Image of Galini Hotel

Galini Hotel

8 of 9 hotels in Anissaras

3 out of 5 from 12 reviews
3 stars
Annisaras, Go├║rnes 700 14, Greece

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dave T
7 years 11 months ago
we stopped at galini hotel it is in my opinion and many who has stopped there it is an holiday from hell what the heck is going on just ask the reps for advice they just could not give you a straight answer because they have not got a clue themselves that is why we never had a welcome meeting it was a bad comments meeting with all who stopped there but it brought us all together thank you olimpic for that at least there was 1 good thing bout the holiday please if you have booked into this hotel try and get it changed asap would like to have a comment back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: olmpic holidays

Rob/Vandra
9 years 8 months ago
We booked this holiday at short notice not knowing the island of Crete at all. Ok, it's not 5star but for the price we paid it was good value. As non-meat eaters we are always anxious about food but the food is more than acceptable, basic, but plenty of it. The hotel could do with a lick paint and a few repairs but it IS clean. The staff are good, friendly and helpful. As for location; it is not for anyone under 24 or those who want party. It's quiet and too far from clubs. Good for older people or those with young families, although it is situated on a hill it might not suit those who have difficulty walking. Buses are also scarce so be prepared to hire a car or pay taxis if you want to get further from the hotel. The nearest beach is a slow 15 min walk. At this time of year there is no entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Bowyer
9 years 8 months ago
This hotel was listed as a 5* but in no way should it be! I think it must have appointed this rating itself it was actually more like a 3* plus.Situated at the end of a high rough road we arrived at 11.30 at night having been travelling since 9am that day. I asked whether there was food available for us, we were directed to some snacks but actually there was nothing left when we looked. We were tired, hungry and very disappointed at this lack of preparation for guests they knew were arriving. In short the receptionist was rude and had a couldn't care less attitude. We found the room for ourselves and were relieved that it was of a reasonable standard but poorly maintained eg I pulled up one of the blinds and it fell off on top of me.The other blinds were all hanging loose but we didn't dare touch them. The restaurant was not adequately staffed and those that were there were very clearly tired and over worked. The food was only average, the deserts being the best bit. The maids were very cheerful and did their best. It is obvious that this hotel lacks leadership and is in need of a shake up. Luckily all we wanted to do was relax and as the weather was so good we managed to that.It is a shame as we felt there was the potential there for it to be a really good hotel if they get their act together.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: This is Travel

Mr B
10 years 8 months ago
The food was terrible, they served pork and chips everyday at lunch, and dinner time and got away with it. The hotel cleansiness was awful,cleaned only twice within the time we stayed which was a week. The hotel location was also awful, the paintwork was damged, alongside a pig running around within the site of the hotel, with stray dogs running around wild. The hotel staff i must admit were quite reasonable, as they were hospitable and welcoming, however the criteria of the hotel did not match our standards. The entertainment was abismol, there was only one night which they had a karaoke night, and only one person performed! To be fair, i would not visit the hotel, and i would personally advise the viewers of this comment to find an alternative hotel.

Want to have a shower, lol, forget about it.

Its in a quiet location, if you would like a quiet holiday, its reasonable, if you are an oap. But if your young vibrant, and looking for entertainment, find an alternative hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Tom And Emily
10 years 11 months ago
We stayed at the Glaini Hotel in july. When we entered the hotel from the front it looked very nice. Inside we were greeted by a man who spoke very good english. He explained everything we needed to know and gave us the key.
We were on the first floor of the hotel. We opened the door to find a small room which held one double bed and a very small bathroom. The bathroom was floor was dirty. The shwoer was just a shower head in which you had to shower yourself with. On many occassions the toilet became blocked. There were missing bits of tiles on the wall and the door didnt stay shut.
In the 'main' room the side tables corners were chipped and walls were a little dirty, also we felt we had to wear shoes as the floor felt dirty. We also opened one cupboard to find a load of pipe work inside it.
The food wasnt good at all. We had chips every luch and dinner time... There was a range of different salads but it felt as if it was missing th emain part of the meal. If you dont like eating meat you will find yourselves eating plates of chips. The breakfast was also a little limited.
The Pool and the poolside bar were very good. The staff there were friendly and spoke better English then other English people!
The taxi service was good- but felt it was a little expensive.
We are not a fussy couple but we felt the money we paid to stay there was a bit much for what it turned out to be.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olymipic Holidays

Michelle, Rick (Shane) & Vinnie
10 years 11 months ago
All Inclusive, what a joke!!! No spirit's were included, only beer, wine and SOME soft drinks, no snacks, you had to have your meals between set times. The rooms did not include air-con or a ceiling fan as stated in some broachers. The location was terrible; expect to have a really quiet holiday! It
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hotels4u

Jodie & Carl
11 years ago
Our first impressions of the hotel were good. When we arrived and checked in we found the staff to be helpful and friendly with excellent english. We were shown to our room which was resonably sized for just two of us, very clean with a stunning sea view. We had a private balcony with table and chairs.

The hotel was perfect for a young couple like us that wanted a quiet and relaxing holiday.

The beach was a short walk away, about 5 minutes, which is worth a visit.

The meals were served buffet style but the food was always readily available, hot and quite nice. Although chips and salad appeared everyday there was always plenty of other alternatives that changed daily. We were pleased we went all inclusive and would recommend this due to the hotels location, as alternatives places to eat were not abundant.

The hotel pool area was clean and safe. There are two pools; a baby pool and a large pool which is quite deep so keep an eye on your children as it gets deep very suddenly. There are plenty of sunbeds surrounding the pool and an area in the shade down one side of the pool which is good if you want to get out of the sun. The pool bar is also clean and well stocked with a good selection of resonably priced snacks. The barman was very entertaining and made fantastic cocktails which were finished off with a sparkler!

Although we went in June it still was not high season so entertainment was minimal. Although we did have bingo and karaoke. We do feel that they should have a small area for dancing as that would have been nice with a disco.

Overall we had a fantastic hloiday. The staff were very helpful and we would visit the hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Dave, Julie, Michelle & Matthew
11 years 10 months ago
We arrived at the hotel at about 6.30am, to be welcomed not only by a fantastic sunrise but also a very helpful staff member. He helped us with our luggage and took us away from the main building, up an unmade road, accross a small 'bridge' to some seperate buildings. When we went into our room we were very surprised because we had a fantastic, ideal, clean, 1st floor apartment, with a balcony (sea views!) kitchen/dining area with 2 beds for our children and a seperate main bedroom with a double bed!!!! We had not expected this much space!! The apartment was cleaned daily and the maid even neatly folded & displayed the kids pyjamas on their beds.

We found the food at the Galini to be very good. I think it has improved a great deal over the last 2 years according to previous reviews. Breakfasts were fine, typically Greek: cakes, cereals, fresh bread, cold meats, cheese, etc. Some days there was scrambled eggs & bacon! Evening meals were great, always a different meat dish, pastas, veg, soup. The large salad selection was always fresh, well prepared & presented. The waiters, Versilly & Manolis, were brilliant. They worked really hard and were really helpful & polite. They really loved our kids!!

There are 2 pools: a kiddies pool about .5m deep with slide and a main pool. Both were very clean although towards the end of our 2 weeks, we think to much chlorine had been added. There were plenty of sunbeds and parasols. There is also a large shaded area. Lunch is available from the pool bar. Good choice, very reasonable prices. Jackie & the other ladies are very friendly. The pool bar is also the Cocktail Bar and stays open until you want it to! The barman, Costas, is a real character. Great fun and always giving out fee shots & drinks!! The pool tables & TV area are next to the bar.

Entertainment includes: BBQ's, Karaoke Night, Greek Night (fortnightly), Bucking Bronco, Bingo & Carriage Rides. We thought that they could have set up a small dancing area and maybe had a disco but generally it was very relaxed.

As the Galini is a little isolated, most guests stay around the hotel. It was a really friendly atmoshere and everyone seemed to talk to everyone. Our kids made lots of new friends, English, French & Greek. We met some really lovely people and had great time.

The only downside to the Galini is that some of the rooms in the main building are a bit small and may not be in the best position, ie: patio on the driveway (noisy), 3/4 beds in one room. Not all rooms have air conditioning yet, those that do, it costs 6 euros per day. If you are not happy with your room, my advise is ask to be moved. If you have 3/4 people in a small room, ask if you can go into an apartment. They may not be able to do it that day but it is worth it !!!!

If I was going back to Crete and wanted a quiet, relaxing holiday, I would definately return to the Hotel Galini
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Chris & Chris
12 years 1 month ago
Although very basic, it was clean. Quite a few people moaned about the food but I think they wanted fish and chips. Im a very picky eater and found that there was something nice for me every meal. The staff were very helpful and let us stay in the room until our bus came to pick us up. The main complaint I'd have would be the flight times as arriving at any Hotel at 5am after a 4 hr flight and a bus ride would cloud anyones judgement.nice pool and great bar top bar man called Kosta
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Tanya And Stuart Wakefield
12 years 1 month ago
We found the hotel to have a good standard of cleanliness. There was a good variety of food. We didnt have the same meal twice over a two week period. The location was situated in a quiet area. Beach 10 min walk away very convenient and suitable for our two year old to play with bucket and spade. Travel by bus to nearly Hersonisis quite cheaply and also to Ag Nic for 18 euros for two adults and one child. Taxi service very good. Hotel had just started doing carriage rides round the local areas. We went on a 2 hr carriage ride around the old Crete villages which was lovely and very unique. All the staff were very friendly and extremly helpful, particularly as our daughter was ill during our stay and they acted quickly by telephoning the local medical centre on several occasions - faultless. The BBQ night was very pleasant. We were very sad to leave some of the nicest people you could have on a holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum