Image of Marina Beach Bungalows & Hotel

Marina Beach Bungalows & Hotel

8 of 17 hotels in Gouves

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Kato Goyves, Iraklio 70014, Greece

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Cooper
11 years ago
We visited for the second time and have booked again for 2008. We have never returned to a hotel before revisiting Marina Beach. It is a perfect place to relax with plenty to do if you want a more active holiday. Everyone is polite and friendly. Restaurant staff tried very hard to please and always something to suit everyones needs. Cleanliness excellent, location perfect.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Recommended
Christopher
12 years ago
I went to this hotel in 2005 and 2006 it was brilliant if you go with Viking airways by the way do not get the food its not very nice.

The hotel Marina Beach was brilliant the food was alright but I am fussy so there you go. The entertainment is in an amphitheatre about 20 yards away from the bar. The man who works in the shop is a bit grumpy but the entertainment staff changes every year.

The rooms are very clean no bugs in there at all although you can always here crickets. The location was fabulous only about a 15 minute walk from the hotel was the town which had lots of shops in. I would give the entertainment 4/5 because they were good but if you go for 2 weeks its the same show like the 1st week on the Monday it was a cabaret show and the following Monday was as well but the shows were funny and they try to get everyone involved.

There are 3 pools a bar pool a main pool (seawater pool) with a diving board and an indoor pool. Sunbeds you have to get up around 6 in the morning to get one.

The breakfast is lovely it has donuts on nearly every morning and all the meals are buffet. If you don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hellenic voyages

Recommended
Judith
12 years 11 months ago
Just got home after spending 10 days of lounging by the pool.

The hotel was very clean and staff were friendly with the exception of the man in the shop who was a little miserable.

The food was not too bad although it seemed to cater more for the Italian contingent, but I always found something nice to eat.

The snack bar at the pool was a little disappointing, you could only get a sandwich from there, but you could go to the restaurant.

The entertainment team worked long hours to keep people occupied and even though we didnt join in with the games they were pleasant and gave lots of fun.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic Voyages

Recommended
Tracey
12 years 11 months ago
Just returned from two weeks at the Marina Beach. Location was just a short walk from Gouves centre and just opposite the beach.
We were very dissapointed with this hotel.

It is a large hotel whilst some areas such as resturant looked nice sadly other areas lacked, with old furniture, ripped seats, peeling paintwork etc.
We paid a lot extra for two bungalows apart from a larger room they were basic, dark and furniture was from the 70s.
Food was the worst i have ever had for A/I it was repetitive.
The childrens section had a good supply of spagetti bol, mince burgers, meatballs and chips.
They did put on a greek night which was an additional 18 euros each or another night they had a set menu which was 90 euros for two ( extra)
It was advertised as having two resturants only the buffet was open.
Tour operator advertised this hotel as suitable for families. This hotel is more suitable for toddlers and couples.They did have a kids club for younger children and a babys mini show / disco.
Evening entertainment was appauling firstly the shows they put on were short acts mainly in italian and french so children did not understand them. Other nights they had ballroom dancing in bar area.They did have a dance competition one night but that was ballroom dancing as well!
Although i must say the lads from the Animation time were good fun but they didn't organise the shows.
As a result there was nothing in the evening for the kids to do other than play pool, air hockey etc but these were coin operated and reception staff were not always helpful about changing money for them, at 2 euros a game the cost did mount up.

Yes i will vist Crete again but next time i think we will go self catering.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Alex Rider
13 years ago
As we have been here before approx 4 years ago we were hoping for the same 4 star standard. I have to be honest, it is not a 4 star property any more. My views are only based on the week that my son and I stayed there.

On arrival we were greeted very nicely and showed to our room by the bell boy. The last time our family stayed there we were in the bungalows which on seeing them just before we left still seemed to be the nicest part of the accomodation.

I was disappionted with the hotel room, the wooden drawers where we kept our clothing had split, the bathroom wasn't as kempt as maybe it should be and the air conditioning unit was behind the door and quite rusty.

The pool area itself was as lovely as before, kept wonderfully clean by the domestic staff. There was a large contingent of Italien clients, who did, by enlarge behave themselves, still it made a change from the Brits embaressing themselves!(However there are large contingent of the Union Jack short brigade around).

The food was'nt as nice as before, I know they had to cater for a number of nationalities but the warmth of the food left a lot to be desired.

The location of the hotel was lovely, directly opposite Gouves beach seperated by a small road which I felt quite comfortable leaving my 12 year old cross. The beach itself was kept lovely and clean and the people who run the motorised watersports were so friendly.

When we visited this hotel before there seemed to be many more members of staff especially in the evening around the bar, we were encouraged to sit and be waited on before, where as on this occassion we had to go up to the bar where you could find 2 people serving and 10 people waiting, this in turn caused the bar staff to be a touch irrate on occassion.

Now lets turn our attention to Crete airport!!! How can you possibly cram so many people into a large front room!! The place is the pits of the earth. Minimal air conditioning, little seating and if you are unlucky enough to be delayed you are up a creek.

As I say it must seem to some that I picking the bones out of this place and comparing to our stay before well, yes I am, bearing in mind thatI payed
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Parker
13 years 1 month ago
On arrival at Heraklion airport we were told that our accommodation had been changed to the Marina Hotel.

Although the staff here did their best meet our needs, we did not receive the service that we had paid for which consisted of 5* all inclusive with family rooms.

Our rooms were of poor standard and our family was split up. The manager here has been uncooperative telling us that if we are unhappy we should change hotels (at a further expense).

Our rep was totally useless.

Following discussion with other travellers, we discovered that over 28 people had been placed here instead of the Royal Belvedere (like us) with others arriving by the coach load. This has impacted upon our holiday and our children have suffered with the lack of facilities, unlike if we had been placed in the hotel we had booked and paid for.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic Voyages

John
13 years 1 month ago
Large Hotel with nice restaurant and various patios for drinking etc.

Found the room (hotel) to be quite small and air cond. centrally controlled, which we found could be unpleasant in the morning.

Food was fine with varied menu, plus baguettes salads served during day at bar areas.

Location was very good with a breeze coming in of the beach which was across a narrow road.

Staff in restaurant were very friendly although I found some of the bar staff of an evening to have an attitude problem.

Entertainment was the same as we had in Corfu the year previous, undemanding kids fun.

The hotel was fine and yes we would visit again (soon!)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic

Recommended
13 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Marina Beach hotel all inclusive for a fortnight and just got back last week.

This hotel was fantastic, exceptionally clean. The food was good but anyone travelling there has to bear in mind that the staff are catering for different nationalities so it's not all British style so may not suit everyone.

We thought the food was great and there was absolutely an abundance of it. The barbeque each Thursday evening was absolutely fantastic - food excellent and the way it is set out is a complete work of art. I felt like I was on the Titanic! Fantastic.

The hotel staff were lovely and friendly and we soon got to know them. They are completely professional and really nice people. The entertainment programme goes on all day practically with stretching in the morning, then water aerobics, cocktail game (an absolute hoot), darts game, water polo, mini golf. You just would not get bored there.

The Animation team were brilliant and really funny and we had a great time with them. Where they get their energy from is beyond belief and they speak so many different languages it's unbelievable.

There's a little night club in the hotel and we danced the night away there many times. The main bar is also first class and a very friendly place. We met lots and lots of people there of all different nationalities.

The only complaints I had were a funny electrical socket in our room and some of the sunbeds are past their sell-by date but that's minor compared to the pluses. You also have a fridge in your room.

The rooms were first class and cleaned every day to a high standard.

We've booked to go back in August for 11 nights and I'm counting the days.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic Voyages

Recommended
Gill Richardson
13 years 10 months ago
We have stayed in this hotel on 4 occasions in the last 3 years.

During our last visit we found that the standard of the hotel and the food had dropped dramatically and that the rooms were starting to look shabby.

The air conditioning smelt musty and made the room smell every time we switched it on. It was then switched off half way through our stay which had never happened on previous stays.

The hotel is under different management and this is starting to show with the standards throughout the hotel.

All the staff are very helpful and friendly except the reception staff when you have a complaint.

We travelled with Hellenic Voyages (not for the first time but definately the last). We were advised half way through our holiday that our return flight had been changed from Manchester to Gatwick as they do not confirm your return flight until you are actually in resort. We then waited 2 hours for a minibus to drive us to Manchester which took over 5 hours.

This just finished us off with this hotel and the tour company. I would class this hotel now as 2 star maximum 3. It does not warrant 4 star rating in my opinion.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic Voyages

Kennedy
15 years 1 month ago
When we arrived at the hotel we were very impressed.

We were given our room which was an average size but the 3rd bed was small, and one of the party did manage to cut their toe on the wooden stand it was on!

The Hotel was very clean and found all of the pools to a high standard (we did however not get enough sunbeds one day but this wasnt a problem!!)

We were all inclusive the food is what you expect but the fresh pancakes were a big plus!There were a few little shops along the road by the hotel and the market was good!

The beach was a big plus and we had a go at the water sports (the rings broke down out at sea!!) The hotel staff were very friendly. The club at the hotel didn't mke any noise but when you were there it had a good atmosphere!)

I would go back to this hotel if I could afford it!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Unknown

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum