Image of Messonghi Beach Hotel

Messonghi Beach Hotel

2 of 3 hotels in Messonghi

3 out of 5 from 26 reviews
Messonghi Beach S.A., P.O. Box 126, Moraitika 49100, Greece
The complex lies between the villages of Moraitika and Messonghi on the Ionian Sea, approximately 22 Km south of Corfu town and 20 Km from the airport.

26 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Shaun
10 years 1 month ago
The hotel was cleaned every day with a change of sheets & towels, the only reason i never give it a 5 star is because there was a smell from the drains every now & again.

The food was the same every day & did not cater for children at all.

The location was shocking, if you wanted to go out you had a big long walk to get out of the complex & when you did get out the resort wash terrible with nothing to do. The beach was not sand & was a dirty shale with a load of sea weed on it.

The hotel staff were really nice & have no complaints.

The hotels entertainment was shocking, they had a kids club on every night which once you seen once was the same every day & was in german. After that was a singers on which mymed the whole lot.

The resort was rife with wasps & mozzys & was really bad i would never go back.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Bonnevier
10 years 5 months ago
Messonghi Beach Hotel is for families who are not used to cooking & don't appreciate good food.In the brochure they said there were three restuarants when in actual fact there was just one large self service canteen, where there were large steel trays full of stodgy unpalatable food.If you like non-stop noisy entertainment & are not bothered about getting hotel or local information then this is for you. Being able to speak German is an added advantage.The room was all right, though I hate plastic filled pillows.Definitely not a place for older people seeking cultural places of interest.Sadly I only read reports after we had booked this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Kaye
11 years 4 months ago
Excellent!!!!! Had everything you could wish for, superb shows of the evening plenty to do during the day, & the entertainment team were awesome extremely funny, I want to go back!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
The Carlisle Family
11 years 4 months ago
We bagged a bargain and took the kids on a cheap holiday.

There are 2 main hotels and various villas, bungalows and apartments incorporated within approx 11 acres.

On arrival during the early hours of the morning our 2 bed bungalow had not been cleaned. (The complex lets you have a late checkout for 30 Euros and someone had obviously had our room until the early hours). The night porter spoke little English but gave us a 1 bed sea front bungalow until ours could be cleaned in the morning. This was upsetting as we'd had no sleep and were desperately wanting to rest. Obviuously the kids were then cramped in with me and my husband. No one from the complex kept us informed and we had to negotiate with the maids to get the correct room ready !!!This was the only hiccup though and the rest of our week was nice.

The bungalow rooms are extremely basic,ie mdf wardrobes, no telly, no air con.They were cleaned every day though and the towells were changed.

We found the reception staff to be rather stretched unlike the restaurant staff who were extremely helpful in assisting us with our 2 small children. We found that there was little Greek cuisine on the menu and it was rather mundane,but there are various places nearby to eat out.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Denise
12 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from our holiday at Messonghi Beach Hotel and we had a very enjoyable time.

The view from our room was beautiful looking out over the gardens to the beach/sea and towards the Greek mainland.

The room was simple but kept immaculately clean by the very hardworking housekeeping staff. The only negative comment I would make about the room was the shower which was in an old hip bath, difficult to get into and once in there you had no room to move at all.

Food - Breakfast, cereals, bread, cheese, cold meats, hard boiled eggs, small hotdogs, etc. The orange juice tasted like undiluted orange squash - the grapefruit juice was much better. Very basic but edible. Evening meals were very good, including many local dishes, the meat was particularly good. They did include chips at every meal if you wanted them. On some evenings we did find the only desserts left were ice cream or watermelon. The restaurant was often busy but the staff were extremely hard working and would always find you a table.

Entertainment - we did not really make use of this. However, many other people seemed to be enjoying it. Although I would say it was very noisy and as most of the facilities did not shut until 2am it could keep you awake.
There were not a lot of other British people in the hotel but that did not bother us. However, it would appear from comments made by other people (who were staying at the two other hotels in the complex)when we were waiting for the coach to come home that they would have preferred to have had more British people about. I am a bit perplexed by this as it is a foreign holiday after all. I would add all the staff we dealt with spoke very good English so there was no language problems.

It was exceptionally hot whilst we were there and the rooms do not have air conditioning which did make it uncomfortable especially at night.

The cost of hiring sun loungers is 2.50 Euros per day each which does seem excessive. The tour reps suggested you bought a lilo at the start of the holiday if you did not want to pay for the loungers. The sun umbrellas on the beach are free but fixed in place.

The cost of hiring a safety deposit box is 20 Euros per week plus 5 Euros deposit and I would strongly recommend you use one for peace of mind particularly when going to the beach.

To sum up I cannot understand some of the comments on this site. I read them before we went away and it did concern me but we did not encounter the problems other people obviously experienced.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Steve Erskine
12 years 2 months ago
This hotel is, generally, good with a very pleasant location. The staff are very good and the rooms are kept very clean - we had 2 bungalows near the beach. The food is fine and we did not witness the 'free-for-all' that other have mentioned, though the hotel did open a Brits-only restaurant during our stay - we assumed this was due to complaints from the Brits, a bit sad that we feel so insecure. The choice and quality of food was always good.

The one massive drawback with this hotel was the noise, it was horrendous at times. If you're looking for a quiet holiday with some early nights forget it. Restaurants, bars and around the pool, wherever we went we were confronted by loud, repetitive, thumping music. There are a number of bars around the complex and each has its own entertainment (both during the day and at night). All entertainment is very, very loud, basically wherever you stay on site you will be bombarded with noise. Don't count on getting to sleep much before 1am. I tried slepping with earplugs but could still hear the lyrics of songs and we were about 100 yards from the bar where the singing was. The base level is unbelievable, the vibrations carried to our bungalows! We, and others, did complain but got nowhere. We were offered a relocation to another part of the site but, as I say, wherever you were situated you simply couldn't escape the noise. This spoilt the holiday for us.

We would not go back to Messongi Beach and would not recommend this hotel. In our opinion, the level of noise disturbnce far outweighs the positive things the hotel does.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

JO
12 years 3 months ago
The day after arriving home I must view my points and advise if you are British do not visit the Massonghi beach.

On arrival the reception staff were pleasant but the rooms have a lot to be desired.

With a hotel so large and only 60 of them have air conditioning units of which you have to pay for!!
Sun beds around the pool and beach area also have to be paid for!!

Breakfast very basic but coffee was good, evening meals became quite bland and after the first 4 days we decided to eat out for a better variety in many of the local restaurants.

Many great bars including harry & georges and fair play which were great. Many a sore head after visiting.

Most of the staff were great but a select few did not make and effort. The rooms were cleaned everyday and a good job was done.

This hotel is most definitely caters for the german, French and Italians.

The location of the hotel is great being straight onto the beach (be it very stoney) but with lots of activity for the children ie games room, computer room, 7 pools and the beach it is great in that respect but i would never recomend to a friend or stranger.

All in all we still did have a fantastic holiday thanks to the entertainment outside the complex and the hiring of a car to visit most of Corfu.

We are definatley going back to corfu but not to this particular hotel.

Cosmos will be having a letter from ourselves as will many more tour operators from other English families advising they take this hotel out of their brochures.
(lets hope they listen to us??)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: COSMOS

M Still
12 years 3 months ago
Just returned from a 2 week holiday. We were upgraded to Messonghi Beach Hotel as the first apartment was a disgrace.

We found the rooms(bungaloW) basic but clean. We were left with no towels for about 4 days until I saw a trolley and picked some up for our room. The food was a free for all - never got to taste the carvery as the Germans,French,Italians just shoved their way in just like a rugby scrum.

The pools were nice and the beach was ok. Recommend the boat trip with Nik the Greek - best one going. My teenage son and 8 year old enjoyed the entertainment and made friends in the pools etc. Plenty of shops and bars outside the complex, if you tire of the entertainment at the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Eve
12 years 4 months ago
The food was rubbish the staff went on strike for not getting paid for 3 months.

The first room they put us in all the light switches and sockets were hanging.

The pool was lovely the beach was stoney. The only place that kept us sane was a pub called Harry
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Oliver
12 years 5 months ago
We stayed at the Bessonghi beach hotel and had a fantastic time.

The hotel could not be faulted in anyway.

The rooms where very clean and were cleaned every day. The food was good with a good variety.

All the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Our daughter enjoyed the kids club and minidiscos.

We would definitley go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum