Image of Golden Bay Apartments

Golden Bay Apartments

4 out of 5 from 40 reviews
3 stars
Gournes, Γούρνες, Gournes 71500, Greece
The Golden Bay apartments are a good choice for families, couples and those seeking good quality accommodation in a relaxing setting. Situated on the seafront in the small resort of Gournes.

40 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    21
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ann
9 years 1 month ago
Golden Bay is a lovely, quiet resort. The staff were excellent and extremely friendly. The rooms were very clean and cleaned daily. The towels and bedding were changed every 3 days. The pool area did get very crowded and it was difficult to get a sun bed. We found the food at the resort to be the best locally. The barman, George, was brilliant entertainment and very informative with helpful knowledge of the Island. We stayed B&B and breakfast was served from 9am. This was a little late for us as we like to get away to explore the Island early. On our first morning it took 40 mins just for our toast, which they call continental breakfast, to arrive so did not bother with breakfast there after. I would not recommend this resort if you have children as apart from the pool and beach ther was little to do. This resort is ideal for couples, like us, who want a quieter, more relaxing holiday and in our opinion the car was a godsend! I would recommend this resort for anyone wanting a quiet, peaceful stay. The only reason I wouldn't visit again is beacause we never stay in same place twice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jo Crabtree
9 years 3 months ago
we come here on a late deal for a break and we really enjoyed it the rooms were lovely the staff was great made u feel great a very relaxing holiday
the food was fantastic never had a bad meal i would say the only thing that it lacks is some evening entertainment prehaps a quiz or something as it did get a bit repetitive on a nite
the greek nite was brill we had a right laugh got a bit tipsy to as if was free wine
if you want a relaxing hols then this is the place but if ya want night life then dont bother as nothing is around you im going back again next year taking me daughter and grandson we loved it x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Paul And Family
9 years 3 months ago
we wanted a quiet location to spend a relaxing week with the kids,we got exactly that! the golden bay complex is clean,excellent staff and the food was made fresh to a high standard.the location is quiet yet has everything we needed,tavernas,supermarkets,nice beaches and the busier resort of kokini hani is only a 20 minute walk.
at kokini hani they have a wide range of shops and a large supermarket.
i would reccomend this place for anyone wanting a safe family environment,located only a few miles away is a huge water park and the large aquarium is a 10 minute walk,enough to do for the kids without the hustle of rowdy groups of party goers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Recommended
Williams
9 years 4 months ago
The hotel/appartment was very clean - had our rooms cleaned everyday, clean sheets and towels twice during our week long stay.

The pool was very clean and the area around it was well looked after. Our only complaint really was that the poolside music was a bit too loud and intrusive.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The First Choice Rep was around most mornings and evenings with a wealth of knowledge about where to go and how to get there.

We ate at the hotel taverna twice. Service excellent and the food very good and tasty. Price wise on a par with other local tavernas.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Bailey Family
10 years ago
the appartments was clean the pool was good but visted the beach most days ,has it was only out of the hotel . met great people there and the staff was so nice they would do anything for you., we ate at the hotel every night but tried other places in day. go out right of the hotel and walk for about 1 mile and you come to gouves which is nice place or get on the bus and go to malia for the day which another good day out .gournes is a very quite place but good if you want to relax which our family liked the weather was good dropped cool at night but good when you have had it hot all day i would recommend this hotel to any one we had a fab holiday and would go back there again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Forsyth
10 years ago
We were half board but given a 2nd class menu in the dinning room, other guests selected from the main menu. Food basic, but hotel noisey at night with other guests drinking until late ~ 2 am by the pool bar.

TV did not work and handed in post cards at reception which never arrived, we handed over the cash for postage stamps with the cards, did think not a good idea at the time - so true!

They are nicer and cleaner parts of Crete, so will not return to this area or hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Marti.pam And Alix
10 years ago
the hotel was clean and tidy the food was very nice and there was a wide range to choose from.the hotel is right next to the sea.the staff are brilliant and will bend over backwards to help you.give this location 2 years and this will be the place to go .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Marti Pam And Alix
10 years ago
just like to say about the staff irania ,arsha and yannis were top people but you will have to take my word for that wait till you hear yannis sing like a virgin on the kareoke its awsome yannis will stay open in the bar till the last man drops >watch out for his shots and yannis says he has something to offer but you will have to ask the girls about that top man yannis . overall a great week and we will be back to golden bay again, marti n pam
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Mrs K F Forsyth
10 years ago
To re-iterate what my husband has written I just had to say something about the postcards just to update on the situation.

The postcards were posted finally on 6th November 2008, which is amazing as we returned to the UK on 16th September. The curel twist in the tail was that I wrote a letter to my Dad and his partner which arrived this Tuesday 11th November 2008 which was my Dad's funeral day. The late arrival of this card in particular has caused an enormous amount of upset to not just me but even more so to my Dad's grieving partner. This tardiness and sheer lack of service and care should not go un-noticed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Veronica
10 years 1 month ago
The appartments were very clean and the staff friendly but we slept very badly at night as we prefer fresh air to air conditioning and there was constant aircraft noise both day and night.The pool is fairly small and people grab sunbeds very early so we went to the beach every day.The Greek Evening was fun and the food at the on sight taverna was fine-we ate there twice including the Greek Evening buffet.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum