not a 4 star hotel but a 3 plus.

If you travel with Thompsons the reps are very good and know their stuff about the resort and the island.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompsons

8 years 8 months ago
One of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. Thomson Platinum and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautifully kept extensive gardens and lovely old shady trees for when it gets too hot.

Friendly & helpful staff, very nice food, comfortable rooms and when we needed extra pillow and shower looking at, both were sorted really quickly.

Some people were complaining that drinks in hotel were expensive but we don't go on holiday to get plastered so it didn't bother us. Nice touch was drinks fountains on every landing and each room was provided with vacuum flasks to help yourself to ice cold drinking water at any time. (We've had to pay for water in some hotels.) Free safes in bedrooms was another thing we've paid for in past.

We are not fussed about entertainment at any hotel to be honest as we like to do our own thing, but what we did see was fine.

Lovely, relaxing week and no complaints whatsoever. We didn't witness any queues for tables and the hotel was fully booked as far as we know.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mrs Wheatley
8 years 9 months ago
Have just returned from this hotel after a 1 week stay. We have been here once before. The hotel is advertised as being refurbished but the only changes are in the hotel grounds, a large part of the lawn area is now a beautiful swimming pool. Although the room was very nice, it could do with an upgrade. Only the main restaurant was open and seemed to be having trouble with the amount of people booked in. Guests were having to queue for a table and quite often having to wait for the buffet to be refilled. However, the food is good with lots of variety. Staff extremely pleasant at all times. Pool towels are provided but they did run out of them mid week. Sun-beds around the pool are free, a 3 euro charge is made for those on the beach (which is advertised as a private beach - but isn't). Overall the hotel is very nice but I wouldn't rate it as platinum.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Mrs M Gough
9 years 9 months ago
We stayed at this hotel at the begining of the holiday season and were greeted by very friendly staff, that were very helpful. The hotel was spotless, the food was very well varied and i suffer with a stomach complaint and ifound something to eat every night, and no problems with the stomach. Hotel managers were always to be seen and made sure everyone was kept happy all staff were excellent. needed a repair in the hotel room and it was dealt with very quickly. The pool was kept immaculate and the lagoon has just been finished 8months early.
The gym was of excellent standard and it's facilities.
lovely walks along the shingle beach to tavernas on the sea front. We hired a speed boat from the beach and fully recommend it there are beautiful views to see around the coves, and the people renting are very helpful. The entertainment wasn't too bad could of been better,but nice bars to walk to for a cheaper drink as the hotel bar was quite pricy. Reps for thomson were very helpful and prob the best reps i have come across. I have already booked for next may. it was that good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
J Beasley
10 years 5 months ago
We stayed at this Hotel as the reviews hit the mark, Safe deposit boxes, Air con, and long trousers to be worn at dinner, This hotel while adequate is not a 4 star our biggest problem was were had a seaview but at the back of the kitchens complete with 24hr freezer compressors and 4 am recycle glass collection, this would not have been a problem but for the fact that you had to leave your patio door open and let in the noise because the Air con went off at 2 am and this Hotel holds functions for Corfiot weddings and other functions and the Corfiots find air con cold so the whole Hotel air con is shut down as it is "Centrally controlled" The food is ok and the staff are polite and friendly and the Manager is apologetic, entertainment is poor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

L Sizer
10 years 6 months ago
I have just returned from this hotel and was very disappointed by the whole experience - this was mainly due to the inefficiency and lack of customer care demonstrated by the staff in the main restaurant and reception.
We arrived at 1pm only to be told by the reception staff that the sea view room we booked was not going to be available until the following day - this was apparently due to a 'technical fault'. They then informed us the temporary mountain view room was not going to be available until after 2pm. We eventually were able to have access to our temporary room at 2.30 pm and were told not to unpack and return to reception at 9.30 am the following day when we would be able to gain access to the sea view room we had originally booked.
As instructed we went to reception the following morning at 9.30 only to be told the room would not be available until after mid-day and to go for a walk!!!! When I challenged this with the receptionist she informed me we could not access the room as there were other people still in the room and they were not due to vacate until mid-day. Therefore, the 'techincal fault' we were originally led to believe was the reason we could not immediately have access to the room was incorrect - in fact the hotel had 'double booked' the room and did not have the courtesy to be honest with us from day 1. After returning to reception several more times we eventually were given access to our room at 2.30pm on the 2nd day of our holiday. In my opionion we had lost 2 days of our holiday due to the inefficiency of the hotel!!! Throughout this experience the 'couldn't care less' attitude and unfriendliness of the reception staff was very frustratiing and is something I have never encountered before.

The other negative points to this hotel I think it important to mention is:

The inefficiency of the staff in the restaurant. When you enter the main restaurant you have to find your own 'unoccupied' table and then wait for the waiter to clear the table from the previous occupants and provide you with cutlery etc. On most occasions we actually had to find a waiter and ask them to do this.

I also felt the drinks in the hotel were very expensive - it was
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Mick
10 years 7 months ago
when we arrived we found we had a sea view (didn't ask for one)it was superb overlooking the bay,gardens and shingle beach.the hotel itself was very clean and tidy,the pool area excellent.the hotel staff are friendly enough without going overboard.wouldn't like to have to cross the main road outside if i'd had one too many though,a bit like silverstone on grand prix day.when you do get to the other side of the road (you'll be ready for a beer)there are are a few bars and restaurants and are friendly enough the prices are a lot cheaper than the hotel(that's another story).could do with a few more bars nearby though,got a bit tedious after a few nights.anyway back to the drink prices at the hotel,absolute robbery.the entertainment was very poor at nights and around the pool during the day.if the hotel management reduced the prices to the same as the local bars and put decent entertainment on,the place would be full and that would mean a better atmosphere all round.can't help thinking this could be a cracking hotel but for this. would i go back again...........the jury's out on that one i'm afraid !!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Kelly
10 years 8 months ago
We found the hotel spotlessly clean and all the staff polite and helpful. We had a room on the 5th floor and the views were fabulous over the whole of the bay as well as the pool area, well worth paying the extra for a sea view as the rooms on the front of the hotel overlooked the road, noisy and very hot as they get the afternoon sun.

Food was plentiful and enough choice to satisfy. When food ran out the staff were very quick to replace with fresh supplies. Only gripe here is that the drinks throughout the hotel are extortionate, beware only buy water with your evening meal unless you want to pay a fortune for a rubbish wine! Also the bar prices are a rip off. Just a tip, don't sit in the outside area of the dining room if you don't like birds, they fly all over the tables.

If your idea of a good holiday is relaxing by the pool, forget it unless you are prepared to set your alarm for the crack of dawn!!! We went to the pool area at 8.30am to find all of the 40 sunbeds were claimed with towels over them -also there are only 8 umbrellas (over the pool bar area tables) We asked at reception if they could find us two sunbeds and they said there were only the sunbeds available that were already round the pool. We then went to the sister hotel, the Corfu Chandris and this also had no free sunbeds. If you need to get some shade from the sun (90 degrees while we were there) there is one palm tree which is fought over for the only shade available. There are almost always available sunbeds on the lawns and on the beach, which is shingle, at a cost of 3 euros each - call me cynical but I think I mow know the answer as to why there are so few beds round the pool, a nice little earner!!

Across the busy main road from the hotel is a small supermarket which supplied most of our needs so we didn't have to carry our water and drinks very far. Plenty of good bars and tavernas and the usual souvenir shops but not much else. Boat trips from the little jetty in front of the hotel were very good value. A trip to Corfu town is a must the little winding streets are lovely with plenty of shops. You can get a free bus from the hotel but there is also a very cheap regular bus outside the hotel.

All in all a good holiday spoiled by the lack of facilities round the beautiful pool area. Would I go again - no way but only because we like to spend a lot of our holiday chilling round the pool.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
The hotel was great.

A couple of times that we called reception for assistance they responded very quickly.

Food was always varied and a good choice. Go up the steps into the far corner and Kostas will look after you. Getting you a table....and giving you advice.

Aircon in the room was a boon as the temperatures rocketed.
The grounds are expansive with a huge grass area and yes you have to pay for the sunbeds but its only 2 euros each (if you say Thomsons to the seller)..3 euros if not.

We spent a fortnight there and would go back again no problem.

Can't comment on the entertainment as we went out every night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum