Image of Sensatori Resort Hotel

Sensatori Resort Hotel

4 of 9 hotels in Anissaras

4 out of 5 from 38 reviews
5 stars
Sensatori Resort

38 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mr And Mrs Finch
Not what we thought it would be
7 years 6 months ago
Just returned from Sensatori in Crete. This hotel was nice but did not have the wow factor like they claim it has. Pool towels could only be replaced between 5 and 7 in the evenings, not many sun beds and you had to be up and get your beds before 8 o'clock in the morning also it was very crammed in around adult pool.

The staff were ok not over friendly as they just said the same things at every meal did not really talk to you. The food was alright, luke warm but with about a 1000 meals to cook a day the food was ok. We had no trouble booking into the other restaurants and you must try the stone grill it was the best food all week and hot.

I thought it was a very good thing with the check in at the hotel. Once booked in you did not see your cases again until you were back in England.

The entertainment was a bit hi di hi and were not that good but they had a couple of acts from Britain who were very good. I could not believe that a five start hotel only had two small draws in the bedroom so I had to live out of my suitcase.

I did enjoy this holiday but would not go back again as not what I thought it was going to be.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Woodward
7 years 7 months ago
We arrived just before the school holidays and our suitcases were sent ahead of us to our rooms - excellent! The hotel was at full capacity, though with the design of the complex, it didn't appear over busy which was nice.

It's worthwhile having a sea view room over the pool areas, we had a couple of suites and appreciated the extra living space areas - the beds are magnificiently large and the most comfortable I've stayed in. Note the suites do appear to come in different sizes, my teenage daughter's room was much larger than ours and in a different block, though we had booked as one group!

The separate adult only/family area pools are superb, but occasionally some don't follow the rules, especially with the attraction of the large jacuzzi which attracts smaller children.

I only had two negatives, otherwise the hotel was brilliant & the staff were forever hardworking -
a) Difficult to book into the featured hotel restaurants as they were always booked out - frustrating as you had to continuously use the main restaurant.
b) Sunbeds - suggest you join in the lottery of getting up early to get one. The hotel states they remove towels left on beds first thing but they don't. So many beds have towels on and people don't turn up until lunchtime!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Hyde
7 years 8 months ago
As a wedding venue it was excellent, wedding co-ordinator looked after everything. Could not fault the food, excellent swimups and rooms first class clean and comfortable. Hotel staff helpful and polite. Would definately reccomend this hotel and we will be going back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
The Woodwards
7 years 9 months ago
The Sensatori Hotel in Crete is a beautiful hotel in a quiet location. The hotel was a high standard and the cleanliness was well maintained by the daily room cleaning.

The hotel offered a wide range of food in varying styles and eating environments. The main restaurant always offered good choice and food of a high standard. The themed restaurants could be booked for something more specific to your own personal preference and was of a matching high standard.

The location is based in a quiet resort but is within 20 minutes from the airport and only ten minutes by bus away from a town, which offers shopping and various beachfront bars and cafes.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and courteous and the service within the restaurants was always impeccable. All the bar staff were pleasant and not too pushy or intrusive.

The entertainment is of a standard similar in all foreign hotels but UK acts which visited were of a good quality. The resort entertainment was repetative and although the stage and sound facilities were excellent, the hotel cast were always rather difficult to watch.

We would definately visit the hotel again and hope the sister Sensatori hotels are of a similar high standard as this. We could thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a peaceful holiday, high standard of accommodation and facilities and beautiful weather.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
7 years 9 months ago
The hotel was clean and the staff friendly, The main buffett resturant food was off good standard but could of been hotter. The surrounding gardens kept clean and tidy. everywhere was spotless. We booked a swim up room but got upgraded to a private pool suite, which was much better as the sun was on the balcony all day as with the swim up rooms the sun only on there half the day. Only 1 complaint the lack of service by the maintenance team. We reported 2 faults with our room which never got fixed in the whole week we was there. this is poor service.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
8 years 6 months ago
We have just got back from Sensatori Crete, very nice place but there were lots of drawbacks. The entertainment got boring as this was only on a 7 day cycle. The swim up rooms weren't very good, not linked to the main pools so pretty pointless. Lots of adults were getting fed up seeing too many children around which was surprising especially as it was the school holidays! they should go when the children are in school. One holiday maker even asked us if we thought our children should be in bed and not out so late (the time was 7.30 pm!!!). This appears to be a hotel which has lots of adults only going who are very anti children. The main restaurant was nice but some of the other restaurants were awful, the mexican wasn't too good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Deb Lane
8 years 8 months ago
Just got back from Sensatori in Crete. We had a luxurious suite with a private pool,the food choices were fantastic, quality of food the same. The food was always at the correct temperature, tables always available at main resteraunt, service was first class. You do have to book the other resteraunts in advance but this is done easily. All the staff are polite and genuine, the pools are all maintained to the highest standard and there are plenty of sun loungers, although, yes, many in the more quieter areas around do get taken up quite early in the day. We didn't witness anybody slipping over and think that maybe initially some surfaces were maybe found to be a little dangerous if caution wasn't taken, but common sense has to be used also. The beach was lovely and once in the sea and past the shigle the sea bed was sandy. Plenty of beds on the beach which were cheap to rent in comparison with other countries and the rumour that you have to pay to go on the beach is simply untrue. The entertainment flown in from the UK was first class but the family shows on the Boardwalk were a little boring if you are lucky to holiday for two weeks as unfortunately they are repeated each week. We went as a couple, there were lots of children there but that didn't influence our decision whether to go back at all as there are plenty of 'adult Only' areas if you want just peace and quiet. A superb holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Leonard
8 years 8 months ago
Although we had read the bad write ups before we travelled I can only give praise to the hotel for the cleaniness and the food quality. The resturants offered so much choice that unless you were the type that ate junk food on a regular basis then I could not see anything that you could find fault with. The staff were always helpful and the entertainment was spot on and way above the average entertainment that you get in most hotels.
Although there were a few children staying this did not spoil our trip as they were well catered for. My only concern is that there was the option to upgrade to have all drinks on all inclusive which some rather
undesirables took advantage off and I think this did spoil it for some people if they found themslves in their company!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Joan Armstrong
8 years 9 months ago
Hotel was spotless, rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed, the food was fantastic if there isn't something for you to chose from then there must be something wrong with you because there was so much variety. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for you and were really friendly. If you just want to chill out and have a quiet holiday then this is the place as not much going on outside the hotel unless you hire a car but that suited us. Entertainment wasn't bad but I think most of the hotels are all the same as entertainment goes. I will be going back for my third visit next year. I would recommend the Club Cafe bar just across the road from the entrance to the hotel serves lovely Mythos beer and Cocktails not expensive and they are very friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
Having just returned from 2 weeks at Sensatori this is a true reflection on how we viewed the resort. Having booked a suite for 2 to 5 people with private pool our room consisted of a living room bedroom and bathroom all very nice and as we where just 2 people it was quite adequate
I queried the room lay out with the guest relations person if there had been been 4 or 5 in our party what would have happened she said that they would remove the 2 sofas in the living room and replace them with beds,I explained that by doing this then it would not be a suite as a suite consists of a living room and bedrooms she did not understand.(ha ha)
The food is not up to 5* standard it is not that bad but in the main restaurant there seems to be no organisation and on many occasions tables where not cleaned and although the staff try very hard there needs to be someone taking overall control of the restaurant.
There is a jacuzzi pool with a sign saying no children under 12 the pool it was constantly full with parents with young children and inflatable toys.
Please be aware that the areas are still quite slippery I seen 4 or 5 people fall.
Thomson are trying to market this hotel as 5* we travel 5* all the time too Greece and although the buildings are very nice they still have a long way to go to turn this into a 5* hotel.
This hotel needs to decide if it is for families or couples at the moment they are trying to cater for both and it is not working.
On the plus side we did have a very nice holiday as a holiday is what you personally make of it.
There have been many conflicting reports on this hotel and this is just my personal opinion on what we experienced.
This hotel does not live up to all the hype that Thomson published.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum