Image of Electra Palace Hotel

Electra Palace Hotel

3 of 5 hotels in Trianda

3 out of 5 from 13 reviews
4 stars
Trianta Beach Ialyssos, Ixia 851 01, Greece

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mags
Superb Holiday
5 years 9 months ago
We had a brilliant time. Rooms very tidy with everything you need. Mini bar bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer. Very clean.

Staff went out of their way. Food was good. Always something to pick from. Italian very good. Wished I had tried Chinese good reports from other guests. We went out a couple of times for a meal. Really nice. Location was great not far away from the town. We met some lovely people. The Scottish group we met were so nice. Lots of laughs. Room very clean. George the barman very hard working and he went out his way to help. Well done to all the staff.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we would go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gee/gastall
7 years 10 months ago
HOTEL WAS CLEAN AND RESPECTABLE.MAID SERVICE EVERY DAY.
FOOD WAS PLENTYFUL MOST THE TIME IT WAS HOT.RIGHT ON THE BEACH BUT THERE WASNT MUCH CLOSE BY. A 10MIN WALK INTO TRIANDA CENTRE FROM MAIN ROAD OR A 5MIN WALK VIA THE BEACH. MOST OF THE STAFF WERE GOOD VERY HELPFULL.AS WE WENT BEFORE THE SEASON STARTED PROPERLY THERE WAS NO ENTERTAINMENT, WE HAD TWO 16YR OLD BOYS WITH US AND THERE WAS NOTHING FOR THEM TO DO.THE POOL TABLE/TENNIS COURTS WERE UNAVAILABLE,WHICH I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN AS IT WAS ADVERTISED IN THE BROUCHER.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Paraphor123
9 years 6 months ago
My daughter and I visited The Electra Palace in August. The weather was gorgeous, sunny with a breeze. We booked about 10 days before departure through Olympic Holidays who I do not recommend. The rep did not visit the hotel once, not even for a welcome meeting. Their customer service, I found out to our cost, non existent. Other tour operators do feature this hotel.

The hotel is clean and the twin rooms are small, but reasonably furnished. Our balcony unfortunately did not catch the sun, but looked out to sea so had a lovely view. The mini bar in our room was re-stocked everyday and the room had tea and coffee making facilities. Toiletries were provided in the bathroom, but the hairdryer was very weak. A small supermarket is by the pool and one just outside the hotel entrance along with a bar, but nothing else. There is a small pebble beach, and the sea during our stay was wild and rough.

We have stayed in many 4 and 5 star all inclusive hotels and the Electra Palace is at best a good 3 star. The food is no more than 3 star average, plenty of quantity, but no quality. All meats and fish on the buffet are covered in sauce which quickly forms a skin on top. However, there is a grill that has a
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Jedda, Jez, Lois
9 years 7 months ago
Stayed in the Electra Palace for 1 week on all inclusive. This hotel is fantastic, we had already been in 2003 and thought we would return for a last minute break taking my 13 year old daughter this time.

Food and Hotel facilities are better than in 2003 upgraded to five star in 2006/7. This is not a place to go if you are on a diet. Food excellent and plenty of choice. Lots of different types of salads as well as the usual greek salads, olives etc. Visit the chef who is barbequing beyond the main buffet area. Sweets - pleny of choice, ice cream, melon, greek pastries and more yummy gateaux's. There is also an Italian and Chinese Restaurant which are also within the all inclusive package - you just have to book for dinner, but you can just eat at the Italian for lunch if you wish. Lovely pasta and pizzas - but the buffet is so plentiful we only ate at the Italian twice and Chinese once. There are also cakes, biscuits and gateaux's available from 4.30pm in the main bar followed by canapes at around 5.30pm - our only regret was we didn't discover this until half way through our hol. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and the place is kept spotlessly clean. Sunbeds plentyful - even on the beach and gardens to the front of the hotel. No long queues at the bars either and the hotel was more or less full when we stayed.

If you've a small baggage allowance - a tip is that the hotel supply all rooms with beach towels so leave them at home to save space. You also get bath robes and slippers and a mini bar which is topped up every day at no extra cost.

The entertainment wasn't as good this time, I think it depends which week you go - Abba tribute band, very good, but we made the most of what was available anyway. My daughter enjoyed it too, although there wern't any British girls her age, but she made friends with some girls from Holland. Guests mainly, Dutch, French, Belgian, British and Russian - so a nice mix of nationalities.

The hotel is on the main flight path to Rhodes airport and the planes come in rather low. It didn't bother us we found it quite interesting watching them. They didn't wake us up during the night either as I think they limit the number of night flights.

On the whole this is definitely the best all inclusive we have been to and we would happily go again. Thank you Electra Palace for a great holiday.

Jedda, Jez and Lois

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Hotels

Recommended
Fiona
11 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from our first all-inclusive holiday and we were delighted with the cleanliness of the hotel - sheets and towels changed every day with even the room windows washed daily!

The staff were pleasant and friendly, especially the waiter named Vaiyos who was just lovely.

The food was of a high standard, even my son found something he liked at each meal (which is highly unusual, believe me!)

The Belgian animation team were lovely and worked extrememly hard to keep everyone entertained and laughing - many thanks to Nick, Sophie, Carolyn and Nastasia, you made our holiday great fun and we miss you already!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar Leisure

Recommended
William Bell
11 years 6 months ago
Just returned from a very relaxing 2 weeks at the Electra palace. Lovely spot right on the beach, great pool and grounds.

Very clean throughout.

Staff very good and efficient.

Food was varied and plentiful, could not fault it really and I am a very fussy eater!

Yes the entertainment was a bit lacking but if you go on holiday with your missus and rely on being engaged by the hotel animation team and not by your beloved then you really should question why you are on holiday together in the first place! Personally I would much rather have an intelligent conversation with her indoors than play bingo or watch a painful karaoke rendition of "Like a virgin" so I am not perhaps the best judge of entertainment.

I have only said no to revisiting this hotel as I would never return to the same place twice since the world is such a large place I consider it better to explore other destinations instead.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunstar leisure

Nick
11 years 7 months ago
Very enjoyable 2 weeks

I was a bit dubious about the all-inclusive bit as I have found that this compromises choice and quality. However I was very pleasantly surprised. I thought the food was of an exceptionally high standard. The choice, abundance and availability throughout the day was the best I have ever come across. I think that you have to be a really seriously fussy eater, not to be able enjoy something each meal time. A full range of drinks is available at the bars, but be aware that it is limited to 2 drinks per visit which the barman rigidly stick to. Once again I thought the drinks were fine and certainly not watered down.

To clarify, I wouldn't visit again but only because we never go back to the same resort or hotel twice. To others, I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel.


Atmosphere at the Hotel was very friendly. The clientele was truly international with the English in the minority. The eclectic mixture of Nationalities, groups, singles, families, young and old made for a great atmosphere. Didn't see any rudeness or bad behaviour or drunkenness in the 2 weeks. Met some really nice people whilst we were there.

The rooms were clean and adequate with the maids cleaning and changing sheets and towels on a daily basis. We were in the annexe but had a lovely view of the pool. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful as were the maids.Personally I didn't like the attitude of some of the waiters or the bar Staff, but nobody else seemed to have a problem with them.

I thought the entertainment team worked extremely hard during the day and the night. Loved the WaterPolo (COME ONNNNNN!)Evening entertainment wasn't really our thing although my daughters enjoyed it. I heard lots of complaints about the Kids disco every night being the same, but from what I saw the Kids absolutely loved it. The shows always seemed to have a full audience, but like I say we prefer to meet other people, drink and have a chat. Entertainment tends to be over by 10.30pm and the Hotel is quiet during the night. The bar closes at 11.45 pm but if you want to carry on drinking then the Rainbow bar across the road is very good an open until 4a.m.

The pool is generally very clean but be careful of the plastic grating at the side of the pool. On 2 occasions we found that it had broken through when people had stepped on it.Getting sunbeds wasn't a problem.

I thought the Hotel supermarket was good value for money and the couple who ran it were very friendly
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Media Travel

Recommended
Emma
12 years 5 months ago
We were reallocated to this hotel, and tried to make the most of it, but every time you tried, something else would happen to upset us, I ended up in tears on a few occassions.

The bar staff were so ignorant, and the drinks were so weak, that you could drink all day and night if you wanted to and you wouldnt get drunk! The a la carte restaurant is the best kept secret- we only found out about it from other guests.

We booked to go in, no record of our booking, but they sat us anyway (apparently they keep a free table for when this happens!)our order was taken at 7.30pm, at 9pm when we were waiting for our mains to arrive we were informed that there was no more lamb that my daughter had ordered, when she asked for the pork again the same reply, - bearing in mind that there is only 4 main courses to choose from!!

We left, still hungry and 25 euros lighter as you have to pay for the wine and water, by this time the main restaurant was closed, so we had to go out and pay for a meal across the road again!!

The evening entertainment was the worst I have ever seen for half hour every night they call it a mini disco the same songs, actions and I mean everynight is the same that was the only dancing for the kids, and as for the adults there was nothing!! As for the shows - I could of given my daughter a tenner, and she could of produced something better!!

Aeroplanes so close you can wave to the pilot as you are under the flight path. You have to pay 3 euro per sun bed on the hotels beach, there is no sand for the kids just stones and beware the sea can be quite choppy. The jacuzzi was dirty.The swimming pool was nice and big but again be careful as it was very deep, also some of the drains the covers were off them which is an accident waiting to happen.

A different cocktail every night which was nice, but after midnight there is nothing, there are no vending machines anywhere in the hotel, we arrived at 5am and we were told we couldnt have a drink until breakfast at 7.30am. We later found out that there is a water dispenser outside which is the only water supply for the hotel, (unless you pay for the bottled) but the dispenser is covered in cobwebs, and there are insects alive and dead in the plastic cups.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Media Travel

Mr Collins
12 years 6 months ago
The hotel rooms and pool area were very clean, but the dining area was disgusting.

Every night we had to almost re-set our tables with clean cutlery and the waiters were no help, and very rude. The food was was very poor with no selection and the beer and wine was undrinkable. The so called 'childrens restaraunt' was dirty and the choice every night on our stay was chips and sausage or dried spaghetti.

The location is good if you like Aeroplanes, because every Five minutes a Boeing 747 passes over the hotel, so low that not only can you see the pilots but you can read their name tags! very noisy.

The chamber maids were very polite but unfortunately all the other staff especially the bar staff were very rude.
The entertainment was in a word Rubbish. We watched part of a show when we first arrived and we could not believe our eyes, very poor.

The kids club was even worse, in the morning around Fifteen children had to take it in turn to throw Three tennis balls into an empty beer crate. A little later children were asked to put two ice cubes into their mouths and the entertainers would count to see how long they could sing with the ice in their mouth, this was more like torture!

The hotel facilities were excellent but our week was spoilt by poor management. When we tried to complain to the hotel supervisor the receptionists asked us to wait in the lobby and he will be with us shortly because he is dealing with another unhappy customer.

We waited around Thirty minutes but he did not show up, we got fed up waiting so we walked out of the hotel, across the Road to the 'Rainbow Bar' where we entertained by the bar staff and were treated like human beings.

We would never return to this hotel.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sun Star

Dave Brown
12 years 6 months ago
Electra Palace Rhodes .
Just returned from 2 weeks at the Electra Palace in Trianda Rhodes,I went with an open mind as were recommended the hotel by friends who told us about the plus and minus points.

Plus points

1/ Spotlessly clean throughout

2/ Food good at all sittings and the daily outside grill at lunchtime was a nice touch (we still managed to eat out at tavernas 4/5 times on holiday though because eating in a dining room of any large hotel is a bit of a bunfight and not a very relaxing experience and after 2 weeks getting a tad repetitive, but it fed us and the kids quickly and efficiently.

3/ Rooms were adequate and once again spotlessly clean

4/ Pool and grounds are superb ..but be prepared to resort to the same tactics of the Germans and Dutch regarding getting up early and laying towels on your sunbeds

5/ Location is good as it's right on the beach and a 5 minute walk into Trianda which has enough bars/tavernas and shops to satisfy anyone

6/ Friendly and efficient staff except one barman who shall remane nameless who had the sourest mug I have seen in years ,the rest were very efficient and friendly especially Tsampikos (brilliant bloke), Nikos,and Yiorgos

Minus points
1/

Aircraft do fly low ..however you do not get Boeing 747's flying over and to be honest there were busy periods when you you got 3/4 planes fly over in 15/20 minutes then none for ages ...as a plane anorak I loved watching them come in but you do not get 747 jumbo's ..mostly small 737' and 757's which have fairly modern quiet engines anyway.They do not fly as low as the planes landing in Ibiza which fly over Playa Den Bossa

2/ Entertainment is diabolical including the animation team that do very little for children during the day, thankfully my 2 made friends and spent most of their time in the pool.Evening cabarets put on by the animation team were just awful with reps miming badly to showtunes, they were so bad that some nights we went out until they were finished .The standards of cabaret seem to be the norm at all holiday hotels now ..gone are the days when a hotel put on a group/singer every night ..the only saving grace was a beatles tribute band who were very good ..but the rest just laughable.Hope my comments help ..We thoroughly enjoyed Rhodes so Hire a car and explore the island and old Rhodes town at night and eat out a few nights as the Electra Palace will supply in my opinionmost of your holiday needs but not all .

3/Beach very shingly and you need your wits about you if you go into the sea as its very breezy so it's very choppy and not ideal for tots or weak swimmers .

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Trianda