Image of Pelagos Bay Hotel

Pelagos Bay Hotel

10 of 19 hotels in Skala

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
Skala, Σκάλα, 28082, Greece

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mrs York
We will not be visiting again!
6 years 2 months ago
I must have been in some sort of time warp as my experience is quite different than a lot of other guests.

Firstly they charge too much for the safety deposit boxes - 20 Euros for 1 week.

Towels - they only change them once a week and this is a hygiene risk. There should be fresh towels every day. I heard from a guest that they will give you a fresh one every day but the hotel charge for this.

The breakfast is a joke as all they offer you is the usual tea or coffee, orange cordial and toast. All the other items you expect to be offered such as Greek yogurt are charged per item. Bar prices are expensive, for example 2.50 Euro for a can of coke.

We will not be visiting this Hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Jon Clark
7 years 10 months ago
First the positives. Lovely little family run apartments with superb sea views,
spacious rooms, cleaned up to 6 times per week, great power shower, brilliant for getting rid of that sand! Fantastic staff, with Billy and Yannis making sure that everyone has a good holiday. Short walk (Approx. 20 Minutes down a slight hill) into Skala. Superb home-cooked food (especially the moussaka) Right, the negatives. The First Choice breakfast is very basic, a choice of toast, toast or toast, the hotel provide complimentary cornflakes, surely first choice can pay the hotel more and get some muesli, Greek yogurt and fruit. Even some boiled eggs!
My biggest complaint is the noise. Various comments have been raised about this on several review websites. For us we can only comment on what we experienced, we stayed in block 20/21/22 and were opposite the pool area and even with the shutters, window and air-con on we could still hear the music or signing etc from the pool area, which on some nights went on until 4am. The worst being on first night when after being up since 2am the night before was a bit unwelcome to say the least. Twice we had to go down and request that the music be turned down. On Speaking to Billy the next morning he did say that it is a lively bar with the music and signing going on until 5am. I explained that we shouldn't have to shut the shutters and windows and turn on the air-con in order to drown out the noise to which Billy didn't give a plausible reply. Out of the 7 nights we were there, we returned back to the hotel most nights past 0100 to find that there were on occasions 4 or less people in the pool area with the music banging out and people having to shout to one another in order to hold down a conservation.
I'd say to anyone wanting a quiet nights sleep to look elsewhere, a 'Buyer Beware' if you like, unless you want to have the air-con on and windows shut which is a real shame because the hotel doesn't need to have a night-club feel to it.
That said the Weather, choice of restaurants and beach make up for the lack of quality sleep. However if we go to Skala again it wont be to the Pelagos Bay unless the Hotel look to address this problem.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
ELLEN TURNER
8 years 11 months ago
malcolm and ellen celebrated their 25th wedding anniversary last july 7th july,we had a wonderful time and were made to feel like part of the family,every thing about this hotel is too good to be able to explain which is whu we are now looking to return again this july, and be reunited with billy barbara and ayesha and the family only wish we had their e mail address to be able to send a letter to them.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended
Steve
10 years 10 months ago
Good points:
Excellent hotel, Billy and family make you feel very welcome and after a few day's you cannot help but feel attached to the staff and it's surroundings.
Staff are fantastic - Yannie (spelling?), Joy and Asba spelling?) are lovely people.
A nice balance of entertainment - not to much and just a few nights where you can't help but participate.
The snack menu is fantastic, the food is home made and excellent, very tasty and on par with any other restaurants in Skala.
A generally nice crowd of guests - No lager louts - just a generally mixture of all walks of life who enjoy a drink and a laugh.

Negative Points:
The First Choice breakfast is an insult, cornflakes and toast!
Even if they added a few more cereal selections and maybe some yoghurt it would make a hell of a difference.
Drinks slightly over priced.
Snack bar closing at 4.30pm.
The walk to Skala is ok during the day but can be a death trap walking back at night especially if you have kids and a pram.
There are plenty of return guests who seem to be a bit clicky and compete to be Billy's best friend! This is not really a criticism but rather quite funny to watch

We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
DANNY
10 years 11 months ago

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in! The staffs were always there to look after your every need and always with a smiling face.

The rooms were spotlessly clean. Every room has a sea view. When we arrived Billy said to us that we would be treated as if we were guests of his family home, and that
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended
Clare, Russ Alexis And The Boys
10 years 11 months ago
It has all been said already. Pelagos Bay is perfect. Aspa, Yannis, Billy, Barbara (and their beautiful children) are genuinely lovely people and we cannot fault their hospitality. The island is totally unspoilt and one of the most beautiful places we have ever been.

If I had to find a fault it would be that the shower cubicles in the rooms are too small (i had a nightmare with the baby) But that really is nit picking. If you are looking at to try and make a decsion on accommodation then look no further - you have found it!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
Pelagos Bay Hotel is, without doubt, the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

We have been twice now and will go again and again. It is clean, sea facing, Billy, the owner and his family make you feel part of their family.

There is no special attention to anyone in particular you are all there in Billys mind to have a good time and that is what he does best.

Indeed there are no TVs in the rooms, but who goes on holiday to watch tv. There is a huge t.v in the lounge and behind the bar. The breakfast is cornflakes and toast and fresh orange juice tea and or coffee, we used to add our own fruit and yogurt. The 'snacks' are home-made and are quite quite delicious, I would have to say on par with the local restaurants. Billys BBQ night leaves you feeling 'huge' and very happy!!!

There is plenty to do, the whole island is like a jewel it looks like paradise it is so so beautiful.

If, if, one or two celebrated someones birthday and had a sing song at night then close your patio doors and put the air-con on!!

No, I say and no again, you cannot get by the fact that this hotel is a one off. Beautiful clean, friendly, welcoming and above all ready to please beyond belief.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Kernaghan
11 years 10 months ago
We stayed at the Pelagos Bay for a week in August and wouldn't mark it down significantly on anything.

The rooms are kept very clean and tidy, as are all the public areas and the beautiful pool.

Whilst the breakfast is basic, mouthwatering extras (pancakes & syrup, freshly squeezed orange juice, bacon etc) are available for a relatively modest cost. The snack bar provides some delicious options through most of the day, but unfortunately that facility ends at 16:30. And, whilst there are a number of places to eat nearby, it would perhaps be nice occasionally not to have to leave the hotel just to eat later in the day.

The hotel's quiet location and beautiful convenient bay was perfect for us and the 20 ish minute pleasant walk into Skala no problem.

Billy (the owner) and his family could not have been more accomodating and friendly. The rest of the staff were fantastic, including their dealings with our six year old daughter.

The five for entertainment is because there wasn't mush of it and that suited. It consisted of a bbq on one night which was a excellent and a great laugh, and a singer on another night who was less so.

PS If you read on this or other sites about intrusive noise from the bar at night this is simply not an issue when your glass patio/balcony door is closed and the a/c on.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mark Bamford
12 years 1 month ago
All the reviews we have read have said much the same thing about this hotel and can be summed up thus:

Very friendly staff - true they are brilliant
Very clean - true it is spotless

Pricey and small drinks - well not really ... 0,4l of beer (instead of the usual 0,5) and if you choose to spend a night at the bar you'll find that you are supplied with lots of free shots - it works out a lot cheaper than a night out in the UK (especially if you are from down south)

About 20min walk from town, we walked there and back every night and didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Dave & Janet Brown
12 years 9 months ago
Being a bit of a holiday snob, I had to be talked into staying at a 3* hotel in the sub
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum