Image of Gouves

Gouves Holidays

3 out of 5 from 65 reviews

Hotels in Gouves, Greece

Image of Astir Beach Hotel
13 of 17 hotels in Gouves
9 Reviews
Image of Blue Aegean Aparthotel
4 of 17 hotels in Gouves
3 Reviews
Image of Blue Sky Kaissa Beach Apartments
11 of 17 hotels in Gouves
1 Review
Image of Despo Hotel
11 of 17 hotels in Gouves
1 Review
Image of Ederi Hotel
16 of 17 hotels in Gouves
7 Reviews
Image of Elpida Studios & Apartments
15 of 17 hotels in Gouves
4 Reviews
Image of Gouves Mare Suites & Hotel
1 of 17 hotels in Gouves
2 Reviews
Image of Grecotel Amirandes Hotel
17 of 17 hotels in Gouves
1 Review
Image of John Mary Apartments
1 of 17 hotels in Gouves
2 Reviews
Image of Kaissa Beach Apartments
5 of 17 hotels in Gouves
1 Review
Image of Klio Apartments
10 of 17 hotels in Gouves
4 Reviews
Image of Lavris Paradise Hotel
7 of 17 hotels in Gouves
5 Reviews
Image of Lyda Apartments
14 of 17 hotels in Gouves
15 Reviews
Image of Magda Hotel
5 of 17 hotels in Gouves
1 Review
Image of Marina Beach Bungalows & Hotel
8 of 17 hotels in Gouves
10 Reviews
Image of Ourania Apartments
9 of 17 hotels in Gouves
12 Reviews
Image of Sweet Memories Apartments
3 of 17 hotels in Gouves
1 Review

65 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    29
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Rose
18 years 1 month ago
The Creten people were brilliant ..... friendly , helpful and very courteous . Gouves is a nice town and the choice of tavernas etc is great ...something for all tastes .
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Anne Taylor
18 years 2 months ago
Gouves is a lovely quiet resort with a nice beach, not for clubbers but great for couples or young families wanting a relaxing break. This early in the season the beach needed a bit of tidying up. The sunbeds are 6 euros for 2 with an umberella for the day. The road separates the hotels from the beach but it is a no through road so not busy. There is a pavement which runs along the seafront for strolling along and plenty of bars, restaurants and small shops.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Pod
18 years 2 months ago
The resort was very clean and you saw people litter picking all the time.

In the town (5 minute walk) there is quite a few bars and resturants, enough to keep the drinkers happy!!!

The beach!! in a brochure I picked up, it said " Gouves famous for its long sandy beach" Where?? If you want a beach holiday, go somewhere else!

Would definitely return.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Diana Lettice
18 years 2 months ago
The resort of Gouves in very small but has everything you need from chemists to bars, restaurants and shops.
The staff in the restaurants are welcoming and extremely friendly. For an excellent meal try "Atlantis", we went there several times and it was great on each occasion.
The beach is clean and a shortcut led from my hotel straight down to an area of the beach so they got our trade for the week. However, Anna who ran the site was fantastic so she deserved our custom anyway. Two sunbeds and a brolly are six euros for the day, which is a bargain.

Would definately like to visit again!.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
MICHAEL BEYNON
18 years 2 months ago
Lovely beaches with fantastic water.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
A.Tunstall
18 years 2 months ago
The resorts Cleanliness is not up to my usual standards.
Resort entertainment may be better later on in the season but when i was there they were touting for business because the tourists were not there.The beach was average.

I will never visit Crete again because it is not up to a standard that one would expect from an Island which has been in the Common Market since 1986.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Becks
18 years 2 months ago
Myself and my boyfriend stayed in Ourania for a week in May and had a lovely time.

Admittedly we were slightly worried when the coach pulled up at 11.30pm and we were greeted by a man with a pick up truck for our suitcases and then had to walk down a dirt track to get to the resort, but once we were inside we felt much better!

We were shown to our room, which was very clean and tidy and we were immediately impressed by our little balcony suronded by pink flowers and a lovely view of the pool and bar.

It is a 10-15minute walk to get to the shops, bars and beach (slightly disappointed with the beach) etc but if you want a quiet holiday then this is ideal, although the far end of Gouves is more lively with quite a few noisier bars.

For a busier night, Hesonissos is 10mins away by taxi (costing approx 10euro) and here you will find too many shops to look in and amazing restaurants and bars along the harbour! Heraklion is also only around 15mins away and the bus stop is just up the road. If a taxi driver sees you waiting for the Heraklion bus they may stop and you can negotiate a good price!

All in all a lovely week, friendly ppl, good food and drink and beautiful weather and ideal if you want a quiet week away from it all!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Becky
18 years 10 months ago
I have been to greece before but Gouves in Crete really stood out with its cleanliness.We think they even wash the roads. The sea was so safe stretching out with vast shallow waters. The main street was a good 10 min walk form the hotel with the usuall bars and tourist gifts. We enjoyed the paece and tranquility of a small resort especially as we have young children.The locals were lovely and thought it was great when you atempted some Greek.All I can say is that we wished we were there for 3 weeks not 2.Hoping to go again next year.A perfect holiday.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Judith
18 years 10 months ago
Gouves was a quiet villagy type resort and was great for a quiet relaxing holiday
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Tracey
18 years 10 months ago
Gouves is a small resort with mainly shops, resturants and bars in a long road.For those like ourselves who like a quieter location then it is ideal, with friendly locals. We spent most nights in the Brit sports bar (opposite the irish bar)Thomas and Anna who own it make you very welcome and our kids loved it. For those football supporters then this is the place to watch the matches. If you are a Liverpool supporter let Thomas no, he and his family have been life long supporters and loves to talk to his "Liverpool Friends"
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Blue Aegean Aparthotel
Blue Aegean Aparthotel
Gouves, Greece
Fantastic holiday
Image of Despo Hotel
Despo Hotel
Gouves, Greece
None existent rep !
Image of Gouves Mare Suites & Hotel
Gouves Mare Suites & Hotel
Gouves, Greece
Just arrived home from Gouves Mare, what a excelle…
Image of Blue Sky Kaissa Beach Apartments
Blue Sky Kaissa Beach Apartments
Gouves, Greece
stayed here last year great inprovment cleaned eve…
Image of Kaissa Beach Apartments
Kaissa Beach Apartments
Gouves, Greece
The accommodation can really be summed by saying i…
Image of Lyda Apartments
Lyda Apartments
Gouves, Greece
Make sure not to stay in the maisonettes, we were …
Image of Klio Apartments
Klio Apartments
Gouves, Greece
Klio Apartments are ok, the rooms are very standar…
Image of Grecotel Amirandes Hotel
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel
Gouves, Greece
What a pity this fantastic report was posted from …
Image of Ourania Apartments
Ourania Apartments
Gouves, Greece
The transfer coach dropped us about 100yards from …
Image of Magda Hotel
Magda Hotel
Gouves, Greece
This hotel was spotless, the staff were very frien…
Other popular destinations
Image of Sidari
Sidari
Corfu
Image of Pefkos
Pefkos
Rhodes
Image of Stalis
Stalis
Crete
Image of Kalamaki
Kalamaki
Zante
Image of Malia
Malia
Crete
Image of Faliraki
Faliraki
Rhodes
Image of Kardamena
Kardamena
Kos
Image of Hersonissos
Hersonissos
Crete
Image of Kavos
Kavos
Corfu
Image of Roda
Roda
Corfu

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.