Image of Villa Marina Apartments

Villa Marina Apartments

9 of 9 hotels in Anissaras

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Anissaras hersonissos, 70014, Greece

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alan
9 years 11 months ago
The apartments are supposed to be self catering but when eating outside of them at the table provided,several holidaymakers were told they should eat at the restaurant. The owner (Tassos) was quite rude on several occasions and two people asked to be moved to another site. The owners grandson also had a bad habit of urinating in the swimming pool in front of family members who seemed to think it was quite normal.Fruit would be shared with visitors but only if they spent enough money at the bar. Generally, the owner ran the place like a concentration camp and the cleaners didn't seem to spend much time cleaning judging by the cobwebs in the shower rooms. If you really want to visit these apartments, take some descaler for the shower head as the owners don't clean them. Also be prepared to be told off for catering for yourself. The weekly BBQ cost 16 euros which was grossly overpriced as we found one not far away for 5 euros.I was glad to get home.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Ronnie
10 years 9 months ago
Villa Marina studios. Anissaras. Hersonissos. Crete.
Olympic stated this to be in a quiet location, It is next to the extremely busy main road, it is also under the flight path with planes coming at all times including through the night, very loud, Olympic state walk to beach to be 10/15 minutes, this is also the walk to the only supermarket and it takes 25 minutes down and 37 minutes back up the steep hill, loaded with shopping and in the heat, as my husband has walking difficulty's this was almost impossible.
Olympic never mentioned that the place was in the elevated position, if they had stated as not suitable for people with walking problems we would have known to avoid it, also they should have put car hire was advisable.
To reach the bus stop to go to Hersonissos it is about 300 metre up the side of the main road a climb over the crash barrier and then you take your life in your hands trying to cross the VERY busy M1 road.
The accommodation at Marina Studios is very very basic and not very clean, the bathroom was dirty the shower head disgusting, the toilet filthy, the kitchen area dirty stained cupboards, bedding seen better days.
Steep walk down to the studios plenty of steps and totaly unsuitable for less able bodied.
We stuck it for two nights and then had to pay Olympic more money for a more suitable accommodation, I was extremely angry by this as we do strongly believe we were miss sold the holiday.
The only good thing about the Marina is the gardens which are very nice, but that is just about it.
We did move to the Remi Apartments in Stallis and this was first class, lovely and clean, short walk to all shops/supermarkets/ beach/ bus, the owners made you feel very welcome.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic holidays

Chris Puddy
12 years 10 months ago
A friendly family atmosphere in a village thats a 1 euro bus trip into Hersonissos, we went one day and found it too 'in your face', and were eager to get back to Anissaras.

Others that had travelled the island had said that Anissaras had the better of the beaches around.

Three supermarkets and three restraunts/taverns lie about 10-15 min stroll from villa marina, very relaxing, attend the family barbacue on a thursday night-a great way to meet the other guests.

An 8 euro cab trip to old town hersonissos is a must for that true cretan experience.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: libra

Recommended
Helen
12 years 10 months ago
This holiday was booked through a last minute agency. I did have concerns as no photos could be given before departure and little was known about the apartments or resort. I knew we were a little way out of the main resort but when we got there it was just a small taxi ride away. This made the holiday more relaxing as we weren't in the hussle and bussle of things.

The complex is set in its own gardens filled with fruit which Tasos the owner will share with you on an evening(for free) with a relaxing drink around the pool. The home cooked food is great and very reasonabable.

The apartments are spacious, basic but very clean with air con.

All in all a relaxing holiday and would have no hesitation in booking for next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Dean
13 years 11 months ago
The hotel is situated on a service road on the main road from Heraklion to Hersonissos.
Fair amount of traffic noise especially at night.
It is also under one of the flight paths but is bearable.
About 10 minutes stroll to the beach.
Run by a very friendly couple and their family.
Basic rooms but clean.
Restaurant serving good reasonably priced food.
Swimming pool and lovely gardens.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Golden Sun

Recommended
Rachel
13 years 11 months ago
Villa Marina is run by a friendly family and consists of approx 22 apartments surrounded by lovely gardens full of fruit trees.Although the facilites are not very modern and the furniture could do with updating, there is a friendly family atmosphere.There is a reasonable sized swimming pool and a restaurant that serves good food at a fair price.The rooms are cleaned every other day.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: golden sun

Shaun Johnson
14 years 1 month ago
Villa Marina is a very well run complex. The cleansiness is good and food is excellent. The atsmosphere created by the proprietors will certainly lead you to a relaxed holiday. During our stay, a Sunday night BBQ with the rest of the guests was a must.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Golden Sun

Recommended
Paul Vaughan
14 years 10 months ago
Villa Marina is in a fantastic setting amongst the grape vines..... It is a family run hotel with Marina and her husband Tasos. If you are looking for a typical Greek holiday this is the place, Marina invites her family for the Sunday night Barbeque and then the music begins, the Raki flows and the good times roll.

The pool is fantastic and you will always get a sun lounger.

Marina cooks her Greek specialties and I can guarantee they are amazing.

There is also a good range of children
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Golden Sun

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum