Image of Lyda Apartments

Lyda Apartments

14 of 17 hotels in Gouves

3 out of 5 from 15 reviews
Gouves, Go├║vai 70014, Greece

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Bernie Smyth
9 years ago
Make sure not to stay in the maisonettes, we were put in one and it was awful not very clean rusty fridge and table and chairs and the bed was broken and when I asked to be moved the receptionist was very rude, I eventually got moved next day by another receptionist who was a lot better to deal with. The accomodation is very basic, Bar staff were great and food lovely and not too expensive, go to the superrmarket across road its not as expensive as one on site. The pool area is lovely with great space and well kept.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget

Susana
9 years 3 months ago
Just came back from our 2 weeks stay at Lyda beach in Gouves. Nothing like we expected. Budget Travel advertise this as a quiet and relaxing appartments... nothing further from the truth: noisy lift that only takes you to the first floor???? Very annoyingly loud music in the pool bar until very late and absolutely appalling behaviour of some tourists singing (roaring I may say) until 5 in the morning the day before our departure. Overall very poor - better said non existent, management in the place. Don't go there if you are looking for peace and quiet.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: husband

Brendan Hegarty
10 years ago
What can I saw about the Lyda Beach Apartments , oh yeah, terrible, terrible, terrible,.
My wife myself and our teenage daughter shared a studio apartment which was too small for three adults even though it is advertised that up to four people can be accomadated in these rooms.
The room itself was tiny no table or chairs in the room . Bathroom and shower area tiny, always flooded. Kitchen area ( not even a kettle ).

Our studio was on the first floor overlooking the dining/entertainment area , very noisy ( Kareoke night the worst )there is 24 hour activity around this area. All apartments is this area are very close to each other ( no privicy what so ever ). When on the balcony you can literly reach out and touch the people on the balconies to the left and right of you.

There is a car/quad/moped rental shop plus a very lively music bar ( which never seems to close )near the front apartments , I was informed by residents staying on this side of the complex that the noise from all the activity (motors, music bar, people coming and going )was 24/7.

I have to say that the cleaner who was allocated to our area was one of the nicest and most helpful member of staff that myself and my family have ever met ,
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Bdget Travel

Ber
10 years ago
Just back from Lyda Beach apartments. Was staying in maisonette, compact, but clean. Cleaning staff lovely, very pleasant.

First week was lovely, ideal if you are looking for a relaxing holiday, bit out from the village but had been in this area before and loved it. Beach right across the road.

According to the Holiday brochure the Lyda Beach is suitable for Families and young couples, this only applied to the first week.

Second week, holiday from hell. Complex was taken over by approx 70+ students who over ran that complex and ruined the holiday. Al night parties, pool overtaken, choldren could not get in and then when it was frre advised to stay out as a result of the partygoers.

Would never stay there again!!!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Patrick
10 years ago
My wife and I are just back from Lyda Beach Apartments in Gouves.

Cleanliness wasn't great but to be fair the bathroom and kitchen facilities are in need of an upgrade, so it would be difficult for anyone to make a good impression when cleaning them.
The apartments are just across the road from a sandy beech which is fairly clean with not too many cigarette butts.
The staff were young, friendly and polite but one got the impression there was no one in charge.

All that said, this basic apartment complex would have been OK if it wasn't for some of our fellow holiday makers.
Some people seem to loose all control of themselves and through selfish behavour spoil things for others.
This carry on would not be tolerated at home so why the good people of Greece have to put up with it is beyond me.

Budget Travel describe Gouves as "The perfect holiday choice if you prefer the quiet side of life" ( Summer 2008, page 157 )
So my question is how did so many young people end up in this complex. Now don't get me wrong, young people have to holiday as well as us who "...prefer the quiet side of life". Did Budget Travel or their agents not point out that this is not Hersonnissos or that it is a 20euro taxi ride away from the action, I sure wouldn't be pleased if I ended up in the wrong place.
OK, Budget Travel may say, they did describe Gouves as quiet etc. If so, why did they take so many bookings from customers who should have been sold a product more like Hersonnissos.
Surely Budget Travel must have seen the bookings coming in and they know the age and profile of their customers.


I'll finish my rant by saying we love Greece, especially Crete, we will be back, we may even be back to Gouves but it's unlikely we'll be back to Lyda Beach Apartments.


Patrick
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Mary
10 years 1 month ago
My husbandand i went self catering to lyda beach apartments and were very disappointed.First off to get to our apartment we had to carry our luggage down one flight of stairs with and up three flights.We felt we were being totally ripped off when we discovered that for two weeks we had to pay
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: budget travel

Dusan/Eva
10 years 2 months ago
We went for a holidays with budget travel in June 08.
Start wasn't so great because our plane was 2.5 hour late and when we went home the plane was leaving at 7am so we had to leave hotel at 3.40am so that was crazy..
But except that all holiday was excellent. Room brilliant. On other part of complex than was night bar. room was new and spottless. Three pools only for guests with sunbeds and umbrellas. Therewas as well minimarket in complex.
We rented a buggy so we had a lot of fun.
And budget rep organised for us brilliant jeep adventure, boat trip and waterpark day so we had a lot of fun all time.
p.s. best restaurant in Gouvee is Medusa. Exelent food and brilliant staff.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget

Recommended
Smith
11 years 1 month ago
Stayed at Lyda appartments for last 3 years.staff very friendly and helpful. 3 relly nice pools that are never crowded even in high season. very safe place for our 2 young kids who made great friends every year. Rooms cleaned every day, bed linen 3 times a week, even the cleaners are very pleasant.Food to suit everyone if not they'll make if for you. very cheap and excellent food. we've nothing bad to say, its so good we've booked for 3 weeks this year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget

Recommended
Aisling
11 years 2 months ago
I have to say reading the other reviews from these apartments i was very surprised. June 2007 was my fourth time to visit this complex and i love it. its not just the quietness you find in goves that attracts me to it the people are wonderful.if you are out for a hoilday were you can get away from everything and have a laugh lyda is the place to go.i spent most of my time at the chill out bar with george(the barman). while on hoilday on this occasion the staff from lyda studios and lyda beach brought me to a greek night club it was very different but also very fun it just shows how nice the staff are that they would bring me with them i was on hoildays with my mother this year i'm going back on my own and cannot wait.altought the appartments are basic there is entertainment everynight in the snack bar, the food is lovely (try the lyda speical sandwhich) but the staff make your stay in creta all the better.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: budget travel

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
Re the Lyda Beach Apartments; pulling up off the coach the exterior looks nice - but unfortunately the inside does not tell the same story. First off Staff are very nice, Reception is nice, Pool is grand, Bar is fine, but the rooms are terrible. Really; our apartment was on 1st floor first apartment next to front entrance - walk in and 2/3 steps you've passed your 'kitchen' - hob, draining board, few presses sink - old. Bathroom was the worst - you can't do a 360 in it and we're normal size, shower curtain held up by wire, seriously, ceiling panels loose, gaping, I didn't want to look further up when I saw the concrete blocks above
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunway

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum