Image of San Giorgio Hotel

San Giorgio Hotel

5 of 19 hotels in Skala

5 out of 5 from 9 reviews
280 82, Skala, Kefalonia - Ionische Inseln, Greece

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Denise
9 years 11 months ago
Stayed in apartments. Steep and lots of steps to some. Views wonderful from apartments. Very clean. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Nicest place in Greece. Quiet and relaxing. Good place to chill. Courtesy bus to main strip is helpful. Nice walk also. Restuarants in general very good. Would go back but would probably stay in hotel part. Spent two weeks relaxing for 25 wedding anniversary. Enjoyed everything about it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Draisey
10 years 3 months ago
This is a great hotel. Just returned from a weeks holiday and had a great time.

The hotel room was very spacious with a really large terrace which we were very pleased with. The bathroom was also large. The rooms were cleaned well and fresh flowers were placed on the dressing table.

The hotel food was of a very high standard. Breakfast consisted of cereal, toast, breads, croissants, cake, scrambled egg, beans and sausage and fruit salad. We chose to eat at the hotel at night twice during our stay and both times the food was excellant - very large portions! The lamb kleftico was delicious!The views from the restaraunt are great and it was very relaxing to sit here at night, looking out at the totally unspoilt landscape. The snack bar food was also nice.

The location of the hotel is about a 45 minute walk from Scala. The hotel does provide a courtesy bus which helps!But we did enjoy the walk especially after a meal! We felt the location of the hotel was perfect as it was lovely and relaxing, but also in reach of Scala.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and organised to drop off your cases at your room when you checked in. The staff were also very helpful.

During our stay there was entertainment on a few nights.

We would love to visit this hotel again and would recomend it to friends and family.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Ms Bush
10 years 10 months ago
Stayed at the San Giorgio hotel, one week, October half term 2007. Two adults, one teenage daughter (14). We wanted a quiet relaxing week of each others company, plenty of books, iPods, 'chilling' round the pool(s), nice evening meals, and to see a bit of the island. Very pleased because we got more or less exactly that.
The San Giorgio lived up to all the glowing references that we read online beforehand - the setting, views, and layout are all fantastic. The staff know the meaning of 'good customer service' just by being nice people, and are very relaxed but efficient and helpful with everything. The cleaners must get a special mention.especially Alexandra who cleaned our room superbly daily. The courtesy minibus into Scala is a great little extra although the walk only took us about 1/2 an hour. The pools are superb and loads of sunbeds/space, no matter what time of day (unlike the big name hotels), a real joy to not go through the morning ritual of chasing beds with towels etc. Although I cant say that its like this in the summer season. Scala itself can be walked around in 1/2 an hour, but if you take your time to explore, there are things to see and some terrific restaurants. The Pines, Flamingo, Siroco (highly recommended), Symposium (bit more expensive but worth it)
The best part of the week, without a doubt was the all day coach tour. Didnt hire a car this time, as a wee bit unsure of some of the mountain roads/bends, but you MUST see this island. Get yourself out at least once. As nice as the San Giorgio is, do not stay in hotel every day. Despite the book/film, its still not 'opened up' and been spoilt. Truly beautiful place.
A couple of negatives that are VERY trivial, but I think worth mentioning.
The breakfast is very basic continental - toast,cereal,tea,coffee, juice - if you want egg,bacon, sausage, etc, you have to pay extra eg boiled egg
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Fletcher
11 years 1 month ago
Great location for a peaceful, relaxing holiday. With three pools and plenty of sunbeds, there is no mad dash for a spot.
Highly recommended for those looking to relax.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Roger & Anita
12 years 3 months ago
Overall excellent.

We are going back May 2007.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Recommended
Jackie
13 years 3 months ago
We have been to many hotels in different places in greece but this one is definatly the best by far. Cleanliness was second to non and the staff couldnot be any more helpfull or nice.

Although there wasn't a lot of choice for breakfast it did set you up for the day. The location of the hotel was 2-3km out of the resort centre, which may seem a long way but makes for a lovely 45min stroll, allowing you to take in what kefalonia is all about.

Fantastic accomodation will be back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Recommended
Gill Tearle
13 years 11 months ago
I have stayed at St Gorgio in Skala twice and it is one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

The first time I stayed was in the hotel and the second was self catering.

The hotel is clean friendly and the restaurant was very good.

The hotel has everying you need and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Kefalonia.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
John Cornish
14 years ago
My family recently stayed at the San Giorgio apartments nr.Skala and we were absolutely delighted with every aspect of this holiday.

The apartments were well situated with three swimming pools (not once did we have to scramble for sunbeds.) Our two apartments had fantastic views and they were cleaned to an inch of their lives every day.

We will definately return to the San Giorgio and fully recommend it.

Kefalonia is a wonderful Island and after being back in England for 3 weeks now, we are still 'holiday sick' and want to go back to Kefalonia.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Karen Sadler
14 years 3 months ago
Fantastic hotel we went when it had just opened so didn't know what to expect.

It was quite a walk from the main town but as we enjoy walking anyway that was fine and for a measly 4 euro's taxi home at night, very friendly helpful staff.

In the town we tried most of the restaurants the best was the little one on the corner can't remember its name though the best bar to go in was spiros he was great kept giving us vodka shots.

They were doing quite a bit of building further along from San Giorgio so we will definitely go back a very relaxing holiday watch out for the sheep and goats walking along the road.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum