Image of Blue Bay Escape Resort Hotel

Blue Bay Escape Resort Hotel

4 out of 5 from 185 reviews
Agios Spiridonas, KompĂ­tsion 49100, Greece
Families can enjoy an incredible range of facilities at the Blue Bay - from water polo to paragliding This new retreat enjoys a stunning location overlooking the beach and the hotel also offers a courtesy bus service to the resorts of Acharavi and Kassiop.

185 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    46
  • Very Good
    86
  • Good
    40
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Harrison
10 years 3 months ago
After a two hour flight delay we arrived at the hotel at 4am and were directed to our room which was quite a walk from the main hotel but did have a lovely pool view.

The room was very basic but clean and the air conditioning made the room very cold but if you turned it off the room was stifling in a matter of minutes.

The hotel was two hours transfer from airport and went around twisty winding roads and made loads of stops.

When we woke up the view from the balcony was amazing , the albanian mountains in the distance and a lovely big pool which was unheated and was to cold to be comfortable in even on very hot days.

Most of the staff were very miserable and most didnt even smile although there were exceptions but not many.

The wasps were terrible and as lunch is served at the poolside bar we had to do without lunch as the wasps swarmed around your food..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Tez
10 years 3 months ago
The hotel was fairly clean, except for the stray cats that were all around the seating area where the bar snacks were served.

The food was standard, nothing special but it filled a hole.

Location is in middle of nowhere, only two buses a day into the main towns is a joke with the minimal activities in the day.

Entertainment staff were friendly enough, but the barmen and people serving bar snack need lessons in customer service. they acted like they were doing you a favour by serving you for the drinks and food you had already paid for!!

Entertainment was fun but finished at 10pm and the local bar that was 10 times more welcoming than the hotel stayed open till 1am. but the hotel doors were locked at 12am so it was go home at 12am or enjoy the pitch black walk around the grounds of the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mike
10 years 4 months ago


Just returned from our second visit to Blue Bay and have to say going back was the best decision have ever made holiday wise. Obviously helped knowing exactly what to expect
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Jackie
10 years 4 months ago
we have just returned from our family holiday in blue bay.we enjoyed it except afew things.
the hotel was clean and the rooms were very clean but very basic.it wasnt very nice as when you went to the toilet you had to put your toilet paper in a bin next to you.if you did put it down the toilet it all came back up again.
the food was very good except the breakfast.
the locaion was ok except there wasnt anywhere to walk to at night only about 2 or 3 shops.
the staff were very good and there if you needed them.
the entertainment was quite poor in the evening but during the day it was excellent as there was lots to do.
we enjoyed it but wouldn't go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Rogers
10 years 5 months ago
I took my neice to this hotel for her first holiday abroad. I decided to chose all inclusive so that every need was catered for and we did not have to leave the resort. I have been on many all inclusives in the caribbean and thought this would be similar.

We arrived at the hotel about 4am local time and found our way to our rooms which I must say were spacious if a little warm!!The journey from the airport to the hotel was rather longwinded as we had to wait an hour for our coaches to arrive. We then had a 45 minute wait while passangers were being located and a two hour transfer with several drops offs.

When we reached our room all we wanted was a drink of water - not too much to expect in an all inclusive holiday you would think. We went to our kitchinette (advertised as having mini oven and two cooking rings - but not there)into the fridge but nothing, no liquid at all in the room. Unable to find an open bar to obtain a drink we went to bed- thirsty.

We got up the next morning and went to reception as there was no sign of a rep that early. I was then told that we could drink the water from the taps. After having a conversation with the reception and telling them the previous night we were advised not to drink or even clean teeth with the water I was a little annoyed - we had booked, supposedly all inclusive and yet we were unable to get a basic drink of water! (on the possitive side the small shop does sell water and it is very cheap - but not the point)

The complex itself is lovely in pretty surroundings. The pool is lovely and it is only a short walk to the beach. The hotel generally looked very clean and they were constantly gardening to keep the complex looking nice. The rooms unfortunately were not looked after so well. On the second day my 12 year old neice trod on a piece of glass in the bedroom. I went to reception and the cleaner came but on two further ocassions we picked up glass in our feet or shoes!

The food at the hotel is very basic with chips for kids at every meal. They have not really grasped the idea of variety normally associated with all inclusive and nearly every dish contained peppers - fine unless you are allergic as we both are. There is not enough selection within the restaurant to cater for the clientel. It is also a shame that there is no choice of where to eat. Breakfast and dinner are served in the main restaurant and lunch is by the pool. The same can be said of the pool. With the exception of early evening there is only one bar to choose from.

The restaurant and bar staff all seem to work pretty hard and please and thankyou goes a long way. The entertainment team are there if you want to get involved but leave you alone if you don't want to. The evening entertainment is typical of european holidays nothing overly special but they do put effort in.

There are a number of cats at the hotel and many new born kittens which helped keep my neice amused.

In future I would probably go self catering as I think there is a lot more choice to be had from eating at the local restaurants or evening venturing into the nearby towns.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Bilton
10 years 5 months ago
Stayed in St Spyrigon at the Blue Bay Escape which was an experience to remember. The Hotel is in the middle of know where but can get the bus into Kassiopi where it has alot more pubs and restaurants to visit. We did know this before we travelled so not disappointed on that note.

The Hotel is on a beach, the one to the right was full of sea weed but the left one was great. The kids did enjoy it.

The Hotel enterntainment not talking about the First Choice was, to be kind not very good. The two girls could of at least smiled. Beware of the key of the door and the bingo. Won't say any more but I am sure you should work that one out for yourselves.

During the day they did keep you entertained.

Kids Club a bit disappointed that no WaveLength for the older kids but the younger ones cetainly were kept amused. Thanks to all the Kids Reps.

The food was very disappointing, not much if you are a vegetarian. Beware of the hot plates, if the children go up for own food.

Hotel was clean but would not say it was a 4 star, more 3.

The family who mentioned about the staff serving the food down by the pool, they were right, no smiles.

Lots and lots of cats, kittens and dog.

Did a few trips Beach BBQ and AcquaLand, both very good and the kids did enjoy.

Considering all the reviews have been about the hotel entertainment not being very good, it certainly hasn't changed. Don't let that put you off though as all in all we did enjoy it. Make of it what you want. We did visit a few bars down on the beach, I would recommend that you go to them just to break the time up.


We read all about the hotel before we went and thought Oh My God, but it wasn't that bad. Enjoy your holiday and just remember it only lasts for 1/2 weeks. Enjoyyyyyyyy.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Mcpherson
10 years 6 months ago
The hotel runs a very clean ship, immaculate grounds.

The food was very well presented and I found the choice of dishes fine, the two children ate very well
from their own The desserts were lovely. The drinks were disappointing if they just added a fruity cocktail from the pool bar or one or two more local spirits rather than the five drinks on offer, this would make all the difference.

The worst all inc drinks package I have encountered and it does put a negative edge on the holiday which is a shame because the views and food are great.

The First Choice club was good and the children enjoyed it there and the two later evening sessions are a real treat to be able to relax in the reception bar rather than by the pool side.

The entertainment was poor the guy at the pool during the day was good fun but the evenings were dragged out and flat.

The mosquitos were a big issue and if they had an indoor entertainment area this would help as most nights were a battle to stay bite free, the hotel does little to help this situation there were no zappers or candles provided by them and each table had to have a candle to try and keep them at bay, I spent a fortune on sprays it is a shame as the views are beautiful and an ideal setting or sit of an evening so take long trousers long sleeves for the nights and the salt water did help to relieve the bites the next day.

I liked the bay to the left of the hotel the water was shallow and calm and ideal to take a break from the hotel routine.

The harbour at Kassiopi was nice and their is a bus but the evening visits are a bit two short to really take in a meal etc at leisure for a change from the hotel entertainment. The staff all work long hours and they were all nice when approached and helpful in the restaurants etc.

I would return if I hear that the drinks package and entertainment area had been altered as I have been to a four star rated all inclusive before and they seem to cater in these areas a lot better.

The hotel is isolated but that is mentioned in the brochure, however for a real relaxing break this is a fantastic resort a week to ten days is ideal here and there are many day trips available to get around the island.

The transfer is quite long and if you suffer from travel sickness then you would need to take something to help with the long bendy roads from the airport to resort. I would never do a night flight from this resort as the coach
journey is is at least 2 hours long and corfu airport is small and stuffy and if you had a delay the thought of being stuck outside the airport in the waiting areas or in the small departure area would be awful in the small hours.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Richardson's
10 years 6 months ago
Right well we have just returned from a two week stay at blue bay, and all in all we found it a pleasant holiday.

After reading reviews we was expecting the food to be boring and repetitive however we was suprised to find lots of variety and plenty of choice for all, unfortunately though there was a huge problem with the fly's crawling all over the food, at one time there was me, another woman and one of the chefs all trying to get them off the cakes which they seem to have a particular liking for.

The hotel itself is kept very clean, the workers there seem to be going all day and night don't think they actually go home! Our room was always cleaned well by the cleaners but the floors can be slippy so be careful, especially if your kids run riot like mine did we got through quite a few plasters including down the pool area.

All of the workers were very pleasant and most knew a little English. We were over there in a heat wave so the lawns were constantly been watered which could be tricky of a night when the sprinklers are on, because there was about 4-5 seperate sprinklers along each little path all facing different ways so you find yourself doing a mission impossible sort of action to get through dry!

Entertainment day and night I'm sad to say is rubbish!There should really be an indoor area with a proper stage and dare I say talented entertainers, how we longed to see something like traditional greek dancing or singing/dancing and not what we found.

I will start with the daytime entertainment, there were about 6 people that were part of an entertainment team and to me they had no umph about them at all they just went through the motions of the day. All of the games etc were just 5-10 minutes long and they were boring like darts, don't drop the baton and passing wet towels over your heads now I don't doubt for a minute that these games could be fun but not here, it was more a case of "ah right its time for darts right lets get it over with then". What I found annoying was if you said no to these entertainers then you was called lazy and sent to coventry!

Next would be night time entertainment this was the same people that did it in the day. Now to be fair to them we never went down because of the mozzies, as soon as you sat down they were all over you absolutely rife. But ear wigging in the day I don't think we missed much!

The one morning the entertainers were not so happy more like hung over so lord knows what they got up to.

We are glad to be back because we just simply got bored there is nothing at all to do apart from the pool and the beach and they are great if you want to relax for two weeks solid but we wanted to do things.

We spent a fortune on the pool tables just to keep us sane but even they were either broke or didn't have the right balls on and the cues were really bad.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Childs
10 years 6 months ago
The hotel is stunning and is well kept inside and out. If you have visited Greece or Corfu before then please take notice of the mosquito situation here. They are horrendous! Even bite through clothing. Take the best protection you can with you as the on-site sprays, candles etc do not work. You are next to a large lake where they breed and come out nightly to feed. Beware hanging your clothes / towels over the bottom balconies to dry as the sprinklers come on and you will need a spin dryer to wring them out.

Make sure you buy water on the plane to last you till the next day if you are flying with first choice. We arrived at 02.45am, had our welcome meeting the next morning at 10am and this is the first time I have not been offered refreshment at the meeting. Wasn't even looking for an ouzo. A glass of water would have been sufficient after the long journey but there was no mention we were told not to drink the water during the transfer, but there was none left in the room either. After standing at the bar for 20 minutes where the meeting was held I was informed by the rep that it did not open till 18.30pm. However survived the hour long sales pitch from the reps on their rip off excursions and made my way to the on-site supermarket to buy some water.

The place is so nice that an extremely large group of stray cats seem to have established residence within the resort. Cats don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Jay & Sam
10 years 6 months ago
as a family of six with four children the all inclusive package was by far the best choice we have made regarding a family holiday. it was the first time we had been to corfu as a family, and the hotel and location was everything we needed. the hotel was cleaned every day and night. The food was repetitive but theres only so much you can do with fish,chicken and meat,but all in all the food was good. The location was remote but the free hotel bus service made it easy to visit surrounding villages. All the staff including the cleaners were very friendly especially the children's entertainers. Theres a mini disco early evening for the kids and with all our kids being under 10 they all found it very enjoyable even our 18 month old boy. there was family entertainment at 10 o'clock but with having a baby we didn't get to see any,but we heard it was very good. All in all excellent family holiday and would visit again but we would take more mosquito spray as there are millions of the little devils.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: