Image of Tilemachos Hotel

Tilemachos Hotel

6 of 6 hotels in Dassia

2 out of 5 from 56 reviews
2 stars
Dassia, Corfu 83, Greece
Set in an elevated position, off the main Dassia road, the Hotel is situated close to all the facilities the resort has to offer. The hotel boasts a lovely swimming pool and for beach lovers.

56 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    11
  • Poor
    17

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Karen
Would never go back.
8 years ago
Well the all inclusive wasn't up to much, didnt get very much choice. The bar stopped doing all inclusive after 9.30pm and the staff wondered why people were going else where to drink.

Hotel cleanliness wasn't too bad.

I went down to breakfast 1 time and only once it was not eatable eggs were like rubber, hot dog sausages cut into small pieces, bacon was not bacon.

The location of the place is right up a hill which isn't very good for people with walking troubles so they would be stuck on site all the time.

There was no entertainment on at all the whole week I was there. I would never go back to that place it needs knocking down.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Sarah And Mike
9 years ago
We stayed at the Tilemachos hotel for one week, what a week! Food is edible (if you like squishy meatballs!)But if you are a chip and bread lover, you're in luck. Wasps-everywhere! Staff seemed knackered all the time yet we didnt see much work being done (thats not fair-Mario works hard!)Bar shuts at 9:30pm if you can fight through the multitude of wasps and other winged friends who liked to hang around the bar. There was a mini riot in the hotel involving some Croatian students-this was not a good experience. Hotel management dealt with it appaulingly and the steep hill you have to walk up is unlit and dangerous. We had a good laugh but this was down to our own abilities to amuse ourselves, the hotel entertainment was nothing short of shocking. Not the worst place we've stayed but we would certainly never go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Sylvia And Roy
9 years ago
We holidayed for 2 weeks at the Dassia Tilemachos Hotel in September 2009 full of apprehension as this was our first all inclusive holiday and we did not know what to look forward to but we knew that Greece could be basic accommodation and we knew the weather is usually exceeding good. The flight was reasonably comfortable but the meal on the aircraft was mundane. A coach took us from the airport to the Tilemachos Hotel and we were told to leave our luggage where it was and book into the hotel which we did and then ran to the bar to discover its facilities and choices. There was quite a number of wasps lingering as we drank but the sweeter the drink the more wasps they attracted and I was drinking what was described as beer. The Greek waiter called Ivan was a real Casanova and he wrote letters to the unattached ladies inviting them to local bars and somebody claimed he dated a new lady each and every night . There was one heck of a brawl one day near the swimming pool and a waiter called Eric was attacked by 11 Croat Students and the last we saw of Eric was him being chased toward the hotel building by the students. Eric was the all inclusive poolside barman and no explanation was given about his disappearance but all the Croat students left the hotel the same night by coach. We had a million laughs mainly from the excellent company and we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday because of the excellent company and it will be a holiday to remember because the people we met and holidayed with. I am not sure about holidaying at the Tilemachos Hotel again as all inclusive was not as good as I expected and the all inclusive bar stocked only local beer and local spirits and local soft drinks and whisky and coca cola was not a option. There was a second poolside bar that was not part of all inclusive and they served all the alcoholic beverages and non-alcoholic beverages that we hoped would be part of the all inclusive holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Sophie Smith
9 years 2 months ago
God us Brits do like to moan, and now i know just why! My boyfriend and i went for a week all inclusive, and it was the worst all inclusive holiday i have been on yet. For a start the drinks stopped at half 9, and the manager made sure it was dead on half 9 not a minute before or after. A young boy came to get a drink and he was told "drinks, over!" he only wanted a coke! The food was horrid out of the 21 times we could of gone down for food, we went twice. My boyfriend sat there eating a slice of bread.
I have to admit some of the staff are lovely, BUT there is one complete idiot, REALLY IGNORANT. He will refuse to give you more than one drink and pizza. Im sure all inclusive was unlimited ?
The room was nice and clean, and the maids never failed to keep our room tidy or the clean the sheets which was good. The room was really tiny though, and the shower was shocking. The water dripped out, and you could literally just stand in it and hold it up.
The "entertainment" was diabolical. Honestly, the singers COULD NOT sing. I mean you dont have to be a perfect singer, but they were so boring. We hardly ever stayed at night to listen to that crap, it honeslty was terrible.
Dassia is quite a nice place, and we cant complain about the weather or the lovely beach! It was so relaxing and the water was so clear. If you do decide to visit the beach hiring a pedalo is definatley worth it! There are many watersports avaiable, not for the faint-hearted though!
Reading the reviews there is alot of complaints about the steep hill, and i thought there was abit of exageration but clearly not. After a really nice relaxing day, that hill is abit steep especially when its really hot. Its also not lit up well atall, that definately needs sorting out. There are no lights, and at night i actually saw people come out with torches.
In all honesty, the hotel isnt a hotel from hell and our holiday wasnt a nightmare i just wouldnt recommend it and it definatley wasnt a holiday for me.

I suppose we did get what we paid for, but they could have so much more to offer! I know i wont be stopping in a two star hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Rob Scott
9 years 2 months ago
we have just booked to go back to the tilemachos hotel this will be our fifth visit to this hotel. the hotel is clean and the staff are great if you show them respect as is not always the case in some guests.the food is very nice what else can i say except if you want 5 star then pay for it, you will enjoy yourself at this hotel, some of the bad reviews are downright lies,and are from demanding people who havent been able to get their own way see you at the bar
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Recommended
Mike Elliott
9 years 3 months ago
We made a late booking for this hotel and were very pleasantly surprised at the fantastic value for money of the holiday. We stayed in the new block and paid the supplement for A/C which was worth it. Rooms were fine with double and twin. good bathroom, wardrobe and balcony, cleaned every day. Food choice was not huge but quantity and quality were excellent, chef was a delight, Drinks were as stated in brochure, beers, wine soft drinks and local spirits, finishing at 9.30pm was a bit too early and could be annoying.poolside snacks were also very well received. Entertainment provided was OK and the pool and poolside were spotless and overall better than we expected. Staff were all (with one exception) very friendly and helpful and the car hire from the hotel was very cheap, no extras to pay and very good value. All in all we both had an excellent holiday and I would have no reservation in recommending it to all and would go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Debra Taylor
9 years 3 months ago
we stayed on an all inclusive basis, the choice of food at meal times was not extensive, but the food that was available was absolutely delicious. the deserts were a bit boring, mostly fruit based, but considering the price we payed, non of us could complain! the scottish chef was lovely, and always asked us what we thought of his dishes, and was open to suggestions and comments. The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill, definately a no no for elderley or disabled people, but my friends and i often walked into resort in our comfy flip flops, and then swapped these for our dancing shoes at the bottom of the hill, and left our flip flops in the bushes till we were trekking back up the hill after our night out!! the german lady who checked us in was lovely, extremely helpful and always wore a smile. some of the other staff were less affable, but considering the long hours they work, we understood why they may sometimes come across as not very interested! the greek dancers were fabulous, gilberts music quiz was like something from phoenix nites, the karaoke was good fun, but the highlight of the entertainment had to be a greek man with a keyboard who had a decent singing voice but sang like a cheap cd that you find playing whilst you wander round your local supermarket. entertaining nonetheless, especially his rendition of ub40s kingston town, we certainly had lots to smile about that night. the only down side was that the all inclusive bar shut dead on 9.30 pm , you couldnt get more than 2 drinks per person, and as the bar was simply a small window with one man serving, queues quickly built up. the hotel was lovely and clean, we were in the new section, which was very well presented, we did see a room fromthe older section, these were of a similar standard but minus air con. all in all, for what we payed for a week in the sun, we were more than happy with, we all agreed it could be better (there was a huge bar near the dining area that wasnt utilized very well) but we all agreed that we had been to a lot worse places in the past! please go there with an open mind, you may be pleasantly surprised!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Klair
9 years 3 months ago
The hotel is very clean, we paid 40 euros upon arrival to upgrade to a 4* room and this was well worth the money because the room was air conditioned, our air conditioning didn't work when we got out room so had to report this to reception and this was fixed in under 1 hour!!! The staff are very polite and friendly and the food at this hotel is very nice and home made which is very rare for hotels these days, overall i was very impressed and happy with my stay at hotel tilemachos
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Jessica
9 years 3 months ago
When we first arrived at the hotel it seemed pleasent, we were shown to our room quite quickly, we recieved no help with our heavy bags and didnt even get shown to the room, we were shown where the lift was and what number our room was.
The room seemed small but acceptable, the bathroom was small and you couldnt move in the shower! The shower head wasnt even on the wall it fitted onto the tap which was 3ft up the wall so while showering you had to hold the shower head above you. Our balcony was pretty small but next to us was the roof of another part of the building where staff were constantly there and pouring smelly dirty water everywhere.
We went down to the pool about 8 oclock and were told the bars didnt open until "about 10 oclock" so we had to cope with out a drink until then.
When the bars opened we went to the all inclusive bar where we got cokes.. they tasted watered down and absolutely awful! We were told they only do pizza slices, hot dogs and toasties.. all of which were awful! This was the only source of food or snacks available as the main dining area and lounge were constantly closed apart from at service times.
The staff were very rude. Another girl in our hotel told us how one of the men commented on how 'fat and round' she was when she went for the BBQ buffet, to which she was totally shocked and upset and therefor never ate there again!
When we asked if we could keep hold of our passports we were told "no!" and we noticed that all passparts are just kept in a drawer at the reception, no lock. One couple even recieved back the wrong passports. There was hardly ever any one on reception. When leaving the building we were rudly shouted at because we didnt hand our key in whilst we were out, even though we were only going to be 5 minutes!
One night there was a number of staff on the roof of our room at 1 oclock in the morning being Very loud, this lasted for about an hour!
The breakfasts, dinner and tea meals were awful. We ate there a few times but thought it was much better to go elsewhere and most places were not that expensive.
The maids cleaned our room twice throughout the week, they did not give us any clean towels or clean bedsheets (which had a black coloured stain on them). All that was done was the bins were emptied.
The pool area was very cluttered, sunbeds were limited and nearly all were broken. The pool was dirty and had a misty look. The prices at the other bar for cocktails, red bull etc changed everyday. A can of coke and a chocolate milkshake cost 3 euros one day, 6 euros the next!
Our coach to go to the airport when leaving was due at 3am. A man came to our room at 12pm saying we had to be out of the room asap! We explained that we had only been in the room 6 days, we were not told we had to leave at that time and we werent leaving til 3am so what would we do until then with everything packed? We were very rudely spoke back to and told we must pack and get out of the room there and then! We then had to store our suitcases in a room on the ground floor with everyones elses, we then had to
entertain ourselves until the coach came in 14 hours! People sat by the pool waiting, in the reception area, on the stairs. There were around 40 people waiting around for the same coach. When it came to around 9pm people were laid asleep on the reception floors and stairs because there was no where else. We asked the man if they could open the lounge for everyone in which he replied 'No! Everywhere is locked!" so we resorted to sitting on the outside reception stairs because there was no where else. Dassia is very beautiful and has gorgeous beaches and places to see! We had a great holiday, but that is because we were in the hotel as little as possible!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Ashley Edwards
9 years 3 months ago
I am starting to wonder whether the people who wrote bad reviews went to the same hotel?

Okay, me and my mother do not DO all inclusive holidays, so, due to the rate of the Euro at the minute, we figured it would be a good time to try it. After we booked it, we stupidly read the reviews and can i just say we were tempted to cancel because certain made the place out to be a stinking cess-pit of eternal doom. If you are expecting said cespit on your arrival, you will be disappointed.

The hotel, f you remember, is a two and a half star place. The food is superb, me and mother are naturally quite fussy eaters, but there was something on the menu for us everyday. The chef is an exceptionally nice man and makes dinner a very relaxed atmosphere.

The staff are all lovely, yes there are one or two fawlty towers/ benidorm characters knocking about (ERIC! ALWAYS TEXTIN!) but genuinely, the nicest staff I have met. Valerie and her auntie are lovely women and so is chef (but not a woman...).

The All Inclusive bar is open from 10am to 9:30 pm. This is not the hotel's decision but Olympic's. They also take a vast amount of the money you pay for your holiday, so the hotel only have
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum