Image of Gouves

Gouves Holidays

3 out of 5 from 65 reviews

Hotels in Gouves, Greece

Image of Astir Beach Hotel
13 of 17 hotels in Gouves
9 Reviews
Image of Blue Aegean Aparthotel
4 of 17 hotels in Gouves
3 Reviews
Image of Blue Sky Kaissa Beach Apartments
11 of 17 hotels in Gouves
1 Review
Image of Despo Hotel
11 of 17 hotels in Gouves
1 Review
Image of Ederi Hotel
16 of 17 hotels in Gouves
7 Reviews
Image of Elpida Studios & Apartments
15 of 17 hotels in Gouves
4 Reviews
Image of Gouves Mare Suites & Hotel
1 of 17 hotels in Gouves
2 Reviews
Image of Grecotel Amirandes Hotel
17 of 17 hotels in Gouves
1 Review
Image of John Mary Apartments
1 of 17 hotels in Gouves
2 Reviews
Image of Kaissa Beach Apartments
5 of 17 hotels in Gouves
1 Review
Image of Klio Apartments
10 of 17 hotels in Gouves
4 Reviews
Image of Lavris Paradise Hotel
7 of 17 hotels in Gouves
5 Reviews
Image of Lyda Apartments
14 of 17 hotels in Gouves
15 Reviews
Image of Magda Hotel
5 of 17 hotels in Gouves
1 Review
Image of Marina Beach Bungalows & Hotel
8 of 17 hotels in Gouves
10 Reviews
Image of Ourania Apartments
9 of 17 hotels in Gouves
12 Reviews
Image of Sweet Memories Apartments
3 of 17 hotels in Gouves
1 Review

65 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    29
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Billington
8 years ago
we stayed in gouves thay seem to be trying to keep it clean more bins needed its not a lively resort more laidback and quite theres a good sports bar where anna and thomas make you very welcome beaches kept cleaned we would be back next year
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Mr Bown
8 years ago
very clean indeed /most bars toilets are spotless /beach
very safe for children
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
AMANDA
8 years 9 months ago
This resort needs a good clean up. There were bags of decaying rubbish at the back of the beach & seaweed was left on the sand & got very smelly in the hot weather. There are cracks in the pavements which are dangerous at night.

I am really sorry that this is the case as the apartments are all lovely & clean and the people the friendliest imagainable. The food was lovely & very reasonable - so time for someone to clean up Gouves.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Chris And Di G
8 years 9 months ago

Very much for couples.....very little for kids (but then we weren't looking for it !!)

Limited nite life....again we weren't looking for it....not boring but nothing to excite the juices if you want a "ball"
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
D.D
8 years 10 months ago
Gouves was very very boring, after a couple of days we hired a car for a week to get away from the bars in the street, if you like watching sport, fool and horses or mr bean you love it. Ther is no entertainment on at all, the street bar did do abit of karaoke and played music but football was on one telly and mr bean on another telly, Thomas the owner looked like Eric Cantana, and he likes putting a 'good' price on the beer, we had 8 beers in there and cost 38 euro's didn't go in again. The beach is very good for getting a tan, it does get windy and you do not feel the sun, we found the lady who runs the yellow sunbeds (anna) very nice and very helpful she tells you the dangers of the beach and she keeps the 'lucky lucky' men of her area the others sunbeds people let them on the patch. If you stay at The Klio apartments it is a short walk to the beach just a couple of minutes, when you walk to the 'Street' it will take you 15 minutes, there are some very nice places to eat on the beach front as you walk to the 'Street' . The last thing I say is about the airport, wow, you may have to wait outside until the rep calls you in, then you queue to get your bags weighed and if you are over weight you get charged 12 euro's for every kilo you are over, after they done that you take your bags to the next desk to get it x-rayed and then it goes to the plane, then you go and queue up again to gor through security which takes ages, when your done you are in the complex for leaving you are like sardines in a tin nowhere to move, just like other creek airports, enjoy
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Bernie Smyth
8 years 10 months ago
Gouves is very quiet and we had to get a taxi from our apartments whenever we wanted to go to different restaurants which adds to the cost of a night out. It was a good fifteen minute walk to the beach which is not good in 33 degree heat !
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Susana
9 years 1 month ago
Crete is certainly beautiful but there are not many amenities in Gouves, a couple of restaurants and a few little souvenir shops that harrass you every step to get you in and buy....
It's worth going to the Aquarium, probably the only thing worthy appart from the beach itself, which was actually nice. It's supposed to be peaceful and quiet but Lyda Beach resort is the opposite of that... So you are in the middle of nowhere but with the same noise as in Hersonissos in your pool bar.
The beach across is completely full of sunbeds and umbrellas that you had to pay for. Hardly any space to lay down your towel and dirty looks if you move a sunbed to do so... Is there no laws in Crete regarding sunbeds occupation on beaches like in most countries???

We went to Agios Nikolaos for a day and oh gosh, I wish we had booked an appartment over there instead, beautiful village, very picturesque and many things to do with the choice of quiet too. Next time we'll go solo, never again package holidays...
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Brendan Hegarty
9 years 10 months ago
The resort of Gouves is truly a beautiful place to stay. The beaches and all of the restaurants and taverna , which offer beautiful meals and snacks at very reasonable prices are dotted all along the waters edge , but it is the people of Crete that make this a beautiful holiday destination , if you do decide to holiday in Gouves pick your accommodation carefully.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Ber
9 years 10 months ago
Have stayed in Gouves before and if you are looking for a laid back holiday, this is your place. The resort is clean on a greek level, some beautiful restaurants on the beach. Beautiful beaches, some with sand and some with stone, something to suit every body.

The locals adore children and 90% of the restaurants cater for the kids with beautiful playgrounds attached to the restaurants.

The Oasis restaurant is a must to visit, fantastic food and atmosphere.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Patrick
9 years 10 months ago
We expected Gouves to be a quiet, peaceful resort which it is but our apartment complex wasn't. There is a good choice of places to eat, drink and shop. The beachs are ok but are littered. Pick your apartments carefully, read the reviews and ask others who have been there. Hopefully Gouves won't end up being as wild as Hersonnissos or Malia.

Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Blue Aegean Aparthotel
Blue Aegean Aparthotel
Gouves, Greece
Fantastic holiday
Image of Despo Hotel
Despo Hotel
Gouves, Greece
None existent rep !
Image of Gouves Mare Suites & Hotel
Gouves Mare Suites & Hotel
Gouves, Greece
Just arrived home from Gouves Mare, what a excelle…
Image of Blue Sky Kaissa Beach Apartments
Blue Sky Kaissa Beach Apartments
Gouves, Greece
stayed here last year great inprovment cleaned eve…
Image of Kaissa Beach Apartments
Kaissa Beach Apartments
Gouves, Greece
The accommodation can really be summed by saying i…
Image of Lyda Apartments
Lyda Apartments
Gouves, Greece
Make sure not to stay in the maisonettes, we were …
Image of Klio Apartments
Klio Apartments
Gouves, Greece
Klio Apartments are ok, the rooms are very standar…
Image of Grecotel Amirandes Hotel
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel
Gouves, Greece
What a pity this fantastic report was posted from …
Image of Ourania Apartments
Ourania Apartments
Gouves, Greece
The transfer coach dropped us about 100yards from …
Image of Magda Hotel
Magda Hotel
Gouves, Greece
This hotel was spotless, the staff were very frien…
Other popular destinations
Image of Sidari
Sidari
Corfu
Image of Pefkos
Pefkos
Rhodes
Image of Stalis
Stalis
Crete
Image of Kalamaki
Kalamaki
Zante
Image of Malia
Malia
Crete
Image of Faliraki
Faliraki
Rhodes
Image of Kardamena
Kardamena
Kos
Image of Hersonissos
Hersonissos
Crete
Image of Kavos
Kavos
Corfu
Image of Roda
Roda
Corfu