Image of Ourania Apartments

Ourania Apartments

9 of 17 hotels in Gouves

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
3 stars
Kato Goyves, Gouves 70014, Greece
In traditional Greek village-style buildings, surrounded by shrubs and flowers, the Ourania Apartments are relaxing and friendly. They are ideal for those who want a peaceful retreat and yet still want to be close to the resort and the beach.

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Judith Churchill
9 years 9 months ago
The transfer coach dropped us about 100yards from the apartment. Once checked in the staff could not be more helpful. The apartment on arrival was clean and tidy and was kept this way by the apartment staff. We had a one bedroom apartment and were very happy with the accomodation. The cats must have sensed we were not their friends and we were not bothered by them. The pool area and bar were clean and tidy, the sunbeds were all new and free. I would certainly recommend these apartments to friends.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Sean Batchelor
10 years 7 months ago
We stayed in the Ourinna Appartments, with a great swimming pool and snack bar.

Very friendly family area and great fun had by all.
Location we felt was just right not to busy or to quite as we had 2 under fives.

Rooms were kept very clean and towels and cleaning done every oyher day.

Food at the snack bar was a little expensive but who cares we are on holiday.

Hotel staff very helpful but entertainment a little sparce, however I would go there again.

Sean, Debs, Storm and Ja
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Exell

Recommended
Rachael Jones
11 years 7 months ago
Well I had an amazing time at this hotel and would recommend it anyone. I visited it with my 16 year old daughter as a well done for completing her GCSE's and we both had a very relaxing time.

The hotel staff were fantastic, as was the food.

As I said before I had a very fantastic time and would recommend it to all, there is nothing I could fault (don't let the cats put you off they are very friendly.)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Recommended
Bellamy
11 years 8 months ago
For those of you who want a relaxing holiday this is the one. The rooms were kept very very clean and all had a balcony. The food at the snack bar was good and 'happy hour' at the bar always welcome.

It is sited away from the busy bit but a number of restaurants are 10mins walk away whilst the main street is 20-25mins walk.

This is a great resort for exploring the North coast East amd South of Heraklion. Mylos and Altantos restaurants highly recommended.

Car hire cheap - we paid E15 per day.
The previous reports of the cats being wild are somewhat exagerated. They are lovely amnd very cute.
Overall you cant go much wrong.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Rose
11 years 8 months ago
The Ourania was fantastic .... The apartment was kinda basic , but had everything we needed.. 2 ring hob , fridge , kettle etc and we had a fairly big balcony which looked over the complex and out to the sea .fantastic ... the rooms were spotless , and kept that way for the 2 weeks we were there ...pool area was kept clean and tidy with more than enough sunbeds ..free. The staff were friendly , helpful and courteous ...The food was good and at a fair price , although we ate in Gouves itself most nights. Location was great . close to beach , resturants and some shops ... and a short taxi ride (about 8 euros) took you into the town centre. I would recommend the Ourania apartments to friends and family.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: XL

Recommended
Becks
11 years 9 months ago
Myself and my boyfriend stayed in Ourania for a week in May and had a lovely time. Admittedly we were slightly worried when the coach pulled up at 11.30pm and we were greeted by a man with a pick up truck for our suitcases and then had to walk down a dirt track to get to the resort, but once we were inside we felt much better!

We were shown to our room, which was very clean and tidy and we were immediately impressed by our little balcony surrounded by pink flowers and a lovely view of the pool and bar. It is a 10-15minute walk to get to the shops, bars and beach etc but if you want a quiet holiday then this is ideal, although the far end of Gouves is more lively with quite a few noisier bars.

For a busier night, Hersonissos is 10mins away by taxi (costing approx 10euro) and here you will find too many shops to look in and amazing restaurants and bars along the harbour! Heraklion is also only around 15mins away and the bus stop is just up the road.

If a taxi driver sees you waiting for the Heraklion bus they may stop and you can negotiate a good price! All in all a lovely week, friendly ppl, good food and drink and beautiful weather and ideal if you want a quiet week away from it all!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Joanne Payne
13 years 4 months ago
Stayed at the Ourania Apartments for the first time (My boyfriend had been there in April) and was so impressed with everything.

The rooms were basic but fine for what we wanted.

Snacks were available from the bar - although we ate out most of the time as there were some fantastic tavernas nearby - Mylos, and Blue Sky Beach Bar on the front.

The location perfect! Near town and shops. Easy to get to everywhere if you hire a car, very central.

The staff were great. Costas and Becky were lovely and Bob was a diamond once you got to know him!

I'd definitely stay here again. I didn't want my first trip to be full of lager louts and partying. Wanted bustle in the town and relaxing everywere else and that's exactly what we got.

Very tearful when I had to leave!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Toni Pownall
13 years 4 months ago
Hi,never been to Crete before, but had been to Corfu and mainland Greece.

Hotel was O.k. and clean, althought we did have to wait for our rooms to be cleaned when we got there. We didn't arrive till early evening either, so that was slightly dissapointing, but once in, the room was clean.

Our room was ground level and was split into two levels, (bedroom 1 level with kitchen, bathroom up 3 steps and then further bedroom up another 3 steps). All rooms clean and quite cool, due to the shutters on the windows. There was a tv in our room and of an evening, they would put on a english film of some sort.

Outside, we were very near the pool, which was great for the kids. There were lots of cats and kittens, but I wouldn't reccommened touching them, as some were quite nasty. Also, there are quite a few trees providing good shading around the pool if need be. There are sun loungers and these were free. Also, there were 2 showers just to cool off with and a toilet block so you didn't have to go back to your room.

There was also a bar that was open all day, providing snack food as well. This was quite reasonable, but we were there for the last 2 weeks of the season and things were running low food wise.

As regard to the location. It took about 10 mins to walk to the beach and there were a few good shops to get bread, milk and so on. Also, a few good cafe/restaurants to dine out. These catered quite well for children. Leaving the hotel and heading back uo to the main road, there was a five minute walk to the bus stop and the buses ran very frequently, to both the east and west of the island.

Please remember to cover up on the buses though, no bikinis, you must have a t-shirt on, as I found out!!

Back to the hotel. We had nothing entertainment wise, maybe this was due to it being the end of the season, but it was a downfall. They do have sat tv and a pool table and one gaming machine, but after a few days, this got a bit boring.

I wouldn't go back, but then again, I don't believe in going the same place twice, the world is too large to stick with the same thing.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Jim
13 years 5 months ago
Nice to be dumped at the end of a dirt track in the middle of the night, then wait till the rep had to go and wake Costas out of his bed, who then greeted us with a pickup truck to put our luggage on. Then in quick style we had to follow his truck up the dirt track were he quickly ran us round to our room,

Nice man, he showed us the room and found it to be disgusting shower rusted and toilet not clean also two single beds instead of double, blankets in cupboard smelled foisty, pointed out to Costa this was not the room location we were told we would be staying in but told us that was all he had, to late to argue see rep next day.

The rep duly points out to us that there were no rooms reserved only if specifically paid for in the UK which we pointed out we had done BUT Costa was not having any of it because the room WE were supposed to have was empty and awaiting his friends in two days time. Never mind he let us have a room that was cleaner than the first.

If you like a good drink you will be the bee
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jmc

Reiss
13 years 8 months ago
The hotel was great, wouldnt reccomend touching the kittens and cats there though as they are wild and dont look too good. Kostas as said before is such a good guy. Lively but yet quiet man! Great entertainment from him! Hes a good laugh. The odd Brekies we had there was lovely! Mylo's Fav resturant. About 5 mins walk from Apartments as is the supermarket. No cockroaches or anything. Great place. Nice pool, Pool table, a little hard to play on though as it has a slite tilt! About 10-20 mins walk from main streets of gouves. Lovely atmosphere, Views.. And if your a olive lover... its your place!!! Only bad thing is the sound of cockerals at 6/7 in the morning!! Great place to relax but also have fun! All would enjoy!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum